Aviation Investigation A15A0045

Collision with terrain

The occurrence

On July 30 2015, a Canadian Helicopters Ltd. Airbus AS350 BA had been flown to a remote communication tower site approximately 5 nm west-southwest of Rigolet, Newfoundland and Labrador, with a pilot and two passengers on board. At about 16:09 Atlantic Daylight Time, the helicopter lifted off the helipad at the tower site and struck a tower guy wire with the main rotor. The helicopter contacted the ground and came to rest on its right side. One passenger sustained fatal injuries. The pilot sustained serious injuries and the other passenger received minor injuries. The helicopter sustained substantial damage; the 406 emergency locator transmitter did not activate. A small amount of fuel was released; there was no post-crash fire. The accident occurred during daylight hours.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Murray Hamm

Murray Hamm joined the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) in 2010 as a Regional Senior Technical Investigator, in the TSB Air Investigations Branch, at the Atlantic regional office in Dartmouth (Nova Scotia).

Murray has more than 25 years of aviation experience working for several fixed wing and rotary wing operations as a licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer, and also holds a Private Pilot License. Just prior to joining the TSB, Murray worked as a contracted employee of the Royal Canadian Air Force 3 Canadian Forces Flying Training School (3 CFFTS) at the Southport Aerospace Centre, located near Portage La Prairie (Manitoba), where he held the position of Fixed Wing Chief Engineer.

Photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2015-07-31

TSB deploys a team to the site of a helicopter accident west of Rigolet, Newfoundland and Labrador
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A15A0045

Collision avec relief

L'événement

Le 30 juillet 2015, un Airbus AS350 BA de Canadian Helicopters Ltd. s'est rendu à l’emplacement d’une tour de communication à distance, à environ 5 nm à l’ouest-sud-ouest de Rigolet, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, avec un pilote et deux passagers à bord. À environ 16 h 9, heure avancée de l'Atlantique, l'hélicoptère a décollé de l'hélisurface à l’emplacement de la tour, et a heurté un hauban de la tour avec le rotor principal. L'hélicoptère a touché le sol et s'est immobilisé sur le côté droit. Un des passagers a subi des blessures mortelles. Le pilote a subi des blessures graves, et l'autre passager a subi des blessures légères. L'hélicoptère a subi des dommages importants; l’émetteur de localisation d'urgence émettant sur 406 MHz ne s'est pas activé. Une petite quantité de carburant s’est échappée; il n'y a pas eu d'incendie après l'écrasement. L'accident s'est produit pendant le jour.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Murray Hamm

Murray Hamm s’est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) en 2010 à titre d’enquêteur technique principal régional de la Direction des enquêtes aéronautiques du BST, au bureau régional de l’Atlantique à Dartmouth, Nouvelle-Écosse.

Murray a plus de 25 ans d’expérience en aviation, ayant travaillé dans le cadre de plusieurs opérations avec des aéronefs à voilure fixe ainsi qu’à voilure tournante, à titre de technicien breveté d’entretien d’aéronef, et il est également titulaire d’une licence de pilote privé. Avant de se joindre au BST, Murray a travaillé comme employé contractuel de la 3e École de pilotage des Forces canadiennes (3 EPFC) de l’Aviation royale canadienne, au Southport Aerospace Centre, situé près de Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, où il occupait le poste de chef mécanicien des aéronefs à voilure fixe.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Médias

Avis de déploiement
 
2015-07-31

Le BST envoie une équipe sur le site d’un accident d’hélicoptère à l’ouest de Rigolet (Terre-neuve et Labrador)
Lire l'avis de déploiement