Aviation Investigation A15O0031

Collision with terrain

The occurrence

On 17 March 2015, a Piper PA-32RT-300T, with three people on board departed Sudbury, Ontario, on an IFR flight to Winston-Salem, North Carolina. Approximately 30 NM south of Sudbury at an altitude of 10,000 feet the pilot turned the aircraft back and advised Air Traffic Control that the flight was returning. This was the last radio communication from the pilot and no reason was specified for the return. ATC cleared the aircraft to a lower altitude and observed it turning and descending on radar. During the descent the aircraft disappeared from radar at 8800 feet then reappeared momentarily at 6300 feet after which there were no further radar contacts. Moments later there was a brief signal from the aircraft's Electronic Locator Transmitter which ended abruptly. The aircraft was located the following morning. All three people on board were fatally injured. The aircraft suffered an in-flight breakup and debris was found over an area covering approximately 1.25 NM. A post-crash fire destroyed most of the main wreckage.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Peter Rowntree

Mr. Rowntree has 26 years of civil aviation experience. He joined the TSB in November 1997 as an investigator/technical specialist in the TSB Air Investigations Ontario Regional Office, in Richmond Hill, Ontario.

Prior to joining the TSB, he worked as an aircraft maintenance supervisor in the arctic for a major Canadian air carrier. During that time, he maintained and supervised the maintaining of different aircraft types, from small aircraft to the larger commuter and jet aircraft. Mr. Rowntree was also certified flight attendant and volunteer fire fighter.

Since joining the TSB, Mr. Rowntree has participated in numerous investigations and several major TSB investigations, most notably; the 1998 investigation into Swiss Air 111 in Peggy's Cove, Nova Scotia, the 2004 investigation into the MK Airlines accident in Halifax, Nova Scotia, the 2005 investigation into Air France accident in Toronto, Ontario, the 2009 Cougar Helicopter accident in St. John's, Newfoundland and the 2011 First Air accident in Resolute, Nunavut. On behalf of the TSB, he has also assisted numerous foreign investigation agencies in their investigations of accidents abroad.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

Enquête aéronautique A15O0031

Collision avec le relief

L'événement

Le 17 mars 2015, un Piper PA-32RT-300T avec trois personnes à bord a quitté Sudbury (Ontario) sur un vol IFR vers Winston-Salem (Caroline du Nord). À environ 30 NM au sud de Sudbury, à une altitude de 10 000 pieds, le pilote a fait demi-tour et a informé le contrôle de la circulation aérienne que le vol revenait sur ses pas. Ce fut la dernière radiocommunication du pilote et il n'a pas donné de raison pour le retour. Le contrôleur a autorisé l'avion à voler à une altitude plus basse et a remarqué sur ​​le radar qu'il tournait en descendant. Au cours de la descente, l'avion a disparu des écrans radar à 8800 pieds, puis est réapparu momentanément à 6300 pieds, après quoi il n'y a plus eu d'autres contacts radar. Quelques instants plus tard, il y a eu un bref signal provenant de la radiobalise de repérage d'urgence de l'avion qui s'est interrompu abruptement. On a trouvé l'avion le lendemain matin. Les trois personnes à bord ont été mortellement blessées. L'avion a subi une dislocation en vol et on a trouvé des débris sur une zone couvrant environ 1,25 NM. Un incendie après l'impact a détruit la majeure partie de l'épave principale.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Peter Rowntree

M. Rowntree possède 26 ans d'expérience en aviation civile. Il s'est joint au BST en novembre 1997 à titre d'enquêteur/spécialiste technique au bureau régional de l'Ontario de la Direction des enquêtes (Air) du BST à Richmond Hill, en Ontario.

Avant de se joindre au BST, il a travaillé comme surveillant de l'entretien d'aéronefs dans l'Arctique pour un grand transporteur aérien canadien. Pendant cette période, il a assuré l'entretien et supervisé l'entretien de différents types d'aéronefs, des petits aéronefs aux grands avions de transport régional et avions à réaction. M. Rowntree était également un agent de bord certifié et un sapeur-pompier volontaire.

Depuis ses débuts avec le BST, M. Rowntree a participé à de nombreuses enquêtes et à plusieurs grandes enquêtes du BST, notamment l'enquête de 1998 sur le vol 111 de Swiss Air à Peggy's Cove, en Nouvelle-Écosse, l'enquête de 2004 sur l'accident de MK Airlines à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, l'enquête de 2005 sur l'accident d'Air France à Toronto, en Ontario, l'accident d'un hélicoptère Cougar en 2009 à St. John's, Terre-Neuve et l'accident de First Air en 2011 à Resolute, au Nunavut. Au nom du BST, il a également apporté son aide lors de nombreuses enquêtes sur des accidents dans d'autres pays.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.