Aviation Investigation A15W0069

Collision with terrain

The occurrence

On 22 May 2015 an Air Tractor AT 802A, operated by Conair Group Inc., was conducting fire suppression operations 26 nm NW of Cold Lake, Alberta. The aircraft was the last of a formation of four that were skimming water from Burnt Lake, approximately 1-2 miles to the west of the fire, and dropping it on the fire. The formation had already done two drops on the fire from west to east with a turnout to the north. After the third drop, the accident aircraft collided with terrain and the pilot, who was the sole occupant, sustained fatal injuries.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Fred Burow

Fred Burow is a senior operations investigator with the TSB Western Regional Office in Edmonton. Fred has been with the TSB since January of 2013. Before joining the TSB, Fred worked at Transport Canada where he gained experience as an inspector for aerodrome safety, air carrier inspections and as a flight operations manager and training pilot for Transport Canada’s Aircraft Services Directorate. Besides extensive fixed-wing aircraft experience, Fred gained valuable rotary-wing experience with the Canadian Armed Forces as a crew commander, flight safety officer, squadron standards officer and manager of flight operations at the Canadian Forces Flight Training School.

Photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2015-05-22

TSB will deploy a team of investigators to an aircraft accident near Cold Lake, Alberta
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A15W0069

Collision avec relief

L'événement

Le 22 mai 2015, un aéronef Air Tractor AT 802A, exploité par Conair Group Inc., effectuait des opérations d'extinction d'incendie 26 nm au nord-ouest de Cold Lake (Alberta). L'aéronef était le dernier d'une formation de quatre aéronefs qui ramassaient de l’eau en effleurant la surface de Burnt Lake, à environ 1-2 miles à l'ouest de l'incendie, pour ensuite aller verser cette eau sur l’incendie. La formation avait déjà fait deux chutes d’eau sur l’incendie en volant de l'ouest à l'est, avec un virage vers le nord. Après la troisième chute d’eau, l'aéronef accidenté est entré en collision avec le relief, et le pilote, qui était le seul occupant, a subi des blessures mortelles.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Fred Burow

Fred Burow est un enquêteur principal des opérations du Bureau régional de l'Ouest du BST à Edmonton. Fred travaille au BST depuis janvier 2013. Avant de se joindre au BST, Fred travaillait pour Transports Canada, où il a acquis de l’expérience à titre d'inspecteur de la sécurité des aérodromes et des transporteurs aériens, ainsi que de directeur des opérations aériennes et de formateur de pilotes pour la Direction générale des services des aéronefs de Transports Canada. Outre une vaste expérience de l'aéronef à voilure fixe, Fred a acquis une expérience précieuse des aéronefs à voilure tournante avec les Forces armées canadiennes en tant que chef d'équipage, qu'officier de la sécurité des vols, qu’agent des normes d'escadron et directeur des opérations aériennes à l'École de pilotage des Forces canadiennes.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Médias

Avis de déploiement
 
2015-05-22

Le BST envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs à un accident d'avion près de Cold Lake (Alberta)
Lire l'avis de déploiement