Aviation Investigation A16A0084

Collision with water

The occurrence

On 4 September 2016, a private Bell 206B helicopter departed Charlo, New Brunswick, for Rivière-du-Loup, Quebec, in visual flight rules weather conditions. The helicopter collided with power lines near Flatlands, New Brunswick, causing substantial damage, and fell into the Restigouche River. The pilot and the front passenger were fatally injured. The rear-seat passenger survived the accident.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Murray Hamm

Murray Hamm joined the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) in 2010 as a Regional Senior Technical Investigator, in the TSB Air Investigations Branch, at the Atlantic regional office in Dartmouth (Nova Scotia).

Mr. Hamm has more than 25 years of aviation experience working for several fixed wing and rotary wing operations as a licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer, and also holds a Private Pilot License. Just prior to joining the TSB, Mr. Hamm worked as a contracted employee of the Royal Canadian Air Force 3 Canadian Forces Flying Training School (3 CFFTS) at the Southport Aerospace Centre, located near Portage La Prairie (Manitoba), where he held the position of Fixed Wing Chief Engineer.

Photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Report
 
2017-10-25

Aviation Investigation Report A16A0084
Collision with wires
Bell 206B (Helicopter), C-GVJT
Flatlands, New Brunswick
04 September 2016

News release
 
2017-10-25

2016 fatal helicopter accident near Flatlands, New Brunswick, highlights the dangers of low-altitude flying
Read the news release

Media advisory
 
2017-10-24

The TSB will release its investigation report on the September 2016 fatal helicopter accident near Flatlands, New Brunswick
Read the media advisory

Deployment notices
 
2016-09-04

TSB is deploying a team of investigators to the site of a helicopter accident near Campbellton, New Brunswick
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A16A0084

Collision avec un plan d’eau

L'événement

Le 4 septembre 2016, un hélicoptère privé Bell 206B a quitté Charlo (Nouveau-Brunswick) en route vers Rivière-du-Loup (Québec) dans des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue. L'hélicoptère est entré en collision avec des lignes électriques près de Flatlands (Nouveau-Brunswick), causant des dommages importants, et est tombée dans la rivière Restigouche. Le pilote et le passager avant ont subi des blessures mortelles. Le passager arrière a survécu à l'accident.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Murray Hamm

Murray Hamm s’est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) en 2010 à titre d’enquêteur technique principal régional de la Direction des enquêtes aéronautiques du BST, au bureau régional de l’Atlantique à Dartmouth, Nouvelle-Écosse.

M. Hamm a plus de 25 ans d’expérience en aviation, ayant travaillé dans le cadre de plusieurs opérations avec des aéronefs à voilure fixe ainsi qu’à voilure tournante, à titre de technicien breveté d’entretien d’aéronef, et il est également titulaire d’une licence de pilote privé. Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Hamm a travaillé comme employé contractuel de la 3e École de pilotage des Forces canadiennes (3 EPFC) de l’Aviation royale canadienne, au Southport Aerospace Centre, situé près de Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, où il occupait le poste de chef mécanicien des aéronefs à voilure fixe.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Médias

Rapport
 
2017-10-25

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A16A0084
Collision avec des câbles
Bell 206B (hélicoptère), C-GVJT
Flatlands (Nouveau-Brunswick)
4 septembre 2016

Communiqué de presse
 
2017-10-25

Un accident d'hélicoptère mortel survenu en 2016 près de Flatlands (Nouveau-Brunswick) met en lumière les dangers du vol à basse altitude
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis aux médias
 
2017-10-24

Le BST rendra public son rapport d'enquête sur l'accident d'hélicoptère mortel survenu en septembre 2016 près de Flatlands (Nouveau-Brunswick)
Lire l'avis de déploiement

Avis de déploiement
 
2016-09-04

Le BST enverra une équipe sur le site d’un accident d’hélicoptère survenu près de Campbellton (Nouveau-Brunswick)
Lire l'avis de déploiement