Marine investigation M15C0094

Fall overboard

The occurrence

On 13 June 2015, the passenger vessel NORTHERN SPIRIT I reported a passenger fell overboard during an evening cruise 4 nautical miles west of Toronto, Ontario. Search and Rescue authorities were notified and a search was conducted without success. The deceased person was later recovered in the area of the occurrence.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Steven Neatt

Captain Steven D. Neatt has been a senior marine investigator at the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2013.

Prior to joining the TSB, Captain Neatt held various positions in the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG). He has 15 years seagoing experience on CCG ships in the St. Lawrence River and extensive experience in the Arctic. As well, he worked ashore with the CCG in senior positions including 6 years as Icebreaking Program Superintendent.

Captain Neatt graduated from the Canadian Coast Guard College in 1989 and holds a Bachelor of Technology in Nautical Science from the University College of Cape Breton. He holds a Master Mariner’s certificate.

Photos

Click on the images to see them in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2015-06-15

Transportation Safety Board of Canada deploys team to Toronto, Ontario, to assess passenger falling overboard from the vessel Northern Spirit
Read the deployment notice

Enquête maritime M15C0094

Chute par-dessus bord

L'événement

Le 13 juin 2015, le navire à passagers NORTHERN SPIRIT I a signalé qu’un passager est tombé par-dessus bord lors d’une croisière en soirée, 4 miles nautiques à l’ouest de Toronto (Ontario). Les autorités de Recherche et sauvetage ont été avisées et une recherche a été menée sans succès. La personne décédée a été retrouvée plus tard dans la zone de l’événement.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Steven Neatt

Le capitaine Steven D. Neatt est enquêteur maritime principal au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) depuis 2013.

Avant de se joindre au BST, le capitaine Neatt a occupé divers postes à la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC). Il a 15 ans d'expérience en mer à bord des navires de la GCC dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent et une vaste expérience dans l'Arctique. En outre, il a travaillé à terre pour la GCC à des postes de direction, dont 6 ans en tant que directeur du programme de déglaçage.

Le capitaine Neatt a obtenu son diplôme du Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne en 1989 et est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en technologie des sciences nautiques de l’Université Cape Breton. Il est titulaire d'un certificat de capitaine au long cours.

Photos

Cliquez sur les images pour les voir en taille complet.

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Media

Avis de déploiement
 
2015-06-15

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada Envoie une équipe à Toronto (Ontario) pour évaluer la chute par-dessus bord d’un passager du navire Northern Spirit
Lire l'avis de déploiement