Marine investigation M16C0146

Fjord Saguenay II

The occurrence

On 07 September 2016, the passenger vessel Fjord Saguenay II reported that while boarding passengers in Sainte Rose du Nord, Quebec, the gangway between the wharf and the floating pontoons collapsed. Several of the passengers that were standing on the gangway at the time of the occurrence sustained injuries.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Steven Neatt

Captain Steven D. Neatt has been a senior marine investigator at the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2013.

Prior to joining the TSB, Captain Neatt held various positions in the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG). He has 15 years seagoing experience on CCG ships in the St. Lawrence River and extensive experience in the Arctic. As well, he worked ashore with the CCG in senior positions including 6 years as Icebreaking Program Superintendent.

Captain Neatt graduated from the Canadian Coast Guard College in 1989 and holds a Bachelor of Technology in Nautical Science from the University College of Cape Breton. He holds a Master Mariner’s certificate.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Safety letter
 
2016-12-07

Marine Safety Information Letter no. 11/16 – Collapse of the platform and gangway
Read the safety letter

News release
 
2016-12-07

TSB deploys a team to Sainte-Rose-du-Nord, Quebec, following the collapse of the gangway of a passenger vessel
Read the news release

Deployment notices
 
2016-09-07

TSB deploys a team to Sainte-Rose-du-Nord, Quebec, following the collapse of the gangway of a passenger vessel
Read the deployment notice

Enquête maritime M16C0146

Fjord Saguenay II

L'événement

Le 7 septembre 2016, le navire à passagers Fjord Saguenay II a signalé que, lors de l’embarquement de passagers à Sainte-Rose-du-Nord (Québec), la passerelle entre le quai et les pontons flottants s’est effondrée. Plusieurs des passagers qui se trouvaient sur la passerelle au moment de l’événement ont subi des blessures.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Zillur Steven Neatt

Le capitaine Steven D. Neatt est enquêteur maritime principal au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) depuis 2013.

Avant de se joindre au BST, le capitaine Neatt a occupé divers postes à la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC). Il a 15 ans d'expérience en mer à bord des navires de la GCC dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent et une vaste expérience dans l'Arctique. En outre, il a travaillé à terre pour la GCC à des postes de direction, dont 6 ans en tant que directeur du programme de déglaçage.

Le capitaine Neatt a obtenu son diplôme du Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne en 1989 et est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en technologie des sciences nautiques de l’Université Cape Breton. Il est titulaire d'un certificat de capitaine au long cours.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Media

Lettre d'information
 
2016-12-07

Lettre d'information sur la sécurité maritime no 11/16 – Effondrement de la plate-forme et de la passerelle
Lire la lettre d'information

Communiqué de presse
 
2016-12-07

Le BST publie une lettre d'information sur la sécurité maritime suite à l’effondrement de la passerelle en septembre 2016 au quai de Sainte-Rose-du-Nord (Québec)
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement
 
2016-09-07

Le BST envoie une équipe à Sainte-Rose-du-Nord (Québec) suite à une défaillance de la passerelle d’embarquement d’un navire à passagers
Lire l'avis de déploiement