Railway Safety Issues Investigation R16H0002

Expanding the Use of Locomotive Voice and Video Recorders in Canada

About the study

In May 2015, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada launched a safety issues investigation (safety study) on the use of locomotive voice and video recorders under the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act.

Key railway stakeholders participated in the safety study, including Transport Canada, the Railway Association of Canada, Canadian Pacific Railway, Canadian National Railway, VIA Rail, GO Transit, and the Teamsters Canada Rail Conference.

The safety study assessed current technology and regulatory issues, operational and human resources, and potential safety benefits of the expanded use of on-board recorders. The study collected background information for the development of an action plan to implement locomotive voice and video recorders.

Lead investigators

Photo of Kirby Jang

Kirby Jang, Director of Investigations - Rail/Pipeline, joined the TSB in 2003 as Manager, Regional Operations, and since that time has completed or reviewed over 50 rail accident investigations. Before joining the TSB, Mr. Jang worked primarily in the railway industry for a number of engineering consulting firms. In his capacity as railway systems consultant, he was directly responsible for the management and successful completion of over 100 technical projects. Mr. Jang's education credentials include a Bachelor (1984) and Master (1985) of Applied Science from the University of Waterloo in Civil Engineering, and a Master of Business Administration (1992) from the University of Toronto.
 

Photo of Jon Stuart

Jon Stuart has been a human factors specialist for over 20 years, and has published in the fields of Artificial Intelligence, Sports Science, Industrial Psychology, and Systems Safety. Since obtaining his doctorate in applied psychology from Loughborough University in England, he has worked in the roles of systems designer, customer researcher, and accident investigator. After building Nortel's approach to incorporating human factors into accident investigation, Dr. Stuart joined Transport Canada's Civil Aviation, where he developed the System Safety Branch's methodology for collating safety information. Dr. Stuart joined the TSB as a Senior Human Performance Analyst in 2003. He has managed the Human Factors and Macro Analysis Division, as well as participated in air, marine and rail investigations, including the 2012 derailment of a VIA Rail passenger train in Burlington, Ontario.

Photo of Christina (Missy) Rudin-Brown<

Christina (Missy) Rudin-Brown has been a Senior Human Factors Investigator since joining the TSB in October 2012. She holds PhD and Master of Arts degrees in Experimental Psychology from the University of Toronto, a BA (Hons.) in Psychology from the University of Ottawa, and is a board member of the Canadian College for Certified Professional Ergonomists (CCCPE). Before joining the TSB, Dr. Rudin-Brown was a Senior Research Fellow with the Human Factors team at the Monash University Accident Research Centre (MUARC) in Melbourne (Australia) and spent over 10 years as a Human Factors specialist in Transport Canada's Road Safety Directorate. Dr. Rudin-Brown has published over 85 peer-reviewed papers across a number of transportation safety areas, including: operator behaviour and adaptation, driver speed choice, operator distraction, road infrastructure and rail level crossing safety, transportation safety policy, child and adult occupant protection and operator impairment.

Photo of Darlene Roosenboom

Darlene Roosenboom has been with the Railway/Pipeline Investigations Branch of the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2004. Currently Specialist/Senior Investigator, Operations, she has provided oversight on a number of other investigations, and is also a trusted agent of TSB's confidential reporting system, Securitas. Before joining the TSB, Ms. Roosenboom worked for Canadian National Railway Company (CN) for 15 years, predominantly as rail traffic controller; she also held management positions in the work program office, and was a crew coordinator. Ms. Roosenboom obtained her Bachelor of Arts degree from York University in 1992, majoring in Sociology.

TSB safety issues investigations

The TSB will undertake a safety issue investigation, or safety study, when there is a high probability that it will advance Canadian transportation safety by reducing the risk to persons, property, or the environment. These investigations are generally based on a significant safety issue previously identified by the Board in consultation with the transportation community and the public. For more information, see the Occurrence Classification Policy.

Report

Railway Safety Issues Investigation Report
2016-09-19

Railway Safety Issues Investigation Report R16H0002
Expanding the Use of Locomotive Voice and Video Recorders in Canada

Related TSB railway investigation reports

Train passed a signal indicating stop
VIA Rail Canada Inc.
Train No. 52
Mile 232.8, Kingston Subdivision
Trenton Junction
Trenton, Ontario
19 January 1999

Main-track derailment
Via Rail Canada Inc.
Passenger train No. 92
Mile 33.23, Canadian National
Oakville Subdivision
Aldershot, Ontario
26 February 2012

Safety communications

TSB recommendations
2003-07-25

Recommendation R03-02: National standards for locomotive data recorders
See the TSB's assessment of the response to the recommendation.

2013-06-10

Recommendation R13-02: In-cab locomotive video cameras
See the TSB's assessment of the response to the recommendation.

Correspondence

Media

News releases
2016-09-19

TTSB calls for implementation of voice and video recorders on locomotives in Canada
Read the news release

Enquête ferroviaire R16H0002

Accroître l’usage d’enregistreurs audio-vidéo de locomotive au Canada

À propos de l'étude

En mai 2015, en vertu de la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada a entamé une enquête sur des questions de sécurité (étude de sécurité) sur l'usage d'enregistreurs audio-vidéo de locomotive.

Des intervenants ferroviaires clés ont participé à l'étude de sécurité, dont Transports Canada, l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada, le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, les Chemins de fer nationaux du Canada, VIA Rail, GO Transit et la Conférence ferroviaire de Teamsters Canada.

L'objectif de l'étude était d'évaluer la technologie actuelle, les enjeux législatifs et réglementaires, les facteurs opérationnels et humains, et les avantages potentiels pour la sécurité d'un recours accru aux enregistreurs de bord.

L'étude a recueilli l'information contextuelle nécessaire pour dresser un plan d'action sur l'utilisation d'enregistreurs audio-vidéo de locomotive.

Enquêteurs

Photo de Kirby Jang

Kirby Jang, Directeur, Enquêtes rail/pipeline, s’est joint au BST en 2003 comme gestionnaire des opérations régionales et depuis ce temps a complété ou révisé plus de 50 enquêtes ferroviaires. Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Jang a travaillé principalement dans l’industrie des chemins de fer pour un certain nombre de cabinets conseil. En sa capacité de consultant en systèmes de chemins de fer, il était directement responsable de la gestion et de la finalisation avec succès de plus de 100 projets techniques. M. Jang détient trois diplômes universitaires : un baccalauréat (1984) et une maîtrise (1985) en sciences appliquées de l’Université de Waterloo avec spécialisation en génie civil et une maîtrise en administration des affaires (1992) de l’Université de Toronto.

Photo de Jon Stuart

Jon Stuart, spécialiste des facteurs humains depuis plus de 20 ans, est l'auteur de plusieurs ouvrages dans les domaines de l'intelligence artificielle, des sciences du sport, de la psychologie industrielle et de la sécurité des systèmes. Depuis qu'il a obtenu son doctorat en psychologie appliquée de la Loughborough University en Angleterre, il a exercé les fonctions de concepteur de systèmes, de recherchiste, Étude de la clientèle et d'enquêteur sur les accidents. Après avoir conçu une approche pour incorporer les facteurs humains dans les enquêtes sur les accidents pour le compte de Nortel, il s'est joint à la Direction générale de l'aviation civile de Transports Canada, où il a développé la méthodologie de collecte de l'information de sécurité de la Direction de la sécurité du système. En 2003, il s'est joint au BST à titre d'analyste principal, Performance humaine. Il a participé à des enquêtes aéronautiques, maritimes et ferroviaires, notamment à l’enquête relative au déraillement d'un train de passagers de VIA Rail à Burlington, en Ontario, en 2012.

Photo de Christina (Missy) Rudin-Brown<

Christina (Missy) Rudin-Brown est enquêteure principale, Facteurs humains depuis son arrivée au BST en octobre 2012. Elle est titulaire d’un doctorat et d’une maîtrise ès arts en psychologie expérimentale de l’Université de Toronto, ainsi que d’un baccalauréat ès arts avec spécialisation en psychologie de l’Université d’Ottawa, et elle est membre du conseil d’administration du Conseil canadien de certification des praticiens en ergonomie (CCCPE). Avant de se joindre au BST, Mme Rudin-Brown était agrégée supérieure de recherche dans l’équipe des Facteurs humains au Monash University Accident Research Centre (MUARC) à Melbourne (Australie) et elle a travaillé plus de 10 ans comme spécialiste des facteurs humains à la Direction générale de la sécurité routière de Transports Canada. Mme Rudin-Brown a publié plus de 85 articles évalués par des pairs à propos de divers aspects de la sécurité des transports, comme le comportement des conducteurs et son adaptation, le choix de la vitesse par le conducteur, la distraction du conducteur, la sécurité de l’infrastructure routière et des passages à niveau, les politiques de sécurité des transports, la protection des occupants enfants et adultes, ainsi que l’altération des capacités du conducteur.

Photo de Darlene Roosenboom

Darlene Roosenboom travaille à la Direction des enquêtes (Rail et pipeline) du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) depuis 2004. À l'heure actuelle, elle occupe le poste de spécialiste/enquêteure principale des opérations. Elle a largement contribué à plusieurs enquêtes, et elle est agente de confiance de Securitas, le système de rapports confidentiels du BST. Avant de se joindre au BST, Mme Roosenboom a travaillé au sein de la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (CN) pendant 15 ans, surtout à titre de contrôleuse de la circulation ferroviaire. Elle a également occupé des postes de direction au bureau du programme de travail, en plus du poste de coordonnatrice d'équipe. Mme Roosenboom a obtenu son baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université York avec spécialisation en sociologie en 1992.

Enquêtes sur des questions de sécurité du BST

Le BST mène une enquête sur des questions de sécurité, ou étude de sécurité, s’il est fort probable que cela améliorera la sécurité des transports au Canada en diminuant les risques auxquels sont exposés les personnes, les biens ou l’environnement. Ces enquêtes portent généralement sur un important enjeu de sécurité que le Bureau a déjà relevé après consultation avec le milieu des transports et le public. Pour de plus amples détails, se référer à la Politique de classification des événements.

Rapport

Rapport d’enquête sur des questions de sécurité ferroviaire
2016-09-19

Rapport d’enquête sur des questions de sécurité ferroviaire R16H0002
Accroître l’usage d’enregistreurs audio-vidéo de locomotive au Canada

Rapports d’enquête ferroviaire du BST connexes

Franchissement d'un signal d'arrêt absolu
par le train numéro 52
de VIA Rail Canada Inc.
au point milliaire 232,8
dans la subdivision Kingston
à Trenton Junction
Trenton (Ontario)
le 19 janvier 1999

Déraillement en voie principale
du train de voyageurs numéro 92
exploité par VIA Rail Canada Inc
au point milliaire 33,23 de la subdivision d'Oakville du Canadien National
à Aldershot (Ontario)
le 26 février 2012

Communications en matière de sécurité

Recommandations
2003-07-25

Recommandation R03-02 du BST : Normes nationales pour les consignateurs d’événements des locomotives
Voir l'évaluation du BST de la réponse à la recommandation.

2013-06-10

Recommandation R13-02 du BST : Caméras vidéo en cabine dans les locomotives
Voir l'évaluation du BST de la réponse à la recommandation.

Correspondance

Ressources pour les médias

Communiqués
2016-09-19

Le BST recommande l’installation d’enregistreurs audio-vidéo à bord des locomotives au Canada
Lire le communiqué