Media advisory 2015

Transportation Safety Board opens doors to Engineering Lab for media tour

Gatineau, Quebec, 3 June 2015 – The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is pleased to invite journalists to a tour of its Engineering Laboratory facilities. It is an opportunity to provide a "sneak peak" of what the public will see during Doors Open Ottawa on Saturday 6 June 2015, and to learn about the important work the Laboratory does during accident investigations.

The TSB Engineering Laboratory plays a pivotal role in the investigation of marine, pipeline, railway, and aviation accidents. Its staff help determine whether mechanical, electrical, material, structural or other deficiencies contributed to accidents. Experts analyze information from data recorders ("black boxes"), electronic equipment and field photographs and site surveys to piece together the sequence of events leading to an accident.

Journalists can expect to see some wreckage and components related to accident investigations, equipment used by investigators to examine materials and electronic systems, and the flight recorder analysis area.

When:
Thursday 4 June 2015 from 11 a.m. to 12 p.m. Eastern Time
Where:
Engineering Laboratory
1901 Research Road
Ottawa, ON

We look forward to seeing you there!

This event is for media only. Media representatives will need to show their outlet identification.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Avis aux médias 2015

Le laboratoire technique du Bureau de la sécurité des transports ouvre ses portes pour une visite des médias

Gatineau (Québec) le 3 juin 2015 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) a le plaisir d'inviter les journalistes à une visite des installations de son laboratoire technique. Il s'agit d'une chance d'avoir un « avant-goût » de ce que le public verra à l'occasion de l'événement Portes ouvertes Ottawa, le samedi 6 juin 2015, et d'en apprendre sur le travail important accomplit au laboratoire au cours des enquêtes sur les accidents.

Le Laboratoire technique du BST joue un rôle central dans les enquêtes sur les accidents maritimes, aéronautiques, ferroviaires et de pipelines. Son personnel mène des enquêtes pour déterminer si des imperfections mécaniques, électriques, matérielles, structurelles ou autres ont mené à un accident. Les experts du laboratoire analysent l'information obtenue des appareils d'enregistrement (« boîtes noires »), de l'équipement électronique, des photographies prises sur le terrain et des études de site, afin de reconstituer le fil des événements qui ont mené à un accident.

Les journalistes peuvent s'attendre à voir des épaves et des composantes liées à des enquêtes sur des accidents, de l'équipement utilisé par les enquêteurs pour examiner les matériaux et les systèmes électroniques, ainsi que le secteur d'analyse des enregistreurs de vol.

Quand :
Jeudi le 4 juin 2015 de 11 h à 12 h, heure de l'Est
Lieu :
Laboratoire technique
1901, chemin Research
Ottawa (Ontario)

Au plaisir de vous y voir!

Cet événement est réservé aux médias. À noter que vous devrez montrer votre carte de presse.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca