News releases

TSB # A 15/2000

INTERIM AVIATION SAFETY RECOMMENDATIONS IN-FLIGHT FIREFIGHTING OCCURRENCE NUMBER A98H0003

(Halifax, Nova Scotia, 04 December 2000) - The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) today released five Aviation Safety Recommendations dealing with in-flight firefighting measures. The recommendations are the result of the continuing investigation into the crash of Swissair flight 111 (SR 111).

The safety investigation has raised concerns with the overall approach taken by the aviation community in addressing the ways that are available for aircraft crews to systematically detect, locate, assess, control, and suppress an in-flight fire within some areas of the fuselage of transport category aircraft.

To date, the SR 111 investigation has identified extensive fire damage in an area above the ceiling sometimes referred to as the "attic", in the front section of the aircraft within an area extending about 1.5 metres forward and 5 metres aft of the cockpit wall. Although the origin of the fire has not been determined, the Board believes that shortcomings in design and equipment, and crew training, awareness, procedures, and checklists may have deterred prompt detection and suppression of this in-flight fire.

In the course of this investigation, investigators assessed fire-fighting measures within the aviation industry, including procedures and equipment intended to prevent, control, or eliminate fires in aircraft. Material flammability, accessibility to areas within the aircraft, smoke/fire protection and suppression equipment, emergency procedures, and training were among the areas studied.

The TSB has identified safety deficiencies in several aspects of the current government requirements and industry standards involving in-flight firefighting. Each of these deficiencies has the potential to increase the time it takes for an aircraft crew to gain control of what could be a rapidly deteriorating situation. Time is a prime consideration in the successful identification and control of an in-flight fire.

In the case of SR 111, approximately 20 minutes elapsed from the time the crew detected an unusual odour until the aircraft crashed, and about 11 minutes elapsed between the time the presence of smoke was confirmed by the crew and the time that the fire is known to have begun to adversely affect aircraft systems. The TSB reviewed a number of databases to look for fire events that had similarities to the scenario of SR 111. Fifteen such events were identified, the earliest of which occurred in 1967. For these events, the time from when fire was first detected until the aircraft crashed ranged from 5 to 35 minutes. Each of these accidents had the same characteristic: the in-flight fire spread rapidly and became uncontrollable.

The Board believes that the five Safety Recommendations released today describe initiatives that can be taken to reduce the risks that have been identified.

As the investigation proceeds, should the Board identify additional safety deficiencies in need of urgent attention, it will make further aviation safety recommendations.

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada is an independent agency operating under its own Act of Parliament. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

- 30 -


Backgrounder: Five TSB Interim Aviation Safety Recommendations

Integrated Firefighting Measures

During the course of the Swissair flight 111 investigation, the TSB has necessarily looked beyond the specific circumstances of this single occurrence to examine industry standards in the area of in-flight firefighting. The Board believes that industry efforts have fallen short in this area, and that the industry should look at fire prevention, detection and suppression as being the components of a coordinated and comprehensive approach. Such an approach would consider and include all aspects of firefighting, such as:

  • aircraft design;
  • certification of materials;
  • accessibility to vulnerable areas of the aircraft for firefighting purposes;
  • effective fire detection and suppression equipment;
  • well-designed in-flight emergency procedures; and
  • fully trained and equipped aircraft crew.

The Board is concerned that the present approach to in-flight firefighting, both in design and implementation, is inadequate. More needs to be done to develop an effective firefighting system, and to ensure that all of the elements of such a system are fully integrated, compatible, and supported by all the other elements.

The regulatory authorities and the aviation industry must ensure that aircraft crews are provided with an appropriate integrated system to successfully detect and suppress any in-flight fire. The TSB's Swissair Flight 111 investigation has revealed that there are a number of safety deficiencies that could reduce the chances of an in-flight fire being detected and extinguished in time, such as:

  • lack of effective fire detection and suppression systems in vulnerable areas of the aircraft fuselage;
  • dependence on human sensory systems for the detection of odours/smoke;
  • inadequate appreciation for how little time is available to detect, analyse and suppress an in-flight fire.

In general, these deficiencies highlight weaknesses in the approach to preparing for the eventuality of an in-flight fire.

  • Recommendation #1.
    Appropriate regulatory authorities, in conjunction with the aviation community, review the adequacy of in-flight firefighting as a whole, to ensure that aircraft crews are provided with a system whose elements are complementary and optimized to provide the maximum probability of detecting and suppressing any in-flight fire.[A00-16]


Smoke/Fire Detection and Suppression

At present, built-in smoke/fire detection and suppression systems in transport category aircraft are required only in "designated fire zones," which are areas that are not readily accessible and that contain recognized ignition and fuel sources. These areas include: powerplants, auxiliary power units (APU), lavatories, and cargo areas.

This recommendation addresses safety deficiencies associated with fire detection and suppression systems within the pressurized portion of the fuselage (known as the "pressure vessel") of transport category aircraft that are not now designated as fire zones.

Most transport category aircraft contain many kilometres of electrical wiring and a multitude of electrical components that have the potential, under certain conditions of failure, to produce heat that could ignite flammable materials.

Although materials used in aircraft must conform to specific criteria for fire-resistance, some flammable materials, such as the metallized Mylar thermal acoustical covering material described in the TSB's interim Safety Recommendation A99-08, dated 11 August 1999, remain in some aircraft. The U.S. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has mandated the removal of this material from aircraft; however, the associated FAA Notice of Proposed Rulemaking indicated that there are other thermal insulation blanket covering materials that exhibit flame propagation properties similar to those of metallized Mylar. In addition, within transport category aircraft there are many spaces that are seldom inspected and that can become contaminated with dust and other combustible debris that could contribute to fire propagation.

The Board believes that there is the potential for a fire to ignite and propagate without detection in areas not designated as fire zones. Such areas include, but are not limited to:

  • electronic equipment (E&E) bays (typically below the floor beneath the cockpit and forward passenger cabin);
  • the areas behind interior wall panels in the cockpit and cabin areas;
  • the areas behind circuit-breaker and other electronic panels; and
  • the area between the crown of the aircraft and the drop-down ceiling (sometimes referred to as the "attic" area).

The Board believes that the present detection and suppression capabilities in those non-designated fire-zones of the aircraft fuselage, are inadequate. Presently, they are for the most part dependant on human senses for smoke/fire detection. In most transport category aircraft the occupied areas are isolated from the inaccessible areas by highly efficient aircraft ventilation/filtering systems, which can effectively remove combustion products from small fires and impede the timely detection of smoke by human senses; therefore, small fires can continue to propagate, and remain undetected by cabin occupants. Furthermore, any attempt at smoke/fire suppression in these areas would require direct human intervention using hand-held fire extinguishers. As the SR 111 accident and other occurrences demonstrate, early detection and suppression are critical in controlling in-flight fire.

  • Recommendation #2.
    Appropriate regulatory authorities, together with the aviation community, review the methodology for establishing designated fire zones within the pressurized portion of the aircraft, with a view to providing improved detection and suppression capability.[A00-17]


Prompt Preparation for Emergency Landing

Instances of various odours on board aircraft are relatively common; however, odour/smoke occurrences rarely develop into uncontrolled in-flight fires. The SR 111 accident raised awareness of the potential consequences of an odour/smoke situation, and the rate for flight diversions has increased as a result. Some airlines have modified their policies, procedures, checklists, and training programs to facilitate timely diversions and rapid preparations to land immediately if smoke from an unknown source appears and cannot be readily eliminated. Along with other initiatives, Swissair amended their MD-11 checklist for "Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin" to indicate "Land at the nearest emergency aerodrome" as the first action item. While such initiatives reduce the risk of an accident, the Board believes that more needs to be done, industry-wide.

Within the aviation industry, there is an experience-based expectation that the source of odours/smoke will be discovered quickly and that troubleshooting procedures will "fix the problem." Although in-flight fires like that aboard Swissair Flight 111 are rare, the TSB review shows that in a situation where an in-flight fire continues to develop, there is a limited amount of time to land the aircraft. In situations where odour/smoke from an unknown source occurs, the decision to initiate a diversion and prepare for a potential emergency landing must be made quickly.

  • Recommendation #3.
    Appropriate regulatory authorities take action to ensure that industry standards reflect a philosophy that when odour/smoke from an unknown source appears in an aircraft, the most appropriate course of action is to prepare to land the aircraft expeditiously.[A00-18]


Time Required to Troubleshoot in Odour/Smoke Situations

In circumstances where the source of odour/smoke is not readily apparent, flight crews are trained to follow troubleshooting procedures, contained in checklists, to eliminate the origin of the smoke/fumes. Some of these procedures involve turning off electrical power and/or isolating an environmental system. Completing such checklists takes time, increasing the chances that a specific heat source could ignite a fire.

The Board believes that smoke/fumes checklists must be designed so that the appropriate troubleshooting procedures are completed quickly and effectively. By design, an indeterminate amount of time is required to assess the impact of each action. It can take a long time to complete the checklist, including troubleshooting actions. For example, the MD-11 Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist can take up to 30 minutes to complete. There is no regulatory direction or industry standard specifying how much time it should take to complete these checklists.

  • Recommendation #4.
    Appropriate regulatory authorities ensure that emergency checklist procedures for the condition of odour/smoke of unknown origin be designed so as to be completed in a timeframe that will minimize the possibility of an in-flight fire being ignited or sustained.[A00-19]

Efficiency of Fire Suppression in the Pressurized Portions of the Aircraft

An uncontrollable in-flight fire constitutes a very serious and complicated emergency. A fire may originate from a variety of possible sources, may start slowly, and after a certain development time, can spread very rapidly. Response time is critical. Aircraft crews must not only be knowledgeable about the aircraft and its systems, they must be trained and equipped to combat any fire quickly and effectively in all areas within the pressurized section of an aircraft, including those areas that may not be readily accessible.

Current aviation requirements and standards stipulate that aircraft crews must be trained to fight in-flight fires; however, the TSB found that within the industry there is a lack of coordinated cabin and flight crew fire-fighting training and procedures to enable crews to quickly locate, assess, control, and suppress an in-flight fire within the fuselage of aircraft. The Board is also concerned that aircraft crews are not trained or equipped to have ready access to spaces within the fuselage where fires have the potential to ignite and spread. The Board believes that the lack of comprehensive in-flight firefighting procedures, and coordinated aircraft crew training to use those procedures, constitutes a safety deficiency.

  • Recommendation #5.
    Appropriate regulatory authorities review current in-flight firefighting standards including procedures, training, equipment, and accessibility to spaces such as attic areas to ensure that aircraft crews are prepared to respond immediately, effectively and in a coordinated manner to any in-flight fire.[A00-20]

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqués

BST no A 15/2000

RECOMMANDATIONS DE SÉCURITÉ PROVISOIRES SUR LA LUTTE CONTRE LES INCENDIES EN VOL
DOSSIER NO A98H0003

Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) le 4 décembre 2000 - Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié aujourd'hui cinq recommandations en matière de sécurité aérienne concernant les moyens de lutte contre les incendies en vol. Ces recommandations découlent de l'enquête en cours sur l'accident du vol 111 de Swissair.

Wreckage Reconstruction Photo Thumbnails

L'enquête de sécurité a suscité des préoccupations sur l'approche généralement adoptée par la communauté aéronautique quant aux moyens dont disposent les équipages pour détecter, trouver, évaluer, maîtriser et éteindre un incendie en vol dans certaines zones situées à l'intérieur d'un avion de transport.

Jusqu'à présent, l'enquête sur le vol 111 de Swissair a révélé des dommages considérables causés par le feu dans une zone située au-dessus du plafond et parfois appelée « espace inoccupé », dans la partie avant de l'avion, à environ 1,5 mètre devant et à 5 mètres derrière la cloison du poste de pilotage. L'origine de l'incendie n'a pas été déterminée, mais le Bureau croit que des lacunes au chapitre de la conception et de l'équipement, de l'entraînement de l'équipage, de la sensibilisation, des procédures et des listes de vérifications ont peut-être gêné la détection de l'incendie et n'ont pas permis de l'éteindre rapidement.

Au cours de cette enquête, les enquêteurs ont évalué les moyens de lutte contre les incendies au sein de l'industrie de l'aviation, notamment les procédures et l'équipement destinés à prévenir, à maîtriser ou à éteindre les incendies dans les avions. L'inflammabilité des matériaux, l'accessibilité aux zones situées à l'intérieur de l'avion, l'équipement de protection contre la fumée et les incendies, l'équipement de suppression de la fumée et des incendies, les procédures d'urgence et l'entraînement comptent parmi les sujets étudiés.

Le BST a cerné des lacunes à plusieurs égards dans les exigences gouvernementales et les normes de l'industrie en vigueur relatives à la lutte contre les incendies en vol. Chaque lacune peut augmenter le temps dont l'équipage a besoin pour maîtriser une situation qui risque de s'aggraver rapidement. Chaque seconde compte lorsqu'il s'agit de détecter et de maîtriser un incendie en vol.

Dans le cas du vol 111 de Swissair, environ 20 minutes se sont écoulées à partir du moment où l'équipage a détecté une odeur inhabituelle jusqu'au moment où l'avion s'est abîmé dans l'océan, et environ 11 minutes se sont écoulées entre le moment où la présence de la fumée a été confirmée par l'équipage et le moment où l'incendie aurait en fait commencé à gêner les circuits de bord. Le BST a examiné un certain nombre de bases de données pour trouver des cas d'incendie présentant des similitudes avec le déroulement de l'accident. Quinze cas ont été relevés, le plus ancien s'étant produit en 1967. Dans ces cas, le temps qui s'est écoulé entre le moment où l'incendie a été détecté et le moment où l'avion s'est écrasé s'échelonne entre 5 et 35 minutes. Chaque cas présente la même caractéristique: l'incendie en vol s'est propagé rapidement et est devenu incontrôlable.

Le Bureau croit que les cinq recommandations qu'il rend publiques aujourd'hui décrivent des mesures pouvant permettre de réduire les dangers cernés.

Si d'autres manquements à la sécurité devant faire l'objet de mesures immédiates sont relevés à mesure que l'enquête se poursuit, le Bureau s'empressera de faire d'autres recommandations en matière de sécurité aérienne.

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada est un organisme indépendant régi par une loi du Parlement. Sa mission est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

- 30 -

Document d'information: Cinq recommandation provisoires du BST sur la sécurité aérienne

Mesures intégrées de lutte contre les incendies

Au cours de l'enquête sur l'accident du vol 111 de Swissair, le BST a nécessairement regardé au-delà des circonstances propres à cet accident pour examiner les normes de l'industrie dans le domaine de la lutte contre les incendies en vol. Le Bureau croit que les efforts de l'industrie laissent à désirer dans ce domaine et que cette dernière devrait considérer la prévention, la détection et l'extinction des incendies comme des éléments d'une approche coordonnée et détaillée. Cette approche devrait envisager et inclure tous les aspects de la lutte contre les incendies, notamment:

  • la conception des avions;
  • la certification des matériaux;
  • l'accessibilité aux endroits vulnérables de l'avion à des fins de lutte contre les incendies;
  • l'efficacité de l'équipement de détection et d'extinction des incendies;
  • des procédures d'urgence en vol bien conçues;
  • un équipage bien entraîné et bien équipé.

Le Bureau se préoccupe du fait que l'approche actuelle en matière de lutte contre les incendies en vol, tant du point de vue de la conception que de la mise en oeuvre, laisse à désirer. Il faut en faire plus pour mettre au point un système efficace de lutte contre les incendies et pour assurer que chaque élément d'un tel système est entièrement intégré, compatible et complété par tous les autres éléments.

Les organismes de réglementation et l'industrie de l'aviation doivent assurer que les équipages disposent d'un système intégré approprié leur permettant de détecter et d'éteindre tout incendie en vol. L'enquête du BST sur le vol 111 de Swissair a révélé que certaines lacunes peuvent compromettre les chances de détecter rapidement un incendie en vol et de l'éteindre, notamment:

  • l'absence de systèmes de détection et d'extinction d'incendie efficaces dans les endroits vulnérables à l'intérieur de l'avion;
  • le fait qu'il faut s'en remettre aux sens de l'être humain pour la détection des odeurs et de la fumée;
  • le fait qu'il est difficile d'évaluer le peu de temps disponible pour la détection, l'analyse et l'extinction d'un incendie en vol.

En général, ces lacunes révèlent des problèmes dans l'approche visant à se préparer à l'éventualité d'un incendie en vol.

Recommandationo 1

  • Que les organismes de réglementation pertinents, de concert avec la communauté aéronautique, examinent la question de la lutte contre les incendies en vol dans son ensemble pour assurer que les équipages d'aéronef disposent d'un système dont les éléments sont complémentaires et optimisés en vue d'offrir le plus de chances possible de détecter et d'éteindre tout incendie en vol.[A00-16]

Détection et suppression de la fumée et des incendies

À l'heure actuelle, des systèmes intégrés de détection et de suppression de la fumée et des incendies dans les avions de transport ne sont exigés que dans les zones désignées comme des « zones de feu », lesquelles sont des zones difficiles d'accès et qui contiennent des sources d'inflammation et de combustibles connues. Ces zones sont les groupes motopropulseurs, les groupes auxiliaires de bord (APU), les toilettes et les soutes.

La présente recommandation porte sur les manquements à la sécurité associés aux systèmes de détection et d'extinction d'incendie situés à l'intérieur des parties pressurisées du fuselage des avions de transport pour les endroits qui ne sont pas à l'heure actuelle des zones désignées comme des zones de feu.

La plupart des avions de transport contiennent des kilomètres de câbles électriques ainsi qu'une multitude de composants électriques qui peuvent, dans certaines conditions et face à certaines défectuosités, produire de la chaleur qui pourrait enflammer des matériaux inflammables.

Même si les matériaux utilisés dans les avions doivent répondre à des critères précis de résistance au feu, certains matériaux inflammables sont toujours en place dans certains avions, notamment le matériau de matelas d'isolation thermique et acoustique en Mylar métallisé mentionné dans la recommandation de sécurité provisoire A99-08 du BST datée du 11 août 1999. La Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis a exigé que ce matériau soit enlevé des avions; toutefois, la Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (avis public concernant l'établissement de règlements) connexe de la FAA indiquait que d'autres matériaux de matelas d'isolation thermique et acoustique présentent des caractéristiques de propagation des flammes semblables à celles du Mylar métallisé. De plus, à l'intérieur d'un avion de transport, il existe de nombreux espaces qui sont rarement inspectés et où il peut s'accumuler de la saleté et d'autres débris combustibles pouvant contribuer à la propagation d'un incendie.

Le Bureau croit qu'un incendie pourrait se déclarer et se propager sans être détecté dans des endroits non désignés comme des zones de feu. Ces endroits comprennent entre autres:

  • les compartiments de matériel électrique et électronique (habituellement situés sous le plancher du poste de pilotage et de la partie avant de la cabine);
  • les espaces situés derrière les panneaux muraux intérieurs dans le poste de pilotage et la cabine;
  • les espaces situés derrière les tableaux de disjoncteurs et derrière d'autres tableaux éélectroniques;
  • l'espace situé entre le sommet de l'avion et le plafond suspendu (parfois appelé « espace inoccupé »).

Le Bureau croit que les moyens actuels de détection et d'extinction d'incendie dans les zones non désignées comme des zones de feu à l'intérieur de l'avion laissent à désirer. À l'heure actuelle, ces moyens se limitent pour la plupart à la détection de la fumée et des incendies par les sens. Dans la plupart des avions de transport, les espaces occupés sont isolés des zones très difficiles d'accès par des systèmes de ventilation et de filtration très efficaces pouvant éliminer efficacement les produits de combustion des petits incendies et nuire à la détection en temps opportun de la fumée par les sens. Par conséquent, de petits incendies peuvent continuer à se propager sans être détectés par les occupants de la cabine. En outre, toute tentative d'évacuation de la fumée ou d'extinction d'un incendie dans ces endroits nécessite une intervention humaine directe à l'aide d'extincteurs portatifs. Comme le montre l'accident du vol 111 de Swissair et d'autres accidents, chaque seconde compte quand il s'agit de détecter un incendie en vol et il faut absolument lutter rapidement contre l'incendie pour arriver à le maîtriser.

Recommandation no 2

  • Que les organismes de réglementation pertinents, de concert avec la communauté aéronautique, examinent la méthodologie régissant la détermination des zones désignées comme des zones de feu à l'intérieur des parties pressurisées des avions en vue de fournir de meilleurs moyens de détection et d'extinction des incendies.[A00-17]

Préparation rapide à un atterrissage d'urgence

La présence de diverses odeurs à bord d'un avion est relativement courante; par contre, la présence d'odeurs ou de fumée se traduit rarement par des incendies en vol incontrôlables. L'accident du vol 111 de Swissair a sensibilisé les gens à la présence d'odeurs et de fumée et à leurs conséquences. Depuis cet accident, le nombre de déroutements a augmenté. Quelques lignes aériennes ont modifié leurs politiques, leurs procédures, leurs listes de vérifications et leur programmes d'entraînement pour permettre aux déroutements de se faire plus facilement et en temps opportun et pour que les équipages puissent se préparer rapidement à un atterrissage immédiat si de la fumée d'une source inconnue se manifeste et qu'elle ne peut être facilement évacuée. La société Swissair a pris diverses mesures, mais elle a également modifié la liste de vérifications du MD-11 à la rubrique « Fumée et émanations d'origine inconnue » pour qu'elle indique « Atterrir à l'aérodrome d'urgence le plus proche » comme étant la première mesure à prendre. Même si ces mesures permettront de réduire les risques d'accident, le Bureau croit que des mesures supplémentaires doivent également être prises à l'échelle de l'industrie.

Au sein de l'industrie de l'aviation, on s'attend par expérience à ce que la source des odeurs ou de la fumée soit découverte rapidement et à ce que les procédures d'évaluation de la situation « règlent le problème ». Bien que des incendies en vol comme celui du vol 111 de Swissair soient rares, l'examen du BST révèle que quand un incendie en vol continue de gagner en intensité, l'équipage a peu de temps pour poser l'avion. Quand l'origine des odeurs ou de la fumée est inconnue, la décision d'amorcer un déroutement et de se préparer à un atterrissage d'urgence doit être prise rapidement.

Recommandation no 3

  • Que les organismes de réglementation pertinents prennent des mesures pour assurer que les normes de l'industrie indiquent bien que lorsque des odeurs ou de la fumée de source inconnue sont décelées dans un avion, le plan d'action le plus approprié consiste à se préparer à atterrir le plus rapidement possible.[A00-18]

Temps nécessaire pour évaluer la situation après que des odeurs ou de la fumée ont été décelées

Si la source des odeurs ou de la fumée n'est pas immédiatement évidente, les équipages de conduite sont entraînés à suivre les procédures d'évaluation figurant sur les listes de vérifications afin d'éliminer la source des odeurs ou de la fumée. Certaines de ces procédures comprennent la coupure de l'alimentation électrique ou l'isolement d'un système de ventilation. Il faut du temps pour exécuter ces listes de vérifications, ce qui augmente les risques qu'une source de chaleur cause un incendie.

Le Bureau croit que les listes de vérifications relatives à la présence de fumée ou d'émanations doivent être conçues de manière que les procédures d'évaluation appropriées puissent être exécutées rapidement et efficacement. De fait, il faut un certain temps pour évaluer l'impact de chaque mesure. L'exécution de la liste de vérifications peut prendre beaucoup de temps, y compris les mesures d'évaluation. Par exemple, l'exécution de la liste de vérifications du MD-11 relativement à la fumée et aux émanations d'origine inconnue peut prendre jusqu'à 30 minutes. Aucune directive réglementaire ni aucune norme de l'industrie ne précise combien de temps doit prendre l'exécution de ces listes de vérifications.

Recommandation no 4

  • Que les organismes de réglementation pertinents s'assurent que les procédures des listes de vérifications d'urgence relatives à la présence d'odeurs ou de fumée d'origine inconnue soient conçues pour être exécutées dans un délai permettant de minimiser les risques qu'un incendie se déclare en vol et se propage.[A00-19]

Efficacité de la lutte contre les incendies dans les parties pressurisées de l'avion

Un incendie en vol qui n'est pas maîtrisé est une situation d'urgence complexe et très grave. L'incendie peut provenir de diverses sources, peut commencer lentement et, après avoir gagné en intensité, se propager très rapidement. Le temps de réaction est critique. Les équipages doivent non seulement bien connaître l'avion et ses systèmes, mais ils doivent aussi être entraînés et disposer de l'équipement nécessaire pour combattre n'importe quel type d'incendie rapidement et efficacement dans toutes les zones, y compris celles qui ne sont pas faciles d'accès.

Les normes et les exigences actuelles en aviation stipulent que les équipages doivent être entraînés à combattre des incendies en vol; toutefois, le BST a constaté qu'au sein de l'industrie il n'y a pas de procédures ni d'entraînement coordonnés entre le personnel de cabine et l'équipage de conduite dans la lutte contre les incendies pour leur permettre de trouver, d'évaluer, de maîtriser et d'éteindre rapidement un incendie en vol à l'intérieur de l'avion. Le Bureau se préoccupe aussi du fait que les équipages ne sont pas entraînés ni équipés pour avoir facilement accès aux espaces à l'intérieur de l'avion où des incendies risquent de se déclarer et de se propager. Le Bureau croit que le manque de procédures détaillées relatives à la lutte contre les incendies en vol et le manque de coordination de l'équipage dans l'utilisation de ces procédures constituent un manquement à la sécurité.

Recommandation no 5

  • Que les organismes de réglementation pertinents examinent les normes de lutte contre les incendies en vol, notamment les procédures, l'entraînement, l'équipement et l'accessibilité aux endroits comme les espaces inoccupés, pour assurer que les équipages sont en mesure d'intervenir rapidement et d'une manière efficace et coordonnée et de lutter contre tout incendie en vol.[A00-20]

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca