Aviation news release 2006

TSB # A10/2006

THE TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD OF CANADA CALLS FOR REGULATORY CHANGES TO REDUCE POST-IMPACT FIRES RESULTING FROM SMALL-AIRCRAFT ACCIDENTS

(Gatineau, Quebec, August 29, 2006) - The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) today released its Safety Issues Investigation report (SII A05-01) on post-impact fires resulting from small-aircraft accidents. The objective of this investigation was to uncover the deficiencies that contribute to post-impact fires and fire-related injuries and fatalities in otherwise survivable accidents. The report also identifies some options for reducing risks associated with post-impact fires.

The Board has made three recommendations to Transport Canada, the Federal Aviation Administration and other foreign regulators. The recommendations are for regulatory changes that, if acted on, would likely have an impact on small-aircraft manufacturers and operators. The first recommendation is to conduct a cost-benefit analysis using Canadian post-impact fire statistics and current dollar-value measurement of human life, and the costs of newest advances in post-impact fire prevention technology. The two other recommendations call for a number of changes to aircraft design standards and measures to make existing small aircraft safer.

Small aircraft have a maximum certified take-off weight of 5700 kilograms (12 566 pounds) or less. The TSB advises that occupants of small aircraft are, and continue to be, at risk of sustaining post-impact fire-related injuries and fatalities.

A Safety Issues Investigation reviews multiple occurrences that the Board deems to be indicative of significant unsafe situations or conditions. The Board identified the need to conduct this Safety Issues Investigation, having considered the higher accident rate in small-aircraft operations, the extent of fire-related injuries and fatalities, and the requirement for more defences. The overall significance of small-aircraft post-impact fires would not have become apparent through individual occurrence investigations, and the conclusions and recommendations could not have been made based on a single investigation.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

- 30 -

The Safety Issues Investigation Report, SII A05-01, and the Backgrounder are available on the TSB Web site.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqués

BST no A10/2006

LE BUREAU DE LA SÉCURITÉ DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA DEMANDE DES CHANGEMENTS RÉGLEMENTAIRES EN VUE DE RÉDUIRE LE NOMBRE D'INCENDIES APRÈS IMPACT FAISANT SUITE À DES ACCIDENTS DE PETIT AÉRONEF

Gatineau (Québec) le 29 août 2006 - Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) publie son rapport sur les incendies après impact faisant suite à des accidents de petit aéronef (rapport d'enquête sur des problèmes de sécurité numéro SII A05-01). L'enquête du BST visait à cerner les lacunes qui contribuent aux incendies après impact et à identifier les blessures et les décès liés à l'incendie dans les accidents offrant des chances de survie. Le rapport présente également diverses options visant à réduire les risques inhérents aux incendies après impact.

Le Bureau a présenté trois recommandations à Transports Canada, à la Federal Aviation Administration des États Unis et à d'autres organismes de réglementation étrangers concernant des changements réglementaires. Les mesures prises à la suite de ces recommandations et, le cas échéant, leur mise en oeuvre, pourraient avoir une incidence sur les constructeurs de petits aéronefs et sur les exploitants. La première recommandation demande la conduite d'une analyse des avantages par rapport aux coûts, à l'aide des statistiques canadiennes sur les incendies après impact et des chiffres canadiens actuels de la valeur estimative d'une vie statistique, en tenant compte des dernières avancées technologiques en matière de prévention des incendie après impact. Les deux autres recommandations demandent des modifications aux normes de conception des aéronefs et des mesures visant à améliorer la sécurité des petits aéronefs.

Un petit aéronef est un aéronef ayant une masse maximale homologuée au décollage égale ou inférieure à 5700 kg (12 566 lb). Le rapport du BST conclut que les occupants des petits aéronefs continuent d'être exposés à des risques de mort et de blessures liées aux incendies après impact.

Une enquête sur des problèmes de sécurité examine de multiples événements qui, d'après le Bureau, sont le signe de situations ou de conditions dangereuses. Après avoir constaté le taux d'accident plus élevé pour les vols effectués par de petits aéronefs, la gravité des blessures et le nombre de décès liés à l'incendie dans des accidents de petit aéronef et après avoir compris la nécessité de meilleurs moyens de défense, le Bureau a décidé de mener la présente enquête. La conduite d'enquêtes sur de nombreux accidents individuels n'aurait pas pu permettre de lever le voile sur la situation entourant les incendies associés aux accidents de petit aéronef, pas plus que la conduite d'une enquête sur un seul accident n'aurait pu permettre de tirer les conclusions et les recommandations de la présente enquête.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

- 30 -

Le rapport d'enquête sur des problèmes de sécurité SII A05-01 et le document d'information sont aussi disponibles sur ce site.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca