Aviation news release 2009

TSB # A02/2009

Update: Transportation Safety Board of Canada Investigation into Cougar Helicopter Sikorsky S92-A Crash

(Gatineau, Quebec, March 24, 2009) - Following the Transportation Safety Board of Canada's (TSB) March 20th discovery of a broken main gearbox filter bowl assembly mounting stud on the Cougar Helicopters Sikorsky S92 A, more than half of the Sikorsky S92 A helicopters worldwide have had the defective studs replaced. The remaining studs are expected to be replaced in a timely fashion.

More information about the stud replacements and factual information about the March 12th accident will be made available at a final press conference on Thursday, March 26th. At this time, media will have an opportunity to photograph some of the wreckage from a specified distance.

Event Details

When:

1 p.m. Newfoundland and Labrador time, Thursday, March 26, 2009

12 p.m. Media have access to hangar to set up their equipment.
1 p.m. Photo op begins.
1:15 p.m. Press conference begins with presentation.
1:25 p.m. Questions and answers period begins.

Where:

Provincial Government Hangar (Hangar #3)
Torbay side of the Airport
St. John's, Newfoundland

Who:

Mr. Mike Cunningham, Investigator-in-Charge
Mr. Allan Chaulk, Technical Team Lead
Mr. Charles Laurence, Operations Team Lead

*Important Note:

Still photos of the recovery process are also now available on the TSB website at www.bst-tsb.gc.ca. Should you require a copy please contact TSB Communications at communications@bst-tsb.gc.ca. Media who are not able to attend the press conference but wish to have an interview can schedule one immediately following the press conference by contacting TSB Media Relations at the coordinates below. The same information that was provided at the press conference will be communicated.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

- 30 -

For further information, please contact:

Media Relations
Media Relations
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Telephone: 819-994-8053



To read the previous communiqu� about this investigation, please click here.



The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqués

BST no A02/2009

Mise à jour : L'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur l'écrasement du Sikorsky S92-A de Cougar Helicopters

Gatineau (Québec) le 24 mars 2009 – À la suite de la découverte faite le 20 mars par le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) du bris d'un goujon de fixation de la cuve de filtre de la boîte d'engrenage principale du Sikorsky S92-A exploité par Cougar Helicopters, on a remplacé les goujons de fixation défectueux de plus de la moitié des hélicoptères Sikorsky S92-A dans le monde entier. On prévoit que les autres goujons seront remplacés sous peu.

Vous pourrez obtenir plus de renseignements sur le remplacement des goujons et des renseignements factuels sur l'accident survenu le 12 mars lors d'une conférence de presse qui se tiendra le jeudi 26 mars. Les médias pourront prendre des photos de certaines pièces d'épave d'une distance prédéterminée dans le cadre de cette conférence de presse.


Détails sur l'événement:


Quand :

13 h, heure de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, le jeudi 26 mars 2009

12 h Les médias auront accès au hangar pour installer leur équipement

13 h Début de la séance de photos

13 h 15 Début de la conférence de presse et présentation

13 h 25 Début de la période de questions

Lieu :
Hangar gouvernemental provincial (Hangar no 3)
Côté Torbay de l'aéroport
St. John's (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)


Qui :
M. Mike Cunningham, enquêteur désigné, M. Allan Chaulk, chef de l'équipe technique et M. Charles Laurence, chef de l'équipe des opérations

*Important :
Des photos du processus de récupération sont maintenant disponibles sur le site Web du BST à l'adresse www.bst-tsb.gc.ca. Si vous en voulez une copie, veuillez communiquer avec la Division des communications du BST à l'adresse communications@bst-tsb.gc.ca. Les médias qui ne peuvent assister à la conférence de presse mais qui veulent obtenir une entrevue peuvent en fixer une immédiatement après la conférence de presse en communiquant avec les Relations avec les médias du BST aux coordonnées ci-bas. Les mêmes renseignements communiqués lors de la conférence de presse leur seront communiqués.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :
Relations avec les médias
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Téléphone : 819-994-8053



Pour lire le communiqué de presse précédent au sujet de cette enquête, veuillez cliquer ici.



Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca