Aviation news release 2012

Unstabilized approach leads to June 2011 runway excursion at Toronto/Buttonville Airport

Gatineau, Quebec, 03 October 2012 – The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) today released its investigation report (A11O0098) into the runway excursion involving a Dassault Falcon 10 business jet operated by Skycharter Ltd. that occurred at the Toronto/Buttonville Municipal Airport on 17 June 2011.

"Unstabilized approaches and excessive airspeed have been causal factors in many approach and landing accidents over the years," said Don Enns, Manager, Air Investigation Operations, Ontario Region. "Flying fast and high on approach can result in aircraft control difficulties, leading to runway excursions."

While preparing to land at the Toronto/Buttonville Municipal Airport, the captain and first officer were flying an unstablilized approach with excessive airspeed. The aircraft overshot the runway centreline while turning onto the final approach course for Runway 33. The pilot tried to regain the runway centreline with a sharp turn to the left. Shortly after, the ground proximity warning system gave a warning to pull up, and the first officer called for a missed approach. The captain continued with the approach. Immediately after landing, the aircraft departed the runway surface to the right, where it traversed the grass infield onto the adjacent taxiway. The aircraft came to a stop before Runway 21/03. There were no injuries to either crew member, and the aircraft was substantially damaged.

The investigation also found that the crew did not fully adhere to the company's standard operating procedures after take-off. It also found that numerous checklist items were not completed and non-standard wording was used while carrying out procedures. These factors were found to have contributed to the accident.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqués 2012

Une approche non stabilisée mène à une sortie de piste à l'aéroport de Toronto/Buttonville au mois de juin 2011

Gatineau (Québec) le 3 octobre 2012 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié aujourd'hui son rapport d'enquête (A11O0098) sur la sortie de piste d'un jet d'affaires Dassault Falcon 10 exploité par Skycharter Ltd. survenue à l'aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville le 17 juin 2011.

« Au fil des ans, les approches non stabilisées et des vitesses anémométriques excessives ont été des facteurs de causalité dans nombre d'accidents survenus aux phases d'approche et d'atterrissage », a indiqué Don Enns, gestionnaire des opérations d'enquête aérienne de la région de l'Ontario. « Faire une approche à vitesse et à altitude élevées peut rendre un aéronef plus difficile à maîtriser et entraîner des sorties de piste. »

En prévision de l'atterrissage à l'aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville, le commandant de bord et le premier officier ont effectué une approche non stabilisée à une vitesse anémométrique excessive. L'aéronef a dépassé l'axe de piste durant le virage à l'approche finale vers la piste 33. Le pilote a tenté de rétablir le cap sur l'axe de piste en effectuant un virage serré vers la gauche. Peu après, le dispositif avertisseur de proximité du sol a retenti pour indiquer au pilote de cabrer l'aéronef, et le premier officier a demandé une approche interrompue. Pourtant, le commandant de bord a poursuivi l'approche. Immédiatement après le toucher des roues, l'aéronef a quitté la surface de la piste vers la droite pour ensuite traverser l'entrepiste gazonnée et s'engager sur la voie de circulation adjacente. L'aéronef s'est immobilisé devant la piste 21/03. Ni l'un ni l'autre des membres de l'équipage n'a été blessé, mais l'aéronef a subi d'importants dommages.

L'enquête a également révélé que l'équipage n'avait pas adhéré strictement aux procédures d'utilisation normalisées de l'entreprise après le décollage. Elle a en outre conclu que de nombreuses tâches de la liste de vérifications n'avaient pas été exécutées, et que l'équipage avait utilisé des formulations non standard en appliquant les procédures. L'enquête a conclu que ces facteurs avaient contribué à l'accident.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca