News release

Canadian Coast Guard to lead helicopter search and recovery operations with ArcticNet in support of TSB investigation in the Arctic

Gatineau, Quebec, 17 September 2013 – The Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) is working to recover its CCG Messerschmitt-Bolkow-Blohm Bo-105 helicopter which crashed in the Arctic Ocean last week. The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigation into this accident is ongoing.

On September 9, 2013, the CCG helicopter, operating from the CCGS Amundsen on an ice reconnaissance mission in the M'Clure Strait north of Banks Island, Northwest Territories, was involved in an accident and sank. None of the three persons on board the helicopter survived.

The TSB investigation team will arrive in Resolute, Nunavut today where they will meet with CCG and ArcticNet personnel to begin the search and recovery efforts aboard two CCG vessels. The CCGS Henry Larsen is immediately tasked with locating the helicopter and providing icebreaking and technical assistance. The CCGS Amundsen will provide search and recovery assistance, and will transport the technical equipment and personnel required to locate and recover the helicopter.

"While there are logistical challenges in planning a recovery mission in the harsh Arctic at this time of year," said Marc Grégoire, Commissioner of the CCG, "We will make every reasonable effort to recover the helicopter as soon as possible, while ensuring the safety of all personnel involved in this mission."

"We know we are facing a difficult environment with weather and ice conditions—and there are no guarantees," added Wendy Tadros, Chair of the TSB. "But the TSB is committed to furthering its investigation to determine what happened in this tragic accident."

"Everyone associated with ArcticNet and the Amundsen program are cooperating fully with the CCG and TSB, and we are allocating our best technical and material resources towards the success of this operation," said Dr. Martin Fortier, Executive Director of ArcticNet and Board member of the Amundsen program.

This investigation is a priority for the TSB.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Canadian Coast Guard
DFO Media Relations
Media Relations
613-990-7537

ArcticNet
Media Relations
Katie Blasco, Communications Officer
418-576-0355

Communiqué de presse

La Garde côtière canadienne mènera les opérations de recherche et de récupération de son hélicoptère avec ArcticNet en appui à l'enquête du BST dans l'Arctique

Gatineau (Quebec), le 18 septembre 2013 – La Garde côtière canadienne (GCC) est à récupérer son hélicoptère Messerschmitt-Bolkow-Blohm Bo-105, qui s'est écrasé dans l'océan Arctique la semaine dernière. Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) poursuit son enquête sur l'accident.

Le 9 septembre 2013, l'hélicoptère de la GCC, qui opèrait à partir du NGCC Amundsen en mission de reconnaissance des glaces dans le détroit de M'Clure au nord de l'île Banks dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, a été victime d'un accident et a coulé. Aucun des trois passagers à bord de l'hélicoptère n'a survécu.

L'équipe d'enquête du BST arrivera à Resolute (Nunavut) aujourd'hui, où elle rencontrera les employés de la GCC et d'ArcticNet pour débuter le travail de recherche et de récupération à bord de deux navires de la GCC. Le NGCC Henry Larsen, dépêché sur les lieux, tentera de localiser l'hélicoptère et apportera une aide en matière de déglaçage et d'assistance technique. Le NGCC Amundsen appuiera les efforts de recherche et de récupération en plus de transporter l'équipement et le personnel supplémentaire nécessaires pour récupérer l'hélicoptère.

« Bien que la planification d'une mission de récupération dans le climat rigoureux de l'Arctique représente des défis sur le plan logistique à cette période de l'année, a déclaré le commissaire de la GCC, Marc Grégoire, nous ferons tous les efforts raisonnables pour récupérer l'hélicoptère le plus rapidement possible, tout en assurant la sécurité des membres du personnel participant à cette mission. »

« Nous savons que nous affrontons un environnement difficile en raison des conditions météorologiques et des glaces – et qu'il n'existe aucune garantie », a ajouté Wendy Tadros, la présidente du BST. « Mais le BST est résolu à poursuivre son enquête afin de déterminer ce qui est arrivé lors de ce tragique accident. »

« Toutes les personnes associées à ArcticNet et au programme Amundsen collaborent pleinement avec la GCC et le BST, et nous avons affecté nos meilleures ressources techniques et matérielles à la réussite de cette opération », a fait savoir Martin Fortier, directeur exécutif d'ArcticNet et membre du conseil d'administration du programme Amundsen.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca