Marine news release 2005

TSB # M09/2005

TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD OF CANADA FINDS DEFICIENCIES IN EMERGENCY RESPONSE AND PASSENGER SAFETY REGARDING THE FIRE ON BOARD THE JOSEPH AND CLARA SMALLWOOD FERRY ON MAY 12, 2003

(Halifax, Nova Scotia, October 27, 2005) - The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) releases its final report (M03N0050) today into a fire on the passenger ferry Joseph and Clara Smallwood on May 12, 2003.

The TSB report concludes that the fire started around a tractor-trailer on the lower vehicle deck of the vessel. Over the course of its investigation, the TSB found deficiencies related to issues of passenger safety and emergency response, representing potential safety risks to passengers and crew. In almost every instance, the agencies responsible have taken appropriate safety action.

The passenger safety issues identified include findings that the fire alarm was not sounded in the passenger areas, that passengers were unaccounted for, that passengers were not regularly advised or updated about the situation, and that they were unnecessarily exposed to a potentially unsafe environment when they were directed to retrieve their vehicles upon arrival. The report also notes that some passengers, particularly commercial truckers, remained in their vehicles during the crossing another potential risk.

Other deficiencies addressed relate to emergency response issues. Among these are the lack of crowd control and crisis management training for crew, an inadequate knowledge in the operation of the fire detection system and the absence of documentation for a dangerous goods cargo on board.

Because of the importance of the safety deficiencies identified, the Board did not wait for the release of its final report to take action. It issued four safety communications to the appropriate stakeholders - the first within weeks of the incident - to improve safety immediately. These communications addressed the inadequate training of crew, preventing passengers from staying in their vehicles, improving internal communications and fire detection systems, and positioning of emergency lights.

Despite significant action taken as a result of the TSB investigation, safety concerns remain. These concerns highlight areas where problems may exist but have not yet revealed themselves to be significant unsafe conditions. The Board will continue to monitor the situation in future investigations to ensure that these concerns are not indicative of wider systemic deficiencies that require immediate attention.

On May 12, 2003, the Joseph and Clara Smallwood departed on a regularly scheduled crossing from North Sydney, Nova Scotia, to Port aux Basques, Newfoundland and Labrador. It was carrying 138 passengers and a crew of 80. At about eight nautical miles from Port aux Basques, a fire was discovered around a tractor-trailer on the lower vehicle deck. The deluge system started and the crew began to fight the fire as the ferry continued on. Three and a half hours after its arrival, the fire was put out with the help of the local volunteer fire department. Two crew members suffered minor injuries. Paramedics also examined and later released two passengers. The ferry and its cargo sustained some damage.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault of determine civil or criminal liability.

- 30 -

The public report and other related documents are available on this site.

Report number M03N0050
Background and Fact Sheet 1: Safety Action Taken
Background and Fact Sheet 2: Safety Concerns
Photo Gallery




The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqués

BST no M09/2005

L'ENQUÊTE DU BUREAU DE LA SÉCURITÉ DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA SUR L'INCENDIE SURVENU À BORD DU TRAVERSIER JOSEPH AND CLARA SMALLWOOD LE 12 MAI 2003 RÉVÈLE DES LACUNES CONCERNANT L'INTERVENTION D'URGENCE ET LA SÉCURITÉ DES PASSAGERS

Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) le 27 octobre 2005 - Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) publie son rapport d'enquête final (M03N0050) sur l'incendie survenu à bord du traversier à passagers Joseph and Clara Smallwood le 12 mai 2003.

L'enquête du BST révèle que l'incendie a pris naissance à proximité d'un camion à semi-remorque sur le pont-garage inférieur du traversier. L'enquête a permis de déceler des lacunes concernant la sécurité des passagers et l'intervention d'urgence, lacunes qui pourraient présenter des risques pour les passagers et les membres d'équipage. Dans presque tous les cas, les organismes responsables ont pris les mesures de sécurité qui s'imposaient.

Lacunes concernant la sécurité des passagers : l'alarme n'a pas été déclenchée dans les aires des passagers, les passagers n'ont pas été dénombrés, les passagers n'ont pas été régulièrement informés de la situation ou de son évolution, et ils ont été inutilement exposés à un environnement potentiellement dangereux lorsqu'ils ont été avisés de récupérer leur véhicule à l'arrivée. De plus, certains passagers, surtout des conducteurs de camions commerciaux, sont demeurés dans leur véhicule durant la traversée, ce qui constitue un autre risque potentiel.

Lacunes concernant l'intervention d'urgence : manque de formation des membres d'équipage en encadrement des passagers et en gestion de situations de crise, mauvaise compréhension du fonctionnement du système de détection des incendies et absence de documentation sur une cargaison de marchandises dangereuses à bord.

En raison de l'importance des lacunes de sécurité, le Bureau a décidé de ne pas attendre la publication de son rapport d'enquête final pour prendre des mesures. Il a fait parvenir quatre communications de sécurité aux intervenants compétents - la première dans les premières semaines qui ont suivi l'incident - afin d'améliorer la sécurité sans tarder. Ces communications portaient sur le manque de formation des membres d'équipage, les moyens d'éviter que des passagers demeurent dans leur véhicule pendant la traversée, l'amélioration des communications internes et des systèmes de détection des incendies et l'emplacement de l'éclairage de secours.

Malgré les mesures importantes prises à la suite de l'enquête du BST, des préoccupations liées à la sécurité persistent. Ces préoccupations soulignent des domaines où des problèmes pourraient surgir mais qui ne constituent pas des conditions très dangereuses pour le moment. Le Bureau continuera de surveiller la situation afin de s'assurer que ces préoccupations ne sont pas le signe de lacunes systémiques nécessitant des mesures immédiates.

Rappelons que le 12 mai 2003, le Joseph and Clara Smallwood avait appareillé de North Sydney (Nouvelle-Écosse) suivant son horaire régulier pour se rendre à Port aux Basques (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) avec à son bord 138 passagers et 80 membres d'équipage. À quelque huit milles marins de Port aux Basques, on avait découvert un incendie à proximité d'un camion à semi-remorque sur le pont-garage inférieur. On avait activé le système de rideau d'eau et lutté contre l'incendie pendant que le navire poursuivait sa route. L'incendie avait été éteint avec l'aide du corps de pompiers volontaires trois heures et demie après l'arrivée du traversier. Deux membres d'équipage ont subi des blessures légères. Deux passagers ont été examinés par des travailleurs paramédicaux et ont été autorisés à rentrer chez eux. Le traversier et son chargement ont subi des avaries.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

- 30 -

Le rapport final ainsi que d'autres documents connexes sont aussi disponibles sur ce site.

Rapport d'enquête M03N0050
Document d'information et fiche de renseignements no 1 Mesures de sécurité prises
Document d'information et fiche de renseignements no 2 Préoccupations liées à la sécurité
Photos




Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca