Marine news release 2008

TSB # M03/2008

THE TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD OF CANADA IDENTIFIES SAFETY RISKS ON SAIL TRAINING VESSELS

(Gatineau, Quebec, October 30, 2008) - The Transportation Safety Board (TSB) today released its final report (M06F0024) into a December 8, 2006 occurrence aboard the sail training vessel Picton Castle, wherein a crew member was lost overboard in foreign waters.

On the afternoon of December 5, 2006, the sail training vessel Picton Castle departed Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, bound for St. George's, Grenada, in the eastern Caribbean Sea. On board were 12 crew and 16 trainees. On the evening of December 8, shortly before 10:35 p.m., while in heavy weather, a deckhand was swept off the sail training vessel Picton Castle by a large wave.

In its final investigation report, the TSB has identified seven findings as to causes and contributing factors related to the incident and five findings as to risk with the sail training vessel Picton Castle and its training program.

"In our investigation, we have looked at all of the factors that led to the deckhand being swept overboard," said Paul van den Berg, Investigator-in-Charge. "We came to the conclusion that, with strong safety measures in place, loss of life can be avoided."

Today, the Board released a Safety Concern in its report. "We are pointing why safety management systems are needed for all training vessels regardless of whether they sail under a Canadian or an international flag," added van den Berg.

The Board encourages Transport Canada (TC) to adopt a proactive approach with the specific objective of an early introduction of safety management systems for sail training vessels. The Board also encourages TC to take a proactive position at the International Maritime Organization with the objective of bringing all sail training vessels within the scope of the appropriate international conventions, while recognizing their special character.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

- 30 -

The public report, M06F0024 and photos are also available on this site.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqués

BST no M03/2008

LE BUREAU DE LA SÉCURITÉ DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA SOULIGNE LES RISQUES À BORD DES VOILIERS-ÉCOLES

Gatineau (Québec), le 30 octobre 2008 - Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) publie aujourd'hui son rapport final (M06F0024) sur le membre d'équipage emporté par-dessus bord du voilier-école Picton Castle le 8 décembre 2006 en eaux étrangères.

Dans l'après-midi du 5 décembre 2006, le voilier-école Picton Castle appareille de Lunenburg (Nouvelle-Écosse) à destination de St. George's, Grenade, dans l'est de la mer des Caraïbes. Le navire avait à son bord 12 membres d'équipage ainsi que 16 stagiaires. Un peu avant 22 h 35 au cours de la soirée du 8 décembre, alors que le voilier naviguait par mauvais temps, un matelot a étét emporté par-dessus bord du voilier-école Picton Castle par une grosse vague.

Dans le cadre de son rapport d'enquête final, le BST souligne sept faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs au sujet de l'incident ainsi que cinq faits établis quant aux risques liés au voilier-école Picton Castle et à son programme de formation.

« Au cours de notre enquête, nous avons examiné tous les facteurs ayant amené ce matelot à être emporté par-dessus bord », a déclaré Yves Boisvert, enquêteur principal. « Nous avons conclu qu'avec de fortes mesures de sécurité en place, les pertes de vie peuvent être évitées. »

Aujoud'hui, le Bureau publie une préoccupation liée à la sécurité. « Nous soulignons pourquoi un système de gestion de la sécurité est nécessaire à bord de tous les voiliers-écoles, qu'ils soient sous juridiction canadienne ou étrangère », précise M. Boisvert.

Le Bureau encourage Transports Canada à adopter une approche proactive visant à doter prochainement les voiliers-écoles de systèmes de gestion de la sécurité. Le Bureau encourage également Transports Canada à agir au sein de l'Organisation maritime internationale afin de s'assurer que tous les voiliers-écoles se plient aux exigences des conventions internationales appropriées, tout en reconnaissant leur caractère particulier.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

- 30 -

Le rapport final M06F0024 et les photos sont aussi disponibles sur ce site.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca