News release

Unsafe procedures caused February 2012 death on Katsheshuk II

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, 04 July 2013 — Today, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) released its investigation report (M12N0003) into the accidental death on board the large fishing vessel Katsheshuk II. The accident occurred off Cape Freels, Newfoundland and Labrador.

On 10 February 2012, as 2 crew members were circulating in cleaned holding tanks for inspection purposes, one of them inadvertently activated the hydraulic lever for a shutter door. The door instantly closed onto the other crew member, causing fatal injuries.

The investigation found that the company's safety management system (SMS) did not identify the hazard with these hydraulic levers and provided no procedures for the safe use of the shutter doors as a means of access for cleaning the holding tanks. Also, the spring in the hydraulic lever was compromised and would not automatically return the lever to the neutral position as designed.

An effective SMS requires organizations to recognize the risks involved in their operations and to competently manage those risks. The TSB has repeatedly emphasized the advantages of SMS in the marine industry, citing the absence of SMS in many occurrences over the last 14 years.

Following the occurrence, Katsheshuk Fisheries, Ltd. replaced the defective hydraulic lever and addressed various safety issues related to the incident. The company also developed safe working procedures for safer operations in the vessel factory.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué

Des procédures non sécuritaires causent un décès à bord du Katsheshuk II en février 2012

Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse), le 4 juillet 2013 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié aujourd'hui son rapport d'enquête (M12N0003) sur une mort accidentelle survenue à bord du grand bateau de pêche Katsheshuk II. L'accident a eu lieu près de Cape Freels (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador).

Le 10 février 2012, alors que 2 membres de l'équipage circulaient dans des réservoirs à crevettes propres pour les inspecter, l'un d'entre eux a accidentellement actionné le levier hydraulique d'un volet obturateur. Le volet s'est immédiatement refermé sur l'autre membre de l'équipage, lui infligeant des blessures mortelles.

L'enquête a révélé que le système de gestion de la sécurité (SGS) de l'entreprise ne traitait ni des dangers associés à ces leviers hydrauliques ni des méthodes d'utilisation sécuritaire des volets obturateurs utilisés pour avoir accès aux réservoirs de crevettes aux fins de nettoyage. De plus, l'efficacité du ressort du levier hydraulique était réduite, et celui-ci ne ramenait pas automatiquement le levier à la position neutre comme prévu.

L'efficacité d'un SGS exige que l'organisation reconnaisse les risques liés à ses opérations et les gère de façon compétente. Le BST a souligné à de nombreuses reprises les avantages des SGS dans l'industrie maritime, en soulignant l'absence de SGS dans de nombreux événements survenus au cours des 14 dernières années.

À la suite de l'événement, la société Katsheshuk Fisheries, Ltd. a remplacé le levier hydraulique défectueux et a réglé différentes lacunes en matière de sécurité liées à l'incident. Elle a aussi adopté des procédures de travail sécuritaires pour l'usine du bateau.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca