Rail news release 2012

Freight train derailment near Alix Junction, Alberta, underscores importance of more stringent rail testing

Gatineau, Quebec, The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) today released its investigation report (R11C0118) into the derailment of a Canadian National Railway (CN) freight train near Alix Junction, Alberta.

A freight train travelling southward from Mirror, Alberta to Calgary, Alberta derailed seven cars on the Three Hills Subdivision, near Alix Junction, Alberta. The derailed cars were carrying containers loaded with a variety of products, some with dangerous goods. There were no injuries, approximately 900 litres of phosphoric acid were released and 470 feet of track were destroyed. The investigation found that the train derailment resulted from a sudden catastrophic failure of one of the rails, likely due to an existing undetected defect. While testing was carried out as per normal procedures and methods, these do not always detect defects, leading to the risk of rail failures and derailments.

Since the accident, the revised federal Track Safety Rules made rail flaw testing more stringent. The railway company is also working with its rail fatigue detection suppliers to improve testing protocols and procedures.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqués 2012

Le déraillement d'un train de marchandises près d'Alix Junction, en Alberta souligne l'importance de vérifier rigoureusement les rails

Gatineau, Québec, — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) divulgue aujourd'hui son rapport d'enquête (R11C0118) portant sur le déraillement d'un train de marchandises de la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (CN) survenu le près d'Alix Junction, en Alberta.

Sept wagons d'un train de marchandises qui circulait vers le sud entre Mirror et Calgary, en Alberta, ont déraillé sur la subdivision Three Hills, près d'Alix Junction. Les wagons déraillés transportaient des conteneurs chargés avec divers produits, certains d'entre eux avec des marchandises dangereuses. On n'a signalé aucun blessé. Par ailleurs, près de 900 litres d'acide phosphorique ont été déversés et 470 pieds de voie ferrée ont été détruits. L'enquête a révélé que le déraillement était attribuable à une défaillance soudaine et catastrophique de l'un des rails, probablement à cause d'un défaut existant non détecté. Même si la vérification des rails a été menée conformément aux procédures et aux méthodes normales, elle ne permet pas de repérer tous les défauts, d'où le risque d'une défaillance des rails et de déraillements.

Depuis l'accident, le Règlement sur la sécurité de la voie modifié du gouvernement fédéral a rendu la procédure de détection des défauts de rails plus rigoureuse. La compagnie ferroviaire collabore aussi avec ses fournisseurs de services de détection de la fatigue des rails pour améliorer les protocoles et les méthodes d'essai.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca