News release

High winds major cause of July 2012 derailment in Poplar Point, Manitoba

Gatineau, Quebec, 3 September 2013 — Citing weather conditions as a major factor in the accident, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada today released its investigation report (R12W0165) into the derailment of a freight train near Poplar Point, Manitoba. There were no injuries and no dangerous goods were released.

On 29 July 2012, Canadian Pacific Railway (CP) freight train left Winnipeg, Manitoba, travelling westward en route to Brandon, Manitoba, on CP’s Carberry Subdivision. The train consisted of 2 locomotives and 56 cars configured to hold containers. The cars were double stacked with empty containers. At approximately 6 pm., while travelling at about 27 mph through severe weather, the crew received a radio call from the CP Rail Traffic Controller (RTC). The RTC warned the crew of high winds in the area and advised them to take the necessary precautions. Almost simultaneously, a train-initiated emergency brake application occurred and the train came to a stop at Mile 35.0 near Poplar Point, Manitoba. Twelve cars had derailed during high winds and heavy rain in the area.

The investigation found that a delayed notification of the weather conditions to the train crew resulted in the train continuing into the severe weather area and that the container cars were likely blown over by high winds resulting from severe weather.

Canadian Pacific Railway has taken steps to amend its Severe Weather Warning Procedure to ensure that train crews are aware of the risk of encountering high winds.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué de presse

Des vents violents sont une cause principale du déraillement d'un train à Poplar Point, au Manitoba, en juillet 2012

Gatineau (Québec), le 3 septembre 2013 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada a publié aujourd’hui son rapport d’enquête (R12W0165) sur le déraillement d’un train de marchandises près de Poplar Point, au Manitoba, dans lequel le bureau met en cause des conditions météorologiques comme important facteur de cet accident. Personne n’a été blessé et il n’y a pas eu de déversement de marchandises dangereuses.

Le 29 juillet 2012, un train de marchandises du Canadien Pacifique (CP) quitte Winnipeg, au Manitoba, et fait route vers l’ouest sur la subdivision Carberry du CP en direction de Brandon, au Manitoba. Le train est composé de 2 locomotives et de 56 wagons configurés pour transporter des conteneurs. Les wagons portent des conteneurs vides empilés sur deux niveaux. Vers 18 h, alors que le train roule à environ 27 mi/h par temps violent, l’équipe de train reçoit un message radio du contrôleur de la circulation ferroviaire (CCF) du CP. Ce dernier avertit l’équipe de train que des vents violents soufflent dans la région et l’avise de prendre les précautions nécessaires. Presque au même moment, un freinage d’urgence provoqué par le train survient, et celui-ci s’immobilise au mille 35.0 près de Poplar Point, au Manitoba. Au total, 12 wagons ont déraillé dans des conditions de vents violents et de fortes pluies dans la région.

L’enquête a conclu qu’un retard dans la communication d’un avis des conditions météorologiques à l’équipe de train a fait que le train a poursuivi sa route malgré le temps violent, et que les wagons porte-conteneurs ont probablement été renversés par les grands vents de cet épisode météorologique.

Le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique a mis en place des mesures pour modifier sa procédure d’avertissement de temps violent de manière à s’assurer que les équipes de train sont au courant lorsqu’elles risquent de rencontrer des vents forts.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca