Deployment notice

TSB Deploys Team to Investigate Runway Overrun at Moncton Airport

(Gatineau, Quebec, March 24, 2010) - The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying two investigators to today's runway overrun of a cargo aircraft in Moncton, New Brunswick.

Landing accidents and runway overruns are one of the safety issues in the recently released TSB Watchlist. Approximately one aircraft per month is involved in this type of accident somewhere in the world.

On March 24, 2010, at approximately 03:15 local time, a Boeing 727 cargo aircraft landed on Runway 06 at the Greater Moncton International Airport and went off the end of runway. There were no injuries to the crew and no damage to the aircraft.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Avis de déploiement

Le BST envoie une équipe pour mener une enquête sur une sortie de piste survenue à l'aéroport de Moncton

Gatineau (Québec) le 24 mars 2010 - Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie deux enquêteurs sur les lieux d'une sortie de piste par un avion de transport survenue aujourd'hui à Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick).

Les accidents à l'atterrissage et les sorties de piste font partie des problèmes de sécurité énumérés dans la Liste de surveillance du BST récemment publiée. Environ un aéronef par mois est en cause dans ce type d'accident de par le monde.

Le 24 mars 2010 vers 3 h 15, heure locale, un avion de transport Boeing 727 a atterri sur la piste 06 à l'aéroport international du Grand Moncton et est sorti de piste. Les membres d'équipage n'ont pas subi de blessures et l'aéronef n'a pas été endommagé.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca