Marine Safety Information Letter M16C0146

200 Promenade du Portage
4th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 1K8

M16C0146

Mayor Laurent Thibault
Municipality of Sainte-Rose-du-Nord
126 de la Descente des Femmes Street
Sainte-Rose-du-Nord, QC
G0V 1T0

Mr. Mayor:

Subject: Marine Safety Information Letter no. 11/16 – Collapse of the platform and gangway

On September 7, 2016, at Sainte-Rose-du-Nord, Quebec, the platform and access gangway connecting the dock and the floating pontoons collapsed while passengers were circulating on or near these installations (TSB Occurrence M16C0146).

Around 1130 EDT, the passenger vessel Fjord Saguenay II docked at the Sainte-Rose-du-Nord marina. The ship's chief officer authorized passengers to begin boarding; i.e. walking onto the platform, descending the gangway to the pontoon and reaching the dock. Around 1140, the platform detached from the dock, taking the gangway with it and dropping about 8 metres. Several passengers were injured during this incident.

The platform that connected the gangway to the dock was bolted using lag screws to a piece of treated wood, which was itself attached to the dock with bolts. The platform and the gangway were installed in the spring of 2011. The gangway was removed at the end of every tourist season, while the platform remained in place all year-round.

According to the information gathered during the TSB investigation, the piece of treated wood holding the lag screws was in poor condition and, as a result, the lag screws tore free from their foundation. Ever since the initial installation, there have been no maintenance or periodic inspections of this platform or of the attachment system. Our investigation was not able to identify any existing municipal or provincial regulation referring to the maintenance or periodic inspection of this type of installation during its life cycle.

This information is provided so that you can take whatever measures are considered appropriate in the circumstances. The TSB would appreciate being advised of any such actions. Moreover, an investigator may follow up with you at a later date.

Given that the safety issues associated with this incident were brought to your attention, an investigation report will not be published.

Yours sincerely,


Marc-André Poisson
Director of Investigations – Marine

Enclosures

Cc:
Federation of Canadian Municipalities
Union des municipalités du Québec
Fédération québécoise des municipalités
Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec

General information

TSB Occurrence Number: M16C0146

TSB contact persons:

Captain Steven D. Neatt
Regional Senior Investigator – Nautical, Central Region
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Tel.: 418-648-7420
Fax: 418-648-3656
Email: steven.neatt@bst-tsb.gc.ca

Mr. Bernard Breton
Manager, Regional Operations - Central
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Tel.: 418-648-7419
Fax: 418-648-3656
Email: bernard.breton@bst-tsb.gc.ca

c.c.

Mr. Clark Somerville
President
Federation of Canadian Municipalities
24 Clarence Street
Ottawa, ON
K1N 5P3

Mr. Bernard Sevigny
President
Union des municipalités du Québec
680 Sherbrooke Street West
Office 680
Montréal, QC
H3A 2M7

Mr. Richard Lehoux
President
Fédération québécoise des municipalités
1134 Grande Allée West
Office RC 01
Québec, QC
G1S 1E5

Ms. Kathy Baig, Eng.
President
Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec
Windsor Station, Office 350
1100 Canadiens-de-Montréal Avenue
Montréal, QC
H3B 2S2

Lettre d'information sur la sécurité maritime M16C0146

200, promenade du Portage
4e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 1K8

M16C0146

Monsieur le Maire Laurent Thibault
Municipalité de Sainte-Rose-du-Nord
126, Rue de la Descente des Femmes
Sainte-Rose-du-Nord (Québec)
G0V 1T0

Monsieur le Maire,

Objet : Lettre d'information sur la sécurité maritime no 11/16 – Effondrement de la plate-forme et de la passerelle

Le 7 septembre 2016, à Sainte-Rose-du-Nord (Québec), la plate-forme et la passerelle d'accès qui relient le quai et les pontons flottants se sont effondrées alors que des passagers y circulaient (Numéro d'évènement du BST M16C0146).

Vers 11:30 HAE, le navire à passagers Fjord Saguenay II s'est accosté à la marina de Sainte-Rose-du-Nord. Le premier officier du navire a autorisé les passagers à débuter l'embarquement, c'est à dire monter sur la plate-forme, descendre la passerelle sur le ponton et accéder au quai. Vers 11:40, la plate-forme s'est détachée du quai entraînant avec elle la passerelle dans une chute d'environ 8 mètres. Plusieurs passagers ont subi des blessures lors de cet évènement.

La plate-forme qui reliait la passerelle au quai était vissée avec des tirefonds à une pièce de bois traité, elle-même fixée au quai avec des boulons. La plate-forme et la passerelle ont été installées au printemps 2011. La passerelle était retirée à la fin de chaque saison touristique, alors que la plate-forme restait en place toute l'année.

Selon les renseignements recueillis lors de l'enquête du BST, la pièce de bois traité retenant les tirefonds était en mauvais état et, par conséquent, les tirefonds se sont arrachés de leurs assises.  Depuis l'installation initiale, il n'y a pas eu d'entretien ou d'inspection périodique de cette plateforme ni du système d'attache. Notre enquête n'a pu identifier l'existence d'un règlement municipal ou provincial faisant référence à l'entretien ou à l'inspection périodique de ce type d'installation durant son cycle de vie.

Ces renseignements vous sont communiqués afin que vous puissiez prendre les mesures que vous jugerez nécessaires dans les circonstances. Le BST vous saurait gré de bien vouloir l'informer si des mesures correctives sont apportées suite à cet événement. De plus, un enquêteur pourrait faire un suivi avec vous ultérieurement.

Étant donné que les questions de sécurité associées au présent événement ont été portées à votre attention, un rapport d'enquête ne sera pas publié.

Très cordialement,


Marc-André Poisson
Directeur des enquêtes maritimes
Cc:
Fédération canadienne des municipalités
Union des municipalités du Québec
Fédération québécoise des municipalités
Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec

Renseignements généraux

Personnes-ressources du BST :

Capitaine Steven D. Neatt
Enquêteur principal régional – marine, Région centrale
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada,
Tél. : 418-648-7420
Téléc. : 418-648-3656
Courriel : steven.neatt@bst-tsb.gc.ca

M. Bernard Breton
Gestionnaire régional, Région centrale
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Tél. : 418-648-7419
Téléc. : 418-648-3656
Courriel : bernard.breton@bst-tsb.gc.ca

c.c.

M. Clark Somerville
Président
Fédération canadienne des municipalités
24, rue Clarence
Ottawa (ON)
K1N 5P3

M. Bernard Sevigny
Président
Union des municipalités du Québec
680, rue Sherbrooke Ouest
Bureau 680
Montréal (QC)
H3A 2M7

M. Richard Lehoux
Président
Fédération québécoise des municipalités
1134, Grande Allée Ouest
Bureau RC 01
Québec (QC)
G1S 1E5