Rail Safety Advisory Letter 12/14

Braking analysis and bus speed approaching crossings

200 Promenade du Portage
4th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 1K8

617-12/14
R13T0192

24 September 2014

His Worship Jim Watson
Mayor, City of Ottawa
110 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 1J1

Dear Mayor Watson:

Subject:
Rail Safety Advisory Letter 12/14
Braking analysis and bus speed approaching crossings

At 0832 EDT on 18 September 2013, westward VIA passenger train No. 51 (the train) departed Ottawa VIA Station on time and proceeded en route to Toronto. At 0847, OC Transpo double decker bus No. 8017 (the bus) departed OC Transpo Fallowfield Station on the OC Transpo Bus Transitway (Transitway). At 0848, while proceeding at about 47 mph, the train entered the Transitway crossing located at Mile 3.30 of VIA Rail's Smiths Falls Subdivision (the crossing) and was struck by the northbound bus. As a result of the collision, the front of the bus was sheared off. The train, consisting of 1 locomotive and 4 passenger coaches, derailed but remained upright. Among the bus occupants, there were 6 fatalities, 8 serious injuries and approximately 25 minor injuries. No VIA crew members or passengers were injured.

The Smiths Falls Subdivision consists of single main track that extends from near the Ottawa VIA Station (Mile 0.0) to Smiths Falls, Ontario (Mile 34.40). From Monday to Friday, up to 21 passenger trains and 2 freight trains operate over the crossing each day. The authorized train speed in the vicinity of the crossing is up to 100 mph. However, trains depart VIA's Fallowfield Station at 10 to 15 mph and VIA trains arriving at the station are slowing to stop.

The Transitway is a 2-lane asphalt road that is restricted to transit (bus) traffic. Transitway traffic comprises about 1000 buses per weekday. From the OC Transpo Fallowfield Station, the Transitway extends for 812 feet (247.5 m) eastward towards Woodroffe Avenue. From that point, the Transitway transitions into a left-hand curve (in the direction of travel) that turns northward where it runs parallel and adjacent to Woodroffe Avenue (see Appendix 1). From the stop sign at Fallowfield Station, the roadway speed limit at the time of the accident was 60 km/h up to just north of the crossing, where the speed limit changed to 90 km/h.  Since the accident, the roadway speed approaching the crossing has been reduced to 50 km/h.

The crossing traverses the Transitway at a 50-degree angle. It is equipped with Automatic Warning Device (AWD) protection that includes flashing lights, bells, gates and constant warning time track circuits. At the time of the accident, the crossing protection was operating as intended with no malfunctions. The gates were horizontal for 26 seconds prior to impact.

All double decker buses at OC Transpo were designed and manufactured by Alexander Dennis Limited (ADL) in the United Kingdom. The bus was an Enviro 500 (E500) double decker model, manufactured in August 2012. It was delivered to OC Transpo in September 2012. A series of mandatory certification tests had been conducted to verify compliance with the Canada Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (CMVSS). Upon delivery of the bus, an Ontario Ministry of Transportation (MOT) inspection was performed on 21 September 2012 with no exceptions noted. The vehicle met or exceeded all required criteria for operation in Canada.

The bus did not have a single event recorder to store vehicle performance and operation data (i.e. black box). However, there were a number of electronic units that contained Non-Volatile-Memory (NVM). A total of 8 unitsFootnote 1 were recovered and all available data were downloaded and examined at the TSB Engineering Laboratory. The review of the recovered modules was completed by May 2014. Only the Engine Control Module (ECM) contained any information relevant to the operation of the bus just prior to the accident (see Appendix 2). While the ECM data were useful, they lacked sufficient detail to conduct a meaningful analysis. Subsequently, an examination of the bus braking system and a braking analysis were required.

Examination of the bus braking system was completed in June 2014 and determined that:

  • The bus design met or exceeded all requirements of the CMVSS 121: Air Brake System.
  • The bus was being maintained in accordance with the operator's approved maintenance program.
  • There were no reported brake defects on the occurrence bus.
  • There were no mechanical discrepancies identified that would preclude normal operation of the air brake system. When brakes were applied, the bus deceleration was within the design criteria for braking.

The braking analysis was performed to determine event timing, braking distance and amount of brake force applied to a loaded bus during the accident scenario. The analysis incorporated measurements and observations made on site immediately following the accident and detailed engineering calculations based on ECM data, brake system reaction time and brake performance charts from both the bus certification tests and manufacturer tests. This work was completed in August 2014 and the following observations and calculations were made:

  • The ECM data indicate that the initial application of the bus brakes occurred when the bus was travelling at a speed of 42 mph (67.6 km/h), which exceeded the posted speed limit of 60 km/h (37.3 mph).
  • The speed of the bus was between 4 and 4.8 mph (6.4 to 7.7 km/h) when it initially collided with the train. The bus moved a further 4.3 feet (1.3 m) in the forward direction after the initial impact.
  • The bus was 116.8 feet (35.6 m) away from the point of collision when braking was initiated.
  • ECM data indicate that full braking force was not initially applied.
  • If full braking force had been applied from the beginning of the brake application and assuming a constant deceleration of 0.6 g,Footnote 2 the stopping distance for the bus was calculated to be 112.5 feet (34.1 m).

Because the exact load on the bus at the time of the accident is not available, the actual bus load may have been greater than the load used for the CMVSS braking tests. Any additional load would also increase the stopping distance, in which case, there may not have been sufficient distance to stop the bus from the point at which the brakes were initially applied.

In order to assess the influence that speed may have had, additional calculations were performed based on the posted speed limit of 60 km/h (37.3 mph) with the following results:

  • The stopping distance for a bus travelling at the posted speed limit (60 km/h), with all other factors remaining the same, would have been 29.5 m (96.8 feet), which would be 6.1 m (20 feet) before the point of collision.
  • Even a modest increase of 7.6 km/h in excess of the posted speed limit can significantly increase the stopping distance required to bring a vehicle to a stop, particularly in emergency situations.

On 25 February 2014, the TSB issued Rail Safety Advisory Letter (RSA 01/14), entitled OC Transpo Buses Traversing Crossings with Activated AWD Protection, to the City of Ottawa. The letter indicated that it is imperative that all roadway vehicle drivers slow down when approaching any railway crossing, look both ways, be prepared to stop and yield the right-of-way to a train. The letter suggested that the City of Ottawa put appropriate measures in place to ensure that buses are able to stop safely in advance of an activated railway crossing signal.

In response to RSA 01/14, the City of Ottawa implemented the following actions:

  • On 28 February 2014, OC Transpo issued Bulletin No. 050/14, entitled Safet at Railway Crossings to all operators (drivers), transit supervisors and dispatchers. The bulletin noted that, when approaching a railway crossing, drivers are to observe posted speed limits, slow down, listen and look both ways before crossing the tracks.
  • On 02 May 2014, OC Transpo and the Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU) jointly issued a handout, entitled Railroad Crossings, Important Information for all Operators, to all drivers. Amongst other points, the handout reinforced that, when approaching a railway crossing, drivers are to observe posted speed limits, slow down, listen and look both ways before crossing the tracks.

In June 2014, the TSB conducted a number of speed tests on the Transitway from a location near the crossing. The speed test results are summarized as follows:

Date (2014) Total Vehicles < = 50 km/h 51-55 km/h 56-60 km/h 61-65 km/h 66-70 km/h + 70 km/h Total >50 km/h
17 June 73 58 10 2 2 - 1 15
18 June 254 194 37 18 4 1 - 60
19 June 152 105 31 10 3 3 - 47
25 June 191 144 27 12 2 5 1 47
Total # vehicles 670 501 >105 42 11 9 2 169

OC Transpo has taken some steps to raise driver awareness of railway crossing safety and to reinforce the need for its drivers to slow down. However, a number of drivers continue to travel in excess of the posted speed limit in the vicinity of the crossing. Engineering analysis has identified that even a modest increase in excess of the posted speed limit can significantly increase the bus stopping distance. Therefore, the City of Ottawa may wish to implement additional measures to monitor and control bus speed, particularly in the vicinity of railway crossings.

We would appreciate if you would inform us of any safety measures you plan to implement. We will take these measures into consideration as part of our ongoing investigation.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by
Kirby Jang
Director
Investigations, Rail/Pipeline

Cc:
Kash Ram
Director General, Road Safety and Motor Vehicle Regulation
Transport Canada
 
Luc Bourdon
Director General, Rail Safety
Transport Canada
 
Kent Kirkpatrick
City Manager
City of Ottawa
 
John Manconi
General Manager, Transit Services
City of Ottawa
 
Jean Tierney
Senior Director, Safety, Security & Risk Management
VIA Rail Canada Inc
 
Marc Tessier
Director, Corporate Security & Regulatory Affairs
VIA Rail Canada Inc.
 
Nicolas Panetta
Manager, Risk Management
VIA Rail Canada Inc.
 
Colin Robertson
President & Chief Executive Officer
Alexander Dennis Limited - United Kingdom
 
Stephen Walsh
Vice-President, North America
Alexander Dennis Inc.

Background information

TSB Occurrence: R13T0192 (Class 2)

Contacts: Rob Johnston
Investigator-in-Charge
Manager, Head Office & Central Region
TSB Ottawa, ON
819-956-8736

Appendix 1 – Site diagram

Appendix 2 – Bus engine control module recorded data

PowerSpec - Sudden deceleration data report
Time (Seconds) Vehicle Speed (mph) Engine Speed (rpm) Engine Load (%) Throttle (%) Brake Status Clutch Status Cruise Status Lamp Status
-39 0 735 60.2 38.9 - - - -
-38 0 942 48.8 42.1 - - - -
-37 2 1079 65.6 81.8 - - - -
-36 4 1404 71.9 88.9 - - - -
-35 7 1760 85.2 89.0 - - - -
-34 9 1855 84.4 89.0 - - - -
-33 11 1801 85.2 89.1 - - - -
-32 13 1854 84.4 88.9 - - - -
-31 15 1849 84.4 89.1 - - - -
-30 17 1575 88.7 89.1 - - - -
-29 19 1329 93.4 89.1 - - - -
-28 20 1398 93.4 89.1 - - - -
-27 22 1495 91.0 89.1 - - - -
-26 23 1438 91.8 89.1 - - - -
-25 24 1152 99.6 89.1 - - - -
-24 25 1208 98.0 89.1 - - - -
-23 26 1254 95.7 89.1 - - - -
-22 27 1306 93.8 89.1 - - - -
-21 28 1354 93.4 89.1 - - - -
-20 30 1401 93.4 89.0 - - - -
-19 30 1444 92.2 89.1 - - - -
-18 31 1484 91.0 89.1 - - - -
-17 32 1513 89.8 89.1 - - - -
-16 33 1156 98.8 89.1 - - - -
-15 34 1184 99.6 89.1 - - - -
-14 35 1206 98.4 89.1 - - - -
-13 35 1234 96.9 89.1 - - - -
-12 36 1256 95.7 89.1 - - - -
-11 37 1275 94.9 89.1 - - - -
-10 37 1307 93.4 89.0 - - - -
-9 38 1323 85.5 83.2 - - - -
-8 39 1345 65.6 68.8 - - - -
-7 39 1359 66.4 69.4 - - - -
-6 40 1373 92.6 88.4 - - - -
-5 40 1397 92.6 88.6 - - - -
-4 41 1422 92.2 88.7 - - - -
-3 41 1444 91.4 88.8 - - - -
-2 42 1270 94.5 88.6 - - - -
-1 42 1250 0.0 0.0 - - - -
0 35 1004 0.0 0.0 On - - -
1 25 708 0.0 0.0 On - - -
2 5 659 20.3 0.0 On - - -
3 2 285 0.0 0.0 On - - On
4 0 51 0.0 0.0 On - - On
5 0 0 0.0 0.0 On - - On
6 0 0 0.0 0.0 On - - On
7 0 0 0.0 0.0 On - - On
8 0 0 0.0 0.0 On - - On
9 0 0 0.0 0.0 On - - On
10 0 0 0.0 0.0 On - - On
11 0 0 0.0 0.0 On - - On
12 0 0 0.0 0.0 - - - -
13 0 0 0.0 0.0 - - - -
14 0 0 0.0 0.0 - - - -
15 0 0 0.0 0.0 - - - -

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The units included the anti-lock braking system/anti-slip regulation (ABS/ASR) control module, the central controller, the transmission control module (TCM), the heating-ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system memory, the automatic fare recording Presto units, the Intelligent Vehicle Network (IVN) system, Global Positioning System (GPS) data from the City of Ottawa and the Engine Control Module (ECM).

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

0.6 g is the manufacturer's minimum value specified for deceleration (1g is equal to an acceleration / deceleration of 32.1 ft/s2 or 9.8 m/s2).

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Avis de sécurité ferroviaire – 12/14

Analyse du freinage et vitesse des autobus à l’approche des passages à niveau

Place du Centre
4e étage
200, promenade du Portage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 1K8

617-12/14
R13T0192

24 septembre 2014

Monsieur Jim Watson
Maire, Ville d’Ottawa
110, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 1J1

Monsieur le Maire,

Objet :
Avis de sécurité ferroviaire – 12/14
Analyse du freinage et vitesse des autobus à l’approche des passages à niveau

À 8 h 32, heure normale de l'Est, le 18 septembre 2013, le train de voyageurs nº 51 de VIA (le train) a quitté la gare VIA d'Ottawa à l'heure prévue et s'est dirigé vers l'ouest à destination de Toronto. À 8 h 47, l'autobus à étage 8017 d'OC Transpo (l'autobus) a quitté la station Fallowfield sur le Transitway d'OC Transpo (Transitway). À 8 h 48, alors qu'il roulait à environ 47 mi/h, le train s'est engagé sur le passage à niveau du Transitway au point milliaire 3,30 de la subdivision Smiths Falls de VIA Rail (le passage à niveau) et a été percuté par l'autobus qui se dirigeait vers le nord. La collision a sectionné l'avant de l'autobus. Le train, formé de 1 locomotive et de 4 voitures à voyageurs, a déraillé, mais est demeuré debout. Parmi les passagers de l'autobus, 6 ont perdu la vie, 8 ont été gravement blessés et quelque 25 autres ont subi des blessures mineures. Aucun membre de l'équipe ni aucun voyageur du train de VIA n'ont été blessés.

La subdivision Smiths Falls se compose d'une voie principale simple qui s'étend de près de la gare VIA d'Ottawa (point milliaire 0,0) jusqu'à Smiths Falls (Ontario), point milliaire 34,40. Du lundi au vendredi, jusqu'à 21 trains de voyageurs et 2 trains de marchandises franchissent le passage à niveau tous les jours. La vitesse maximale autorisée pour les trains dans les environs du passage à niveau est de 100 mi/h. Cependant, la vitesse des trains au départ de la gare Fallowfield de VIA est de 10 à 15 mi/h, et les trains de VIA arrivant à la gare ralentissent jusqu'à l'arrêt.

Le Transitway est une route asphaltée à 2 voies réservée au transport en commun (autobus). Les jours de semaine, ce corridor est emprunté par quelque 1000 autobus. À partir de la station Fallowfield d'OC Transpo, le Transitway s'étend sur une distance de 812 pieds (247,5 m) vers l'est en direction de l'avenue Woodroffe. À partir de cet endroit, le Transitway amorce une courbe vers la gauche (dans la direction du déplacement), puis s'infléchit vers le nord pour longer l'avenue Woodroffe (voir l'annexe 1). À partir du panneau d'arrêt à la station Fallowfield, la vitesse maximale affichée au moment de l'accident était de 60 km/h jusqu'à un point juste au nord du passage à niveau, où elle passait à 90 km/h. Depuis l'accident, la vitesse sur la voie réservée à l'approche du passage à niveau a été réduite à 50 km/h.
Le passage à niveau croise le Transitway à un angle de 50 degrés. Il est muni de dispositifs de signalisation automatique qui comprennent des feux clignotants, des sonneries, des barrières et des circuits d'annonce à temps régularisé. Au moment de l'accident, cette protection fonctionnait comme prévu, sans problèmes. Les barrières avaient été abaissées durant 26 secondes avant l'impact.

Tous les autobus à étage d'OC Transpo ont été conçus et construits par Alexander Dennis Limited (ADL) au Royaume-Uni. L'autobus était un modèle Enviro 500 (E500) à étage construit en août 2012. Il a été livré à OC Transpo en septembre 2012. On a procédé à une série d'essais de certification obligatoires pour vérifier la conformité avec les Normes de sécurité des véhicules automobiles du Canada (NSVAC). La livraison de l'autobus s'est accompagnée le 21 septembre 2012 d'une inspection par le ministère des Transports de l'Ontario; aucune anomalie n'a été notée. Le véhicule respectait ou dépassait tous les critères requis pour son utilisation au Canada.

L'autobus ne possédait aucun enregistreur d'événements (c'est-à-dire, une boîte noire) pour stocker des données sur la performance et le fonctionnement du véhicule. Cependant, il y avait à bord un certain nombre d'unités électroniques à mémoire non volatile. Au total, 8 de ces unitésNote de bas de page 1 ont été récupérées; le Laboratoire d'ingénierie du BST a téléchargé et examiné toutes leurs données disponibles. L'examen des modules récupérés a été achevé en mai 2014. Seul le module de commande du moteur (ECM) contenait des informations relatives à l'utilisation de l'autobus juste avant l'accident (voir l'annexe 2). Malgré l'utilité des données de l'ECM, elles n'étaient pas suffisamment détaillées pour permettre une analyse valable. Par la suite, il a fallu procéder à un examen du système de freinage de l'autobus et à une analyse du freinage.

L'examen du système de freinage de l'autobus a été terminé en juin 2014 et a permis de déterminer que :

  • la conception de l'autobus respectait ou dépassait toutes les exigences de la norme 121 des NSVAC : Systèmes de freinage à air comprimé;
  • l'autobus était entretenu en conformité avec le programme de maintenance agréé de l'exploitant;
  • aucune anomalie du système de freinage de l'autobus en cause dans l'événement n'avait été signalée;
  • aucune anomalie mécanique qui aurait empêché le bon fonctionnement du système de frein à air n'a été relevée. Quand les freins étaient serrés, la décélération de l'autobus était conforme aux critères de conception du freinage.

Une analyse du freinage a été effectuée afin de déterminer la séquence des événements, la distance de freinage et l'effort de freinage sur un autobus chargé au cours du scénario d'accident. L'analyse incorporait des mesures et des observations prises ou faites sur le site immédiatement après l'accident. Elle incluait aussi des calculs d'ingénierie détaillés basés sur l'information fournie par les données de l'ECM ainsi que par les graphiques sur le temps de réaction du système de freinage et sur la performance des freins. Ces graphiques provenaient autant des essais de certification de l'autobus que des essais du constructeur. Cette analyse a été terminée en août 2014 et a donné lieu aux observations et aux calculs suivants :

  • Les données de l'ECM indiquent que les freins de l'autobus ont été serrés initialement alors que l'autobus roulait à 42 mi/h (67,6 km/h), en dépassement de la vitesse maximale affichée de 60 km/h (37,3 mi/h).
  • La vitesse de l'autobus se situait entre 4 et 4,8 mi/h (6,4 à 7,7 km/h) au moment de la collision initiale avec le train. Après l'impact initial, l'autobus s'est déplacé sur une distance supplémentaire de 4,3 pieds (1,3 m) dans la direction avant.
  • L'autobus se trouvait à 116,8 pieds (35,6 m) du point de collision lorsque les freins ont été serrés.
  • Les données de l'ECM indiquent qu'au début, les freins n'étaient pas serrés à fond.
  • Si les freins avaient été serrés à fond dès le début du freinage, et en supposant une décélération constante de 0,6 g,Note de bas de page 2 on calcule que la distance d'arrêt de l'autobus aurait été de 112,5 pieds (34,1 m).

Comme la charge exacte de l'autobus au moment de l'accident n'est pas disponible, la charge réelle peut avoir été supérieure à la charge utilisée pour les essais de freinage selon les NSVAC. Toute charge additionnelle augmenterait également la distance d'arrêt; dans ce cas, il est possible que la distance n'ait pas été suffisante pour arrêter l'autobus à partir du point de serrage initial des freins.

Afin d'évaluer l'influence que la vitesse a pu avoir, on a effectué d'autres calculs fondés sur la vitesse maximale affichée de 60 km/h (37,3 mi/h), avec les résultats suivants :

  • La distance d'arrêt pour un autobus roulant à la vitesse maximale affichée (60 km/h), tous les autres facteurs étant les mêmes, aurait été de 29,5 m (96,8 pieds), ce qui aurait été 6,1 m (20 pieds) avant le point de collision.
  • Même une modeste augmentation de 7,6 km/h par rapport à la vitesse maximale affichée peut accroître considérablement la distance d'arrêt nécessaire pour immobiliser un véhicule, surtout dans les situations d'urgence.

Le 25 février 2014, le BST a émis l'Avis de sécurité ferroviaire (ASF) 01/14, intitulé Autobus d'OC Transpo franchissant un passage à niveau pendant que les dispositifs de signalisation automatiques (DSA) sont activés, à la Ville d'Ottawa. Selon l'ASF, il est primordial que tous les conducteurs de véhicules routiers ralentissent et regardent dans les deux directions à l'approche de tout passage à niveau et se préparent à arrêter et à céder le passage à un train. L'ASF suggère que la Ville d'Ottawa mette en place les mesures qui s'imposent pour s'assurer que les conducteurs d'autobus puissent s'arrêter en toute sécurité avant des signaux de passage à niveau activés.

En réponse à l'ASF 01/14, la Ville d'Ottawa a mis en œuvre les mesures suivantes :

  • Le 28 février 2014, OC Transpo a publié le bulletin nº 050/14 au sujet de la sécurité aux passages à niveau à l'intention de tous ses conducteurs d'autobus, superviseurs de transport en commun et répartiteurs. Le bulletin indiquait qu'à l'approche d'un passage à niveau, les conducteurs d'autobus doivent observer la vitesse maximale affichée, ralentir, écouter et regarder dans les deux directions avant de s'engager sur les voies ferrées.
  • Le 2 mai 2014, OC Transpo et le Syndicat uni du transport (SUT) ont publié conjointement une circulaire donnant de l'information importante sur les passages à niveau à tous les conducteurs d'autobus. Entre autres points, la circulaire insistait pour qu'à l'approche d'un passage à niveau, les conducteurs d'autobus observent la vitesse maximale affichée, ralentissent, écoutent et regardent dans les deux directions avant de s'engager sur les voies ferrées.

En juin 2014, le BST a procédé à un certain nombre d'essais de vitesse sur le Transitway à partir d'un point situé près du passage à niveau. Les résultats des essais de vitesse se résument comme suit :

Date (2014) Nombre total de véhicules < = 50 km/h 51-55 km/h 56-60 km/h 61-65 km/h 66-70 km/h + 70 km/h Total  >50 km/h
17 juin 73 58 10 2 2 - 1 15
18 juin 254 194 37 18 4 1 - 60
19 juin 152 105 31 10 3 3 - 47
25 juin 191 144 27 12 2 5 1 47
Nombre total de véhicules 670 501 105 42 11 9 2 169

OC Transpo a pris certaines mesures pour sensibiliser davantage ses conducteurs à la sécurité aux passages à niveau et renforcer la nécessité pour eux de ralentir. Cependant, un certain nombre de conducteurs continuent de rouler plus vite que la vitesse maximale affichée dans les environs du passage à niveau. L'analyse d'ingénierie a établi que même une modeste augmentation par rapport à la vitesse maximale affichée peut accroître considérablement la distance d'arrêt de l'autobus. Par conséquent, la Ville d'Ottawa souhaiterait peut-être mettre en place d'autres mesures pour surveiller et contrôler la vitesse des autobus, surtout dans les environs des passages à niveau.

Nous vous saurions gré de nous informer de toute mesure de sécurité que vous entendez mettre en œuvre. Nous prendrons ces mesures en considération dans le cadre de notre enquête en cours.
Je vous prie d'accepter, Monsieur le Maire, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le Directeur des enquêtes, Rail/Pipeline,

Document original signé par
Kirby Jang

Cc:
Kash Ram
Directeur général, Sécurité routière et réglementation automobile
Transports Canada
 
Luc Bourdon
Directeur général, Sécurité ferroviaire
Transports Canada
 
Kent Kirkpatrick
Directeur municipal
Ville d’Ottawa
 
John Manconi
Directeur général, Services de transport en commun
Ville d’Ottawa
 
Jean Tierney
Directrice principale, Sécurité, sûreté et gestion des risques
VIA Rail Canada Inc.
 
Marc Tessier
Directeur, Sûreté de l’entreprise et affaires réglementaires
VIA Rail Canada Inc.
 
Nicolas Panetta
Directeur, Gestion des risques
VIA Rail Canada Inc.
 
Colin Robertson
Président et chef de la direction
Alexander Dennis Limited - Royaume-Uni
 
Stephen Walsh
Vice-président, Amérique du Nord
Alexander Dennis Inc.

Renseignements généraux

Événement du BST : R13T0192 (catégorie 2)

Personne-ressource : Rob Johnston
Enquêteur désigné
Gestionnaire, Administration centrale et région du Centre
BST, Ottawa (Ontario)
819-956-8736

Annexe 1 – Schéma du site

Annexe 2 – Données enregistrées du module de commande du moteur de l’autobus

PowerSpec - Rapport des données de décélération soudaine
Temps (secondes) Vitesse du véhicule (mi/h) Régime moteur (tr/min) Charge moteur (%) Accélérateur (%) Freins (état) Embrayage (état) Régul. vitesse (état) Lampes (état)
-39 0 735 60,2 38,9 - - - -
-38 0 942 48,8 42,1 - - - -
-37 2 1079 65,6 81,8 - - - -
-36 4 1404 71,9 88,9 - - - -
-35 7 1760 85,2 89,0 - - - -
-34 9 1855 84,4 89,0 - - - -
-33 11 1801 85,2 89,1 - - - -
-32 13 1854 84,4 88,9 - - - -
-31 15 1849 84,4 89,1 - - - -
-30 17 1575 88,7 89,1 - - - -
-29 19 1329 93,4 89,1 - - - -
-28 20 1398 93,4 89,1 - - - -
-27 22 1495 91,0 89,1 - - - -
-26 23 1438 91,8 89,1 - - - -
-25 24 1152 99,6 89,1 - - - -
-24 25 1208 98,0 89,1 - - - -
-23 26 1254 95,7 89,1 - - - -
-22 27 1306 93,8 89,1 - - - -
-21 28 1354 93,4 89,1 - - - -
-20 30 1401 93,4 89,0 - - - -
-19 30 1444 92,2 89,1 - - - -
-18 31 1484 91,0 89,1 - - - -
-17 32 1513 89,8 89,1 - - - -
-16 33 1156 98,8 89,1 - - - -
-15 34 1184 99,6 89,1 - - - -
-14 35 1206 98,4 89,1 - - - -
-13 35 1234 96,9 89,1 - - - -
-12 36 1256 95,7 89,1 - - - -
-11 37 1275 94,9 89,1 - - - -
-10 37 1307 93,4 89,0 - - - -
-9 38 1323 85,5 83,2 - - - -
-8 39 1345 65,6 68,8 - - - -
-7 39 1359 66,4 69,4 - - - -
-6 40 1373 92,6 88,4 - - - -
-5 40 1397 92,6 88,6 - - - -
-4 41 1422 92,2 88,7 - - - -
-3 41 1444 91,4 88,8 - - - -
-2 42 1270 94,5 88,6 - - - -
-1 42 1250 0,0 0,0 - - - -
0 35 1004 0,0 0,0 Serrés - - -
1 25 708 0,0 0,0 Serrés - - -
2 5 659 20,3 0,0 Serrés - - -
3 2 285 0,0 0,0 Serrés - - Serrés
4 0 51 0,0 0,0 Serrés - - Serrés
5 0 0 0,0 0,0 Serrés - - Serrés
6 0 0 0,0 0,0 Serrés - - Serrés
7 0 0 0,0 0,0 Serrés - - Serrés
8 0 0 0,0 0,0 Serrés - - Serrés
9 0 0 0,0 0,0 Serrés - - Serrés
10 0 0 0,0 0,0 Serrés - - Serrés
11 0 0 0,0 0,0 Serrés - - Serrés
12 0 0 0,0 0,0 - - - -
13 0 0 0,0 0,0 - - - -
14 0 0 0,0 0,0 - - - -
15 0 0 0,0 0,0 - - - -

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Ces unités ou modules sont les suivants : module de commande du système de freinage antiblocage et d'antipatinage (ABS/ASR), contrôleur central, module de commande de la boîte de vitesses (TCM), mémoire du système de chauffage-ventilation et de climatisation, unités Presto de perception automatique des titres de transport, système du réseau véhiculaire intelligent (IVN), données du système de localisation GPS provenant de la Ville d'Ottawa et module de commande du moteur (ECM).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

0,6 g est la valeur minimale prescrite par le constructeur pour la décélération (1 g est égal à une accélération / décélération de 32,1 pieds/s2 ou 9,8 m/s2).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2