Communiqués

TSB # A 04/99

TSB Issues Aviation Safety Recommendations for Flight Recorder Duration and Power Supply(For release 09 March 1999)

(Hull, Quebec) - As a result of its ongoing investigation into the fatal Swissair 111 accident, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) has identified safety deficiencies associated with the recording capacity and power supply of flight recorders and has issued four interim aviation safety recommendations.

On September 2, 1998 a Swissair MD-11 crashed near Peggy's Cove, Nova Scotia fatally injuring all 229 occupants on board. Both the aircraft's Flight Data Recorder (FDR) and Cockpit Voice Recorder (CVR) stopped recording about six minutes before the aircraft's impact with the water.

The Cockpit Voice Recorder on Swissair 111 employed a continuous-loop magnetic tape of 30 minutes duration and the earliest information on the CVR begins about 15 minutes before an unusual smell was noted by the flight crew. The majority of newly manufactured solid-state memory CVRs have a two-hour recording capacity and there is a worldwide industry move towards two-hour CVRs. Many aircraft operators are voluntarily replacing their old technology (tape) data and voice recorders with modern solid-state recorders because of the high costs of maintenance and numerous technical problems associated with maintaining old-technology recorders.

When power to the Swissair 111 flight recorders was interrupted at 10,000 feet, the FDR and CVR stopped recording and the aircraft continued to fly for about six minutes with no information being recorded. Power interruptions have resulted in information not being captured during the last minutes of several other recent aircraft occurrences. The TSB believes the CVR and its cockpit area microphone must continue to be powered for short periods of time regardless of the availability of aircraft electrical power.

In the current configuration of the MD-11 aircraft, both recorders are powered through the same electrical bus. Power to that electrical bus sometimes must be cut off by flight crews turning a single switch when dealing with an emergency, thereby simultaneously disabling the FDR and the CVR, and this poses an unnecessary risk of losing critical recorder information.

The TSB believes that safety action is urgently required on these matters and has made recommendations to address the identified safety deficiencies as follows:

As of 01 January 2003, any CVR installed on an aircraft as a condition of that aircraft receiving an original certificate of airworthiness be required to have a recording capacity of at least two hours. (A99-01)

As of 01 January 2005, all aircraft that require both an FDR and a CVR be required to be fitted with a CVR having a recording capacity of at least two hours. (A99-02)

As of 01 January 2005, for all aircraft equipped with CVRs having a recording capacity of at least two hours, a dedicated independent power supply be required to be installed adjacent or integral to the CVR to power the CVR and the cockpit area microphone for a period of 10 minutes whenever normal aircraft power sources to the CVR are interrupted. (A99-03)

Aircraft required to have two flight recorders be required to have those recorders powered from separate generator buses. (A99-04)

The work of the TSB was coordinated with the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) of the United States, which is issuing similar recommendations. The NTSB's recommendations are directed specifically to the United States' Federal Aviation Administration, while the TSB recommendations are directed to aviation regulators in Canada and Europe. Both Boards hope that the recommended actions are adopted by civil aviation regulation authorities wordwide.

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada is an independent agency operating under its own Act of Parliament. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

-(30)-

Interim Air Safety Recommendations

Date issued: 09 March 1999
Forwarded to: The Honourable David Michael Collenette, P.C., M.P.

Minister of Transport
Mr. K. Koplin, Secretary General
Joint Aviation Authorities, The Netherlands

Subject: Flight Recorder Duration and Power Supply

Background

On 02 September 1998 at 2118 Atlantic daylight saving time, Swissair Flight 111 (SWR 111), a McDonnell Douglas MD-11 aircraft, HB-IWF, departed John F. Kennedy airport in New York, en route to Geneva, Switzerland. On board were 215 passengers and 14 crew members. Approximately 53 minutes after take-off, as the aircraft was cruising at Flight Level 330, the crew noticed an unusual smell in the cockpit. Within about three and a half minutes the flight crew noted visible smoke and declared the international urgency signal "Pan Pan Pan" to Moncton Area Control Centre, advising the Air Traffic Services (ATS) controller of smoke in the cockpit. SWR 111 was cleared to proceed direct to the Halifax airport from its position 58 nautical miles southwest of Halifax, Nova Scotia. While the aircraft was manoeuvring in preparation for landing, the crew advised ATS that they had to land immediately and that they were declaring an emergency. Approximately 20 minutes after the crew first noticed the unusual smell, and about seven minutes after the crew's "emergency" declaration, the aircraft struck the water near Peggy's Cove, Nova Scotia, fatally injuring all 229 occupants on board.

To date, the investigation (A98H0003) has revealed heat damage consistent with a fire in the ceiling area forward and aft of the cockpit bulkhead. Both the Flight Data Recorder (FDR) and the Cockpit Voice Recorder (CVR) stopped recording while the aircraft was at approximately 10 000 feet, about six minutes before impact with the water.

Shortcomings related to the duration of CVR recordings and the supply of electrical power to flight recorders have been identified during this and other recent aircraft accident investigations.

Duration of Cockpit Voice Recorder Information

The CVR installed on SWR 111 employed a continuous-loop magnetic tape of 30 minutes duration. The earliest information on the SWR 111 CVR was recorded approximately 15 minutes before the unusual smell was noted by the crew. Crew conversations and cockpit sounds prior to the beginning of the CVR recording may have provided substantial insight into any initiating or precursor events that led to the accident.

Approximately 38 minutes prior to the unusual smell, Boston Center gave SWR 111 a radio frequency change. During the following 13 minutes Boston Center made repeated attempts to contact SWR 111, without establishing contact. Any cockpit conversations, flight deck noises, or attempted crew transmissions that occurred during this period were subsequently overwritten on the CVR, and therefore could not be assessed.

The 30-minute CVR recording capacity was predicated upon the technology available in the early 1960s; this was the amount of tape that could be crash-protected. The Board is concerned that 30 minutes of recording time is not adequate to capture the initiating events and important background information to many accidents. For example, in accidents involving in-flight fire or progressive structural failure, the initiating events typically develop over a period of time longer than 30 minutes. Longer CVR recording capacity also facilitates the investigation of non-catastrophic occurrences, occurrences in which current 30-minute recordings are often overwritten by the time the aircraft has safely stopped on the ground.

Current technology easily accommodates increased CVR recording capacity. In fact, the majority of newly manufactured solid-state memory CVRs have a two-hour recording capacity, and there is a worldwide industry move towards two-hour CVRs. The European Joint Airworthiness Requirements specify that aircraft first certified after 01 April 1998 be fitted with two-hour CVRs. There is also a proposal to include such a requirement in the Standards and Recommended Practices of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO). The ICAO Flight Recorder Panel, consisting of experts from a number of States, met on 12-20 November 1998, and recommended to ICAO's Air Navigation Commission that aircraft manufactured after 01 January 2003 be fitted with two-hour CVRs.

The TSB is aware that many operators are voluntarily replacing their old technology (tape) data and voice recorders with modern, solid-state recorders. The use of these new recorders not only serves safety but also benefits operators directly, as they avoid the high costs and technical problems associated with maintaining outdated old-technology recorders. Additionally, tape recorders no longer meet the most recent United States Technical Standard Orders (TSO) C123a and TSO C124a crashworthiness standards. This industry trend to solid-state recorders makes it timely to require two-hour CVRs.

A lack of recorded voice and other aural information can inhibit safety investigations and delay or prevent the identification of safety deficiencies. Given the need for longer periods of recorded sound to capture the initiating events of aviation accidents and the availability of two-hour CVRs, the Board believes that such recorders should be mandated by regulatory authorities worldwide. However, it also recognizes that a period of several years may be reasonably required for manufacturers and operators to implement this change. Therefore, for newly manufactured aircraft, the Board recommends that:

As of 01 January 2003, any CVR installed on an aircraft as a condition of that aircraft receiving an original certificate of airworthiness be required to have a recording capacity of at least two hours.  (A99-01)

Further, the Board believes that, with appropriate lead time, a retrofit program is warranted for aircraft already in service. Therefore the Board recommends that:

As of 01 January 2005, all aircraft that require both an FDR and a CVR be required to be fitted with a CVR having a recording capacity of at least two hours.   (A99-02)

Independent Power Source

When aircraft power to the SWR 111 flight recorders was interrupted at 10 000 feet, the FDR and CVR stopped recording. The aircraft continued to fly for about six minutes with no information being recorded. This lack of recorded information has hampered the accident investigation.

Power interruptions have resulted in flight recorder information not being captured during the last minutes of several other recent aircraft occurrences. These include ValueJet (Miami, Florida; DC-9-32; 11 May 1996), TWA flight 800 (East Moriches, New York; Boeing 747-131; 17 July 1996), SilkAir (Palembang, Indonesia; Boeing 737-300; 19 December 1997), Delta Air Lines (Cork, Ireland; MD-11; 08 October 1998), and Delta Express (Orlando, Florida, Boeing 737-232; 15 December 1998).

In modern aircraft, flight data and other data from multiple sources are used by the aircraft systems and by the flight crew to operate the aircraft. To record the parameters it needs, the FDR simply monitors the data flowing through data buses. If electrical power to a particular sensor or data bus is lost, FDR information pertaining to that sensor or data bus will no longer be available. In the event of a total loss of electrical power, essentially there would be no data to record. There may be merit in independently powering the FDR and its flight data acquisition unit in order to capture whatever data are available during partial electrical failures. However, as a minimum, the TSB believes the CVR and its cockpit area microphone must continue to be powered for short periods regardless of the availability of normal aircraft electrical power. This independent power source would allow the continued recording of the acoustic environment of the flight deck, including cockpit conversations and ambient noises, for a specific period.

With maintenance-free independent power sources, it is now feasible to power new-technology CVRs and the cockpit area microphone independently of normal aircraft power for a specific period of time in the event that aircraft power sources to the CVR are interrupted or lost. Therefore, to enhance the capture of CVR information needed for accident investigation purposes, the Board recommends that:

As of 01 January 2005, for all aircraft equipped with CVRs having a recording capacity of at least two hours, a dedicated independent power supply be required to be installed adjacent or integral to the CVR, to power the CVR and the cockpit area microphone for a period of 10 minutes whenever normal aircraft power sources to the CVR are interrupted.   (A99-03)

Separate Electrical Buses

In the current configuration of the MD-11, the FDR and CVR installations are both powered from generator AC Bus No. 3. The MD-11 emergency checklist, dealing with smoke/fumes of unknown origin, requires the use of the SMOKE ELEC/AIR switch. This switch is used to cut power to each of the three electrical buses in turn, in order to isolate the source of the smoke/fumes. The nature of this troubleshooting procedure requires that the switch remain in each position for an indeterminate amount of time, typically at least a few minutes. When the SMOKE ELEC/AIR switch is placed in the first (3/1 OFF) position, generator AC Bus No. 3 and No. 1 air conditioning packs are turned off, thereby simultaneously disabling the FDR and the CVR. Additionally, if the smoke/fumes are cleared in this first position, the SMOKE ELEC/AIR switch is to remain in this position for the duration of the flight, which means that the CVR and FDR both remain inactive while there are data to be recorded. Although it has not been established whether the recorders on SWR 111 stopped as a result of deteriorating electrical systems or the selection of the SMOKE ELEC/AIR switch, the fact that both recorders can be disabled by a single switch selection poses an unnecessary risk of losing critical recorder information.

The Federal Aviation Administration's FAR 25.1457 (CVR) and FAR 25.1459 (FDR), Transport Canada's Canadian Aviation Regulations Standards Part V—Airworthiness Manual, Chapter 551, Articles 551.100 and 551.101, and European Civil Aviation Electronics (Eurocae) specifications require that recorders be installed so that they receive power from the electrical bus that provides the maximum reliability for operation without jeopardizing service to essential or emergency loads. With both the CVR and the FDR on the same generator bus, however, a failure of that bus or the intentional disabling of the bus (as could result from checklist actions in an emergency) result in both recorders losing power simultaneously.

To enhance the capture of information needed for the identification of safety deficiencies, the Board recommends that:

Aircraft required to have two flight recorders be required to have those recorders powered from separate generator buses.  (A99-04)

There is increasing industry recognition of the operational and safety benefits associated with the installation of two combined voice and data recorders. The Board is supportive of this concept and believes that the intent of the foregoing recommendations would be met if an aircraft was equipped with two such recorders; provided they are powered from separate generator buses, and they each employ a two-hour CVR and a dedicated independent power supply. Also, it would be preferable, in most aircraft, to place one such recorder in the nose of the aircraft and the other in the tail.

As the investigation proceeds, should the Board identify additional safety deficiencies in need of urgent attention, it will not hesitate to make further aviation safety recommendations.

Benoît Bouchard

Chairman

On behalf of the Board

Communiqués

BST no A 04/99

Le BST fait des recommandations sur la sécurité aérienne concernant la capacité d'enregistrement et l'alimentation électrique des enregistreurs de bord

(Pour publication le 9 mars 1999)

Hull (Québec) - Dans le cadre de son enquête sur l'accident mortel du vol 111 de la Swissair, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a relevé des manquements à la sécurité en ce qui concerne la capacité d'enregistrement et l'alimentation électrique des enregistreurs de bord et a émis quatre recommandations provisoires sur la sécurité aérienne.

Le 2 septembre 1998, un MD-11 de la Swissair s'est abîmé dans l'océan près de Peggy's Cove (Nouvelle-Écosse), tuant les 229 occupants à son bord. L'enregistreur des données de vol (FDR) et l'enregistreur de la parole dans le poste de pilotage (CVR) de l'avion ont tous deux cessé de fonctionner à peu près six minutes avant que l'avion percute le plan d'eau.

Le CVR du vol 111 de la Swissair était du type à ruban magnétique à boucle continue d'une durée de 30 minutes, et les premières données du CVR ont été enregistrées environ 15 minutes avant que l'équipage de conduite ait perçu une odeur inhabituelle. La majorité des CVR à mémoire à semi-conducteurs fabriqués récemment présentent une capacité d'enregistrement de deux heures, et l'on note une tendance de l'industrie à l'échelle mondiale vers les CVR d'une capacité d'enregistrement de deux heures. De nombreux exploitants d'aéronefs ont déjà choisi de remplacer leurs anciens FDR et CVR à ruban par des enregistreurs modernes à mémoire à semi-conducteurs parce que l'utilisation de ces nouveaux enregistreurs permet d'éviter les coûts élevés et les nombreux problèmes techniques associés à l'entretien des anciens enregistreurs à ruban.

Lorsque l'alimentation électrique des enregistreurs de bord du vol 111 de la Swissair a été interrompue à 10 000 pieds, le FDR et le CVR ont cessé de fonctionner, et le vol s'est poursuivi pendant environ six minutes sans qu'aucune information ne soit enregistrée. Des interruptions de l'alimentation électrique ont empêché l'enregistrement d'information au cours des dernières minutes de vol de plusieurs autres avions qui ont subi des accidents ces dernières années. Le BST croit que le CVR et le microphone du poste de pilotage doivent continuer à être alimentés pendant de brèves périodes, que l'alimentation électrique de l'avion soit disponible ou non.

Selon la configuration actuelle des MD-11, les deux enregistreurs de bord sont alimentés par le même bus électrique. Or, il arrive à l'occasion que l'alimentation de ce bus électrique doive être coupée par le simple actionnement d'un seul sélecteur par l'équipage de conduite pour faire face à une situation d'urgence, ce qui entraîne l'arrêt simultané du FDR et du CVR, et ceci présente le risque inutile de perdre des données d'enregistrement d'une importance capitale.

Le BST croit que des mesures de sécurité urgentes s'imposent pour corriger les manquements à la sécurité relevés. C'est pourquoi il a recommandé que :

  • dès le 1er janvier 2003, tout CVR installé à bord d'un aéronef comme condition préalable à la délivrance d'un certificat de navigabilité d'origine soit tenu d'avoir une capacité d'enregistrement d'au moins deux heures. (A99-01)
  • dès le 1er janvier 2005, tous les aéronefs qui doivent être équipés d'un FDR et d'un CVR soient tenus d'être équipés d'un CVR d'une capacité d'enregistrement d'au moins deux heures. (A99-02)
  • dès le 1er janvier 2005, tous les avions équipés de CVR d'une capacité d'enregistrement d'au moins deux heures soient tenus d'avoir une source d'alimentation électrique indépendante, près du CVR ou à même l'enregistreur, pour alimenter le CVR et le microphone du poste de pilotage pendant 10 minutes, chaque fois que les sources d'alimentation électrique normales du CVR sont interrompues. (A99-03)
  • les enregistreurs de bord des avions tenus d'être équipés de deux enregistreurs de bord soient tenus d'être alimentés par des bus distincts. (A99-04)

Les travaux du BST ont été coordonnés avec ceux du National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) des États-Unis, qui a émis des recommandations semblables. Les recommandations du NTSB sont adressées directement à la Federal Aviation Administration des États-Unis, alors que celles du BST s'adressent aux organismes de réglementation de l'aviation du Canada et d'Europe. Les deux bureaux de sécurité des transports espèrent que les mesures recommandées seront adoptées par les organismes de réglementation de l'aviation civile à travers le monde.

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada est un organisme indépendant régi par une loi du Parlement. Sa mission est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

-(30)-

Recommandations provisoires en matière de sécurité aérienne

Date d'envoi : Le 9 mars 1999
À l'intention de : L'honorable David Michael Collenette, c.p., député

Ministre des Transports
Monsieur K. Koplin, secrétaire général
Joint Aviation Authorities, Pays-Bas

Objet : Capacité d'enregistrement et alimentation électrique des enregistreurs de bord

Introduction

Le 2 septembre 1998, à 21 h 18, heure avancée de l'Atlantique, le vol 111 de la Swissair (SWR 111), un avion McDonnell Douglas MD-11, immatriculé HB-IWF, a décollé de l'aéroport John F. Kennedy de New York à destination de Genève, en Suisse. L'avion transportait 215 passagers et 14 membres d'équipage. Environ 53 minutes après le décollage, alors que l'avion volait en croisière au niveau de vol 330, l'équipage a perçu une odeur inhabituelle dans le poste de pilotage. Au bout de trois minutes et demie environ, l'équipage de conduite a observé de la fumée et a envoyé le signal international d'urgence « PAN PAN PAN » au centre de contrôle régional de Moncton, avisant le contrôleur des Services de la circulation aérienne (ATS) de la présence de fumée dans le poste de pilotage. Le vol SWR 111 a par la suite été autorisé à se rendre directement à l'aéroport de Halifax à partir de sa position, soit 58 milles marins au sud-ouest de Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse). Alors que l'avion manoeuvrait pour se préparer à atterrir, l'équipage a avisé l'ATS qu'il devait se poser immédiatement et qu'il déclarait une urgence. Une vingtaine de minutes après que l'équipage de conduite eut perçu pour la première fois l'odeur inhabituelle, et environ sept minutes après qu'il eut déclaré la situation d'urgence, l'avion s'est abîmé dans l'océan près de Peggy's Cove (Nouvelle-Écosse), tuant les 229 occupants à son bord.

Jusqu'ici, l'enquête (A98H0003) a révélé la présence de dommages causés par la chaleur et typiques d'un incendie dans le plafond, devant et derrière la cloison du poste de pilotage. L'enregistreur des données de vol (FDR) et l'enregistreur de la parole dans le poste de pilotage (CVR) ont tous deux cessé de fonctionner alors que l'avion se trouvait à environ 10 000 pieds, à peu près six minutes avant de percuter le plan d'eau.

Des lacunes sur le plan de la capacité d'enregistrement des CVR et de l'alimentation électrique des enregistreurs de bord ont été relevées au cours de l'enquête sur cet accident et sur d'autres accidents d'aviation récents.

Durée de l'enregistrement du CVR

Le CVR du vol SWR 111 était du type à ruban magnétique à boucle continue d'une durée de 30 minutes. Les premières données du CVR du vol SWR 111 ont été enregistrées environ 15 minutes avant la perception de l'odeur inhabituelle par l'équipage. Les conversations des membres de l'équipage et les bruits dans le poste de pilotage avant le début de l'enregistrement du CVR auraient peut-être fourni des renseignements importants sur tout signe précurseur ou sur tout événement à l'origine de l'accident.

Environ 38 minutes avant la perception de l'odeur inhabituelle, le centre de Boston avait communiqué au vol SWR 111 un changement de fréquence radio. Au cours des 13 minutes qui ont suivi, le centre de Boston a tenté à plusieurs reprises de communiquer avec le vol SWR 111, mais sans parvenir à établir le contact. Toute conversation et tout bruit dans le poste de pilotage ou toute tentative de communication de l'équipage pendant ce temps ont par la suite été oblitérés sur le CVR, et ces éléments n'ont pu être examinés.

La capacité d'enregistrement de 30 minutes du CVR est fondée sur la technologie qui existait au début des années 1960; elle correspondait à la quantité de ruban qui pouvait être protégée en cas d'écrasement. Le Bureau s'inquiète du fait que la capacité d'enregistrement de 30 minutes ne permet pas, dans de nombreux cas, d'enregistrer les événements ayant mené à l'accident ainsi que les éléments intéressants d'information en arrière-plan. Par exemple, dans les cas d'incendie en vol ou de défaillance structurale progressive, les événements à l'origine de l'accident se déroulent habituellement sur une période plus longue que la capacité d'enregistrement de 30 minutes. Si les CVR avaient une capacité d'enregistrement supérieure, il serait également plus facile de faire les enquêtes sur les événements non catastrophiques, notamment dans les cas où l'enregistrement des 30 minutes pertinentes a déjà été oblitéré quand l'avion se pose finalement au sol.

La capacité d'enregistrement des CVR peut facilement être augmentée grâce à la technologie actuelle. En fait, la majorité des CVR à mémoire à semi-conducteurs fabriqués récemment présentent une capacité d'enregistrement de deux heures, et l'on note une tendance de l'industrie à l'échelle mondiale vers les CVR d'une capacité d'enregistrement de deux heures. Les European Joint Airworthiness Requirements exigent que les avions qui ont été homologués pour la première fois après le 1er avril 1998 soient équipés de CVR d'une capacité d'enregistrement de deux heures. Il y a également une proposition visant à ajouter une telle exigence dans les Normes et pratiques recommandées de l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale (OACI). Le Groupe d'experts de l'OACI sur les enregistreurs de vol, qui regroupe des experts de plusieurs États, s'est réuni du 12 au 20 novembre 1998 et il a recommandé à la Commission de la navigation aérienne de l'OACI que les avions construits après le 1er janvier 2003 soient équipés de CVR d'une capacité d'enregistrement de deux heures.

Le BST sait que de nombreux exploitants ont déjà choisi de remplacer leurs anciens FDR et CVR à ruban par des enregistreurs modernes à mémoire à semi-conducteurs. L'utilisation de ces nouveaux enregistreurs améliore non seulement la sécurité, mais présente aussi des avantages directs pour les exploitants en ce qu'ils permettent d'éviter les coûts élevés et les problèmes techniques associés à l'entretien d'enregistreurs à ruban désuets. De plus, les enregistreurs à ruban ne répondent plus aux nouvelles normes de résistance aux accidents TSO C123a et TSO C124a des États-Unis. Compte tenu de cette tendance de l'industrie vers les enregistreurs à mémoire à semi-conducteurs, le temps est venu d'exiger que les avions soient équipés de CVR d'une capacité d'enregistrement de deux heures.

L'absence d'enregistrement phonique ou sonore peut gêner les enquêtes de sécurité et retarder ou empêcher la découverte d'anomalies. Comme il s'avère nécessaire de disposer de plus longues périodes d'enregistrement sonore pour connaître les événements à l'origine des accidents d'aviation et puisqu'il y a sur le marché des CVR d'une capacité d'enregistrement de deux heures, le Bureau croit que ces enregistreurs devraient être rendus obligatoires par les organismes de réglementation partout dans le monde. Le Bureau reconnaît, toutefois, qu'il serait raisonnable d'accorder plusieurs années aux constructeurs et aux exploitants pour la mise en oeuvre de ce changement. En conséquence, le Bureau recommande, pour les aéronefs de construction récente, que :

dès le 1er janvier 2003, tout CVR installé à bord d'un aéronef comme condition préalable à la délivrance d'un certificat de navigabilité d'origine soit tenu d'avoir une capacité d'enregistrement d'au moins deux heures.

A99-01

Le Bureau croit également que, moyennant un délai raisonnable, un programme de modification des avions déjà en service est tout à fait justifié. En conséquence, le Bureau recommande que :

dès le 1er janvier 2005, tous les aéronefs qui doivent être équipés d'un FDR et d'un CVR soient tenus d'être équipés d'un CVR d'une capacité d'enregistrement d'au moins deux heures.

A99-02

Source d'alimentation électrique indépendante

Lorsque l'alimentation électrique des enregistreurs de bord du vol SWR 111 a été interrompue à 10 000 pieds, le FDR et le CVR ont cessé de fonctionner. Le vol s'est poursuivi pendant environ six minutes, mais aucune information n'a été enregistrée. L'absence d'information enregistrée a nui au déroulement de l'enquête sur cet accident.

Des interruptions de l'alimentation électrique des enregistreurs de bord ont empêché l'enregistrement continu des dernières minutes de vol de plusieurs autres avions qui ont subi des accidents ces dernières années, notamment : le DC-9-32 de Valuejet à Miami (Floride) le 11 mai 1996; le Boeing 747-131, vol TWA 800 à East Moriches (New York) le 17 juillet 1996; le Boeing 737-300 de Silk Air à Palembang en Indonésie, le 19 décembre 1997; le MD-11 de Delta Air Lines à Cork en Irlande, le 8 octobre 1998; et le Boeing 737-232 de Delta Express à Orlando (Floride) le 15 décembre 1998.

Les équipages de conduite et les systèmes de bord des avions modernes utilisent des données de vol et d'autres données de sources diverses pour le pilotage de l'avion. Pour enregistrer les paramètres dont il a besoin, le FDR capture simplement les données qui passent par les bus de données. Si un capteur ou un bus de données n'est plus alimenté, l'information du FDR relative à ce capteur ou à ce bus de données disparaît. S'il y a une panne totale de l'alimentation électrique, à toute fin pratique, le FDR n'a aucune donnée à enregistrer. Il serait peut-être justifié que le FDR et son bloc d'acquisition des données de vol soient pourvus d'une alimentation électrique indépendante afin de ne pas perdre toute donnée que l'on pourrait enregistrer lors de pannes d'électricité localisées. Le BST croit qu'à tout le moins le CVR et le microphone du poste de pilotage doivent continuer à être alimentés pendant de brèves périodes, que l'alimentation électrique normale de l'avion soit disponible ou non. Cette source d'alimentation électrique indépendante permettrait de continuer à enregistrer les bruits dans le poste de pilotage, notamment les conversations et les bruits ambiants, pendant une période établie.

Grâce aux sources d'alimentation électrique indépendante sans maintenance, il est maintenant possible d'alimenter, pendant un certain temps, les nouveaux CVR et le microphone du poste de pilotage indépendamment de la source d'alimentation électrique normale de l'avion, en cas d'interruption ou de panne de la source d'alimentation électrique du CVR. Par conséquent, afin d'augmenter les possibilités d'enregistrement de l'information nécessaire pour l'enquête en cas d'accident, le Bureau recommande que :

dès le 1er janvier 2005, tous les avions équipés de CVR d'une capacité d'enregistrement d'au moins deux heures soient tenus d'avoir une source d'alimentation électrique indépendante, près du CVR ou à même l'enregistreur, pour alimenter le CVR et le microphone du poste de pilotage pendant 10 minutes, chaque fois que les sources d'alimentation électrique normales du CVR sont interrompues.

A99-03

Bus électriques distincts

Selon la configuration actuelle du MD-11, le FDR et le CVR sont tous deux alimentés par le bus électrique c.a. numéro 3. La liste des vérifications d'urgence du MD-11, qui traite de la présence de fumée ou de vapeurs d'origine inconnue, demande d'actionner le sélecteur SMOKE ELEC/AIR. Ce sélecteur permet de couper l'alimentation électrique de chacun des trois bus électriques à tour de rôle afin de permettre d'isoler la source de la fumée ou des vapeurs. Cette procédure de dépannage exige que le sélecteur reste sur chaque position pour une durée indéterminée, habituellement au moins quelques minutes. Quand le sélecteur SMOKE ELEC/AIR est placé sur la première position (3/1 OFF), le bus électrique c.a. numéro 3 et le groupe de conditionnement d'air numéro 1 sont coupés, ce qui coupe par le fait même l'alimentation du FDR et du CVR. De plus, si la fumée ou les vapeurs sont dissipées dans cette première position, le sélecteur SMOKE ELEC/AIR doit rester sur cette position pendant tout le vol, ce qui signifie que pendant ce temps le FDR et le CVR ne fonctionnent pas alors qu'il y a des données à enregistrer. L'enquête n'a pas établi si les enregistreurs du vol SWR 111 ont cessé de fonctionner par suite d'une panne des circuits électriques ou de l'actionnement du sélecteur SMOKE ELEC/AIR, mais le fait que les deux enregistreurs peuvent être coupés par le simple actionnement d'un seul sélecteur présente le risque inutile de perdre des données d'enregistrement d'une importance capitale.

Les FAR 25.1457 (CVR) et FAR 25.1459 (FDR) de la Federal Aviation Administration des États-Unis, les articles 551.100 et 551.101 du chapitre 551 du Manuel de navigabilité - Partie V des Normes du Règlement de l'aviation canadien de Transports Canada ainsi que les spécifications éélectroniques de l'aviation civile européenne (Eurocae) exigent que les enregistreurs soient montés de manière à être alimentés par le bus électrique offrant la fiabilité maximale de fonctionnement sans compromettre l'alimentation des charges essentielles ou de secours. Cependant, comme le CVR et le FDR sont alimentés par le même bus, une défaillance de ce bus ou la coupure délibérée de ce bus (comme l'exige la liste de vérifications d'urgence) interrompt d'un seul coup l'alimentation électrique des deux enregistreurs.

Afin d'augmenter les possibilités d'enregistrement de l'information nécessaire pour relever les anomalies et les manquements à la sécurité, le Bureau recommande que :

les enregistreurs de bord des avions tenus d'être équipés de deux enregistreurs de bord soient tenus d'être alimentés par des bus distincts.

A99-04

Les avantages que présentent les enregistreurs combinés parole / données, tant sur le plan opérationnel que sur le plan de la sécurité, sont de plus en plus connus dans l'industrie. Le Bureau appuie cette approche et croit que les avions équipés de deux enregistreurs combinés seraient conformes à l'esprit des présentes recommandations en autant que ces derniers sont alimentés par des bus électriques distincts et qu'ils incorporent tous deux des CVR d'une capacité d'enregistrement de deux heures ayant chacun une source d'alimentation électrique indépendante. En outre, sur la plupart des avions, il serait préférable d'installer un de ces enregistreurs dans le nez de l'avion et l'autre dans la queue.

Si d'autres manquements à la sécurité devant faire l'objet de mesures immédiates sont relevés à mesure que l'enquête se poursuit, le Bureau s'empressera de faire d'autres recommandations en matière de sécurité aérienne.

Benoît Bouchard
Président
au nom du Bureau