Aviation Investigation Report A91P0194

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Runway Excursion
Piper PA 23-250 Aztec C-GIFD
Chilliwack, British Columbia
11 September 1991

Summary

After carrying out a series of practice circuits and landings, the pilot returned to the airport for a full-stop landing. Shortly after touchdown, the aircraft veered off the runway and ran into a creek. The aircraft was substantially damaged and the pilot was seriously injured.

The Board determined that the pilot lost control of the aircraft on landing; the reason for the loss of control could not be determined. The severity of the pilot's injuries and the damage to the aircraft were attributed to the aircraft's collision with the bank of the creek.

Contributing to the accident was the hazard presented by the uncovered watercourse's orientation to the runway, its presence within the boundary of the strip, and its proximity to the threshold of runway 24.

Table of Contents

  1. 1.0 Factual Information
    1. 1.1 History of the Flight
    2. 1.2 Pilot Egress
    3. 1.3 Weather
    4. 1.4 The Pilot
    5. 1.5 The Aircraft
    6. 1.6 The Landing
    7. 1.7 Porpoising and Wheelbarrowing
    8. 1.8 TP 312 - Aerodrome Standards And Recommended Practices
    9. 1.9 Strips - Definition
    10. 1.10 Category 2(B) Standards - Graded Areas - Definition
    11. 1.11 Drainage Ditches
    12. 1.12 The Chilliwack Airport
    13. 1.13 TC Interpretation of TP 312
    14. 1.14 Previous Accident
  2. 2.0 Analysis
    1. 2.1 Introduction
    2. 2.2 The Landing
    3. 2.3 Injury and Damage
    4. 2.4 The Watercourse
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Findings
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Safety Action
    1. 4.1 Action Taken
  5. 5.0 Appendices
    1. Appendix A - Accident Site
    2. Appendix B
      • - Excerpts from TP 312, Aerodrome Standards and Recommended Practices, 06 February 1986 edition
      • - Excerpts from TP 312, Aerodrome Standards and Recommended Practices, 01 March 1993 edition

OCCURRENCE NUMBER: A91P0194
TYPE OF OCCURRENCE: Runway Excursion (Accident)
DATE OF OCCURRENCE: 11 September 1991
LOCAL TIME: 1215 PDT
LOCATION: Chilliwack, British Columbia
TYPE OF AIRCRAFT: Piper PA 23-250 Aztec
REGISTRATION: C-GIFD
TYPE OF OPERATOR: Private Owner
TYPE OF OPERATION: Pleasure/Travel
DAMAGE CATEGORY: Substantial
PILOT LICENCE: Private - Aeroplane

Pilot-In-Command

PILOT HOURS Last 90 Days Total
All Types 15 499
On Type 15 45
INJURIES Crew Passengers
Fatal - -
Serious 1 -
Minor - -
None - -

1.0 Factual Information

1.1 History of the Flight

The pilot had been practising landings at the Chilliwack Municipal Airport,

British Columbia. After completing a few circuits, he positioned the aircraft for a full flap, full- stop landing on runway 24. Just after touchdown, the left wing rose and the aircraft began to veer left. It continued to turn with only the nosewheel and right main wheel in contact with the ground until it ran off the left side of the runway about 900 feet from the threshold (see Appendix A). Once on the grass, the aircraft began to skid sideways and the left main wheel made contact with the ground. The aircraft was now yawed about 10 degrees to the left of its direction of travel, and its forward speed was about 40 knots.

The aircraft ran through the short grass, out of the pilot's control, for about 150 feet until it ran into a 10-foot deep creek oriented at a 90-degree angle to the runway. The aircraft's nosewheel entered the creek about 48 feet from the left edge of the paved runway. The aircraft became momentarily airborne until its nose crashed heavily into the far bank of the creek. The aircraft then settled into the shallow water in the bottom of the creek.

1.2 Pilot Egress

The pilot was unrestrained by a shoulder harness, and was flung forward into the instrument panel when the aircraft struck the side of the creek. The force of the impact pushed the aircraft's nose back into the cabin and trapped the pilot in his seat. Rescue personnel used "the jaws of life" to extract him from the aircraft. He was seriously injured; the aircraft was substantially damaged.

1.3 Weather

The airport temperature was about 20 degrees Celsius, the sky was clear, and the visibility was unrestricted. The surface wind was less than 10 knots and from about 210 degrees magnetic. The crosswind component for runway 24 was about six knots.

1.4 The Pilot

The pilot was certified and qualified on the aircraft type.

1.5 The Aircraft

The maintenance log-books contained no evidence of uncorrected deficiencies relevant to the circumstances of the occurrence. An examination of the aircraft after the occurrence revealed no evidence of a malfunction that would cause the aircraft to veer to the left on landing.

The aircraft was serviced and maintained in accordance with existing directives. The weight and centre of gravity were within the prescribed limits. The aircraft was not equipped with a shoulder harness, nor was one required by regulation.

1.6 The Landing

The pilot did not remember much about the landing. A witness said that the aircraft first touched down on its nosewheel and then bounced back into the air. Other witnesses saw the aircraft's wings rocking from side-to-side as it landed. Skid marks on the runway revealed that only the nose and right main wheels were on the runway as the aircraft began to veer to the left, and that the left main wheel did not touch the ground until the aircraft had run off the edge of the runway. The aircraft then began to skid sideways. Except for the creek, there were no other obstacles in the path of the aircraft.

1.7 Porpoising and Wheelbarrowing

Porpoising is oscillation about the aircraft's lateral axis in the manner of a porpoise. A landing porpoise is an oscillation (bouncing) set up between the aircraft's nose and main wheels, and can occur when the nosewheel contacts the runway first, either as a result of excessive landing speed or faulty pilot technique.

Wheelbarrowing is a condition that arises when the nosewheel rather than the main gear is forced to support an abnormal share of the aircraft's weight. Touching down on the nosewheel, excessive braking, or friction between the wheels and runway caused by a side-skid may cause wheelbarrowing. Wheelbarrowing can damage a nosewheel or cause an aircraft to yaw uncontrollably off its intended course.

1.8 TP 312 - Aerodrome Standards And Recommended Practices

The Chilliwack runway was certificated by Transport Canada (TC) as Category 2(B) non- instrument. As such, the airport's manoeuvring areas must comply with certain established parameters, as defined in TC publication TP 312 - Aerodrome Standards and Recommended Practices

(See Appendix B).

The TP 312 in effect at the time of the occurrence (1991) was dated 06 February 1986. The current edition is dated 01 March 1993. Excerpts from both editions are found in Appendix B.

1.9 Strips - Definition

The current TP 312, at article 3.1.6.5, states that, "A strip including a non-instrument runway shall extend on each side of the centre line of the runway and its extended centre line through the length of the strip, to a distance of at least 30 meters (98.5 feet) where the code number is 1 or 2."

1.10 Category 2(B) Standards - Graded Areas - Definition

The current TP 312 requires a Category 2(B)1 runway to be 75 feet wide and to have a 75-foot graded area on each side of the centre line extending along the full length of the runway and stopway where provided. The Chilliwack runway conforms to Category 2(B) standards.

1.11 Drainage Ditches

The TP 312 standard for drainage ditches in effect in 1991, the time of the occurrence, directed that drainage ditches located at the edge of the graded area adjacent to the runway be contoured in order to reduce structural damage should an aircraft inadvertently overrun the ditch. Open ditches "should have a side slope of 4 units of horizontal measure to 1 unit of vertical measure. The maximum side slope acceptable shall be 3 units of horizontal measure to 1 unit of vertical measure. Open ditches shall be graded and sodded for erosion control and ease of maintenance." Drainage ditches were not to be located within the graded portion of the strip.

1 Category 2 refers to an aeroplane reference field length of 2,650 feet up to but not including 4,000 feet.

The current TP 312, amended March 1993, also states at article 3.1.6.19 that, "Drainage ditches shall not be located within the graded portion of the strip. Where drainage ditches are located at the edge of the graded area, they shall be contoured in order to reduce structural damage in the event an aeroplane overruns the ditch." TP 312 further recommends at article 3.1.6.21 that: "Open ditches should have a side slope of 4 units of horizontal measure to 1 unit of vertical measure. Open ditches should be graded and sodded for erosion control and ease of maintenance."

1.12 The Chilliwack Airport

The north/south creek was located in the undershoot area of runway 24 before that runway was extended. The course of the creek was altered when the runway was extended, and a culvert now runs under the 75-foot-wide and 3,900-foot-long runway about 1,250 feet from the threshold of runway 24. The culvert then empties into open ditches. The north ditch begins 79.5 feet from the runway centre line and the south ditch begins 77.5 feet from the runway centre line. Thus, the ditch begins beyond the graded portion of the strip.

The creek is about 52 feet wide on average and 10 to 15 feet deep, with a side slope steeper than 1:3. Its edges and steep rocky sides are covered with vegetation. At the time of the accident, three to four feet of water covered its bottom; the depth of water, however, varies with precipitation.

Both the north and south outlets of the under-runway culvert are located within the confines of the aerodrome strip and at the edge of the graded area.

1.13 TC Interpretation of TP 312

TC does not consider the creek which the aircraft struck to be a drainage ditch, but rather a watercourse, or naturally occurring stream. TC cites runways built beside rivers and lakes as examples of similar naturally occurring hazards. TC contends that the TP 312 standard for drainage ditches normally refers to those that are parallel to runways; however, TP 312 does not specifically address orientation.

1.14 Previous Accident

An accident involving the same uncovered creek occurred during a runway excursion in 1988 (A88P0188). The pilot lost directional control of the aircraft during a rejected take-off, and the aircraft ran into the creek.

2.0 Analysis

2.1 Introduction

The analysis will consider the pilot's actions on landing, the location of the watercourse, and the risk the watercourse presents during a runway excursion.

2.2 The Landing

It is apparent from witness statements and marks on the runway that the pilot lost directional control of the aircraft shortly after touchdown, and that he was then unable to prevent the aircraft from running off the runway and into the creek. The evidence is consistent with the aircraft either porpoising or wheelbarrowing on landing, but there is insufficient evidence to determine the exact mechanism by which control was lost.

2.3 Injury and Damage

The creek was the only obstacle in the path of the aircraft as it ran off the runway. Except for the collision with this obstacle, it is probable that the pilot would have been uninjured and the aircraft relatively undamaged. Had the pilot been wearing a shoulder harness, the injuries he did suffer would have been less severe.

2.4 The Watercourse

TP 312, Aerodrome Standards, among other things, defines the strip widths required for instrument and non-instrument runways. The Chilliwack runway meets the current requirements (dated 01 March 1993) in that the watercourse lies immediately outside the defined graded area, within the confines of the strip. It also met the requirements of the edition of TP 312 in effect at the time (dated 06 February 1986). However, a drainage ditch lying just outside the graded area, oriented parallel to the strip, is currently required to be contoured and to have a side slope of 4 units of horizontal measures to 1 unit of vertical measure. The standard in effect at the time recommended this same slope but permitted a maximum slope of 3 units of horizontal measure to 1 unit of vertical measure. This watercourse meets neither the 1986 nor the 1993 slope standards for drainage ditches. However, it is TC's opinion that it is a creek or a watercourse and not a drainage ditch. TC has, therefore, concluded that it need not meet the TP 312 slope standards for drainage ditches.

It is clear that a ditch, creek or natural watercourse, running perpendicular to the runway poses more of a hazard to aircraft exiting the runway than does one that runs parallel to it. The location of the Chilliwack watercourse, about 1,200 feet from the threshold of runway 24, places it in the path of aircraft departing the runway during the critical take-off and landing phases. Any aircraft departing the runway as the accident aircraft did would likely collide with the bank on the opposite slope, regardless of whether the slope were 1:3 or 1:4. Moreover, since there have been two occurrences of this nature in three years, it is clear that a real hazard exists.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Findings

  1. The pilot was qualified on the aircraft type.
  2. The aircraft was serviced and maintained in accordance with existing directives.
  3. The aircraft was not equipped with a shoulder harness, nor was one required by regulation.
  4. The weight and centre of gravity were within the prescribed limits.
  5. The pilot lost control of the aircraft on landing.
  6. There was no evidence of a malfunction that would cause the aircraft to veer on landing.
  7. TP 312 requires a 75-foot graded area for Category 2 runways. Because the watercourse begins 77.5 feet from the runway centre line, it is not subject to the graded area requirements.
  8. TP 312 requires that, where drainage ditches are located at the edge of the graded area, they shall be contoured in order to reduce structural damage in the event an aeroplane overruns the runway.
  9. TC has determined that the Chilliwack watercourse need not conform to the TP 312 standard for drainage ditches because the watercourse is a naturally occurring creek.
  10. TC considers the creek to be a naturally occurring watercourse, and, as such, it does not contravene TP 312 Category 2 runway certification criteria.
  11. TP 312, Aerodrome Standards and Recommended Practices, fails to address the hazard presented by the uncovered portion of the watercourse located within the boundary of the strip.

3.2 Causes

The pilot lost control of the aircraft on landing; the reason for the loss of control could not be determined. The severity of the pilot's injuries and the damage to the aircraft were attributed to the aircraft's collision with the bank of the creek.Contributing to the accident was the hazard presented by the uncovered watercourse's orientation to the runway, its presence within the boundary of the strip, and its proximity to the threshold of runway 24.

4.0 Safety Action

4.1 Action Taken

A TSB Aviation Safety Advisory was sent to Transport Canada (TC) in August 1993, indicating that TC might wish to review the adequacy of the Chilliwack Airport in meeting the certification criteria regarding drainage ditches contained in TP 312. TC responded that "Both the regional TC officials and the airport operator are aware of the risk that this watercourse represents but it remains the responsibility of the airport operator to take action to remove this hazard."

In November 1994, a supplemental Advisory was sent to the operators of the airport, the District of Chilliwack. This Advisory indicated that, given the bank condition of the drainage ditch, an excursion off the runway by an aircraft, even though remaining within the theoretical confines of the runway strip, could result in serious injury or damage. Therefore, the District may wish to consider contouring the drainage ditches located at the edge of the Chilliwack Airport graded area.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, the Hon. Wilfred R. DuPont and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 09 March 1995.

Appendix A - Accident Site

Accident Site


View from Edge of Runway 24 (Note Tire Marks)

View from Edge of Runway 24 (Note Tire Marks)


Wreckage in Creek (looking south-southwest)

Wreckage in Creek (looking south-southwest)


Wreckage in Creek (looking north-northeast)

Wreckage in Creek (looking north-northeast)


Creek Viewed Along Its Course

Creek Viewed Along Its Course


Appendix B

Excerpts from TP 312

Aerodrome Standards and Recommended Practices, 06 February 1986 edition

Excerpts from TP 312

Aerodrome Standards and Recommended Practices, 01 March 1993 edition

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A91P0194

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident aéronautique dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Sortie de piste
Piper PA 23-250 Aztec C-GIFD
Chilliwack (Colombie-Britannique)
11 septembre 1991

Résumé

Après avoir effectué une série de circuits et d'atterrissages, le pilote est revenu à l'aéroport pour un atterrissage avec arrêt complet. Peu après le toucher des roues, l'avion a fait une embardée, est sorti de piste et a fini sa course dans un ruisseau. L'avion a été lourdement endommagé; le pilote a été grièvement blessé.

Le Bureau a déterminé que le pilote avait perdu la maîtrise de l'avion à l'atterrissage; il n'a pas été possible de déterminer la cause de la perte de maîtrise. La gravité des blessures du pilote et les dommages à l'avion ont été attribués à la collision de l'avion avec le flanc du ruisseau.

Autres causes concourantes : l'orientation du ruisseau non couvert par rapport à la piste, la présence du ruisseau à l'intérieur des limites de la bande de piste, et la faible distance du ruisseau par rapport au seuil de la piste 24.

This report is also available in English.

Table des matières

  1. 1.0 Renseignements de base
    1. 1.1 Déroulement du vol
    2. 1.2 Évacuation
    3. 1.3 Les conditions météorologiques
    4. 1.4 Le pilote
    5. 1.5 L'aéronef
    6. 1.6 L'atterrissage
    7. 1.7 Marsouinage et brouettage
    8. 1.8 Aérodromes - Normes et pratiques recommandées (TP 312)
    9. 1.9 Bandes de piste - Définition
    10. 1.10 Normes de catégorie 2(B) - Surfaces nivelées - Définition
    11. 1.11 Fossés
    12. 1.12 Aéroport de Chilliwack
    13. 1.13 Interprétation de la publication TP 312 par Transports Canada
    14. 1.14 Accident antérieur
  2. 2.0 Analyse
    1. 2.1 Introduction
    2. 2.2 Atterrissage
    3. 2.3 Blessures et dommages
    4. 2.4 Cours d'eau
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Faits établis
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Mesures de sécurité
    1. 4.1 Mesures prises
    2. 5.0 Anexes
  5. Annexe A - Lieu de l'accident
  6. Annexe B
    1. - Extraits de la publication TP 312 - Aérodromes - Normes et pratiques recommandées, édition du 6 février 1986
    2. - Extraits de la publication TP 312 - Aérodromes - Normes et pratiques recommandées, édition du 1er mars 1993

1.0 Renseignements de base

NUMÉRO DE DOSSIER : A91P0194
TYPE D'ÉVÉNEMENT : sortie de piste (accident)
DATE : 11 septembre 1991
HEURE LOCALE : 12 h 15 HAP
LIEU : Chilliwack (Colombie-Britannique)
TYPE D'AÉRONEF : Piper PA 23-250 Aztec
IMMATRICULATION : C-GIFD
TYPE D'EXPLOITANT : particulier
GENRE DE VOL : récréatif/voyage
DOMMAGES : importants
LICENCE : pilote privé - avions

Pilote
HEURES DE VOL 90 derniers Total
Tous types 15 499
Type en cause 15 45
VICTIMES Équipage Passagers
Tués - -
Blessés graves 1 -
Blessés légers - -
Indemnes - -

1.1 Déroulement du vol

Le pilote avait fait des exercices d'atterrissage à l'aéroport municipal de Chilliwack, en Colombie- Britannique. Après avoir effectué quelques circuits, il a positionné l'avion pour un atterrissage pleins volets avec arrêt complet sur la piste 24. Immédiatement après le toucher des roues, l'aile gauche s'est soulevée, et l'avion s'est embarqué sur la gauche. L'avion a continué à tourner, alors que seules la roue avant et la roue droite du train principal touchaient le sol, puis il est sorti sur le côté gauche de la piste, à environ 900 pieds du seuil (voir l'annexe A). Une fois sur l'herbe, l'avion a commencé à glisser latéralement, puis la roue gauche du train principal a touché le sol. L'avion se trouvait maintenant à quelque l0 degrés à gauche de sa trajectoire au sol, et il se déplaçait à une vitesse de quelque 40 noeuds.

L'avion a roulé librement sur l'herbe courte sur environ 150 pieds jusqu'à ce qu'il plonge dans un ruisseau de 10 pieds de profondeur, qui était perpendiculaire à la piste. Le train avant de l'avion a pénétré dans le ruisseau à environ 48 pieds du bord gauche de la piste en dur. L'avion a quitté le sol pendant quelques instants avant de retomber lourdement sur le nez du côté opposé du ruisseau. L'avion a fini sa course dans les eaux peu profondes du ruisseau.

1.2 Évacuation

Comme le pilote n'était pas retenu par un baudrier, il a été projeté sur le tableau de bord lorsque l'avion a heurté le fossé. La force de l'impact a renfoncé le nez de l'avion dans la cabine et le pilote a été coincé dans son siège. Le personnel de secours a dû utiliser une décarcéreuse pour dégager le pilote de l'avion. Le pilote a subi des blessures graves; l'avion a subi des dommages importants.

1.3 Les conditions météorologiques

La température à l'aéroport était d'environ 20 degrés Celsius, le ciel était dégagé, et la visibilité était illimitée. Le vent en surface soufflait à moins de 10 noeuds du 210 degrés magnétique. La composante vent de travers pour la piste 24 était d'environ six noeuds.

1.4 Le pilote

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur, et il était qualifié sur type.

1.5 L'aéronef

Les livrets d'entretien de l'avion ne faisaient état d'aucun point d'entretien différé qui pourrait avoir un lien avec les circonstances de l'accident. L'examen de l'avion après l'accident n'a révélé aucune défectuosité qui aurait pu causer l'embardée de l'avion vers la gauche de la piste.

L'avion était exploité et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. La masse et le centrage étaient dans les limites prescrites. L'avion n'était pas équipé d'un baudrier, et la réglementation ne l'exigeait pas.

1.6 L'atterrissage

Pendant l'enquête, le pilote a déclaré qu'il ne se souvenait pas beaucoup de l'atterrissage. Un témoin a déclaré que l'avion avait d'abord touché le sol de la roue avant, puis avait rebondi. D'autres témoins ont indiqué que l'avion balançait des ailes au moment de l'atterrissage. L'examen des marques de dérapage sur la piste a révélé que seuls le train avant et la roue du train principal droit touchaient la piste au moment où l'avion s'est embarqué sur la gauche, et que la roue du train principal gauche n'a pas touché le sol avant que l'avion quitte la piste. L'avion a alors commencé à déraper latéralement. Il n'y avait aucun autre obstacle dans la trajectoire de l'avion, à l'exclusion du ruisseau.

1.7 Marsouinage et brouettage

Le marsouinage est une oscillation autour de l'axe transversal de l'avion, un peu comme le mouvement d'un marsouin dans l'eau. Le marsouinage à l'atterrissage est une oscillation (rebond) entre la roue du train avant et celles du train principal, et il peut se produire lorsque le train avant touche la piste en premier, que ce soit à cause d'une vitesse excessive à l'atterrissage ou d'une mauvaise technique de pilotage.

Le brouettage se produit lorsque le train avant plutôt que le train principal, est forcé de supporter une portion excessive de la masse de l'avion. Toucher le sol du train avant, un freinage exagéré, ou le frottement entre les roues et la piste causé par un dérapage peuvent se traduire par du brouettage. Le brouettage peut causer des dommages au train avant ou faire bifurquer l'avion.

1.8 Aérodromes - Normes et pratiques recommandées (TP 312)

La piste de Chilliwack était certifiée par Transports Canada comme étant une piste d'approche à vue de catégorie 2(B). Les aires de manoeuvre de l'aéroport doivent donc être conformes à certains paramètres établis dans la publication TP 312 intitulée Aérodromes - Normes et pratiques recommandées (voir l'annexe B).

La publication TP 312 en vigueur au moment de l'accident (1991) était celle du 6 février 1986. L'édition en vigueur à l'heure actuelle est celle du 1er mars 1993. Vous trouverez des extraits de ces deux éditions à l'annexe B.

1.9 Bandes de piste - Définition

À l'alinéa 3.1.6.5, la publication TP 312 en vigueur stipule que toute bande à l'intérieur de laquelle s'inscrit une piste à vue s'étendra latéralement, sur toute sa longueur, de part et d'autre de l'axe de la piste et du prolongement de cet axe, jusqu'à une distance, par rapport à cet axe, au moins égale à 30 mètres (98,5 pieds) lorsque le chiffre de code est 1 ou 2.

1.10 Normes de catégorie 2(B) - Surfaces nivelées - Définition

La publication TP 312 en vigueur exige qu'une piste de catégorie 2(B)1 soit d'une largeur de 75 pieds et qu'elle présente une surface nivelée de 75 pieds de chaque côté de l'axe de piste sur toute la longueur de la piste et du prolongement d'arrêt, le cas échéant. La piste de Chilliwack répond aux normes de la catégorie 2(B).

1.11 Fossés

La norme de la publication TP 312 sur les fossés qui était en vigueur en 1991, au moment de l'accident, exigeait que les fossés situés au bord de la surface nivelée voisine d'une piste soient munis d'une bordure pour réduire les dommages structuraux à un avion qui, accidentellement viendrait à y pénétrer. Les flancs des fossés devaient avoir une pente de 4 unités de mesure horizontale pour une unité de mesure verticale. La pente maximale acceptable devait être de 3 unités de mesure horizontale pour une unité de mesure verticale. Les fossés devaient être graduels et recouverts de gazon pour limiter l'érosion et faciliter leur entretien. Les fossés ne devaient pas être situés dans la partie nivelée de la bande.

La publication TP 312 en vigueur à l'heure actuelle, et qui a été modifiée en mars 1993, stipule en 3.1.6.19 que les fossés ne doivent pas être situés dans la partie nivelée de la bande. Lorsqu'ils seront situés au bord de l'aire nivelée, leurs bords doivent être aussi graduels que possible 1 La catégorie 2 renvoie à une distance de référence de l'avion de 2 650 pieds jusqu'à 4 000 pieds non compris. afin de minimiser les dégâts que pourrait subir un avion qui viendrait à y pénétrer. La publication stipule également en 3.1.6.21 que les fossés ouverts devraient avoir une pente latérale de 4 unités de mesure horizontale pour une unité de mesure verticale. Ces fossés devraient être nivelés et tourbés à des fins de contrôle d'érosion et d'entretien.

1.12 Aéroport de Chilliwack

Le ruisseau était orienté du nord au sud et il était situé dans le prolongement de piste amont de la piste 24 avant que la piste soit prolongée. Le cours du ruisseau a été modifié lors du prolongement de la piste, et un caniveau se trouve maintenant sous la piste de 75 pieds de largeur et de 3 900 pieds de longueur, à environ 1 250 pieds du seuil de la piste 24. Le caniveau débouche sur des fossés ouverts. Le fossé nord commence à 79,5 pieds de l'axe de la piste, et le fossé sud, à 77,5 pieds de l'axe de piste. Ainsi le fossé commence au-delà de l'aire nivelée de la bande.

Le ruisseau a 52 pieds de largeur en moyenne et une profondeur de 10 à 15 pieds, et il présente une pente plus raide que la pente 3 pour 1. Ses bords et ses flancs rocailleux abrupts sont couverts de végétation. Au moment de l'accident, le ruisseau avait trois ou quatre pieds d'eau de profondeur. La quantité d'eau varie en fonction des précipitations.

Les sorties nord et sud du caniveau situé sous la piste se trouvent à l'intérieur des limites de la bande et au bord de la surface nivelée.

1.13 Interprétation de la publication TP 312 par Transports Canada

Transports Canada ne considère pas que le ruisseau que l'avion a heurté est un fossé, mais plutôt un cours d'eau ou un ruisseau naturel. Transports Canada donne comme exemples de dangers naturels similaires les pistes qui sont construites à côté des rivières et des lacs. Transports Canada est d'avis que la norme TP 312 sur les fossés renvoie normalement à ceux qui sont parallèles aux pistes; toutefois, le document TP 312 ne traite aucunement de la question de l'orientation des fossés.

1.14 Accident antérieur

En 1988, un aéronef est sorti de piste (rapport A88P0188) et a fini sa course dans le ruisseau en cause dans le présent accident. Le pilote a perdu la maîtrise en direction de l'appareil après avoir interrompu le décollage, et l'aéronef a plongé dans le ruisseau.

2.0 Analyse

2.1 Introduction

L'analyse porte sur les mesures prises par le pilote à l'atterrissage, l'emplacement du cours d'eau et le risque que ce dernier présente en cas de sortie de piste.

2.2 Atterrissage

Il est évident, d'après les déclarations des témoins et les marques sur la piste, que le pilote a perdu la maîtrise en direction de l'avion peu après le toucher des roues, et qu'il n'a pas pu empêcher l'avion de quitter la piste et de plonger dans le ruisseau. Tout indique que l'avion a marsouiné ou brouetté à l'atterrissage, mais il n'y a pas suffisamment de données pour déterminer comment s'est produit la perte de maîtrise.

2.3 Blessures et dommages

Le ruisseau était le seul obstacle dans la trajectoire de l'avion après que l'avion a quitté la piste. Si l'avion n'avait pas heurté cet obstacle, il est probable que le pilote n'aurait pas été blessé et que l'avion n'aurait subi que des dommages légers. Si le pilote avait porté un baudrier, ses blessures auraient été moins graves.

2.4 Cours d'eau

Le document TP 312 définit, entre autres, les largeurs de bande nécessaires pour les pistes aux instruments et les pistes à vue. La piste de Chilliwack satisfait aux exigences d'approche en vigueur (du 1er mars 1993) en ce que le cours d'eau se trouve immédiatement à l'extérieur de la surface nivelée définie, et à l'intérieur des limites de la bande. La piste était aussi conforme aux exigences de l'édition de la TP 312 en vigueur (6 février 1986) au moment de l'accident. Cependant, un fossé se trouvant juste à l'extérieur de la surface nivelée, parallèlement à la bande, doit être pourvu d'une bordure, et ses flancs doivent présenter une pente de 4 unités de mesure horizontale pour 1 unité de mesure verticale. La norme en vigueur à ce moment-là recommandait la même pente, mais permettait une pente maximale de 3 unités de mesure horizontale pour 1 unité de mesure verticale. La pente des flancs de ce cours d'eau n'est pas conforme aux normes de 1986, ni à celles de 1993, sur la pente des fossés. Toutefois, Transports Canada est d'avis qu'il s'agit d'un ruisseau ou d'un cours d'eau, et non d'un fossé. Par conséquent, Transports Canada a conclu que ce cours d'eau n'a pas à être conforme aux normes de pente pour fossés édictées dans le document TP 312.

Il est clair qu'un fossé, un ruisseau ou un cours d'eau naturel, perpendiculaire à la piste présente un plus grand danger pour un avion qui sort de la piste que s'il se trouvait parallèle à la piste. Puisque le cours d'eau à proximité de l'aéroport de Chilliwack est situé à environ 1 200 pieds du seuil de la piste 24, il se trouve dans la trajectoire des aéronefs qui sortent de piste pendant les étapes critiques du vol que sont le décollage et l'atterrissage. Tout avion qui sort de la piste comme l'a fait l'avion en question heurterait probablement le flanc opposé, que la pente soit à 3 pour 1 ou à 4 pour 1. En outre, comme il y a eu deux accidents de cette nature en trois ans, il est clair que le danger est bien réel.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Faits établis

  1. Le pilote était qualifié sur type.
  2. L'avion était exploité et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur.
  3. L'avion n'était pas équipé d'un baudrier, ce qui n'était pas exigé par la réglementation.
  4. La masse et le centrage se trouvaient dans les limites prescrites.
  5. Le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'avion à l'atterrissage.
  6. Rien n'indique qu'une défectuosité de l'avion ait pu provoquer une embardée à l'atterrissage.
  7. Le document TP 312 intitulé Aérodromes - Normes et pratiques recommandées exige une surface nivelée de 75 pieds pour les pistes de catégorie 2. Comme le cours d'eau commence à 77,5 pieds de l'axe de piste, il n'est pas soumis aux exigences relatives à la surface nivelée.
  8. Le document TP 312 exige que les fossés situés au bord d'une surface nivelée soient pourvus d'une bordure pour réduire les dommages structuraux à l'avion en cas de sortie de piste.
  9. Transports Canada a déterminé que le cours d'eau de Chilliwack n'a pas à être conforme à la norme du document TP 312 sur les fossés parce que le cours d'eau en question est un ruisseau naturel.
  10. Transports Canada considère que le cours d'eau est un ruisseau naturel et que, comme tel, il n'enfreint pas les critères de certification des pistes de catégorie 2 édictés dans le document TP 312.
  11. Le document TP 312 ne traite pas du danger que présente la partie non couverte d'un cours d'eau qui se trouve à l'intérieur des limites de la bande.

3.2 Causes

Le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'avion à l'atterrissage; il n'a pas été possible de déterminer la cause de la perte de maîtrise. La gravité des blessures du pilote et les dommages à l'avion ont été attribués à la collision de l'avion avec le flanc du ruisseau.

Autres causes concourantes : l'orientation du ruisseau non couvert par rapport à la piste, la présence du ruisseau à l'intérieur des limites de la bande de piste, et la faible distance du ruisseau par rapport au seuil de la piste 24.

4.0 Mesures de sécurité

4.1 Mesures prises

En août 1993, le BST a envoyé un avis de sécurité à Transports Canada lui suggérant qu'il souhaiterait peut être vérifier si l'aéroport de Chilliwack satisfaisait aux critères de certification sur les fossés, contenus dans le document TP 312. Transports Canada a répondu que les agents régionaux de Transports Canada et l'exploitant de l'aéroport sont conscients du risque que représente ce cours d'eau, mais il incombe à l'exploitant de l'aéroport de prendre les mesures qui s'imposent pour éliminer ce danger.

En novembre 1994, un avis supplémentaire a été envoyé au District de Chilliwack, qui est responsable de l'exploitation de l'aéroport. L'avis indiquait que compte tenu de l'état des flancs du fossé, un aéronef qui quitterait la piste, même s'il restait dans les limites théoriques de la bande de piste, pourrait être lourdement endommagé ou pourrait causer des blessures graves.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 9 mars 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, l'hon. Wilfred R. DuPont et Hugh MacNeil.

Annexe A - Lieu de l'accident

Vue à partir du bord de la piste 24

(noter les traces de pneu)

Vue de l'avion dans le ruisseau

(vue en direction sud-sud-ouest)

Vue de l'avion dans le ruisseau

(vue en direction nord-nord-est)

Vue du ruisseau

Annexe B

Extraits de la publication TP 312

Aérodromes - Normes et pratiques recommandées, édition du 6 février 1986

Extraits de la publication TP 312

Aérodromes - Normes et pratiques recommandées, édition du 1er mars 1993