Aviation Investigation Report A93O0382

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

ATS Related Event
Between Air Ontario Ltd.
De Havilland DHC-8 C-GONX and
Canadian Forces Canadair Ltd. CT-114 Tutor
Sault Ste. Marie Airport, Ontario
25 November 1993

Summary

Bandit 22 (BDIT22), a Canadian Forces Tutor, was cleared for a contact approach to the Sault Ste. Marie Airport. Air Ontario flight 294 (ONT294) had been cleared to depart from runway 11. The tower controller attempted to contact BDIT22 but was unsuccessful until the aircraft was on short final for the active runway. BDIT22 saw ONT294 on the runway and conducted a missed approach; the tower controller cancelled the take-off clearance for ONT294 and instructed the crew to hold their position on the runway.

The Board determined that the tower controller positioned ONT294 on the active runway and cleared it for take-off without establishing direct pilot-controller communications with BDIT22.

Table of Contents

  1. 1.0 Factual Information
    1. 1.1 History of the Flight
    2. 1.2 Weather
    3. 1.3 Air Traffic Control (ATC) Manual of Operations (MANOPS)
    4. 1.4 Inter-Unit Agreement
    5. 1.5 Transfer of Control
  2. 2.0 Analysis
    1. 2.1 Inter-Unit Agreement and MANOPS Requirements
    2. 2.2 Tower Controller's Plan of Action
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Findings
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Safety Action


OCCURRENCE NUMBER:A93O0382
TYPE OF OCCURRENCE:ATS Related Event (Incident)
DATE OF OCCURRENCE:25 November 1993
LOCAL TIME:1810 EST
LOCATION: Sault Ste. Marie Airport, Ontario
TYPE OF AIRCRAFT:De Havilland DHC-8
REGISTRATION:C-GONX
TYPE OF OPERATOR:Air Carrier
TYPE OF OPERATION:Scheduled Domestic
DAMAGE CATEGORY:None
PILOT LICENCE:Airline Transport

PILOT-IN-COMMAND

Pilot Hours Last 90 Days Total
All Types 100 6,000
On Type 100 2,000

CO-PILOT

Pilot Hours Last 90 Days Total
All Types 170 4,300
On Type 170 N/A
INJURIES Crew Passengers
Fatal - -
Serious - -
Minor - -
None 3 36

TYPE OF AIRCRAFT: Canadair Ltd. CT-114 Tutor
REGISTRATION: Not Applicable
TYPE OF OPERATOR: Military
TYPE OF OPERATION: Other
DAMAGE CATEGORY: None
PILOT LICENCE: Military

PILOT-IN-COMMAND

PILOT HOURS Last 90 Days Total
All Types N/A N/A
On Type N/A N/A

CO-PILOT

PILOT HOURS Last 90 Days Total
All Types N/A N/A
On Type N/A N/A
INJURIES Crew Passengers
Fatal - -
Serious - -
Minor - -
None 2 -

AIR TRAFFIC CONTROLLERS

CONTROLLER POSITION: Tower

TYPE OF LICENCE: Airport Controller

EXPERIENCE:

  • as a controller 20 years
  • as an IFR controllerN/A
  • in present unit 15 years

CONTROLLER POSITION: Sault Low Sector

TYPE OF LICENCE: IFR Controller

EXPERIENCE:

  • as a controller 23 years
  • as an IFR controller21 years
  • in present unit 13 years

1.0 Factual Information

1.1 History of the Flight

BDIT22, a Canadair CT-114 Tutor, was on an instrument flight rules (IFR) flight plan inbound to Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, from Winnipeg, Manitoba. BDIT22 was cleared to the Sault Ste. Marie Airport for an instrument landing system (ILS) approach to runway 11. At approximately three miles from the final approach fix, the approach clearance was cancelled because the aircraft was too high on approach, and a clearance was issued for a descending 360-degree turn to the left to re-intercept the localizer at a lower altitude. During the turn, the sector controller issued a contact approach clearance to the crew and co-ordinated a transfer of control for the aircraft with the tower controller.

Air Ontario flight 294 (ONT294), on an IFR flight plan from Sault Ste. Marie Airport to Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport, Ontario, was cleared by the tower controller to position and hold on the active runway. When control of BDIT22 was passed from the sector controller to the tower controller and an IFR release for ONT294 was obtained, the tower controller cleared ONT294 for take-off. The tower controller attempted several times to contact BDIT22 by radio; however, he was unable to do so. He cancelled the take-off clearance for ONT294 and instructed the crew to hold their position on the runway. Radio contact was eventually established with BDIT22 and the aircraft conducted a missed approach.

1.2 Weather

The 1800 EST surface actual weather report at Sault Ste. Marie was reported as 1,000 feet scattered, measured ceiling 1,500 feet broken, 10,000 feet overcast, visibility 15 miles, temperature minus 4 degrees Celsius, dew point minus 6 degrees Celsius, wind 100 degrees at 12 knots, and altimeter setting 30.41 inches of mercury. These are visual meteorological conditions.

1.3 Air Traffic Control (ATC) Manual of Operations (MANOPS)

MANOPS Section 362.5 states that a tower controller may assume responsibility for control of an arriving IFR or CVFR (controlled visual flight rules) aircraft that has been cleared for an approach provided:

  1. VFR conditions exist at the airport;
  2. you [the tower controller] have sighted the aircraft and are satisfied that it will remain in sight and not have to return to IFR conditions;
  3. the aircraft intends to land and not continue on an IFR clearance; and
  4. the aircraft is at a position within the control zone agreed upon by:
    1. you and the IFR controller when you request control; or
    2. both units as specified in an agreement.

Section 351.1 of the MANOPS directs tower controllers to:

  • Issue clearances and instructions, as necessary, to maintain a safe, orderly, and expeditious flow of airport traffic.

Section 352.2 of the MANOPS directs tower controllers to:

  • Separate an arriving aircraft from a preceding aircraft using the same runway by ensuring that the arriving aircraft does not cross the landing threshold until one of the following conditions exists:
    1. The preceding aircraft has landed and taxied off the runway.
    2. The preceding aircraft has landed or is over the landing runway; and
      1. is at a distance from the threshold sufficient to allow the arriving aircraft to complete its landing roll without jeopardizing safety; and
      2. the arriving aircraft is advised of the preceding aircraft's position and intentions.
    3. The preceding aircraft is airborne; and
      1. is at a sufficient distance from the threshold that the arriving aircraft will not overtake it during the landing roll or conflict with it in the event of a missed approach; or
      2. has turned to avoid any conflict with the arriving aircraft in the event of a missed approach.

1.4 Inter-Unit Agreement

A memorandum of understanding (MOU) between the Toronto Area Control Centre (ACC) and the Sault Ste. Marie Control Tower defined the procedure for the automatic transfer of control of inbound IFR flights under certain guidelines, as follows:

  1. the control transfer point would be the final approach fix serving the active IFR approach [in this case, the Gros Cap NDB];
  2. the ceiling would be at least 3,000 feet and the visibility five miles or greater;
  3. Sault tower notifies Toronto centre immediately when the weather falls below the established criteria for automatic control transfer;
  4. automatic transfer does not apply to an IFR aircraft on a pre-determined IFR missed approach.

1.5 Transfer of Control

The tower controller requested that control of the aircraft inbound to the airport be transferred as each successive aircraft passed the Gros Cap beacon (slightly more than four miles final for runway 11, the active runway) at Sault Ste. Marie. This transfer of control was agreed to by the sector controller.

The tower controller's plan was to establish radio contact with BDIT22 near the Gros Cap beacon when control was transferred from the sector controller. He would notify the aircraft of the departing ONT294 flight and request that the aircraft reduce its approach speed or fly a circuit overhead the airport while the DHC-8 departed. In this manner, the departing flight would have a minimal delay. However, after establishing that the tower controller had BDIT22 in sight, the sector controller cleared BDIT22 to the contact approach at Sault Ste. Marie but delayed the instruction to BDIT22 to switch to the tower frequency at Sault Ste. Marie for more than one minute. The reason for the delay could not be established.

2.0 Analysis

2.1 Inter-Unit Agreement and MANOPS Requirements

ATC MANOPS, Section 362.5, states that in order for control of an IFR aircraft to be transferred between a sector controller and a tower controller, VFR meteorological conditions must prevail. The MOU between the Sault Ste. Marie control tower and the Toronto ACC stipulated that automatic transfer of control from the sector controller to the tower controller would be permitted if the officially reported weather was at least 3,000 feet and five miles.

Since the reported 1800 EST weather conditions were lower than those required by the MOU but were above VFR limits, the tower controller assumed responsibility of the inbound aircraft in accordance with section 362.5 of the MANOPS. After the sector controller cleared BDIT22 to the contact approach at Sault Ste. Marie, the sector controller delayed the instruction to switch to the tower frequency at Sault Ste. Marie for more than one minute.

2.2 Tower Controller's Plan of Action

The tower controller's plan to coordinate the departure of ONT294 and the arrival of BDIT22 was based on the assumptions that control transfer of BDIT22 and direct pilot-controller communication with BDIT22 would be established at least four miles from the airport. This would allow the tower controller to request BDIT22 to overshoot the active runway and fly a circuit while ONT294 departed. The plan did not take into account all variables, and ONT294 should not have been cleared to the runway to hold in position in anticipation of all events unfolding as planned. The plan did not proceed as expected because the transfer of control took place in proximity to the airport and the tower controller cleared ONT294 for take-off without first establishing direct pilot-controller communications with BDIT22 to ensure separation from ONT294.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Findings

  1. The tower controller initiated a transfer of control for BDIT22, and the sector controller agreed to the transfer of control.
  2. The tower controller positioned ONT294 on the active runway without first establishing direct pilot-controller communications with BDIT22.
  3. The tower controller cleared ONT294 for take-off before establishing radio contact with BDIT22.
  4. After clearing BDIT22 to the contact approach at Sault Ste. Marie, the sector controller delayed the instruction to switch to the tower frequency at Sault Ste. Marie for more than one minute.

3.2 Causes

The tower controller positioned ONT294 on the active runway and cleared it for take-off without establishing direct pilot-controller communications with BDIT22.

4.0 Safety Action

The Board has no aviation safety recommendations to issue at this time.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, the Hon. Wilfred R. DuPont and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 28 February 1995.

Rapport d'enquête maritime A93O0382

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident aéronautique dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Incident lié au service ATC
entre le de Havilland DHC-8
C-GONX d'Air Ontario Ltd.
et un CT-114 Tutor de Canadair Ltd.
des Forces canadiennes
à l'aéroport de Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario)
25 novembre 1993

Résumé

Un avion Tutor des Forces canadiennes, Bandit 22 (BDIT22), a été autorisé à effectuer une approche contact sur l'aéroport de Sault Ste. Marie. L'avion du vol 294 d'Air Ontario (ONT294) avait été autorisé à décoller de la piste 11. Le contrôleur tour a tenté de communiquer avec l'équipage de BDIT22, mais il n'a réussi que lorsque l'avion a été en courte finale vers la piste en service. BDIT22 a vu l'avion du vol ONT294 sur la piste et a interrompu l'approche. Le contrôleur tour a annulé l'autorisation de décollage du vol ONT294 et a demandé à l'équipage de rester en place sur la piste.

Le Bureau a déterminé que le contrôleur tour avait fait pénétrer l'avion du vol ONT294 sur la piste en service et qu'il l'avait autorisé à décoller sans avoir établi des communications pilote- contrôleur directes avec BDIT22.

This report is also available in English.

Table des matières

  1. 1.0 Renseignements de base
    1. 1.1 Déroulement du vol
    2. 1.2 Conditions météorologiques
    3. 1.3 Manuel d'exploitation du Contrôle de la circulation aérienne
    4. 1.4 Accord inter-unité
    5. 1.5 Transfert de contrôle
  2. 2.0 Analyse
    1. 2.1 Accord inter-unité et exigences du MANOPS
    2. 2.2 Plan d'action du contrôleur tour
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Faits établis
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Mesures de sécurité

NUMÉRO DE DOSSIER : A930382
TYPE D'ÉVÉNEMENT : incident lié au service ATC
DATE : 25 novembre 1993
HEURE LOCALE : 18 h 10 HNE
LIEU : aéroport de Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario)
TYPE D'AÉRONEF : de Havilland DHC-8
IMMATRICULATION : C-GONX
TYPE D'EXPLOITANT : transporteur aérien
GENRE DE VOL : intérieur régulier
DOMMAGES : aucun
LICENCE : pilote de ligne

1.0 Renseignements de base

1.1 Déroulement du vol

Un CT-114 Tutor de Canadair (BDIT22) effectuait un vol selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR)entre Winnipeg (Manitoba) et Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario). BDIT22 a été autorisé à effectuer une approche à l'aide du système d'atterrissage aux instruments (ILS) sur la piste 11 de l'aéroport de Sault Ste. Marie. À environ trois milles du repère d'approche finale, l'autorisation d'approche a été annulée parce que l'avion était trop haut en approche, et une autorisation d'effectuer un virage en descente à gauche de 360 degrés lui a été accordée pour qu'il intercepte de nouveau l'alignement de piste à une altitude plus basse. Pendant le virage, le contrôleur du secteur a accordé une autorisation d'approche contact à l'équipage et a coordonné le transfert du contrôle de l'avion avec le contrôleur tour.

Le vol 294 (ONT294) d'Air Ontario, qui allait effectuer un vol IFR entre l'aéroport de Sault Ste. Marie et l'aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B. Pearson (Ontario) avait été autorisé par le contrôleur tour à se placer et à attendre sur la piste en service. Lorsque le contrôle de BDIT22 a été transféré du contrôleur du secteur au contrôleur tour et que l'autorisation IFR du vol ONT294 a été obtenue, le contrôleur tour a autorisé ONT294 à décoller. Le contrôleur tour a tenté plusieurs fois de communiquer par radio avec BDIT22, mais sans succès. Il a annulé l'autorisation de décollage du vol ONT294 et a demandé à l'équipage d'attendre à l'endroit où il se trouvait sur la piste. Le contact radio a finalement été établi avec BDIT22 et l'avion a interrompu l'approche.

1.2 Conditions météorologiques

Les conditions météorologiques de surface observées à 18 h HNE à Sault Ste. Marie étaient les suivantes : nuages épars à 1 000 pieds, plafond mesuré à 1 500 pieds avec nuages fragmentés, ciel couvert à 10 000 pieds, visibilité de 15 milles, température de moins quatre degrés Celsius, point de rosée de moins six degrés Celsius, vent du 100 degrés à 12 noeuds, et calage altimétrique de 30,41 pouces de mercure. Il s'agissait de conditions météorologiques de vol à vue.

1.3 Manuel d'exploitation du Contrôle de la circulation aérienne

La section 362.5 du Manuel d'exploitation du Contrôle de la circulation aérienne (MANOPS) stipule qu'un contrôleur tour peut «assumer la responsabilité du contrôle d'un aéronef IFR ou CVFR (VFR contrôlé) à l'arrivée déjà autorisé pour une approche, à condition que :

  1. les conditions VFR prévalent à l'aéroport;
  2. vous (le contrôleur tour) ayez l'aéronef en vue et soyez sûr qu'il le restera et ne retournera pas en conditions IFR;
  3. l'aéronef ait l'intention d'atterrir et de ne pas continuer d'opérer conformément à une autorisation IFR; et
  4. l'aéronef se trouve à l'intérieur d'une zone de contrôle, à un point convenu :
    1. par vous-même et le contrôleur IFR, lorsque vous avez demandé d'en prendre le contrôle; ou
    2. par les deux unités, conformément aux termes d'un accord à cet effet.

La section 351.1 du MANOPS demande ce qui suit aux contrôleurs tour :

Émettez les autorisations et instructions requises afin de maintenir un débit sûr, ordonné et rapide de la circulation d'aéroport.

La section 352.2 du MANOPS demande ce qui suit aux contrôleurs tour :

Espacez un aéronef à l'arrivée de l'aéronef le précédant et utilisant la même piste en s'assurant que l'aéronef à l'arrivée ne franchit pas le seuil de piste avant qu'une des conditions suivantes existe :

  1. L'aéronef le précédant a atterri et a dégagé la piste.
  2. L'aéronef le précédant a atterri ou se trouve au-dessus de la piste d'atterrissage; et
    1. est à une distance du seuil suffisante pour permettre à l'aéronef à l'arrivée de terminer sa course à l'atterrissage sans porter atteinte à la sécurité; et
    2. l'aéronef à l'arrivée est averti de la position et des intentions de l'aéronef qui le précède.
  3. L'aéronef le précédant a décollé, et
    1. est suffisamment loin du seuil pour que l'aéronef à l'arrivée ne le double pas durant sa course d'atterrissage ou n'entre pas en conflit dans l'éventualité d'une approche interrompue; ou
    2. a effectué un virage pour éviter tout conflit avec l'aéronef à l'arrivée dans l'éventualité d'une approche interrompue.

1.4 Accord inter-unité

Un protocole d'entente entre le centre de contrôle régional (ACC) de Toronto et la tour de contrôle de Sault Ste. Marie définit la procédure de transfert automatique du contrôle des vols IFR à l'arrivée suivant certaines lignes directrices :

  1. le point de transfert du contrôle serait le repère d'approche finale pour l'approche IFR active (dans le présent cas, le NDB de Gros Cap);
  2. le plafond est d'au moins 3 000 pieds, et la visibilité, de cinq milles ou plus;
  3. la tour de Sault Ste. Marie avise le centre de Toronto immédiatement lorsque les conditions météorologiques deviennent inférieures aux critères établis pour le transfert automatique du contrôle;
  4. le transfert automatique ne s'applique pas à une aéronef volant selon les règles IFR et effectuant une interruption d'approche IFR prédéterminée.

1.5 Transfert de contrôle

Le contrôleur tour avait demandé que le contrôle des avions à l'arrivée à l'aéroport soit transféré lorsque chaque avion passait au radiophare de Gros Cap (légèrement plus de quatre milles en finale vers la piste 11, qui était la piste en service) à Sault Ste. Marie. Ce transfert de contrôle avait été accepté par le contrôleur du secteur.

Le plan du contrôleur tour était d'établir le contact radio avec BDIT22 près du radiophare de Gros Cap lorsque le contrôle a été transféré par le contrôleur du secteur. Il allait aviser l'équipage que le vol ONT294 était en partance et lui demander de réduire sa vitesse d'approche ou d'effectuer un circuit à la verticale de l'aéroport tandis que le DHC-8 décollait. De cette façon, le vol en partance n'accuserait qu'un léger retard. Toutefois, après avoir établi que le contrôleur tour avait BDIT22 en vue, le contrôleur du secteur a autorisé BDIT22 à effectuer l'approche contact à Sault Ste. Marie, mais il n'a demandé à l'équipage de cet avion de passer sur la fréquence tour de Sault Ste. Marie que plus d'une minute plus tard. La raison du retard n'a pu être déterminée.

2.0 Analyse

2.1 Accord inter-unité et exigences du MANOPS

La section 362.5 du MANOPS stipule que pour que le transfert du contrôle d'un avion volant selon les règles IFR soit effectué entre un contrôleur de secteur et un contrôleur tour, des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue doivent prévaloir. Le protocole d'entente entre la tour de contrôle de Sault Ste. Marie et l'ACC de Toronto stipulait que le transfert automatique du contrôle du contrôleur du secteur au contrôleur tour était permis si les conditions météorologiques signalées officiellement étaient d'au moins 3 000 pieds et cinq milles.

Puisque les conditions signalées des observations météorologiques de 18 h HNE étaient inférieures à celles exigées par le protocole d'entente, mais qu'elles étaient supérieures aux limites VFR, le contrôleur tour a assumé la responsabilité du contrôle de l'avion à l'arrivée conformément à la section 362.5 du MANOPS. Après que le contrôleur de secteur eut autorisé BDIT22 à effectuer l'approche contact à Sault Ste. Marie, il n'a demandé à l'avion de passer à la fréquence tour de Sault Ste. Marie que plus d'une minute plus tard.

2.2 Plan d'action du contrôleur tour

Le plan du contrôleur tour visant à coordonner le départ du vol ONT294 et l'arrivée de BDIT22 était basé sur l'hypothèse que le transfert du contrôle de BDIT22 et les communications directes pilote-contrôleur avec BDIT22 seraient effectués à au moins quatre milles de l'aéroport. Ce plan devait permettre au contrôleur tour de demander à BDIT22 de remettre les gaz au-dessus de la piste en service et d'effectuer un circuit tandis que le vol ONT294 décollait. Le plan ne tenait pas compte de tous les facteurs, et le vol ONT294 n'aurait pas dû être autorisé à se diriger vers la piste pour y attendre que tout se déroule comme prévu. Le plan ne s'est pas déroulé comme prévu parce que le transfert du contrôle a eu lieu à proximité de l'aéroport et que le contrôleur tour a autorisé le vol ONT294 à décoller sans d'abord établir des communications pilote- contrôleur directes avec BDIT22 pour assurer l'espacement entre cet appareil et l'avion du vol ONT294.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Faits établis

  1. Le contrôleur tour a demandé le transfert de contrôle de BDIT22, et le contrôleur du secteur a accepté ce transfert.
  2. Le contrôleur tour a fait entrer le vol ONT294 sur la piste en service sans d'abord établir des communications pilote-contrôleur directes avec BDIT22.
  3. Le contrôleur tour a autorisé le vol ONT294 à décoller avant d'établir le contact radio avec BDIT22.
  4. Après avoir autorisé BDIT22 à effectuer l'approche contact à Sault Ste. Marie, le contrôleur du secteur n'a demandé à l'avion de passer sur la fréquence tour de Sault Ste. Marie que plus d'une minute plus tard.

3.2 Causes

Le contrôleur tour a fait pénétrer l'avion du vol ONT294 sur la piste en service et il l'a autorisé à décoller sans avoir établi des communications pilote-contrôleur directes avec BDIT22.

4.0 Mesures de sécurité

Le Bureau n'a, jusqu'ici, recommandé aucune mesure de sécurité.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet incident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 28 février 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, l'hon. Wilfred R. DuPont et Hugh MacNeil.