Aviation Investigation Report A93W0159

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Tail Rotor Authority
Tail Rotor Drive Train Failure
Campbell Helicopters Ltd.
Bell B205A-1 (Helicopter) C-FJTF
Edson, Alberta 48 nm S
24 September 1993

Summary

The pilot was moving a basket of drilling equipment on the end of a longline. As the basket cleared the top of the trees, the helicopter developed a severe vibration. As the pilot attempted to set the load down, the helicopter began to pitch violently and rotate as it descended. The pilot was thrown about in his lap-belt, and was unable to operate the load release mechanism. The helicopter crashed into tall trees on its left side. The helicopter was substantially damaged, and the pilot sustained serious chest injuries.

The Board determined that the pilot lost tail rotor authority because the input bevel gear of the 42-degree intermediate gearbox fractured due to a high-cycle, low stress fatigue mode of progressive cracking, disconnecting the drive shaft power from the main transmission to the tail rotor.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Table of Contents

  1. 1.0 Factual Information
    1. 1.1 History of the Flight
    2. 1.2 Vertical Reference/Longline Operations
    3. 1.3 Height/Velocity Curve and External Load Operations
    4. 1.4 The Accident Site
    5. 1.5 Forty-two Degree Gearbox Examination
    6. 1.6 Forty-two Degree Gearbox - Previous Failures
    7. 1.7 Safety Equipment
  2. 2.0 Analysis
    1. 2.1 Introduction
    2. 2.2 External Load Operations versus H-V Curve
    3. 2.3 Release of External Cargo
    4. 2.4 Input Bevel Gear Failure
    5. 2.5 Use of Available Safety Equipment
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Findings
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Safety Action
    1. 4.1 Action Taken

OCCURRENCE NUMBER: A93W0159
TYPE OF OCCURRENCE: Loss of Tail Rotor Authority - Tail Rotor Drive Train Failure (Accident)
DATE OF OCCURRENCE: 24 September 1993
LOCAL TIME: 1400 MDT
LOCATION: Edson, Alberta 48 nm S
TYPE OF AIRCRAFT: Bell B205A-1 (Helicopter)
REGISTRATION: C-FJTF
TYPE OF OPERATOR: Air Carrier
TYPE OF OPERATION: Heli-slinging
DAMAGE CATEGORY: Substantial
PILOT LICENCE: Commercial

Pilot-In-Command

PILOT HOURS Last 90 Days Total
All Types 297 12,000
On Type 297 2,00
INJURIES Crew Passengers
Fatal - -
Serious 1 -
Minor - -
None - -

1.0 Factual Information

1.1 History of the Flight

The pilot of the Bell 205A-1 was flying the helicopter in support of a seismic drilling operation, and was performing external cargo operations using a longline to transport drill equipment. He had just moved the seismic drill about 1,000 feet east along a cutline to another site, and had returned to move a basket full of drill rods and support equipment.

As the 2,500-pound basket on the end of the 110-foot longline cleared the 60-foot pine trees, the helicopter developed a severe vibration. As the pilot attempted to set the load down, the helicopter began to pitch violently and rotate as it descended. The pilot was thrown about in his lap-belt, and was not able to operate the load release mechanism. The helicopter descended to the forest floor and came to rest on its left side with the load still attached to the helicopter. The pilot sustained serious chest injuries.

The drill crew used their hand-held radios to transmit a "MAYDAY" call to notify the base camp that the Bell 205 had crashed. The drillers then removed the seriously injured pilot from the wreckage, and he was immediately flown to medical facilities by another helicopter which had responded to the distress call.

1.2 Vertical Reference/Longline Operations

Vertical reference is the technique of moving external cargo sling loads by direct observation of the load, where the pilot looks downwards vertically out of an open door, or through a specially designed bubble window in the pilot's door. In some cases, the sling load requires the use of an extra long lanyard of sufficient length to allow the helicopter to clear any obstructions as the load is hooked up to the extended hook.

At the time of the occurrence, the pilot was flying the helicopter from the left side using a Transport Canada approved vertical reference kit. Part of this kit is the cargo release arm switch, which has identical installations on the left and right side collective controls. The switch is activated by lifting it out of its detent and moving it upwards to arm the external cargo release hook, located on the bottom of the helicopter. Should an urgent situation require the load to be released from the external cargo hook, the pilot merely depresses a red button, located on the cyclic control, with his right thumb. External cargo can also be mechanically released from the helicopter cargo hook by depressing the foot-operated cargo release pedal, located between the directional control pedals. During external load operations, the cargo release arm switch is sometimes left in the OFF position, in order to prevent inadvertent electrical release of external cargo.

In this helicopter, the cargo release arm switch installation on the left collective was different from that on the right collective. The switch had been removed and reinstalled on the left collective control column so that moving the switch to the UP position disarmed the system, or turned the system OFF instead of ON. The pilot was aware of the new installation on the left side; it allowed him to conveniently arm the cargo release mechanism by simply pulling outward on the cargo release arm switch with his left thumb and wiping it downward.

1.3 Height/Velocity Curve and External Load Operations

The height velocity (H-V) curve is a diagram which depicts the combinations of height above ground versus forward...

1 The height/velocity curve depicted here is adapted from the approved Bell 205A-1 Flight Manual.

...speed, including hover, under which a safe landing can be accomplished should a loss of power or directional control (that is, a critical emergency) occur.

The H-V curve is included in the operating limitations section of the approved BHT 205A-1 basic Flight Manual (see Figure 1)1, which directs pilots to avoid operation in the shaded area of the H-V curve. Operating the helicopter at a combination of low height and low speed corresponding to the shaded area of the H-V curve will preclude performing a safe autorotative landing.

Height/Velocity Curve

Figure 1 Height/Velocity Curve

The approved External Load Operation Supplement (BHT-205A1-FMS-CAN-2) to the basic flight manual, however, advises that the H-V limitations in the basic manual are not limitations for external load or hoisting operations.

1.4 The Accident Site

When the helicopter initially bounced, the left cockpit door opened; the door was forced inside the cockpit area on the second and final impact. The basket, containing the drilling equipment, was still attached to the longline and came to rest undamaged at the south edge of the east-west cutline, about 54 feet south of the helicopter. The left collective cargo arm release switch was found in the OFF position.

The helicopter's main rotor blades had cut off several thick pine trees, resulting in damage to the main rotor blades representative of significant power being developed at initial impact. Some fragments from the main rotor blade strikes were found imbedded into trees as far as 200 feet from the main wreckage. The main rotor blades severed the tail boom just in front of the 42-degree (intermediate) gearbox. The tail rotor gearbox and blades were found about 27 feet north of the main wreckage. The tail rotor blades did not exhibit any rotational damage.

1.5 Forty-two Degree Gearbox Examination

On-site examination of the helicopter determined that the 42-degree gearbox in the tail rotor drive train had failed. The gearbox was broken open, and the failed condition of its internal gears was clearly evident. A section of the input bevel gear from the gearbox was found lying loose outside of the gearbox at the scene. The piece of input bevel gear found outside the gearbox, and the entire tail boom assembly, were examined at a metallurgical facility in Vancouver,...

British Columbia, with TSB representatives in attendance.

The 42-degree gearbox

...(P/N 204-040-003-37) had accumulated a total of 7,480.8 hours since new, and 123.4 hours since overhaul. The input bevel gear (P/N 204-040-500-9) was original to the gearbox. There is no finite retirement life for the 42-degree gearbox as its components are replaced "on condition" during inspection.

Failure analysis of the input bevel gear determined that it had fractured and failed due to relatively high-cycle, low-stress fatigue. Fatigue cracking had initiated at a root fillet on the concave face or drive side of a tooth. There was no overstress precursor observed in the fatigue origin area. No material deficiencies were observed which could have contributed to the failure.

1.6 Forty-two Degree Gearbox - Previous Failures

In addition to this failure of the input bevel gear (P/N 204-040-500-9), there have been eight other failures of a similar nature since 1979 with gearbox P/N 204-040-003-37. The "total time in service since new" of the gears that failed varied from a minimum of 2,186 hours to a maximum of 8,543 hours; known times since non-destructive testing and overhaul ranged from 124 to 1,985 hours. Another gearbox (P/N 204-040-003-23) with the same input bevel gear as the others also had an input bevel gear failure, bringing the total number of failures to ten.

In all but one case, for which no operational information is available, the failed gear had, at one time or another, been in service during repeated heavy-lift operations such as logging, fire suppression, or seismic support missions.

1.7 Safety Equipment

The helicopter was equipped with a shoulder harness restraint mechanism. However, the pilot chose not to wear it because he found that the harness restricted his movements and was uncomfortable when he had to lean to his left, over the collective control, to monitor the load at the end of the longline.

The pilot owned a safety helmet. However, he felt that while conducting vertical reference work within the bubble window, wearing a helmet jeopardized his field of vision, and he chose not to wear it.

2.0 Analysis

2.1 Introduction

The analysis will address the effect of a loss of tail rotor authority while conducting longline operations within the shaded area of the H-V curve, and the reason why the input bevel gear of the 42-degree gearbox failed.

2.2 External Load Operations versus H-V Curve

Although the helicopter was operated at a low height and low speed combination within the shaded area of the H-V curve, the external load operation was conducted in accordance with the approved External Load Operation Supplement to the basic flight manual.

Longline, external load operations such as drill support require that helicopters be operated routinely at height and speed combinations within the shaded area of the manufacturer's H-V curve. Although such missions can be carried out in accordance with the external load supplement to the basic flight manual, operation within the shaded area of the H-V curve is nonetheless risky as a safe landing cannot always be accomplished should a critical emergency such as an engine or tail rotor failure occur.

Helicopter pilots who specialize in longline, external load operations routinely fly within the shaded area of the manufacturer's H-V curve, and are aware that such an operation is of a high-risk nature. However, during external load operations within the shaded area of the H/V curve, pilots should be prepared not only for a possible loss of power, but also for an unexpected loss of tail rotor authority, which is more likely to occur under high loads, such as during hover at maximum weights.

2.3 Release of External Cargo

When the input bevel gear failed, there was little time for the pilot to recognize that he had lost tail rotor authority. In this situation, above the trees, the pilot's response was to immediately attempt to release the external load from the external cargo hook and prepare for a crash landing. His intention was to arm the cargo release mechanism by pulling outward on the cargo release arm switch on the collective control column with his left thumb and wiping it downward, in accordance with the way the switch had been reinstalled. The pilot also attempted to kick the manual-release pedal located between the rudder pedals. However, in the presence of the gyrations of the helicopter following the loss of tail rotor authority, the pilot did not succeed in releasing the external cargo.

2.4 Input Bevel Gear Failure

Failure analysis of the input bevel gear of the 42-degree gearbox determined that the gear had fractured and failed due to relatively high-cycle, low-stress fatigue which happened during flight at a root fillet on the concave face or drive side of a tooth.

The failure of the input bevel gear occurred at a critical phase of flight, as the helicopter was flying over the trees at a low height and low speed combination which precluded the pilot from completing a safe autorotative landing.

2.5 Use of Available Safety Equipment

The pilot was not wearing his helmet, and was not using the shoulder harness. It was not determined to what extent this contributed to the severity of the pilot's injuries.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Findings

  1. The external load operation was being conducted in accordance with the approved External Load Operation Supplement to the basic flight manual.
  2. The input bevel drive gear failed due to a high-cycle, low-stress fatigue mode of progressive cracking.
  3. The pilot lost tail rotor authority because the input bevel gear of the 42-degree gearbox fractured, which disconnected the drive shaft power from the main transmission to the tail rotor.
  4. With existing gyrations of the helicopter following the loss of tail rotor authority, the pilot did not succeed in releasing the external cargo.
  5. The loss of tail rotor authority occurred while the helicopter was operating over a forested area at a low height and low speed combination which precluded the pilot from performing a safe autorotative landing.
  6. The pilot was not wearing his helmet, and was not using the available shoulder harness.

3.2 Causes

The pilot lost tail rotor authority because the input bevel gear of the 42-degree intermediate gearbox fractured due to a high-cycle, low-stress fatigue mode of progressive cracking, disconnecting the drive shaft power from the main transmission to the tail rotor.

4.0 Safety Action

4.1 Action Taken

Following receipt of a TSB Safety Information Letter concerning previous 42-degree gearbox failures, Transport Canada (TC) published an article in the 1/93 issue of Maintainer, advising operators involved in repeated heavy-lift operations of the history and risk of 42-degree gearbox failures. Additionally, TC issued a letter, dated 06 October 1993, to owners of Bell 204B and 205A-1 helicopters. The letter advises that the 42-degree gearbox on the referenced models of helicopter is prone to failure on helicopters used in repeated, external heavy-load lifting, even if the maximum load carried is within limits.

Transport Canada Aviation is monitoring the situation, and has been in contact with the Federal Aviation Administration and Bell Helicopter Textron Inc. regarding corrective action for the existing problem.

Bell Helicopter Textron Inc. has issued Operations Safety Letters OSN-205-93-31 and OSN-GEN-93-25, which caution operators about heavy lift operations.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, the Hon. Wilfred R. DuPont and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 19 January 1995.

Rapport d'enquête maritime A93W0159

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident aéronautique dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Perte de maîtrise du rotor de queue
Défaillance de la chaîne dynamique du rotor de queue
Campbell Helicopters Ltd.
Bell 205A-1 (hélicoptère) C-FJTF
48 nm au sud d'Edson (Alberta)
24 septembre 1993

Résumé

L'hélicoptère transportait à l'élingue un panier contenant du matériel de forage. Dès que le panier est passé au-dessus des arbres, l'hélicoptère a subi d'importantes vibrations. Le pilote a tenté de déposer la charge, mais l'hélicoptère s'est mis à tanguer violemment et à tourner sur lui- même en descendant. Le pilote a été violemment secoué malgré sa ceinture de sécurité et il n'est pas parvenu à actionner le mécanisme de largage de la charge. L'hélicoptère s'est écrasé sur le côté gauche dans de grands arbres et a été lourdement endommagé. Le pilote a subi des blessures graves à la poitrine.

Le Bureau a déterminé que le pilote avait perdu la maîtrise du rotor de queue parce que le pignon conique d'entrée du boîtier d'engrenages intermédiaire à 42 degrés s'était rompu à la suite d'un criquage progressif attribuable à une fatigue mégacyclique sous faibles contraintes, ce qui a coupé du rotor de queue la puissance de la boîte de transmission principale relayée par l'arbre de transmission.

This report is also available in English.

Table des matières

  1. 1.0 Renseignements de base
    1. 1.1 Déroulement du vol
    2. 1.2 Référence verticale - Travail avec une élingue longue
    3. 1.3 Graphique de la hauteur en fonction de la vitesse pour le travail à l'élingue
    4. 1.4 Lieu de l'accident
    5. 1.5 Examen du boîtier d'engrenages à 42 degrés
    6. 1.6 Boîtier d'engrenages à 42 degrés - Défaillances antérieures
    7. 1.7 Équipement de sécurité
  2. 2.0 Analyse
    1. 2.1 Introduction
    2. 2.2 Travail à l'élingue en fonction du graphique H/V
    3. 2.3 Largage de la charge extérieure
    4. 2.4 Défaillance du pignon conique d'entrée
    5. 2.5 Utilisation de l'équipement de sécurité disponible
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Faits établis
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Mesures de sécurité
    1. 4.1 Mesures prises

NUMÉRO DE DOSSIER : A93W0159
TYPE D'ÉVÉNEMENT : perte de maîtrise du rotor
de queue - défaillance de la chaîne dynamique du rotor de queue (accident)
DATE : 24 septembre 1993
HEURE LOCALE : 14 h HAR
LIEU : 48 nm au sud d'Edson (Alberta)
TYPE D'AÉRONEF : Bell 205A-1 (hélicoptère)
IMMATRICULATION : C-FJTF
TYPE D'EXPLOITANT : transporteur aérien
GENRE DE VOL : transport à l'élingue
DOMMAGES : importants
LICENCE : pilote professionnel

Pilote
HEURES DE VOL 90 derniers jours Total
Tous types 297 12,000
Type en cause 297 2,000

1.0 Renseignements de base

1.1 Déroulement du vol

Le pilote du Bell 205A-1 transportait du matériel de forage à l'aide d'une élingue dans le cadre d'une opération de forage sismique. Il venait tout juste de déplacer du matériel de forage sismique à environ 1 000 pieds à l'est vers un nouveau site, le long d'une ligne de démarcation, et il devait maintenant déplacer un panier rempli de tiges de forage et d'accessoires.

Dès que le panier de 2 500 livres accroché à l'extrémité de l'élingue de 110 pieds est passé au-dessus de pins d'une hauteur de 60 pieds, l'hélicoptère s'est mis à vibrer fortement. Le pilote a tenté de déposer la charge, mais l'hélicoptère s'est mis à tanguer violemment et à tourner sur lui-même en descendant. Le pilote a été violemment secoué malgré sa ceinture de sécurité et n'a pas pu actionner le mécanisme de largage de la charge. L'hélicoptère est descendu au sol et s'est immobilisé sur le côté gauche, la charge y étant toujours fixée. Le pilote a subi des blessures graves à la poitrine.

L'équipe de forage a lancé un MAYDAY à l'aide de ses radios portatives et a signalé l'écrasement du Bell 205 au camp de base. Les foreurs ont ensuite dégagé le pilote qui était grièvement blessé. Le pilote a été immédiatement transporté à une installation médicale par un hélicoptère qui avait répondu au message de détresse.

1.2 Référence verticale - Travail avec une élingue longue

La référence verticale est la technique qui consiste à déplacer des élinguées en observant directement la charge. Le pilote regarde verticalement vers le bas par une trappe ouverte ou par une coupole vitrée se trouvant sur la porte du pilote. Dans certains cas, l'élinguée nécessite une élingue suffisamment longue pour permettre à l'hélicoptère de franchir tous les obstacles lorsque la charge est fixée à un crochet allongé.

Au moment de l'accident, le pilote se trouvait en place gauche et utilisait la trousse de référence verticale approuvée par Transports Canada. Une partie de cette trousse est constituée par le contact d'armement de largage de la charge, qui se monte de la même façon sur les leviers de pas collectif de gauche et de droite. On actionne le contact en le soulevant de son cran et en le déplaçant vers le haut pour armer le crochet de largage, situé au fond de l'hélicoptère. S'il faut larguer la charge en cas d'urgence, le pilote n'a qu'à enfoncer au moyen de son pouce droit un bouton rouge situé sur le manche cyclique. On peut aussi larguer mécaniquement la charge en appuyant sur une pédale située directement entre les pédales du palonnier. Au cours des travaux à l'élingue, il arrive parfois qu'on laisse sur la position OFF le contact d'armement de largage de la charge pour éviter tout largage électrique accidentel.

Dans cet hélicoptère, le montage du contact d'armement de largage de la charge sur le levier de pas collectif de gauche était différent de celui du levier de droite. Le contact avait été enlevé et remonté sur le levier de pas collectif de gauche, de sorte que tout déplacement du contact vers le haut désarmait le circuit, ou coupait le circuit plutôt que de l'activer. Le pilote était conscient de ce nouveau montage sur le côté gauche; il lui 1 Le graphique de la hauteur en fonction de la vitesse est adapté du manuel de vol approuvé du Bell 205A-1. permettait d'armer facilement le mécanisme de largage de la charge simplement en soulevant puis en rabattant de son pouce gauche le contact d'armement de largage.

1.3 Graphique de la hauteur en fonction de la vitesse pour le travail à l'élingue

Le graphique de la hauteur en fonction de la vitesse (courbe H/V) montre le rapport entre la hauteur au-dessus du sol et la vitesse en translation, y compris le vol stationnaire, pour lequel un atterrissage peut être effectué en toute sécurité advenant une perte de puissance ou une perte de maîtrise en direction (situations critiques).

Le graphique H/V est compris dans la section traitant des limites d'exploitation du manuel de vol de base approuvé pour le BHT 205A-1 (voir la figure 1)1. Les zones ombrées sont celles dans lesquelles les pilotes doivent éviter de voler. Le fait de piloter un hélicoptère à une faible hauteur et à basse vitesse, ce qui correspond aux zones ombrées du graphique, rend impossible un atterrissage en autorotation en toute sécurité.

Graphique de la hauteur en fonction de la vitesse

Figure 1 Graphique de la hauteur en fonction de la vitesse

Le supplément approuvé pour le travail à l'élingue (BHT-205A1-FMS-CAN-2), annexé au manuel de vol de base, précise toutefois que les limites de la courbe H/V du manuel de base ne s'appliquent pas aux opérations d'élingage ou de treuillage.

1.4 Lieu de l'accident

Au premier rebond de l'hélicoptère, la porte gauche du poste de pilotage s'est ouverte; lors du deuxième et dernier impact, elle a été projetée à l'intérieur du poste de pilotage. Le panier contenant le matériel de forage ne s'est pas détaché de l'élingue et s'est immobilisé, intact, à environ 54 pieds au sud de l'hélicoptère. On a trouvé le contact d'armement de largage du levier de pas collectif de gauche sur OFF.

Les pales du rotor principal de l'hélicoptère ont étêté plusieurs pins de bonne grosseur, et elles ont subi des dommages indiquant qu'une puissance significative était développée au moment de l'impact initial. Certains fragments résultant du heurt des pales du rotor principal ont été retrouvés incrustés dans des arbres situés jusqu'à 200 pieds de l'épave principale. Les pales du rotor principal ont sectionné la poutre-fuselage juste devant le boîtier d'engrenages (intermédiaire) à 42 degrés. Le boîtier d'engrenages et les pales du rotor de queue ont été retrouvés à environ 27 pieds au nord de l'épave principale. Les pales du rotor de queue ne présentaient aucun signe de dommages par rotation.

1.5 Examen du boîtier d'engrenages à 42 degrés

L'examen sur place de l'hélicoptère a révélé une défaillance du boîtier d'engrenages à 42 degrés de la chaîne dynamique du rotor de queue. Le boîtier d'engrenages était éventré, et ses engrenages internes étaient clairement endommagés. Une partie du pignon conique d'entrée du boîtier a été retrouvée à l'extérieur du boîtier sur le lieu de l'accident. Ce morceau du pignon conique et toute la poutre-fuselage ont été examinés dans un atelier de métallurgie à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, en présence de représentants du BST.

Le boîtier d'engrenages à 42 degrés (réf. 204-040-003-37) totalisait 7 480,8 heures depuis sa mise en service initiale, et 123,4 heures depuis la dernière révision. Le pignon conique d'entrée (réf. 204-040-500-9) était une pièce d'origine du boîtier. Le boîtier d'engrenages à 42 degrés n'a pas de durée de vie limite puisque ses composants sont remplacés «selon leur état» au cours des inspections.

L'analyse de la défaillance du pignon conique d'entrée a révélé que ce pignon s'était rompu à cause d'une fatigue mégacyclique sous faibles contraintes. Des criques de fatigue s'étaient amorcées à un congé de pied sur la face concave, ou côté menant, d'une dent. La zone d'origine de la fatigue ne présentait aucun signe avant-coureur de contraintes excessives. Aucun défaut de matériau n'a été relevé qui aurait pu contribuer à la défaillance.

1.6 Boîtier d'engrenages à 42 degrés - Défaillances antérieures

Outre cette défaillance du pignon conique d'entrée (réf. 204-040-500-9), il y a eu huit autres défaillances semblables depuis 1979 mettant en cause le boîtier portant la réf. 204-040-003-37. La durée totale depuis la mise en service initiale des pignons variait entre 2 186 heures et 8 543 heures; les temps écoulés connus depuis l'essai non destructif et la révision variaient entre 124 heures et 1 985 heures. Un autre boîtier d'engrenages (réf. 204-040-003-23) comprenant le même pignon conique d'entrée que les autres a aussi subi une défaillance du pignon conique d'entrée, ce qui porte le total des défaillances à 10.

Dans tous les cas sauf un, pour lequel on ne dispose d'aucun renseignement opérationnel, le pignon défectueux, à un moment donné, avait été en service pendant des opérations de levage lourd, comme le transport de billes de bois, la lutte contre les incendies ou les missions d'appui au forage sismique.

1.7 Équipement de sécurité

L'hélicoptère était équipé d'un baudrier, mais le pilote avait décidé de ne pas le porter parce qu'il trouvait que le baudrier entravait ses mouvements; en outre, le pilote n'était pas à l'aise lorsqu'il devait se pencher à gauche, par-dessus le levier de pas collectif, pour surveiller l'élinguée.

Le pilote possédait un casque protecteur, mais il avait décidé de ne pas le porter parce qu'il effectuait un travail de référence verticale en regardant par une coupole vitrée, et il croyait que le casque entraverait son champ de vision.

2.0 Analyse

2.1 Introduction

L'analyse porte sur l'effet d'une perte de maîtrise du rotor de queue pendant le travail à l'élingue à l'intérieur des zones ombrées du graphique H/V et sur la raison pour laquelle le pignon conique d'entrée du boîtier d'engrenages à 42 degrés s'est rompu.

2.2 Travail à l'élingue en fonction du graphique H/V

L'hélicoptère volait à faible hauteur et à faible vitesse à l'intérieur des zones ombrées du graphique H/V; toutefois, le travail à l'élingue était effectué conformément au supplément approuvé sur le travail à l'élingue, annexé au manuel de vol de base.

Le travail à l'élingue, tout comme les missions d'appui au forage, exige que les hélicoptères soient systématiquement exploités aux hauteurs et aux vitesses indiquées dans les zones ombrées du graphique H/V du constructeur. Ces missions peuvent être exécutées conformément au supplément approuvé pour le travail à l'élingue, annexé au manuel de vol de base; cependant, exploiter un hélicoptère dans les zones ombrées du graphique H/V demeure risqué puisqu'un atterrissage ne peut pas toujours être exécuté en toute sécurité en cas de situation critique, comme une panne moteur ou une défaillance du rotor de queue.

Les pilotes d'hélicoptère qui se spécialisent dans le travail avec une élingue longue volent systématiquement dans les zones ombrées du graphique H/V du constructeur et sont conscients des risques élevés que présente une telle opération. Toutefois, lorsqu'ils effectuent du travail à l'élingue dans les zones ombrées du graphique H/V du constructeur, les pilotes doivent être préparés à faire face non seulement à une perte de puissance éventuelle, mais également à une perte de maîtrise imprévue du rotor de queue, laquelle est plus susceptible de survenir sous l'effet de charges élevées, notamment lors du vol en stationnaire à des masses maximales.

2.3 Largage de la charge extérieure

Lorsque le pignon conique d'entrée s'est rompu, le pilote ne disposait que de peu de temps pour se rendre compte qu'il avait perdu la maîtrise du rotor de queue. Dans une telle situation au- dessus des arbres, la réaction du pilote était de tenter de larguer immédiatement la charge extérieure du crochet et de se préparer à un atterrissage en catastrophe. Il avait l'intention d'armer le mécanisme de largage en tirant vers l'extérieur le contact d'armement du largage sur le levier de pas collectif avec son pouce gauche, puis de le repousser vers le bas, conformément à la façon selon laquelle le contact avait été remonté. Le pilote a aussi tenté d'enfoncer la pédale de largage manuel située entre les pédales du palonnier. Cependant, comme l'hélicoptère tournait sur lui-même après la perte de maîtrise du rotor de queue, le pilote n'a pas réussi à larguer l'élinguée.

2.4 Défaillance du pignon conique d'entrée

L'analyse de la défaillance du pignon conique d'entrée du boîtier d'engrenages à 42 degrés a révélé que le pignon s'était fracturé et rompu à la suite d'une fatigue mégacyclique sous faibles contraintes, contraintes qui sont survenues en vol sur le congé de pied de la face concave, ou côté menant, d'une dent.

La défaillance du pignon conique d'entrée s'est produite lors d'une phase critique du vol alors que l'hélicoptère volait au-dessus des arbres à une faible hauteur et à faible vitesse, ce qui empêchait le pilote de réussir un atterrissage en autorotation en toute sécurité.

2.5 Utilisation de l'équipement de sécurité disponible

Le pilote ne portait pas son casque protecteur ni son baudrier. On n'a pas déterminé dans quelle mesure cette situation avait contribué à la gravité des blessures du pilote.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Faits établis

  1. Le travail à l'élingue était effectué conformément au supplément approuvé sur le travail à l'élingue, annexé au manuel de vol de base.
  2. Le pignon conique d'entrée s'est rompu à la suite d'un criquage progressif causé par une fatigue mégacyclique sous faibles contraintes.
  3. Le pilote a perdu la maîtrise du rotor de queue parce que le pignon conique d'entrée du boîtier d'engrenages à 42 degrés s'est rompu, ce qui a coupé du rotor de queue la puissance de la boîte de transmission principale relayée par l'arbre de transmission.
  4. Comme l'hélicoptère tournait sur lui-même par suite de la perte de maîtrise du rotor de queue, le pilote n'a pas pu larguer l'élinguée.
  5. La perte de maîtrise du rotor de queue s'est produite alors que l'hélicoptère survolait une zone forestière à faible hauteur et à basse vitesse, ce qui empêchait le pilote de réussir un atterrissage en autorotation en toute sécurité.
  6. Le pilote ne portait pas son casque protecteur ni le baudrier dont était équipé l'hélicoptère.

3.2 Causes

Le pilote a perdu la maîtrise du rotor de queue parce que le pignon conique d'entrée du boîtier d'engrenages intermédiaire à 42 degrés s'est rompu à la suite d'un criquage progressif attribuable à une fatigue mégacyclique sous faibles contraintes, ce qui a coupé du rotor de queue la puissance de la boîte de transmission principale relayée par l'arbre de transmission.

4.0 Mesures de sécurité

4.1 Mesures prises

Après avoir reçu la lettre d'information du BST traitant des défaillances antérieures de boîtiers d'engrenages à 42 degrés, Transports Canada a publié un article dans le numéro 1/93 de Mainteneur, pour aviser les exploitants engagés dans des opérations de levage lourd des défaillances antérieures des boîtiers d'engrenages à 42 degrés et des risques que ces boîtiers comportent. En outre, Transports Canada a publié une lettre, datée du 6 octobre 1993, destinée aux propriétaires d'hélicoptères Bell 204B et 205A-1. Cette lettre mentionnait que le boîtier d'engrenages à 42 degrés des modèles d'hélicoptère en question risque de subir une défaillance lorsque ces hélicoptères sont utilisés pour des opérations de levage lourd, même si la charge maximale transportée s'inscrit dans les limites.

Le groupe Aviation de Transports Canada surveille la situation et a communiqué avec la Federal Aviation Administration et Bell Helicopter Textron Inc. concernant les mesures correctives à prendre pour régler ce problème.

Bell Helicopter Textron Inc. a émis les Operations Safety Letters OSN-205-93-31 et OSN- GEN-93-25 pour rappeler aux exploitants qu'il faut redoubler de prudence dans le cas des opérations de levage lourd.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 19 janvier 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, l'hon. Wilfred R. DuPont et Hugh MacNeil.