Aviation Investigation Report A94O0137

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Separation Risk of Collision
Between
Canadian Regional Airlines
Aerospatiale ATR-42-300 C-FQCP
and
Canadian Regional Airlines
Aerospatiale ATR-42-300 C-GICY
Timmins Airport, Ontario 10 nm SW
31 May 1994

Summary

Two Canadian Regional Airlines Aerospatiale ATR-42-300 aircraft, Flight 1967 (OEL 1967) and Flight 1968 (OEL 1968), were operating in accordance with instrument flight rules (IFR) on regular scheduled passenger flights at the Timmins, Ontario, airport. OEL 1967 was inbound from Sudbury, Ontario, and had been issued a clearance for an instrument landing system (ILS) arc approach to runway 03. OEL 1968 was outbound to Sudbury and had departed from runway 28 and reported southwest of the airport on the Timmins very high frequency omni-directional range (VOR) 210 degree radial at 4,000 feet above sea level (asl) when the flight was cleared to 17,000 feet asl. At about the same time that OEL 1968 was issued the climb clearance, OEL 1967 was intercepting the ILS localizer final approach course inbound and commenced a descent from 5,000 feet asl. As both aircraft converged towards each other, the crews simultaneously received Traffic Alert and Collision Avoidance System (TCAS) resolution advisory (RA) indications and took evasive action. OEL 1968 descended 500 feet while OEL 1967 climbed 500 feet in accordance with their respective TCAS indications to correct the TCAS RA. Both aircraft were subsequently issued additional IFR clearances and continued to their destinations. There was no damage to either aircraft and there were no injuries to the crew or passengers of either aircraft.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The Timmins airport does not have a control tower, and there is no radar coverage available for traffic operating at lower altitudes. A flight service station (FSS) located on the airport provides traffic advisories on a mandatory frequency to aircraft operating in the vicinity of the airport. Clearances for IFR traffic are issued by the Toronto Area Control Centre (ACC) and passed directly to arriving aircraft by the ACC controller. Departing aircraft receive their clearance from the ACC via the local FSS specialist prior to the aircraft departing IFR. An IFR clearance is not issued to a departing aircraft until the ACC controller releases the aircraft for the take-off which, in part, allows the ACC controller to avoid potential conflicts between any IFR traffic that is arriving and departing in a non-radar environment at the lower altitudes.

The Timmins weather observation at 1000 EDT(1), about 33 minutes prior to the occurrence, reported a broken cloud layer at 800 feet above ground level (agl), 2,000 feet overcast, with a visibility of seven miles in light rain showers. The wind was from 261 degrees magnetic at six knots.

When OEL 1968 taxied for departure from runway 21, the wind was still from the west but had increased to 10 knots with gusts to 20 knots. The crew advised the Timmins FSS that they would take off from runway 28. The change in the departure runway for OEL 1968 was passed to and approved by the ACC controller at 1022 EDT. After confirming with the crew of the inbound OEL 1967 that they planned to fly an ILS approach to runway 03 and advising them of the departing company traffic, the ACC controller released OEL 1968 for take-off at 1025 EDT. As OEL 1967 proceeded inbound at 5,000 feet asl, the ACC controller queried the crew if they planned to fly the arc approach for runway 03 or proceed directly to the VOR and then outbound. The crew of OEL 1967 responded that they planned to fly the arc and they were cleared to the 12 distance measuring equipment (DME) arc. When OEL 1967 reported on the 12 DME arc, the ACC controller advised OEL 1967 that OEL 1968 was departing and to report the lead radial which was the 200 degree Timmins VOR radial. OEL 1967 reported the lead radial at 1031 EDT, and, when OEL 1968 was queried by the ACC controller, they reported level at 4,000 feet asl on the 210 degree radial outbound at 5.5 DME. At 1032 EDT, the ACC controller then issued an approach clearance to OEL 1967 for a straight-in ILS approach for runway 03 and also cleared OEL 1968 to 17,000 feet asl. The aircraft were converging head on, in cloud, and approaching each other's altitude when their respective TCAS systems warned them of the impending risk of collision.

Staffing at the Toronto ACC for the specialty area and unit sector involved with the occurrence aircraft was in accordance with unit policies, and there were no equipment malfunctions. Although there were several discussions between the ACC controller and OEL 1967 about the crew's intention to fly an ILS approach to runway 03, the controller's plan for procedural traffic separation was based on the premise that OEL 1967 would be proceeding to the northeast for an approach to runway 21 while OEL 1968 departed to the south. After departing Timmins, OEL 1968 and the ACC controller established radio contact on the same frequency as OEL 1967 about 45 seconds prior to the TCAS RA warnings.

TCAS II is an aircraft-installed device that functions independently from the air traffic control system and provides collision avoidance information to the crew. Traffic advisories (TAs) and resolution advisories (RAs), which contain recommended vertical escape manoeuvres, are displayed to assist pilots in avoiding traffic conflicts.

The RA information is provided to the crew by visual and aural alerts and is displayed on a modified vertical speed indicator (VSI) that indicates the RA vertical speed rate required for safe separation from a threatening aircraft. The RA aural alert must be annunciated at a volume adequate for understanding in high noise level cockpits, and the message should be clear and unambiguous, and avoid the use of negative commands.

Both aircraft were equipped with TCAS II traffic alert and collision avoidance equipment, and the crews took their respective evasive action in response to a corrective RA which requires positive action by the crew. The crew of OEL 1968 did not hear the aural alert generated by the RA. Audio signals from the TCAS II equipment were not routed through the crew headsets on the company ATR-42 aircraft. This, combined with ATS communications at the time of the occurrence, likely prevented the crew from hearing the TCAS II aural alert.

The TCAS II equipment is not required by Transport Canada for the operation of aircraft in Canadian airspace. As of December 1993, functioning TCAS II equipment is required for the operation of this category of aircraft in United States airspace.

The Timmins VOR is located on the airport approximately 900 feet from the right edge of runway 03. The 210-degree radial is closely aligned to the runway 03 localizer final approach course which has an inbound track of 031 degree magnetic.

Analysis

The ACC controller based his traffic separation plan on the mistaken premise that OEL 1967 was going to proceed northeast of the airport on the 12 DME arc approach for runway 21, and therefore would not conflict with OEL 1968 departing the area to the southwest. Given that OEL 1968 had originally planned to depart on runway 21 and an approach to runway 03 would be downwind, it would not have been abnormal for the crew of OEL 1967 to plan an approach to runway 21 as the ACC controller thought. Despite several conversations with the crew of OEL 1967 concerning their intention and subsequent instructions to fly the ILS arc approach to runway 03, the ACC controller did not recognize the severity of the developing traffic conflict. Since there was no radar coverage, he did not have any visual radar target cues on his indicator module (IM) to assist him in recognizing the risk of collision scenario developing. In addition, neither crew were able to anticipate the impending traffic conflict since they shared a common radio frequency with the ACC controller for only about 45 seconds prior to the TCAS warnings. Consequently, when OEL 1967 was cleared to the Timmins airport for a straight-in ILS approach to runway 03 and commenced a descent from 5,000 asl while inbound and in close proximity to the 210-degree VOR radial, a significant risk of collision existed with OEL 1968 which was outbound on the 210-degree VOR radial and cleared from 4,000 to 17,000 feet asl. In effect, the two aircraft were closing head on in cloud at six miles and transiting through each other's flight path until their TCAS II RA warnings were activated. The immediate and prompt action by both crews to follow their respective TCAS II commands alleviated the risk of collision that existed between the two commuter aircraft.

The OEL 1968 crew reacted to the RA visual indication on the VSI instrument since they did not hear the aural alert, which was not routed through their headsets.

Findings

  1. The ACC controller based his non-radar traffic separation plan on the incorrect premise that the arrival aircraft would be proceeding to the northeast and be well clear of the aircraft departing to the southwest.
  2. A loss of separation and significant risk of collision occurred between OEL 1967 and OEL 1968.
  3. Both crews took immediate evasive action in accordance with TCAS II information, which may have prevented a mid-air collision.
  4. The OEL 1968 crew did not hear the TCAS II aural warning.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The ACC controller based his non-radar traffic separation plan on the incorrect premise that the arrival aircraft would be proceeding to the northeast and be well clear of the aircraft departing to the southwest. The traffic plan executed by the ACC controller resulted in the departing and arriving company aircraft flying in the same vicinity without lateral or vertical separation.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, the Hon. Wilfred R. DuPont and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 28 February 1995.

Appendix A

Approximate Flight Paths of OEL 1967 and OEL 1968

Approximate Flight Paths of OEL 1967 and OEL 1968


1. All times are EDT (Coordinated Universal Time minus 4 hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94O0137

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte d'espacement/Risque de collision
entre l'Aérospatiale ATR-42-300 C-FQCP
des Lignes aériennes Canadien régional
et l'Aérospatiale ATR-42-300 C-GICY
des Lignes aériennes Canadien régional
10 nm au sud de l'aéroport de Timmins (Ontario)
31 mai 1994

Résumé

Les deux aéronefs Aérospatiale ATR-42-300 des Lignes aériennes Canadien régional, c'est-à-dire les vols 1967 (OEL 1967) et 1968 (OEL 1968), effectuaient des vols réguliers de passagers selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) à partir de l'aéroport de Timmins (Ontario). Le vol OEL 1967 était parti de Sudbury (Ontario) et avait obtenu l'autorisation d'effectuer une approche en arc à l'aide du système d'atterrissage aux instruments (ILS) de la piste 03. Le vol OEL 1968 se dirigeait vers Sudbury et avait décollé de la piste 28. Il a signalé sa position alors qu'il se trouvait au sud-ouest de l'aéroport au radiophare d'alignement omnidirectionnel (VOR) de Timmins au radial 210 à 4 000 pieds-mer quand il a reçu l'autorisation de monter à 17 000 pieds-mer. À peu près au moment où le vol OEL 1968 recevait l'autorisation de monter, le vol OEL 1967 interceptait le radiophare d'alignement de piste ILS et amorçait sa descente à 5 000 pieds-mer. Tandis que les deux aéronefs se dirigeaient l'un vers l'autre, les équipages ont simultanément reçu des avis de résolution (RA) de leur système anticollision embarqué (TCAS) et ont pris des mesures d'évitement. Le vol OEL 1968 est descendu de 500 pieds tandis que le vol OEL 1967 est monté de 500 pieds, conformément aux directives de leur TCAS respectif en vue de corriger le RA du système TCAS. Les deux aéronefs ont ultérieurement reçu d'autres autorisations IFR et ont poursuivi leurs routes jusqu'à leurs destinations. Personne n'a été blessé; les aéronefs n'ont subi aucun dommage.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements factuels

L'aéroport de Timmins n'est pas doté d'une tour de contrôle et il n'y a pas de couverture radar aux altitudes inférieures. Une station d'information de vol (FSS) se trouvant sur l'aéroport donne les avis de circulation (TA) sur une fréquence obligatoire pour les aéronefs volant à proximité de l'aéroport. Le centre de contrôle régional (ACC) de Toronto donne les autorisations de vol IFR qui sont transmises directement aux aéronefs à l'arrivée par le contrôleur de l'ACC. Avant de décoller en IFR, les aéronefs au départ obtiennent leur autorisation de l'ACC par l'intermédiaire du spécialiste de la FSS. Une autorisation IFR n'est pas accordée à un aéronef au départ avant que le contrôleur de l'ACC n'autorise l'aéronef à décoller, ce qui permet au contrôleur de l'ACC d'éviter les conflits entre les vols IFR à l'arrivée ou au départ dans un environnement où il n'y a pas de couverture radar aux altitudes inférieures.

Les observations météorologiques pour Timmins à 10 h HAE(1), soit 33 minutes avant l'événement, faisaient état de nuages fragmentés à 800 pieds-sol, d'un ciel couvert à 2 000 pieds et d'une visibilité de sept milles dans des averses de pluie légères. Les vents soufflaient du 261 magnétique à six noeuds.

Lorsque le vol OEL 1968 a circulé sur la piste en vue du décollage sur la piste 21, les vents soufflaient toujours de l'ouest, mais avaient augmenté à 10 noeuds avec des rafales pouvant atteindre 20 noeuds. L'équipage a avisé la FSS de Timmins qu'il décollerait de la piste 28. Le changement de piste pour le décollage du vol OEL 1968 a été transmis au contrôleur de l'ACC qui l'a approuvé à 10 h 22. Après avoir confirmé avec l'équipage du vol OEL 1967 que cet équipage prévoyait effectuer une approche ILS de la piste 03 et avoir avisé cet équipage qu'un aéronef de la compagnie décollait, le contrôleur de l'ACC a accordé au vol OEL 1968 l'autorisation de décoller à 10 h 25. Au moment où le vol OEL 1967 arrivait à 5 000 pieds-mer, le contrôleur de l'ACC a demandé à l'équipage s'il prévoyait effectuer une approche en arc de la piste 03 ou se diriger directement vers le VOR. L'équipage du vol OEL 1967 a répondu qu'il prévoyait effectuer une approche en arc et a obtenu l'autorisation d'effectuer une approche en arc à 12 DME (équipement de mesure de distance). Lorsque le vol OEL 1967 a signalé qu'il se trouvait à 12 DME, le contrôleur de l'ACC a avisé le vol OEL 1967 que le vol OEL 1968 décollait et lui a demandé de le rappeler lorsqu'il se trouverait sur le radial de référence, soit le radial 200 du VOR de Timmins. Le vol OEL 1967 a signalé sa position au radial de référence à 10 h 31 et, lorsque le contrôleur de l'ACC le lui a demandé, le vol OEL 1968 a signalé qu'il se trouvait à 4 000 pieds-mer au radial 210 en éloignement à 5,5 DME. À 10 h 32, le contrôleur de l'ACC a autorisé le vol OEL 1967 à effectuer une approche ILS directe de la piste 03 et a également autorisé le vol OEL 1968 à monter à 17 000 pieds-mer. Les aéronefs se dirigeaient l'un vers l'autre, dans les nuages, et se rapprochaient lorsque leur système TCAS respectif les a avertis du risque de collision imminent.

Le nombre de personnes dans la sous-unité de l'ACC de Toronto était conforme aux politiques de l'unité, et l'équipement fonctionnait bien.

Le contrôleur de l'ACC a discuté à plusieurs reprises avec l'équipage du vol OEL 1967 concernant le fait que l'équipage avait l'intention d'effectuer une approche ILS de la piste 03, mais le plan d'espacement du contrôleur se fondait sur la supposition que le vol OEL 1967 se dirigerait au nord-est en vue d'effectuer son approche de la piste 21 tandis que le vol OEL 1968 décollerait en direction sud. Après le départ de Timmins, le vol OEL 1968 et le contrôleur de l'ACC ont établi le contact radio sur la même fréquence que le vol OEL 1967 environ 45 secondes avant les avertissements RA des systèmes TCAS.

Le système TCAS II est un dispositif de bord des aéronefs qui fonctionne indépendamment du système du contrôle de la circulation aérienne et donne à l'équipage des renseignements sur les aéronefs à proximité dans le but de prévenir les collisions. Les avis de circulation (TA) et les avis de résolution (RA), qui comprennent des manoeuvres d'évitement vertical recommandées, sont affichés afin d'aider les pilotes à éviter les situations conflictuelles.

Les renseignements RA sont donnés à l'équipage au moyen d'alarmes visuelles et sonores. Ils sont affichés sur un variomètre modifié qui indique la vitesse verticale RA requise pour éviter un aéronef. L'alarme sonore RA doit être assez bruyante pour que l'équipage puisse l'entendre dans un poste de pilotage où il y a beaucoup de bruit. Le message devrait être clair et non équivoque tout en évitant l'utilisation de commandes négatives.

Les deux aéronefs étaient équipés de TCAS II. Les équipages ont pris les mesures d'évitement en réponse à un RA correctif qui exige que l'équipage prenne des mesures positives. L'équipage du vol OEL 1968 n'a pas entendu l'alarme sonore RA. Les signaux audio du TCAS II n'étaient pas transmis aux casques d'écoute des équipages des aéronefs ATR-42 de la compagnie. Ce fait, en plus des communications avec les services ATS au moment de l'événement, a vraisemblablement empêché l'équipage d'entendre l'alarme sonore du TCAS II.

Transports Canada n'exige pas que les aéronefs qui évoluent dans l'espace aérien canadien soient équipés d'un TCAS II. Depuis le mois de décembre 1993, les aéronefs de cette catégorie qui évoluent dans l'espace aérien américain doivent être munis d'un tel équipement en état de fonctionnement.

Le VOR de Timmins se trouve sur le terrain de l'aéroport, à environ 900 pieds du bord droit de la piste 03. Le radial 210 est bien aligné avec le radiophare d'approche finale de la piste 03 qui a une trajectoire de rapprochement au 31 magnétique.

Analyse

Le contrôleur de l'ACC a fondé son plan d'espacement sur la supposition erronée que le vol OEL 1967 se dirigerait vers le nord-est de l'aéroport au 12 DME de l'approche en arc vers la piste 21 et qu'il n'y aurait pas de situation conflictuelle avec le vol OEL 1968 qui quittait la zone en direction sud-ouest. Étant donné que le vol OEL 1968 avait d'abord prévu décoller de la piste 21 et que l'approche de la piste 03 serait par vent arrière, il n'aurait pas été inhabituel que l'équipage du vol OEL 1967 prévoie effectuer une approche de la piste 21, comme le contrôleur de l'ACC l'avait pensé. Malgré plusieurs conversations avec l'équipage du vol OEL 1967 au sujet de ses intentions et des directives ultérieures d'effectuer une approche ILS en arc de la piste 03, le contrôleur de l'ACC ne s'est pas rendu compte de la gravité de la situation conflictuelle. Puisqu'il n'y avait pas de couverture radar, il n'avait pas de cible radar sur son module indicateur pour lui permettre de se rendre compte du risque de collision. En outre, aucun des équipages n'a pu prévoir la situation conflictuelle imminente, car ils ont partagé la même fréquence radio que le contrôleur de l'ACC que durant quelque 45 secondes avant les avertissements du système TCAS. Il existait donc un risque de collision important avec le vol OEL 1968 qui était en éloignement au radial 210 et avait reçu l'autorisation de monter de 4 000 à 17 000 pieds-mer lorsque le vol OEL 1967 a reçu l'autorisation d'effectuer une approche ILS directe de la piste 03 de l'aéroport de Timmins et a commencé à descendre d'une altitude de 5 000 pieds-mer en rapprochement de l'aéroport et qu'il se trouvait près du radial 210. En fait, les deux aéronefs se dirigeaient l'un vers l'autre, dans les nuages et à six milles, et leurs trajectoires se croisaient jusqu'à ce que les avertissements de leur TCAS II se fassent entendre. Les mesures que les deux équipages ont immédiatement prises pour exécuter les directives de leur TCAS II ont permis d'éviter la collision.

L'équipage du vol OEL 1968 a réagi à l'alarme visuelle RA sur le variomètre, car il n'avait pas entendu l'alerte sonore qui n'avait pas été transmise à leurs casques d'écoute.

Conclusions

  1. Le contrôleur de l'ACC a fondé son plan d'espacement dans un environnement sans couverture radar sur la supposition incorrecte que l'aéronef en rapprochement se dirigerait vers le nord-est et serait loin de l'aéronef qui se dirigeait vers le sud-ouest.
  2. Une perte d'espacement et un risque de collision important se sont produits entre les vols OEL 1967 et OEL 1968.
  3. Les deux équipages ont immédiatement pris des mesures d'évitement, conformément aux renseignements fournis par leurs TCAS II, ce qui a peut-être permis d'éviter une collision en vol.
  4. L'équipage du vol OEL 1968 n'a pas entendu l'alarme sonore du TCAS II.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le contrôleur de l'ACC a fondé son plan d'espacement dans un environnement sans couverture radar sur la supposition incorrecte que l'aéronef en rapprochement se dirigerait vers le nord-est et serait loin de l'aéronef qui se dirigeait vers le sud-ouest. À cause du plan que le contrôleur de l'ACC a suivi, l'aéronef à l'arrivée et celui au départ ont volé dans la même zone sans espacement latéral ni vertical.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 28 février 1995 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, l'hon. Wilfred R. DuPont et Hugh MacNeil.

Annexe A

Trajectoires de vol approximatives de OEL 1967 et OEL 1968

Trajectoires de vol approximatives de OEL 1967 et OEL 1968


1. Les heures sont exprimées en heure avancée de l'Est (temps universel coordonné moins quatre heures), sauf indication contraire.