Aviation Investigation Report A94O0142

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision - Wave
Consolidated Aeronautics Inc, LA-4-200 Lake Buccaneer, C-GOCU
Cooks Bay, Ontario
05 June 1994

Summary

During a water take-off from Cooks Bay, the aircraft was on the step accelerating to flying speed, when it struck and bounced across the wake of a large boat. The aircraft bounced two or three times, and with each bounce the aircraft struck the water in a steeper, nose-down attitude. The force of the impacts substantially damaged the nose of the aircraft. There were two passengers and the pilot on board. One passenger suffered serious injuries, one minor injuries, and the pilot suffered some internal bruising. Local boaters were immediately on the scene and transported the two passengers to shore. The pilot stayed with the aircraft and had someone in a boat tie to the aircraft and tow it toward shore. The aircraft was slowly taking on water through the damaged nose section and sank as it was being towed in. The pilot abandoned the aircraft when it started to sink.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot had flown twice in the six months preceding the accident flight. The first flight was a take-off from Buttonville (land), a landing and take-off on Cooks Bay (water, and site of the accident), and a landing at Buttonville; the second flight was a take-off from Buttonville and a landing at Cooks Bay. The accident occurred on the subsequent take-off attempt.

Air Navigation Order (ANO), Series IV, No. 2, states the following:

  • 9. No holder of a pilot licence shall exercise the privileges of the licence for the purpose of conducting a flight in an aircraft unless
    • (b) where passengers other than a flight test examiner authorized by the Minister are carried on board the aircraft, the holder has, within the six months preceding the flight, completed at least five take-offs and landings in aircraft of the same category and class as that aircraft.
    • (i) by day or night, if the flight is conducted by day ...

There were no shoulder harnesses in the aircraft. There were life jackets available and were used by all of the occupants.

Cooks Bay is a shallow extension of Lake Simcoe. The weather was sunny, warm, and the wind was light. The waves were small but there were a large number of boats on the lake. Wakes from large boats are common on Cooks Bay.

Analysis

The pilot did not have any recent experience with water take-offs and landings, and he did not meet the ANO requirements to carry passengers on the occurrence flight. When the aircraft struck the boat wake and bounced, the pilot was likely unable to keep the aircraft in a normal take-off attitude. With each successive bounce, the pitch oscillations increased in magnitude until the aircraft plunged nose first into the water and came to an abrupt stop.

If shoulder harnesses had been available and worn by the passengers, the severity of the injuries may have been reduced, or the injuries prevented.

Findings

  1. The aircraft struck the wake of a boat during the take-off run and pitched nose down into the water.
  2. Cooks Bay is popular with boaters and large boat wakes are common.
  3. This was the pilot's second water take-off, and the first with passengers, since the previous fall.
  4. The pilot did not meet the ANO requirements to carry passengers.
  5. There were no shoulder harnesses in the aircraft.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The pilot was unable to maintain a normal take-off attitude when the aircraft struck the wake of a large boat, and he subsequently lost control of the aircraft.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, the Hon. Wilfred R. DuPont and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 9 March 1995.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94O0142

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision - Vague
Consolidated Aeronautics Inc.
LA-4-200 Lake Buccaneer C-GOCU
Baie de Cooks (Ontario)
5 juin 1994

Résumé

Pendant un décollage de la baie de Cooks, l'aéronef montait sur le redan et accélérait jusqu'à sa vitesse de vol lorsqu'il a heurté le sillage d'un gros bateau et a rebondi. L'aéronef a rebondi deux ou trois fois sur la surface de l'eau, piquant toujours plus du nez. La force des impacts successifs a lourdement endommagé le nez de l'appareil. En plus du pilote, il y avait deux passagers à bord. Un passager a été grièvement blessé, l'autre a été légèrement blessé, tandis que le pilote a subi des contusions internes. Des plaisanciers se sont immédiatement rendus sur les lieux et ils ont transporté les deux passagers jusqu'à la rive. Le pilote est demeuré à bord de l'aéronef et a demandé au propriétaire d'un bateau de le remorquer jusqu'à la rive. Pendant le remorquage, de l'eau s'est graduellement infiltrée par l'avant de la coque endommagée et l'aéronef a finalement coulé. Le pilote a quitté l'appareil lorsqu'il a commencé à couler.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements factuels

Le pilote avait effectué deux vols au cours des six mois qui ont précédé le vol en cause. Au cours du premier vol, il avait décollé de l'aéroport de Buttonville, il avait amerri sur la baie de Cooks (lieu de l'accident) d'où il avait redécollé pour atterrir de nouveau à Buttonville. Au cours du deuxième vol, il avait décollé de Buttonville et avait amerri sur la baie de Cooks. C'est pendant le décollage subséquent qu'est survenu l'accident.

L'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne (ONA), Série IV, numéro 2 stipule ceci :

  • 9. Il est interdit au titulaire d'une licence de pilote d'en exercer les avantages en vue d'effectuer un vol à bord d'un aéronef, à moins :
    • b) dans les cas où des passagers, sauf l'examinateur autorisé par le ministre pour le test en vol, sont à bord de l'aéronef, d'avoir effectué dans les six mois précédant le vol au moins cinq décollages et atterrissages à bord d'aéronefs des mêmes catégorie et classe que ce dernier :
    • (i) de jour ou de nuit, s'il effectue le vol le jour (...)

Il n'y avait pas de harnais de sécurité à bord de l'appareil. Tous les occupants portaient les gilets de sauvetage qui étaient disponibles à bord.

La baie de Cooks est un prolongement peu profond du lac Simcoe. Le temps était ensoleillé et chaud. Les vents étaient légers. Les vagues étaient petites, mais il y avait de nombreux bateaux sur le lac. Il y a souvent des sillages produits par de gros bateaux sur la baie de Cooks.

Analyse

Le pilote n'avait pas d'expérience récente d'amerrissages et de décollages sur plans d'eau et il ne répondait pas aux exigences de l'ONA pour le transport de passagers au cours du vol en cause. Lorsque l'aéronef a heurté le sillage du bateau et a rebondi, le pilote a sans doute été incapable de maintenir l'appareil dans une assiette de décollage normale. Les oscillations en tangage se sont amplifiées à chaque rebond successif, jusqu'à ce que l'aéronef heurte la surface de l'eau dans une assiette de piqué et s'immobilise brusquement.

Si les passagers avaient eu des harnais de sécurité à leur disposition et s'ils les avaient portés, ils n'auraient peut-être pas été blessés, ou moins grièvement.

Conclusions

  1. L'aéronef a heurté le sillage d'un bateau pendant la course au décollage et a frappé la surface de l'eau dans une assiette de piqué.
  2. La baie de Cooks est un endroit très fréquenté par les plaisanciers et les sillages de gros bateaux y sont fréquents.
  3. Depuis l'automne précédent, il s'agissait du deuxième décollage du pilote à partir d'un plan d'eau et du premier avec des passagers.
  4. Le pilote ne satisfaisait pas aux exigences de l'ONA pour le transport de passagers.
  5. L'appareil n'était pas équipé de harnais de sécurité.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le pilote a été incapable de conserver une assiette de décollage normale lorsque son aéronef a heurté le sillage d'un gros bateau et il a subséquemment perdu la maîtrise de son appareil.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet événement. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 9 mars 1995 par le Bureau qui se compose du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, l'hon. Wilfred R. DuPont et Hugh MacNeil.