Aviation Investigation Report A94P0047

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Aviation Occurrence Report Loss of Engine Power
Canadian Helicopters Limited
Aerospatiale AS 350B, Astar
(Helicopter) C-GAHG
Golden, British Columbia 30 mi N
18 March 1994

Summary

The pilot of the Aerospatiale AS 350B helicopter and four passengers were on a flight from Golden, British Columbia, to a lodge. En route, the aircraft experienced a partial loss of engine power. The pilot attempted an emergency landing in a clearing; however, on final approach, the main rotor blades of the helicopter struck a tree. The helicopter struck the snow-covered ground heavily and was substantially damaged. The pilot and two of the four passengers were seriously injured.

The Board determined that there was a partial loss of engine power; the cause of the loss of engine power was not established.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Table of Contents

  1. 1.0 Factual Information
    1. 1.1 History of the Flight
    2. 1.2 Injuries to Persons
    3. 1.3 Damage to Aircraft
    4. 1.4 Other Damage
    5. 1.5 Personnel Information
    6. 1.6 Aircraft Information
    7. 1.6.1 General
    8. 1.6.2 Aircraft Loading
    9. 1.6.3 Engine Power/rpm Compensation
    10. 1.7 Meteorological Information
    11. 1.8 Flight in Snow
    12. 1.9 Aids to Navigation
    13. 1.10 Communications - Flight Following
    14. 1.11 Wreckage and Impact Information
    15. 1.11.1 General
    16. 1.11.2 Ice or Snow Contamination
    17. 1.12 Medical Information
    18. 1.13 Fire
    19. 1.14 Survival Aspects
    20. 1.15 Wreckage Examination and Tests
  2. 2.0 Analysis
    1. 2.1 Evidence of an Engine Power Loss
    2. 2.2 Loss of Engine Power
    3. 2.3 Flight in Snow
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Findings
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Safety Action
  5. 5.0 Appendices
    1. Appendix A - List of Supporting Reports
    2. Appendix B - Glossary

1.0 Factual Information

1.1 History of the Flight

The pilot of the Aerospatiale AS 350B helicopter and four passengers departed at 1110 Pacific standard time (PST) from a staging area, 12 miles north of Golden, British Columbia, on a visual flight rules (VFR) flight, to a recreation lodge located 35 miles northeast of Golden. This was the second flight to the lodge that morning, and the helicopter was refuelled shortly before departure.

Thirty miles north of Golden, while proceeding at 70 knots up the Blaeberry River valley, at 300 feet above ground level (agl), the pilot noticed the main rotor rpm (Nr) begin to decay. With the intent of making an emergency landing and in order to maintain Nr, the pilot lowered the collective control and entered a steep, descending left turn toward a small clearing. At the edge of the clearing the main rotor blades contacted a tree. The helicopter continued its descent and struck the snow-covered ground heavily. The engine was still running following impact and was shut down by the pilot.

The helicopter was substantially damaged. The pilot and two of the four passengers were seriously injured.

The accident occurred at 1130 PST during daylight hours at an elevation of 4,200 feet above sea level (asl).

1.2 Injuries to Persons

  Crew Passangers Other Total
Fatal - - - -
Serious 1 2 - 3
Minor/None - 2 - 2
Total 1 4 - 5

1.3 Damage to Aircraft

The aircraft was substantially damaged by impact with the tree and the ground.

1.4 Other Damage

There was no other damage as a result of this occurrence.

1.5 Personnel Information

  Pilot- in-Command
Age 31
Pilot Licence Commercial
Medical Expiry Date 01 July 1995
Total Flying Hours 4,684 hr
Total on Type 476 hr
Total Last 90 Days 46 hr
Total on Type Last 90 Days 46 hr
Hours on Duty Prior to Occurrence 5 hr
Hours Off Duty Prior to Work Period 13 hr

The pilot was certified, trained, and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He was familiar with the flight route.

1.6 Aircraft Information

1.6.1 General

Manufacturer Aerospatial
Type AS 350B
Year of Manufacture 1979
Serial Number 1047
Certificate of Airwothiness
(Flight Permit)
Valid
Total Airframe Time 7,986 hours
Engine Type (number of) TurboMecca Arriel 1B (1)
Propeller/Rotor Type (number of) Aerospatile (3)
Maximum Allowable Take-off Weight 4,300 pounds
Recommended Fuel Type(s) Jet A/B
Fuel Type Used Jet B

The aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. All modifications and required maintenance had been complied with. The helicopter had flown 87.7 hours since the last Phase 32, 100-hour inspection.

The engine had a total time of 1,199.4 hours since overhaul.

1.6.2 Aircraft Loading

The fuel load on departure was 440 pounds. In addition to the four passengers, whose total weight was 620 pounds, 200 pounds of cargo and skis were carried. The skis were stowed in an external ski basket mounted on the right skid gear; the cargo was placed in the baggage compartment and in the left rear area of the passenger compartment. The cargo had been secured with suitable tie-downs. The engine was running while the helicopter was being loaded.

The helicopter's maximum allowable gross weight is 4,300 pounds. On take-off, the gross weight was about 3,915 pounds, and the centre of gravity was within the prescribed limits.

1.6.3 Engine Power/rpm Compensation

The engine is designed to automatically increase power to compensate for a loss of Nr. In the event of a main rotor strike and a significant reduction in Nr, the engine will compensate automatically with a power increase that is likely to cause deformation in the flexible drive shaft couplings and possibly the transmission support structure.

1.7 Meteorological Information

Witnesses indicated that, at the time of departure, the visibility was about one-quarter to one-half mile in heavy wet snow. Fifteen minutes later, as the flight progressed up the valley, the snowfall lessened and the visibility improved slightly. The outside air temperature (OAT) at the accident site was minus one degree Celsius, and the wind was light. Visual meteorological conditions (VMC) were reported at the lodge.

1.8 Flight in Snow

The aircraft flight manual states that, "...flight under falling snow is prohibited [when] visibility lower than 800 metres...".

Airworthiness Directive No. 93-067-066(B), released by Direction General de L'Aviation Civile states, in part, the following:

In order to avoid risks of engine flameout when flying in falling snow, the following measures are rendered mandatory:

Flight in falling snow:

  • flight when visibility is between 800 and 1500 metres (0.43 to 0.81 NM): the total flying time in falling snow is limited to 10 minutes. This time limit includes the time required to leave all snowy conditions, irrespective of the visibility.
  • flight when visibility is less than 800 metres (0.43 NM): flight in falling snow is prohibited.

Conversations with pilots and operators of this helicopter type and with a representative of the aircraft manufacturer indicate that, if falling snow presents a problem, it will result in a complete loss of engine power (flame-out), not a partial and prolonged decrease in power.

1.9 Aids to Navigation

The aircraft was equipped with an automatic direction finder (ADF) and a Loran C.

1.10 Communications - Flight Following

The aircraft was in radio contact with the operator's staging area using frequency modulation (FM) radios and FM repeater stations. Prior to the accident, the pilot established FM radio communication with the lodge through an FM repeater station and advised the lodge of his estimated time of arrival. The lodge was radio-telephone equipped for communication with the helicopter operations base at the Golden Airport.

1.11 Wreckage and Impact Information

1.11.1 General

Following the main rotor tree strike, the helicopter yawed left and struck the ground heavily in a slight pitch down, level roll attitude. The helicopter had minimal ground speed at impact, and, except for the tail boom which separated from the fuselage, the aircraft remained largely intact. At rest, the heading of the helicopter was 050 magnetic.

The spar of the first rotor blade to strike the tree failed in overload; the spars of the other two blades did not fail although the blades were substantially damaged.

The transmission deck, which supports the transmission, was intact and had not been deformed. The forward left transmission support strut was bent in a fashion consistent with the vertical forces associated with impact.

Examination of the forward and aft flexible coupling on the engine-to-transmission drive shaft did not reveal any distortion.

1.11.2 Ice or Snow Contamination

The pilot and one passenger inspected the aircraft immediately following the accident and reported that there was no evidence of ice or snow accumulation on the aircraft. Wreckage examination conducted at the site within 24 hours of the occurrence established that there was no snow accumulation in the engine intake area or elsewhere on the airframe or rotor blades.

1.12 Medical Information

There was no evidence of any physiological or psychological factors which could have adversely affected the pilot's performance or judgement, nor was there any evidence to suggest that the pilot was fatigued or under pressure by the helicopter operator or lodge operator to undertake the flight.

1.13 Fire

There was no evidence of fire either before or after the occurrence.

1.14 Survival Aspects

A search was initiated when the helicopter failed to arrive at the lodge. The lodge operator contacted the helicopter operator's base at Golden Airport by radio telephone and reported that the helicopter was one-half hour overdue. Another helicopter was dispatched from Golden and located the crash site. The pilot and passengers of the accident helicopter were then transported to Golden for medical attention.

The emergency locator transmitter activated but did not transmit a useful signal because the antenna had become disconnected during impact.

The injuries to the occupants were not life-threatening; the most serious of these was a back injury resulting from the high vertical forces at impact. The ground was covered by deep snow, which would have attenuated some of the vertical loads transferred to the occupants.

1.15 Wreckage Examination and Tests

The Turbomecca Arriel 1B turbine engine was test-run at Canadian Helicopters' maintenance facility. The engine operated normally, within specifications. No pre-impact discrepancy with respect to the engine was identified.

The fuel control unit examination and tests did not identify any fault which would have adversely affected the operation of the helicopter engine.

The wreckage examination established that there was main and tail rotor drive continuity prior to the accident.

There was collective and cyclic control continuity prior to impact. All failures in the control systems were of an overload nature resulting from impact forces.

2.0 Analysis

2.1 Evidence of an Engine Power Loss

Wreckage examination and evaluation established that the engine was likely operating at reduced power prior to the rotor striking the tree. Except for the damage to the transmission support strut which was due to vertical impact forces, there was no deformation of the transmission deck support structure. The absence of damage to the transmission deck and support structure indicates that the power delivered to the main rotor blades when they struck the tree was minimal.

Examination of the forward and aft flexible coupling on the engine-to-transmission drive shaft did not reveal any distortion or material failure. This finding supports the conclusion that when the main rotor struck the tree and slowed down, there was no sudden increase in engine power which would normally result as the engine accelerates to compensate for the loss of rotor speed. Had the engine responded to the loss of rpm on striking the tree with a sudden torque increase, the torsional load would probably have caused deformation of the flexible coupling.

2.2 Loss of Engine Power

The pilot reported that the aircraft experienced a partial loss of power which required him to lower the collective in order to maintain Nr. The descent angle which resulted was steep and the aircraft rotor blades contacted a tree at the edge of the clearing, the pilot's intended landing spot.

When the engine was test run it operated within normal specifications. No evidence as to the cause of the partial power loss was established.

2.3 Flight in Snow

Engine power loss as a result of snow ingestion was considered and rejected as a probable cause of the loss of engine power. Historically, if falling snow presents a problem, it will result in a complete loss of engine power (flame-out), not a partial and prolonged decrease in power.

Given that the engine did not flame out and that there was no evidence of snow or ice accumulation on the aircraft, it is unlikely that the partial power loss was the result of ingestion of snow by the engine.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Findings

  1. The aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.
  2. The weight and centre of gravity were within the prescribed limits.
  3. There was no evidence found of any airframe or engine defect or failure prior to or during the flight.
  4. The engine power was low when the main rotor blades struck the tree.
  5. The engine lost power for undetermined reasons prior to impact.
  6. The pilot was certified, trained, and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.

3.2 Causes

It was determined that there was a partial loss of engine power; the cause of the loss of power was not established.

4.0 Safety Action

The Board has no aviation safety recommendations to issue at this time.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, the Hon. Wilfred R. DuPont and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 16 November 1994.

Appendix A - List of Supporting Reports

The following TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 68/94 - Engine Fuel Components.

This report is available upon request from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94P0047

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident aéronautique dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de puissance moteur
Canadian Helicopters Limited
Aérospatiale AS 350B
Astar (hélicoptère) C-GAHG
30 mi au nord de Golden
(Colombie-Britannique)
18 mars 1994

Résumé

Le pilote et quatre passagers effectuaient un vol entre Golden (Colombie-Britannique) et un chalet. En route, le moteur de l'hélicoptère a subi une perte de puissance partielle. Le pilote a tenté d'effectuer un atterrissage d'urgence dans une clairière mais, en approche finale, les pales du rotor principal ont heurté un arbre. L'hélicoptère s'est posé durement sur le sol enneigé et a subi des dommages importants. Le pilote et deux des quatre passagers ont été grièvement blessés.

Le Bureau a déterminé que le moteur a subi une perte de puissance partielle; la cause de la perte de puissance n'a pas été établie.

This report is also available in English.

Table des matières

  1. 1.0 Renseignements de base
    1. 1.1 Déroulement du vol
    2. 1.2 Victimes
    3. 1.3 Dommages à l'aéronef
    4. 1.4 Autres dommages
    5. 1.5 Renseignements sur le personnel
    6. 1.6 Renseignements sur l'aéronef
    7. 1.6.1 Généralités
    8. 1.6.2 Chargement de l'aéronef
    9. 1.6.3 Compensation du régime par la puissance du moteur
    10. 1.7 Renseignements météorologiques
    11. 1.8 Vol par chutes de neige
    12. 1.9 Aides à la navigation
    13. 1.10 Communications et suivi du vol
    14. 1.11 Renseignements sur l'épave et sur l'impact
    15. 1.11.1 Généralités
    16. 1.11.2 Contamination par la glace ou la neige
    17. 1.12 Renseignements médicaux
    18. 1.13 Incendie
    19. 1.14 Questions relatives à la survie des occupants
    20. 1.15 Examen de l'épave et essais
  2. 2.0 Analyse
    1. 2.1 Signes d'une perte de puissance moteur
    2. 2.2 Perte de puissance moteur
    3. 2.3 Vol par chutes de neige
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Faits établis
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Mesures de sécurité
  5. 5.0 Annexe
    1. Annexe A - Liste des rapports de laboratoire pertinents
    2. Annexe B - Sigles et abréviations

1.0 Renseignements de base

1.1 Déroulement du vol

À 11 h 10, heure normale du Pacifique (HNP), le pilote et quatre passagers ont quitté une aire de repos située à 12 milles au nord de Golden (Colombie-Britannique) pour se rendre en vol à vue (VFR) à un chalet situé à 35 milles au nord-est de Golden. C'était le deuxième vol vers le chalet ce matin-là. L'hélicoptère avait été ravitaillé en carburant peu de temps avant le départ.

À 30 milles au nord de Golden, alors qu'il volait à 70 noeuds et à 300 pieds-sol en remontant la vallée de la rivière Blaeberry, le pilote a remarqué que le régime du rotor (Nr) principal commençait à chuter. Comme il avait l'intention de faire une atterrissage d'urgence et qu'il voulait conserver le Nr, le pilote a abaissé le levier de pas collectif et a amorcé un virage serré en descente sur la gauche vers une petite clairière. Aux abords de la clairière, les pales du rotor principal ont heurté un arbre. L'hélicoptère a poursuivi sa descente et s'est écrasé lourdement sur le sol enneigé. Le pilote a coupé le moteur après l'impact.

L'hélicoptère a subi des dommages importants. Le pilote et deux des quatre passagers ont été grièvement blessés.

L'accident s'est produit à 11 h 30 HNP, de jour, à une altitude de 4 200 pieds.

1.2 Victimes

  Équipage Passagers Autres Total
Tués - - - -
Blessés graves 1 2 - 3
Blessés légers/indemnes - 2 - 2
Total 1 4 - 5

1.3 Dommages à l'aéronef

L'hélicoptère a été lourdement endommagé après avoir heurté un arbre et s'être écrasé au sol.

1.4 Autres dommages

L'appareil n'a subi aucun autre dommage.

1.5 Renseignements sur le personnel

  Pilote
Âge 31 ans
Licence pilote professionel
Date d'expiration du certificat de validation 1er juillet 1995
Nombre total d'heures de vol 4 684
Nombre total d'heures de vol sur type en cause 476
Nombre total d'heures de vol dans les 90 derniers jours 46
Nombre total d'heures de vol sur type en cause dans les 90 derniers jours 46
Nombre d'heures de service avant l'événement 5
Nombre d'heures libres avant la prise de service 13

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il connaissait bien la route du vol.

1.6 Renseignements sur l'aéronef

1.6.1 Généralités

Constructeur Areospatiale
Type AS 350B
Année de construction 1979
Numéro de série 1047
Certificat de navigabilité
(Flight Permit)
valide
Nombre total d'heures de vol cellule 7 986
Type de moteur (nombre) TurboMecca Arriel 1B (1)
Type d'hélice (nombre) Areospatiale
Masse maximale autorisée au décollage 4 300 pounds
Types de carburant recommandés Jet A, Jet B
Type de carburant utilisé Jet B

L'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. Toutes les modifications et tout l'entretien requis avaient été effectués. L'hélicoptère avait effectué 87,7 heures de vol depuis la dernière inspection aux 100 heures, phase 32. Le moteur totalisait 1 199,4 heures depuis la dernière révision.

1.6.2 Chargement de l'aéronef

La charge en carburant au départ était de 440 livres. Outre les quatre passagers dont le poids totalisait 620 livres, l'appareil transportait 200 livres de fret ainsi que des skis. Les skis avaient été rangés dans le porte-skis extérieur, monté sur le patin droit; le fret avait été placé dans le compartiment à bagages et dans la partie arrière gauche de la cabine. Le fret avait été arrimé au moyen de saisines (tie-downs) appropriées. Le moteur tournait pendant le chargement de l'hélicoptère.

La masse maximale autorisée pour l'hélicoptère est de 4 300 livres. Au décollage, la masse maximale était d'environ 3 915 livres, et le centre de gravité se trouvait dans les limites prescrites.

1.6.3 Compensation du régime par la puissance du moteur

Le moteur est conçu pour augmenter automatiquement la puissance afin de compenser toute perte de Nr. Si le rotor principal heurtait un objet et qu'il s'ensuivait une diminution considérable du Nr, le moteur compenserait automatiquement par une augmentation de puissance qui pourrait déformer les accouplements flexibles de l'arbre de transmission et peut-être même la structure de soutien de la boîte de transmission.

1.7 Renseignements météorologiques

Des témoins ont déclaré qu'au moment du départ la visibilité était d'environ un quart à un demi-mille dans de la grosse neige mouillée. Quinze minutes plus tard, alors que l'hélicoptère remontait la vallée, les chutes de neige étaient plus légères, et la visibilité s'était légèrement améliorée. La température extérieure sur les lieux de l'accident était de moins un degré Celsius, et le vent était léger. Des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue (VMC) prévalaient, semble-t-il, au chalet.

1.8 Vol par chutes de neige

Le manuel de vol de l'hélicoptère indique que tout vol dans des chutes de neige est interdit lorsque la visibilité est inférieure à 800 mètres.

La consigne de navigabilité 93-067-066(B), publiée par la Direction générale de l'Aviation civile, affirme, en partie, ce qui suit :

Afin de prévenir tout risque d'extinction moteur lorsqu'on vole dans des chutes de neige, les mesures suivantes sont obligatoires:

Vol par chutes de neige:

  • vol alors que la visibilité est comprise entre 800 et 1 500 mètres (0.43 à 0.81 mille marin) : la durée de vol totale par chutes de neige est limitée à 10 minutes. Cette durée comprend le temps nécessaire pour quitter toute condition d'enneigement, quelle que soit la visibilité.
  • vol lorsque la visibilité est inférieure à 800 mètres (0.43 mille marin): le vol par chutes de neige est interdit.

Des conversations avec des pilotes et des exploitants de ce type d'hélicoptère et avec un représentant de l'hélicoptériste ont révélé que si les chutes de neige présentent un problème, il se produira une perte complète de puissance moteur (extinction), et non une perte partielle et prolongée de puissance.

1.9 Aides à la navigation

L'hélicoptère était équipé d'un radiogoniomètre automatique (ADF) et d'un Loran C.

1.10 Communications et suivi du vol

L'hélicoptère était en contact radio avec l'aire de repos de l'exploitant au moyen de radios à modulation de fréquence (MF) et de postes répéteurs. Avant l'accident, le pilote avait établi la communication radio MF avec le chalet par l'intermédiaire d'un poste répéteur MF, et il avait donné son heure d'arrivée prévue. Le chalet était équipé d'un radiotéléphone pour communiquer avec la base d'opérations de l'hélicoptère, à l'aéroport de Golden.

1.11 Renseignements sur l'épave et sur l'impact

1.11.1 Généralités

Après que le rotor principal a heurté un arbre, l'hélicoptère a pris un mouvement de lacet vers la gauche et s'est écrasé lourdement au sol dans un léger piqué en palier. L'hélicoptère n'avait qu'une vitesse-sol minimale au moment de l'impact et, sauf pour la poutre-fuselage qui s'est séparée du fuselage, l'hélicoptère est demeuré à peu près intact. Au repos, le cap de l'hélicoptère était de 050 degrés magnétique.

Le longeron de la première pale du rotor principal qui a heurté l'arbre s'est rompu en surcharge; les longerons des deux autres pales ne se sont pas rompus, bien que les pales aient été gravement endommagées.

Le plancher mécanique, qui supporte la boîte de transmission, était intact et n'avait pas été déformé. Le montant avant gauche du support de la boîte de transmission était déformé d'une façon qui correspondait aux forces verticales qui s'étaient produites à l'impact.

L'examen de l'accouplement flexible longitudinal, sur la partie moteur à boîte de transmission de l'arbre de transmission, n'a révélé aucune déformation.

1.11.2 Contamination par la glace ou la neige

Le pilote et un passager ont inspecté l'hélicoptère immédiatement après l'accident et ils ont déclaré qu'il n'y avait aucun signe d'accumulation de neige ou de glace sur l'hélicoptère. L'examen de l'épave mené sur les lieux dans les 24 heures qui ont suivi l'accident a permis d'établir qu'il n'y avait aucune accumulation de neige dans la zone de l'entrée d'air du moteur, ni nulle part ailleurs sur la cellule ou les pales du rotor.

1.12 Renseignements médicaux

Rien n'indique que des facteurs physiologiques ou psychologiques aient pu perturber les capacités du pilote ou influer sur son jugement. Rien n'indique qu'il ait été fatigué ou qu'il ait entrepris le vol à la suite de pressions exercées par l'exploitant de l'hélicoptère ou de l'exploitant du chalet.

1.13 Incendie

Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu un incendie, que ce soit avant ou après l'accident.

1.14 Questions relatives à la survie des occupants

Puisque l'hélicoptère n'arrivait pas au chalet, des recherches ont été entreprises. L'exploitant du chalet a communiqué par radiotéléphone avec la base de l'exploitant de l'hélicoptère, à l'aéroport de Golden, et a indiqué que l'hélicoptère avait une demi-heure de retard. Un autre hélicoptère a été envoyé de Golden et a repéré l'hélicoptère accidenté. Le pilote et les passagers de l'hélicoptère accidenté ont alors été transportés à Golden pour recevoir des soins médicaux.

La radiobalise de détresse s'est déclenchée, mais elle n'a pu transmettre un signal utile parce que l'antenne s'était débranchée au moment de l'impact.

Les occupants ont subi des blessures qui ne mettaient pas leur vie en danger; la blessure la plus grave était une blessure au dos résultant des forces verticales élevées à l'impact. Le sol était recouvert d'une couche épaisse de neige, ce qui a sans doute amorti le choc.

1.15 Examen de l'épave et essais

Le turbomoteur Turboméca Arriel 1B a fait l'objet d'un essai au banc à l'atelier d'entretien de Canadian Helicopters. Le moteur a fonctionné normalement, dans les limites des spécifications. Le moteur ne présentait aucune anomalie antérieure à l'impact.

L'examen du régulateur de carburant ainsi que des essais n'ont pas permis de déceler de défectuosités qui auraient pu nuire au fonctionnement du moteur.

L'examen de l'épave a permis d'établir que les chaînes dynamiques du rotor principal et du rotor de queue étaient intactes avant l'accident.

Les chaînes cinématiques du pas collectif et du pas cyclique étaient intactes avant l'impact. Toutes les défaillances observées sur les systèmes de commande ont été attribuées à une surcharge résultant des forces d'impact.

2.0 Analyse

2.1 Signes d'une perte de puissance moteur

L'examen et une évaluation de l'épave ont permis d'établir que le moteur fonctionnait probablement à puissance réduite avant que le rotor ne heurte l'arbre. Sauf pour les dommages au montant de soutien de la boîte de transmission attribuables aux forces d'impact verticales, il n'y a eu aucune déformation de la structure de soutien du planche mécanique. L'absence de dommages au plancher mécanique et à la structure de soutien évèle que la puissance fournie aux pales du rotor principal était minime au moment où elles ont heurté l'arbre.

L'examen de l'accouplement flexible longitudinal sur la partie moteur à boîte de transmission de l'arbre de transmission n'a révélé aucune déformation ni défaillance de matériau, ce qui permet de conclure qu'au moment où le rotor principal a heurté l'arbre et a ralenti, il n'y a eu aucune augmentation brusque de la puissance moteur, augmentation qui se serait normalement produite lorsque le moteur accélère pour compenser la perte de Nr. Si le moteur avait brusquement augmenté le couple pour répondre à la perte de Nr après que le rotor a heurté l'arbre, la charge en torsion aurait probablement déformé l'accouplement flexible.

2.2 Perte de puissance moteur

Le pilote a déclaré que l'hélicoptère avait subi une perte de puissance partielle qui l'avait amené à abaisser le levier de pas collectif pour maintenir le Nr. Il en a résulté un angle de descente prononcé, et les pales du rotor ont heurté un arbre aux abords de la clairière où le pilote avait l'intention d'atterrir.

Lorsque le moteur a tourné au banc d'essai, il a fonctionné dans les limites normales des spécifications. L'enquête n'a pas révélé la cause de la perte de puissance.

2.3 Vol par chutes de neige

L'ingestion de neige comme cause probable de la perte de puissance moteur a été envisagée, puis écartée. Habituellement, si des chutes de neige présentent un problème, il s'ensuit une perte complète de puissance moteur (extinction), et non une diminution partielle et prolongée de la puissance.

Compte tenu du fait qu'il n'y a pas eu extinction moteur et qu'il n'y avait aucun signe d'accumulation de neige ou de glace sur l'hélicoptère, il est peu probable que la perte de puissance soit attribuable à l'ingestion de neige dans le moteur.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Faits établis

  1. L'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.
  2. La masse et le centrage se trouvaient dans les limites prescrites.
  3. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu une défaillance de la cellule ou un mauvais fonctionnement du moteur, que ce soit avant ou pendant le vol.
  4. Les pales du rotor principal ont heurté un arbre alors que le moteur tournait à faible puissance.
  5. Le moteur a perdu de la puissance avant l'impact pour une raison indéterminée.
  6. Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.

3.2 Causes

Le moteur a subi une perte de puissance partielle; la cause de la perte de puissance n'a pas été établie.

4.0 Mesures de sécurité

Le Bureau n'a, jusqu'ici, recommandé aucune mesure de sécurité.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 16 novembre 1994 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, l'hon. Wilfred R. DuPont et Hugh MacNeil.

Annexe A - Liste des rapports de laboratoire pertinents

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant:

  • LP 68/94 - Engine Fuel Components (Composants du circuit carburant).

On peut obtenir ce rapport en s'adressant au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada.