Aviation Investigation Report A94P0084

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Tail Rotor Transmission Separation
Northern Mountain Helicopters Ltd.
Hughes Helicopter 369D C-GPDH
Messalinka Camp, British Columbia
10 May 1994

Summary

Shortly after take-off, the Hughes 369D helicopter developed a severe tail rotor vibration. The pilot immediately began a descent to position the aircraft for a precautionary landing. At about 75 feet above the ground, the tail rotor assembly fell off, causing the helicopter to suddenly pitch nose down and yaw to the right. The pilot entered an autorotation and landed without injury or further damage.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot landed at the Messalinka Camp to deplane one of his three passengers, and then took off again for his next destination. He climbed to about 300 feet and had started to level the helicopter when he felt a severe vibration in the tail rotor pedals. The pilot immediately commenced a steep descent and reduced the airspeed to about 60 knots to prepare for a precautionary landing.

At about 75 feet above the ground, the helicopter pitched nose-down and yawed to the right. The pilot rolled off the throttle, entered autorotation, and landed in a clearing without further damage. Neither the pilot nor his passengers were injured.

The tail rotor and tail rotor transmission had separated from the helicopter in flight, and all damage to the helicopter was a result of the separation. One tail rotor blade had struck the lower vertical stabilizer repeatedly before the transmission disengaged. The aft tail boom and the horizontal stabilizer were also damaged.

The tail rotor transmission was located a substantial distance from the helicopter, along with two pieces from one of the tail rotor blades. None of the segments of the fractured blade (S/N 5021) retained any portion of the leading edge abrasion strip.

The tail rotor blades were originally designed and manufactured without leading edge abrasion strips. In-flight erosion of the leading edges, however, had resulted in an unacceptably short service life. Subsequently, the manufacturer engineered a modification that allowed the installation of an abrasion strip on each blade leading edge.

This modification improved the service life of the blades, but introduced a problem of tail rotor imbalance if a portion of the abrasion strip separated from the blade. In response, the manufacturer issued Service Information Notices DN-130-2 and DN-179, and the Federal Aviation Administration issued Airworthiness Directives (AWD) AD 85-18-02R1 and AD 92-22-14. The notices and directives require either inspections or modifications designed to prevent abrasion strip separation. The most recent AWD (AD 92-22-14) requires the addition of rivets to provide a secondary failsafe method of attachment of the tail rotor blade abrasion strip. There is also a requirement for operators to conduct daily pre-flight inspections and 100-hour inspections of the abrasion strip.

The required AWDs had been embodied on the accident aircraft, and the operator had completed the daily visual inspection before the accident flight.

From an examination of the transmission and rotor blades it was concluded that:

  1. The forced landing was necessitated by the in-flight separation of the tail rotor abrasion strip from tail rotor blade S/N 5021.
  2. The abrasion strip to tail rotor failed adhesively, between the adhesive and the abrasion strip. Loss of the strip caused a massive imbalance which resulted in separation of the tail rotor transmission assembly from the helicopter.
  3. There was no evidence of improper torquing of the tail rotor transmission mounting fasteners. Stud fractures were the result of rapid, low-cycle, fatigue cracking.
  4. The cause of the abrasion strip bond failure was not established. No single cause factor relating to bond design, installation processing or operating environment could be identified.
  5. The mandated daily visual inspection did not detect a bond separation before in-flight separation occurred.
  6. The addition of rivets to the tail rotor blade abrasion strips did not provide a fail-safe method of attachment.

Analysis

The bonding and rivets securing the abrasion strip to one tail rotor blade released and allowed the abrasion strip to separate from the blade. Without the weight of the bonding strip, the tail rotor blades were out of balance, and the severe vibration caused by this imbalance tore the tail rotor assembly from the helicopter.

It was not determined what caused the bonding and rivets to release; however, it is apparent that the addition of these rivets did not provide the anticipated fail-safe protection against abrasion strip separation.

The following Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 71/94 - Tail Rotor Gearbox Separation.

Findings

  1. The abrasion strip on one tail rotor blade failed adhesively, and the retaining rivets pulled free, allowing the abrasion strip to separate from the blade.
  2. The loss of the strip caused a tail rotor blade imbalance which resulted in separation of the tail rotor transmission assembly from the helicopter.
  3. There was no evidence of improper torquing of the tail rotor transmission mounting fasteners.
  4. The tail rotor transmission retaining studs had fractured as the result of rapid, low cycle, fatigue cracking.
  5. The operator had completed the daily visual pre-flight inspection of the tail rotor blades.
  6. All applicable AWDs had been complied with.
  7. The cause of the failure of the abrasion strip bond was not determined. No single cause factor relating to bond design, installation, or operating environment could be identified.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The bonding securing the abrasion strip to a tail rotor blade released, and the retaining rivets pulled free, allowing the abrasion strip to separate from the blade. The vibration set up by this imbalance tore the tail rotor assembly from the helicopter. It was not determined what caused the bonding and rivets to release.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, the Hon. Wilfred R. DuPont and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 28 February 1995.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94P0084

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Séparation de la boîte de transmission du rotor de queue
Northern Mountain Helicopters Ltd.
Hughes Helicopter 369D C-GPDH
Camp de Messalinka (Colombie-Britannique)
10 mai 1994

Résumé

Peu après le décollage, le rotor de queue de l'hélicoptère Hughes 369D s'est mis à vibrer fortement. Le pilote a immédiatement amorcé une descente afin de positionner l'appareil pour un atterrissage de précaution. À quelque 75 pieds-sol, le rotor de queue s'est arraché et l'hélicoptère a brusquement piqué du nez en décrivant un mouvement de lacet vers la droite. Le pilote est passé en autorotation et a atterri sans qu'aucun des occupants ne soit blessé et sans endommager davantage l'appareil.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements factuels

Le pilote avait atterri au camp de Messalinka pour déposer l'un de ses trois passagers et avait redécollé en direction de sa prochaine destination. Il a grimpé jusqu'à environ 300 pieds et a commencé à ramener l'appareil à l'horizontale lorsqu'il a ressenti une forte vibration provenant des pédales du rotor de queue. Le pilote a immédiatement amorcé une descente rapide et a réduit la vitesse à 60 noeuds en prévision d'un atterrissage de précaution.

À quelque 75 pieds-sol, l'hélicoptère a piqué du nez en décrivant un mouvement de lacet vers la droite. Le pilote a coupé les gaz, est passé en autorotation et s'est posé dans une clairière sans autre dommage. Ni le pilote ni ses passagers n'ont été blessés.

Le rotor de queue et la boîte de transmission du rotor de queue se sont séparés de l'hélicoptère en vol et tous les dommages subis par l'appareil sont attribuables à cette séparation. L'une des pales du rotor de queue a heurté la dérive inférieure à plusieurs reprises avant le débrayage de la boîte de transmission. La poutre de queue arrière et le stabilisateur horizontal ont également été endommagés.

La boîte de transmission du rotor de queue a été retrouvée à une distance considérable de l'hélicoptère, de même que deux fragments de l'une des pales du rotor de queue. Il n'y avait plus aucune trace de bande anti-abrasive de bord d'attaque sur les morceaux de la pale fracturée (no de série 5021).

Les pales du rotor de queue avaient été originalement conçues et fabriquées sans bande anti-abrasive de bord d'attaque. Toutefois, la durée de vie en service des pales était réduite de façon inacceptable par l'usure rapide en vol de leur bord d'attaque. En conséquence, le constructeur a subséquemment conçu une modification pour permettre le montage d'une bande anti-abrasive sur le bord d'attaque de chaque pale.

Cette modification a amélioré la durée de vie en service des pales, mais elle a également engendré un problème de déséquilibre du rotor de queue lorsqu'une partie de la bande anti-abrasive se détachait d'une pale. Pour remédier à ce problème, le constructeur a publié les avis d'information de service DN-130-2 et DN-179 et la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) a publié les consignes de navigabilité AD 85-18-02R1 et AD 92-22-14. Les avis et les consignes exigeaient des inspections ou des modifications dans le but de prévenir toute séparation de la bande anti-abrasive. La consigne de navigabilité la plus récente (AD 92-22-14) exige que l'on ajoute des rivets à titre de dispositif secondaire à sécurité totale pour retenir les bandes anti-abrasives aux pales du rotor de queue. De plus, les exploitants doivent effectuer des inspections pré-vol quotidiennes et des inspections aux 100 heures des bandes anti-abrasives.

Les consignes de navigabilité requises avaient été exécutées sur l'appareil en cause et l'exploitant avait effectué l'inspection visuelle quotidienne avant le vol en cause.

L'examen de la boîte de transmission et des pales du rotor de queue a permis de faire les constatations suivantes :

  1. La séparation en vol de la bande anti-abrasive de la pale de numéro de série 5021 du rotor de queue a provoqué l'atterrissage forcé.
  2. La bande anti-abrasive s'est décollée du bord d'attaque de la pale, entraînant un grave déséquilibre qui a provoqué la séparation de la boîte de transmission du rotor de queue de l'hélicoptère.
  3. Rien n'indique le serrage incorrect des fixations de montage de la boîte de transmission du rotor de queue. La rupture des goujons a été provoquée par des criques de fatigue oligocyclique survenues rapidement.
  4. La cause du décollement de la bande anti-abrasive n'a pas été déterminée. Aucun facteur particulier relié à la composition de la colle, à la méthode de montage ou à l'environnement d'exploitation n'a pu être identifié.
  5. L'inspection visuelle quotidienne obligatoire n'a pas révélé de décollement avant que la séparation ne se produise en vol.
  6. L'ajout de rivets aux bandes anti-abrasives des pales du rotor de queue ne pas révélé être un dispositif de fixation à sécurité totale.

Analyse

La colle et les rivets qui retenaient la bande anti-abrasive à l'une des pales du rotor de queue ont cédé et la bande anti-abrasive s'est séparée de la pale. La perte de la bande anti-abrasive a déséquilibré les pales du rotor de queue et l'intense vibration engendrée par ce déséquilibre a arraché le rotor de queue de l'hélicoptère.

On n'a pas déterminé pourquoi la colle et les rivets ont cédé. Toutefois, il est évident que l'ajout de ces rivets n'a pas assuré la sécurité totale souhaitée contre les risques de décollement de la bande anti-abrasive.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 71/94 - Tail Rotor Gearbox Separation (Séparation de la boîte de transmission du rotor de queue).

Constatations

  1. La bande anti-abrasive de l'une des pales du rotor de queue s'est décollée et les rivets de fixation se sont arrachés, ce qui a permis à la bande anti-abrasive de se détacher de la pale.
  2. La perte de la bande anti-abrasive a déséquilibré la pale du rotor de queue, ce qui a provoqué la séparation de la boîte de transmission du rotor de queue de l'hélicoptère.
  3. Rien n'indique le serrage incorrect des fixations de montage de la boîte de transmission du rotor de queue.
  4. La rupture des goujons de retenue de la boîte de transmission du rotor de queue a été provoquée par des criques de fatigue oligocyclique survenues rapidement.
  5. L'exploitant avait effectué l'inspection visuelle pré-vol quotidienne des pales du rotor de queue.
  6. Toutes les consignes de navigabilité pertinentes avaient été exécutées.
  7. La cause du décollement de la bande anti-abrasive n'a pas été déterminée. Aucun facteur particulier relié à la composition de la colle, à la méthode de montage ou à l'environnement d'exploitation n'a pu être identifié.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

La colle qui retenait la bande anti-abrasive à l'une des pales du rotor de queue a cédé et les rivets de fixation se sont arrachés, ce qui a permis à la bande anti-abrasive de se détacher de la pale. La vibration provoquée par ce déséquilibre a arraché le rotor de queue de l'hélicoptère. La cause de la défaillance de la colle et des rivets de la bande anti-abrasive n'a pas été déterminée.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet événement. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 28 février 1995 par le Bureau qui se compose du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, l'hon. Wilfred R. DuPont et Hugh MacNeil.