Aviation Investigation Report A94P0244

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Aviation Occurrence Report Forced Landing - Main Rotor/Tree Strike
Abitibi Helicopters Limited
Aerospatiale SNI AS 350BA (Helicopter)
Tumbler Ridge, British Columbia 31 nm WNW
19 October 1994

Summary

The pilot of the Aerospatiale AS 350 BA helicopter was making an approach to a staging area to pick up a sling load of seismic equipment using a 100 foot long line. He positioned the helicopter in a high hover so that ground personnel could attach the line to the load. While in the hover the pilot felt a "bump" in the cyclic control and heard the low rotor horn. The pilot increased power to move away from the site and headed toward a creek bed where he landed hard on a sand bar. The pilot was not injured; the aircraft was substantially damaged.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The main rotor blades had struck a tree which was behind the pilot out of his line of sight. One blade lost structural integrity as a result of the strike and shed blade material from the blade tip inboard to the mid point.

The engine was examined; the damage identified was consistent with events following the blade strike. The engine had been exposed to high operating temperatures due to control inputs after the tree strike. Some airframe damage resulted from the hard landing.

Analysis

The pilot reported that he heard the low rotor rpm horn at the same time he felt the "bump" in the cyclic control. This sensation in the cyclic control is consistent with the main rotor striking the tree. When the blade struck the tree, the main rotor rpm would have slowed down briefly and caused the low rotor horn to activate momentarily.

The pilot was able to increase power to move away from the staging area indicating that the engine was developing power and that the low rotor horn did not activate as a result of a loss of engine power prior to the tree strike.

Findings

  1. The main rotor blades struck a tree.
  2. The tree was behind the helicopter and out of the pilot's line of sight.
  3. The rotor and engine damage were consistent with the events following a blade strike.
  4. The airframe damage was the result of a hard landing.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The pilot was hovering the helicopter in an area where trees were behind the aircraft and out of his line of sight, and he allowed the rotor blades to come into contact with the trees.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, the Hon. Wilfred R. DuPont and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 28 February 1995.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94P0244

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident aéronautique dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Atterrissage forcé - Impact du rotor principal contre un arbre
Les hélicoptères Abitibi Ltée
Aerospatiale sni AS 350BA (hélicoptère)
31 nm à l'ouest-nord-ouest de
Tumbler ridge (Colombie-Britannique)
19 octobre 1994

Résumé

Le pilote de l'hélicotère Aerospatiale AS 350 BA effectuait une approche vers une aire de transit afin de prendre du matériel séismographique à l'aide d'une élingue de 100 pieds de longueur. Il a placé l'hélicoptère en stationnaire haut pour que le personnel au sol puisse attacher l'élingue à la charge. Pendant que l'hélicoptère était en stationnaire, le pilote a senti un «coup» dans le manche de pas cyclique et a entendu l'avertisseur de bas régime rotor. Le pilote a augmenté la puissance pour s'éloigner et s'est dirigé vers le lit d'un ruisseau où il a effectué un atterrissage dur sur un banc de sable. Le pilote n'a pas été blessé; l'hélicoptère a subi des dommages importants.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Les pales du rotor principal ont heurté un arbre qui se trouvait derrière le pilote, hors de sa portée visuelle. L'une des pales a perdu son intégrité structurale à cause de l'impact; de plus, du matériau s'est détaché à partir de l'extrémité de la pale jusqu'au milieu.

Le moteur a été examiné; les dommages correspondaient à la situation qui a suivi l'impact de la pale. Le moteur avait subi des températures de fonctionnement élevées à cause des sollicitations des commandes après l'impact contre l'arbre. La cellule avait subi quelques dommages attribuables à l'atterrissage dur.

Analyse

Le pilote a indiqué qu'il avait entendu l'avertisseur bas régime rotor en même temps qu'il avait senti le «coup» dans le manche de pas cyclique. Cette sensation dans le manche de pas cyclique correspond à l'impact du rotor principal contre l'arbre. Lorsque la pale a heurté l'arbre, le régime du rotor principal aurait diminué brièvement et déclenché momentanément l'avertisseur bas régime rotor.

Le pilote a pu augmenter la puissance pour s'éloigner de l'aire de transit, ce qui indique que le moteur produisait de la puissance et que l'avertisseur bas régime rotor ne s'est pas déclenché à cause d'une perte de puissance moteur avant l'impact contre l'arbre.

Faits établis

  1. Les pales du rotor principal ont heurté un arbre.
  2. L'arbre se trouvait derrière l'hélicoptère et hors de la portée visuelle du pilote.
  3. Les dommages au rotor et au moteur sont typiques d'un impact de pale.
  4. Les dommages à la cellule sont attribuables à l'atterrissage dur.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le pilote de l'hélicoptère volait en stationnaire dans une aire où il y avait des arbres derrière lui, hors de sa portée visuelle, et les pales du rotor ont touché les arbres.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 28 février 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, l'hon. Wilfred R. DuPont et Hugh MacNeil.