Aviation Investigation Report A94Q0038

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Flight in Unfavourable Weather
Fleet 80 Canuck C-FEBF
Holden Lake, Quebec
14 March 1994

Summary

The ski-equipped aircraft was on a travel flight from Watabeag Lake, Ontario, to Mallorytown, Ontario, with the pilot and his dog on board. Persons residing along the shoreline of Holden Lake, Quebec, saw the wreckage of an aircraft on the frozen surface of the lake. Police were informed and dispatched to the accident site. The pilot was dead; the dog survived the impact despite serious injuries.

The Board determined that the pilot encountered unfavourable weather conducive to whiteout, and lost visual reference with the ground, thereby reducing the pilot's ability to determine his height above ground. The aircraft descended in a turn until it struck the frozen surface of the lake.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Table of Contents

  1. 1.0 Factual Information
    1. 1.1 History of the Flight
    2. 1.2 Injuries to Persons
    3. 1.3 Damage to Aircraft
    4. 1.4 Other Damage
    5. 1.5 Personnel Information
    6. 1.5.1 Flight Preparation
    7. 1.6 Aircraft Information
    8. 1.7 Meteorological Information
    9. 1.8 Aids to Navigation
    10. 1.9 Communications
    11. 1.10 Accident Site
    12. 1.11 Flight Recorders
    13. 1.12 Wreckage and Impact Information
    14. 1.12.1 Impact Sequence
    15. 1.12.2 Aircraft Examination
    16. 1.12.3 Powerplant and Propeller
    17. 1.13 Medical Information
    18. 1.14 Survival Aspects
    19. 1.14.1 Seat-belts
    20. 1.14.2 Search and Rescue
    21. 1.15 Whiteout
  2. 2.0 Analysis
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Findings
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Safety Action
  5. 5.0 Appendices
    1. Appendix A - Glossary

1.0 Factual Information

1.1 History of the Flight

The ski-equipped aircraft, registration C-FEBF, took off from Watabeag Lake, Ontario, at 0745 eastern standard time (EST))(1) for a visual flight rules (VFR))(2) flight to Mallorytown with the pilot and his dog on board.

Flight Route

Figure 1 - Flight Route

The pilot had intended to stop at Temagami, then proceed along the Ottawa River via Mattawa, Pembroke, and Golden Lake, to his destination of Mallo village located south of Brockville. The aircraft was seen during a stopover at Temagami. When the aircraft took off from Temagami, weather conditions were favourable for VFR flight. It could not be determined whether the aircraft landed anywhere else en route.

Throughout the morning a dense fog covered the frozen surface of Holden Lake, Quebec, located on the intended route. Between noon and 1300, the fog started to clear, and the wreckage of the aircraft was seen on the frozen lake surface. The police in Rolphton, Ontario, were informed immediately, and assistance was dispatched to the site.

The pilot had sustained fatal injuries; his dog survived the impact. The aircraft was substantially damaged.

The accident occurred in daylight around 1130, at latitude 46°12'N, longitude 077°47'W.

1.2 Injuries to Persons

  Crew Passengers Others Total
Fatal 1 - - 1
Serious - - - -
Minor/None - - - -
Total 1 - - 1

1.3 Damage to Aircraft

Damage to the aircraft was substantial, and was mainly concentrated in the right wing, the lower fuselage including the skis, the propeller, and the lower portion of the engine fairing.

1.4 Other Damage

None.

1.5 Personnel Information

  Pilot-in-Command
Age 86
Pilot Licence PPL
Medical Expiry Date 01 November 1994
Total Flying Hours 3,500 hr estimated
Hours on Type 600 hr estimated
Hours Last 90 Days 15 hr estimated
Hours on Type Last 90 Days 15 hr estimated
Hours on Duty Prior to Occurrence 5 hr
Hours off Duty Prior to Work Period 10 hr

The pilot occupied the left seat at the time of the accident. The pilot was certified and qualified for VFR flight in accordance with existing regulations. The pilot did not hold an instrument flight rating. As the pilot's log-book could not be located, his flying time was estimated.

1.5.1 Flight Preparation

The pilot usually did not request meteorological information from Environment Canada or file a flight plan. On the morning of the accident, he obtained information about local weather conditions by listening to the radio.

1.6 Aircraft Information

Particulars
Manufacturer Fleet Manufacturing Ltd.
Type 80-1012 Canuck
Year of Manufacture 1948
Serial Number 150
Certificate of Airworthiness (Flight Permit) Valid
Total Airframe Time 4,700 hr
Engine Type (number of) Teledyne Continental C-90-12F (1)
Propeller/Rotor Type (number of) McCauley 1A90 (1)
Maximum Allowable Take-off Weight 1,480 lb
Recommended Fuel Type(s) regular automotive gasoline
Fuel Type Used regular automotive gasoline

The pilot was the owner of the aircraft; he had purchased it on 17 August 1988. The aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The aircraft was not equipped for instrument flight. The aircraft was fitted with skis, and its weight and centre of gravity were within prescribed limits.

1.7 Meteorological Information

A study by Environment Canada indicated that, on the morning of 14 March 1994, southern Quebec and eastern Ontario were under dense fog caused by a very weak pressure ridge line extending from Chibougamau, Quebec, to Petawawa, Ontario, at 0700. The weather map showed that all weather stations in southern Ontario and southwestern Quebec reported reduced visibility in fog.

As a low-pressure system moved in from northwestern Ontario, a southeasterly wind developed in the Ottawa Valley, causing some mixing of the air mass at low levels. This wind gradually dissipated the fog in the area, as reported by the Petawawa station, between 1100 and 1300. At 1109, the Petawawa station, near Pembroke, Ontario, reported good visibility with winds from the southeast at seven knots. However, it is highly probable that some fog patches remained over and near the Ottawa River for a brief period.

Flight conditions on departure from Watabeag Lake were favourable for VFR flight. However, until 1200, Holden Lake was under a layer of fog that reduced visibility to about one-half mile, which is below VFR minima. The fog began to clear later.

1.8 Aids to Navigation

No aids to navigation were used. The aircraft was equipped with a Global Positioning System (GPS) which was functioning normally. However, no data were retrieved from it.

The pilot had mentioned that he found it hard to use the GPS correctly, and he preferred to fly at low altitude and follow rivers, which he could then use for an emergency landing if necessary.

1.9 Communications

No radio contact was established from the aircraft to a ground station or vice versa. The aircraft was equipped with a radio, but the pilot normally did not use it.

1.10 Accident Site

Holden Lake was created by the construction of a dam downstream on the Ottawa River. The lake is about 13,000 feet long, and its width varies between 1,500 and 4,000 feet. At the point where the aircraft was found, the width is about 4,000 feet. Holden Lake was on the intended flight route. The frozen surface of the lake was covered with perfectly white snow, and provided a suitable surface for a ski landing.

1.11 Flight Recorders

The aircraft was not equipped with a flight data recorder (FDR) or cockpit voice recorder (CVR), nor was either required by regulation.

1.12 Wreckage and Impact Information

1.12.1 Impact Sequence

The aircraft heading on the intended route was to be 110 degrees magnetic (°M). On the initial impact, the aircraft heading was 360°M and its bank angle was about 30° left. The initial impact marks on the frozen surface of the lake were made by the left wing-tip. The left ski struck the ice at about the same time, and the aircraft continued on a trajectory of 337°M. About 80 feet from that point, all right wing struts and the upper portion and base of the right ski separated from the aircraft. The aircraft finally rotated to the right on the ice and came to rest on its belly about 105 feet further on and facing 195°M.

Just before the aircraft came to rest, the right wing, which was attached to the fuselage by its rear attachment, folded against the upper fuselage at an angle of 45° towards the tail.

The deformation of the tubular structure of the cockpit, the seats, the lower (forward) fuselage, and the two skis, and particularly the shearing of the rivets attaching the ski base to the right ski, indicate that the impact forces were absorbed mainly vertically, despite the induced forward velocity. The deceleration forces of the aircraft on the frozen, snow-covered surface were quickly absorbed through the transfer of forces from the longitudinal axis to the lateral axis.

Comparison of the forward fuselage with the aft three-quarters (from baggage compartment to tail) indicated that the aircraft was in a slight nose-low attitude at the time of impact with the ice. However, the minor damage to the left wing-tip indicates that the aircraft was in a very steep left turn when it first struck the frozen surface of the lake. It probably bounced and struck the ice with its nose before falling hard on its right side.

1.12.2 Aircraft Examination

Detailed examination of the wreckage revealed no pre-crash deficiencies of the aircraft or its systems. There was no evidence of fire either before or after the occurrence.

1.12.3 Powerplant and Propeller

The engine mount was bent and remained attached to the firewall at only one point. Given the position of the throttle, all indications are that the throttle may have been moved from "cruise" to "idle" by impact forces. The engine crankshaft could be turned normally by hand, allowing the hypothesis of internal metallurgical failure to be rejected. The moderate rearward deflection of the two propeller blades indicates low engine power on impact.

The fuel filter for the engine fuel supply, mounted on the firewall, was ruptured, allowing the entire contents of the fuel tank to drain out. All indications are that the fuel drained onto the ice, but the quantity of fuel lost could not be determined.

1.13 Medical Information

There was no evidence that incapacitation or physiological or psychological factors affected the pilot's performance.

1.14 Survival Aspects

1.14.1 Seat-belts

The pilot was not wearing his seat-belt at the time of impact. Use of the seat-belt probably would have lessened the severity of the pilot's injuries.

1.14.2 Search and Rescue

The emergency locator transmitter (ELT), manufactured by Canadian Airmotive Ltd. (model EBC-102A), was maintained in accordance with aviation regulations. The Rescue Coordination Centre (RCC) stated that the ELT transmitted a signal and functioned normally during and after the crash. After the signal was received, a helicopter was dispatched from the base at Petawawa.

1.15 Whiteout

The Transport Canada Aeronautical Information Publication (AIP, section Air 2.12.7) describes whiteout as a dangerous flight condition. Whiteout occurs over an unbroken snow cover and beneath a uniformly overcast sky. Because the light is so diffused, the sky and terrain blend imperceptibly into one another, obliterating the horizon. Neither horizon, shadows, nor clouds are discernible, and sense of depth and orientation is lost; pilots can see only very dark, nearby objects.

The real hazard in a whiteout is that pilots do not suspect the phenomenon because they are in clear air. In many whiteout accidents, pilots have flown into snow-covered surfaces unaware that they have been descending, and confident that they could see the ground. Consequently, when pilots encounter the whiteout conditions described above, or even suspect they are in such conditions, they should immediately climb if at low level, or level off and turn towards an area containing sharp terrain features. Pilots should not continue the flight unless they are prepared to cross the whiteout area using instruments, and have the skills to do so.

2.0 Analysis

There was no evidence found of any airframe failure or system malfunction prior to or during the flight. The pilot had no IFR flight experience and was not instrument qualified, and the aircraft was not equipped for IFR flight.

When the pilot departed Temagami, meteorological conditions were favourable for VFR flight. However, conditions deteriorated on the intended route along the Ottawa River and became conducive to whiteout. As the pilot usually preferred to follow rivers at low altitude, it is likely that he lost visual reference when flying over the middle of Holden Lake, which was snow-covered and shrouded in fog.

The 30° left-roll attitude of the aircraft and the difference between the intended route and the aircraft heading on impact suggest that the pilot was attempting to execute a turn, probably to return to more favourable weather. With visibility about one-half mile and whiteout conditions preventing the pilot from assessing his height above ground, the aircraft probably descended in a turn until it struck the frozen surface of the lake.

Use of the seat-belt probably would have lessened the severity of the pilot's injuries.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Findings

  1. The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. The pilot had no IFR flight experience and was not instrument qualified.
  3. The aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.
  4. There was no evidence found of any airframe failure or system malfunction prior to or during the flight.
  5. The weight and centre of gravity were within the prescribed limits.
  6. Meteorological conditions at the point of departure were favourable for VFR flight.
  7. Meteorological conditions deteriorated en route and were conducive to whiteout.
  8. The snow-covered surface of the lake was covered with fog, reducing visibility below VFR minima.
  9. Visibility of about one-half mile and whiteout conditions prevented the pilot from assessing his height above ground, and the aircraft descended in a turn until it struck the frozen surface of the lake.
  10. Use of the seat-belt probably would have lessened the severity of the pilot's injuries.

3.2 Causes

The pilot encountered unfavourable weather conducive to whiteout, and lost visual reference with the ground, thereby reducing the pilot's ability to determine his height above ground. The aircraft descended in a turn until it struck the frozen surface of the lake.

4.0 Safety Action

The Board has no aviation safety recommendations to issue at this time.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, the Hon. Wilfred R. DuPont and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 16 November 1994.

Appendix A - Glossary

AIP Aeronautical Information Publication
CVR cockpit voice recorder
ELT emergency locator transmitter
EST eastern standard time
FDR flight data recorder
GPS Global Positioning System
hr hour(s)
IFR instrument flight rules
lb pound(s)
PPL Private Pilot Licence
RCC Rescue Coordination Centre
TSB Transportation Safety Board of Canada
VFR visual flight rules
° degree(s)
' minute(s)

1. All times are EST (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus five hours) unless otherwise indicated.

2. See Glossary for all abbreviations and acronyms.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94Q0038

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident aéronautique dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Vol dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables
Fleet 80 Canuck C-FEBF
Lac Holden (Québec)
14 mars 1994

Résumé

L'appareil sur skis effectuait un vol voyage entre le lac Watabeag (Ontario) et Mallorytown (Ontario) avec le pilote et son chien à bord. Des riverains du lac Holden (Québec) ont aperçu l'épave d'un aéronef qui s'était écrasé sur la surface gelée du lac. Les services de police ont été prévenus et des secours ont été dépêchés sur les lieux, mais les secouristes n'ont pu que constater le décès du pilote. Le chien avait cependant survécu à l'impact malgré ses blessures graves.

Le Bureau a déterminé que le pilote a rencontré des conditions météorologiques favorables au phénomène de voile blanc et a perdu toute référence visuelle avec le sol, ce qui a réduit l'habileté du pilote à évaluer sa hauteur par rapport au sol. L'aéronef est descendu en virage jusqu'à ce qu'il percute la surface gelée du lac.

This report is also available in English.

Table des matières

  1. 1.0 Renseignements de base
    1. 1.1 Déroulement du vol
    2. 1.2 Victimes
    3. 1.3 Dommages à l'aéronef
    4. 1.4 Autres dommages
    5. 1.5 Renseignements sur le personnel
    6. 1.5.1 Préparation du vol
    7. 1.6 Renseignements sur l'aéronef
    8. 1.7 Renseignements météorologiques
    9. 1.8 Aides à la navigation
    10. 1.9 Télécommunications
    11. 1.10 Renseignements sur le site
    12. 1.11 Enregistreurs de bord
    13. 1.12 Renseignements sur l'épave et sur l'impact
    14. 1.12.1 Séquence d'impact
    15. 1.12.2 Examen de l'avion
    16. 1.12.3 Le groupe motopropulseur et l'hélice
    17. 1.13 Renseignements médicaux
    18. 1.14 Questions relatives à la survie des occupants
    19. 1.14.1 Ceinture de sécurité
    20. 1.14.2 Recherches et sauvetage
    21. 1.15 Voile blanc
  2. 2.0 Analyse
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Faits établis
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Mesures de sécurité
  5. 5.0 Annexe
    1. Annexe A - Sigles et abréviations

1.0 Renseignements de base

1.1 Déroulement du vol

L'avion sur skis, immatriculé C-FEBF, a décollé du lac Watabeag (Ontario) à 7 h 45, heure normale de l'Est (HNE) pour un vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) à destination de Mallorytown (Ontario). Le pilote et son chien se trouvaient à bord de l'appareil.

Route de vol

Figure 1 - Route de vol

Le pilote avait prévu effectuer un arrêt à Temagami (Ontario); il devait ensuite continuer sa route en suivant la rivière des Outaouais via Mattawa (Ontario), Pembroke (Ontario), et le lac Golden (Ontario) jusqu'à sa destination, Mallorytown, village situé au sud de Brockville (Ontario). L'avion a été aperçu quand il a fait escale à Temagami. Lorsqu'il a décollé de Temagami, les conditions étaient propices au vol VFR. Il a été impossible de déterminer si l'avion s'était posé à d'autres endroits en route.

Toute la matinée, un épais brouillard recouvrait la surface gelée du lac Holden (Québec), situé le long de la route prévue. Entre 12 h et 13 h HNE, le brouillard a commencé à se dissiper. C'est alors que l'épave a été aperçue sur la surface gelée du lac. La police de Rolphton (Ontario) a aussitôt été prévenue et des secours ont été dépêchés sur les lieux.

Le pilote est mort sur le coup; le chien a subi des blessures graves mais a survécu à l'impact. L'aéronef a été lourdement endommagé.

L'accident est survenu de jour vers 11 h 30 HNE, par 46°12' de latitude Nord et 77°47' de longitude Ouest.

1.2 Victimes

  Équipage Passagers Tiers Total
Tués 1 - - 1
Blessés graves - - - -
Blessés légers/indemnes - - - -
Total 1 - - 1

1.3 Dommages à l'aéronef

L'avion a été lourdement endommagé. L'impact a surtout causé des dommages à l'aile droite et à la partie située au-dessous du fuselage, y compris les skis, l'hélice et la partie inférieure du carénage moteur.

1.4 Autres dommages

Aucun.

1.5 Renseignements sur le personnel

  Commandant de bord
Âge 86 ans
Licence pilote privé
Date d'expiration du certificat de validation 1er novembre 1994
Nombre d'heures de vol 3 500 (app.)
Nombre d'heures de vol sur type en cause 600 (app.)
Nombre d'heures de vol dans les 90 derniers jours 15 (app.)
Nombre d'heures de vol sur type en cause dans les 90 derniers jours 15 (app.)
Nombre d'heures de service avant l'événement 5
Nombre d'heures libres avant la prise de service 10

Le pilote était en place gauche au moment de l'accident. Il possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol VFR et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Le pilote ne possédait pas la qualification de vol aux instruments. Les heures de vol du pilote ne sont qu'une approximation car son carnet de vol n'a pas été retrouvé.

1.5.1 Préparation du vol

Le pilote n'avait pas l'habitude d'obtenir des renseignements météorologiques auprès des services d'Environnement Canada ni de déposer de plan de vol. Le matin de l'accident, le pilote avait pris connaissance des conditions météorologiques locales en écoutant la radio.

1.6 Renseignements sur l'aéronef

Constructeur Fleet Manufacturing Ltd.
Type 80-1012 Canuck
Année de construction 1948
Numéro de série 150
Certificat de navigabilité valide
Nombre total d'heures de vol cellule 4 700
Type de moteur (nombre) Teledyne Continental C-90-12F (1)
Type d'hélice (nombre) McCauley lA90 (1)
Masse maximale autorisée au décollage 1 480 lb
Types de carburant recommandés essence automobile ordinaire
Type de carburant utilisé essence automobile ordinaire

L'appareil appartenait au pilote qui l'avait acheté le 17 août 1988. L'aéronef était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. L'aéronef n'était pas équipé pour le vol aux instruments. Il était muni de skis. Sa masse et son centrage se trouvaient dans les limites prescrites au moment de l'accident.

1.7 Renseignements météorologiques

Selon l'étude faite par Environnement Canada, le sud du Québec et l'est de l'Ontario étaient couverts d'un épais brouillard le matin du 14 mars 1994, sous l'influence d'une très faible crête de haute pression s'étendant de Chibougamau (Québec) à Petawawa (Ontario) à 7 h HNE. Selon la carte de surface, l'ensemble des stations météorologiques du sud de l'Ontario et du sud-ouest du Québec signalaient des visibilités réduites dans le brouillard.

Avec l'approche d'un important système dépressionnaire en provenance du nord-ouest de l'Ontario, des vents du sud-est se sont formés dans la vallée de l'Outaouais, ce qui a favorisé un certain brassage de la masse d'air dans les bas niveaux. Ces vents ont permis au brouillard de se dissiper graduellement, comme l'a indiqué la station de Petawawa, entre 11 h et 13 h HNE. À 11 h 9 HNE, la station de Petawawa, située près de Pembroke (Ontario), faisait état d'une bonne visibilité avec des vents du sud-est à sept noeuds. Cependant, il est fort probable que des bancs de brouillard aient persisté un peu plus longtemps sur la rivière des Outaouais et dans les environs.

Les conditions de vol au départ du lac Watabeag étaient favorables au vol VFR; cependant, jusqu'à 12 h HNE, le lac Holden était recouvert d'une couche de brouillard qui réduisait la visibilité à environ un demi-mille, ce qui est inférieur aux minima VFR; ce n'est que par la suite que le brouillard a commencé à se dissiper.

1.8 Aides à la navigation

Aucune aide à la navigation n'a été utilisée. L'aéronef était équipé d'un système de positionnement mondial (Global Positioning System) (GPS) qui fonctionnait bien. Cependant, aucune donnée n'a été extraite dans le cadre de l'enquête sur cet accident.

Le pilote avait mentionné qu'il éprouvait certaines difficultés à utiliser le GPS adéquatement et qu'il préférait voler à basse altitude tout en suivant les cours d'eau sur lesquels il pouvait se poser en cas d'urgence.

1.9 Télécommunications

Aucune communication radio n'a été établie entre l'aéronef et une station au sol ou vice-versa. L'avion était équipé d'une radio, mais le pilote n'avait pas l'habitude d'utiliser la radio de l'appareil.

1.10 Renseignements sur le site

Le lac Holden s'est formé par suite de la construction d'un barrage en aval sur la rivière des Outaouais. Ce lac a une longueur d'environ 13 000 pieds sur une largeur variant entre 1 500 et 4 000 pieds. À l'endroit où l'épave reposait, le lac mesure 4 000 pieds de largeur. Ce lac est situé le long de la route de vol prévue. La surface gelée du lac était recouverte de neige toute blanche et se prêtait à un atterrissage sur skis.

1.11 Enregistreurs de bord

L'aéronef n'était pas équipé d'un enregistreur de données de vol (FDR) ni d'un enregistreur phonique (CVR). La réglementation en vigueur n'imposait par l'emport d'enregistreurs de bord pour ce type d'aéronef.

1.12 Renseignements sur l'épave et sur l'impact

1.12.1 Séquence d'impact

Le cap de l'appareil le long de la route proposée devait être de 110 degrés magnétique environ. Au moment du premier impact, l'appareil avait un cap de 360 degrés magnétique et présentait une inclinaison vers la gauche d'environ 30 degrés. Les premières marques d'impact relevées sur la surface gelée du lac provenaient du bout de l'aile gauche. L'appareil a presque simultanément heurté la glace avec le ski gauche pour continuer sur une trajectoire de 337 degrés magnétique. Environ 80 pieds plus loin, l'ensemble complet des haubans de l'aile droite, la partie supérieure et la semelle du ski droit se sont détachés de l'avion. L'appareil a finalement effectué une rotation à droite sur la glace, pour s'arrêter sur le ventre environ 105 pieds plus loin, au cap de 195 degrés magnétique.

Peu avant l'immobilisation de l'appareil, l'aile droite, retenue au fuselage par sa fixation arrière, s'est repliée contre la partie supérieure du fuselage, à un angle de 45 degrés vers la queue.

La déformation de la tubulure de la cabine, des sièges, de la partie inférieure (avant) du fuselage, des deux skis et surtout le cisaillement des rivets retenant la semelle du ski droit indiquent que les forces d'impact ont été absorbées surtout verticalement malgré une vitesse induite vers l'avant. La décélération de l'avion sur la surface gelée et enneigée a été rapidement absorbée à travers le transfert des forces, de l'axe longitudinal vers l'axe latéral.

En comparant la partie avant du fuselage avec les trois quarts de sa partie arrière (entre la soute à bagages et la queue), on peut conclure que l'avion avait le nez légèrement abaissé au moment de l'impact avec la glace. Par contre, les dommages minimes au bout de l'aile gauche indiquent que l'aéronef était dans un virage très prononcé vers la gauche lors de l'impact initial avec la surface gelée du lac. Il aurait alors rebondi, puis heurté du nez la surface gelée avant de retomber violemment sur le côté droit.

1.12.2 Examen de l'avion

L'examen détaillé de l'épave a permis de déterminer que l'aéronef ni aucun de ses systèmes ne présentaient d'anomalie avant l'accident. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu un incendie, que ce soit avant ou après l'accident.

1.12.3 Le groupe motopropulseur et l'hélice

Le bâti moteur était plié et retenu à la cloison pare-feu uniquement par un point de fixation. La position de la manette des gaz semble indiquer que cette manette aurait pu être déplacée de la position vol de croisière à la position ralenti sous l'action des forces d'impact. Le vilebrequin du moteur tournait normalement à la main, ce qui permet d'écarter l'hypothèse d'une défaillance métallurgique interne. La déformation moyenne vers l'arrière des deux pales de l'hélice révèle un régime moteur faible à l'impact.

Le filtre à essence installé contre la cloison pare-feu et alimentant le moteur avait éclaté, ce qui permettait au carburant du réservoir de fuir complètement à l'extérieur; cependant, tout indiquait que l'essence s'était répandue sur la surface gelée, sans qu'il soit possible d'en déterminer la quantité.

1.13 Renseignements médicaux

Rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques ou psychologiques aient pu perturber les capacités du pilote.

1.14 Questions relatives à la survie des occupants

1.14.1 Ceinture de sécurité

Le pilote ne portait pas sa ceinture de sécurité au moment de l'impact. Le port de la ceinture de sécurité aurait vraisemblablement diminué la gravité des blessures subies par le pilote.

1.14.2 Recherches et sauvetage

La radiobalise de détresse (ELT), fabriquée par Canadian Airmotive Ltd. (modèle EBC-102A), était entretenue conformément à la réglementation aérienne. Selon le Centre de coordination de sauvetage (RCC), la radiobalise a émis un signal et a fonctionné normalement durant et après l'impact. Après avoir capté le signal, le RCC a dépêché un hélicoptère de la base de Petawawa sur les lieux de l'accident.

1.15 Voile blanc

Selon la Publication d'information aéronautique (A.I.P. Canada, section Air 2.12.7), le voile blanc est une situation dangereuse. Le voile blanc se produit lorsque la couche de neige au sol est intacte et que le ciel au-dessus est uniformément couvert. À cause de l'extrême diffusion de la lumière, le terrain et le ciel se confondent, faisant disparaître l'horizon. Le pilote ne peut discerner l'horizon, ni les ombres, ni les nuages; il perd le sens de la profondeur et de l'orientation, et ne peut voir que les objets très sombres situés tout près.

Le vrai danger du voile blanc est que le pilote ne soupçonne pas le phénomène, car il vole en air clair. Dans de nombreux accidents dus au voile blanc, le pilote a percuté la surface recouverte de neige sans se douter qu'il avait descendu, confiant qu'il pouvait voir le sol. Par conséquent, chaque fois qu'un pilote se trouve en présence de conditions de voile blanc ou qu'il soupçonne qu'il est en présence de ces conditions, il devrait immédiatement monter s'il se trouve à basse altitude, ou se mettre en palier et se diriger vers un endroit où le terrain est très accidenté. Le pilote ne doit pas continuer le vol sauf s'il est préparé à traverser la zone de voile blanc aux instruments et s'il a la compétence voulue pour le faire.

2.0 Analyse

Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu une défaillance de la cellule de l'aéronef ou un mauvais fonctionnement d'un système, que ce soit avant ou pendant le vol. Le pilote n'avait aucune expérience du vol aux instruments et ne possédait pas la qualification de vol aux instruments; de plus, l'avion n'était pas équipé pour le vol aux instruments.

Lorsque le pilote a quitté Temagami, les conditions météorologiques étaient favorables au vol VFR. Cependant, sur la route prévue le long de la rivière des Outaouais, les conditions se sont détériorées et sont devenues favorables au phénomène de voile blanc. Comme le pilote préférait généralement suivre les cours d'eau à faible altitude, il est probable qu'il a perdu toute référence visuelle lorsqu'il a survolé le milieu du lac Holden dont la surface était enneigée et recouverte de brouillard.

L'assiette inclinée vers la gauche de 30 degrés et la différence entre la route et le cap de l'avion à l'impact suggèrent que le pilote tentait d'effectuer un virage, vraisemblablement pour retrouver des conditions météorologiques plus favorables. La visibilité d'environ un demi-mille et les conditions de voile blanc ne permettant pas au pilote de bien évaluer sa hauteur par rapport à la surface gelée du lac, l'avion est probablement descendu en virage jusqu'à ce qu'il percute la surface du lac.

Le port de la ceinture de sécurité aurait vraisemblablement diminué la gravité des blessures subies par le pilote.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Faits établis

  1. Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. Le pilote n'avait aucune expérience du vol aux instruments et ne possédait pas la qualification de vol aux instruments.
  3. L'aéronef était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.
  4. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu une défaillance de la cellule ou un mauvais fonctionement d'un système, que ce soit avant ou pendant le vol.
  5. La masse et le centrage de l'appareil se trouvaient dans les limites prescrites au moment de l'accident.
  6. Les conditions météorologiques au point de départ étaient favorables au vol à vue.
  7. Les conditions météorologiques se sont détériorées en route et étaient favorables au phénomène de voile blanc.
  8. La surface enneigée du lac était recouverte de brouillard, ce qui rendait la visibilité inférieure aux minima VFR.
  9. La visibilité d'environ un demi-mille et les conditions de voile blanc n'ont pas permis au pilote de bien évaluer la hauteur de l'avion par rapport à la surface du lac, et l'avion est descendu en virage jusqu'à ce qu'il percute la surface gelée du lac.
  10. Le port de la ceinture de sécurité aurait vraisemblablement diminué la gravité des blessures subies par le pilote.

3.2 Causes

Le pilote a rencontré des conditions météorologiques favorables au phénomène de voile blanc et a perdu toute référence visuelle avec le sol, ce qui a réduit l'habileté du pilote à évaluer sa hauteur par rapport au sol. L'aéronef est descendu en virage jusqu'à ce qu'il percute la surface gelée du lac.

4.0 Mesures de sécurité

Le Bureau n'a, jusqu'ici, recommandé aucune mesure de sécurité.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 16 novembre 1994 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, l'hon. Wilfred R. DuPont et Hugh MacNeil.