Aviation Investigation Report A94Q0114

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control on Take-off
Zenair CH701 C-FFEW
Croche Lake, Quebec
19 June 1994

Summary

After several unsuccessful attempts, the float-equipped aircraft lifted off with full flaps from Croche Lake, Quebec. After take-off, the pilot maintained the initial climb angle and held speed between 40 and 45 miles per hour (mph) to clear the mountains bordering the lake. The pilot stated that, at an altitude of about 20 feet above the lake, the left wing was lifted by a gust of wind. The aircraft nosed down toward the lake in a steep left-banked turn. The left float struck the water and the tip of the float failed. The floats moved to the underside of the wings. The aircraft remained upright with the cabin half-submerged. The pilot and passenger were not injured, and they climbed onto one of the floats. Thinking the aircraft would sink rapidly, they decided to swim for shore. Neither the pilot nor passenger was wearing a life-jacket. The pilot was able to reach the shore, but the passenger drowned, and was found the next day. The accident occurred around 0845 eastern daylight time (EDT)(1).

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot had accumulated 32 flying hours on float-equipped aircraft and was certified for the flight. However, he stated that he had limited flying experience. An amateur video taken when the pilot and passenger arrived at Croche Lake two days before the accident shows the aircraft making hard initial contact with the surface of the lake, then bouncing about 20 feet. The lake surface presented glassy water conditions. During the bounce, the angle between the floats and fuselage exceeded 15 degrees. The impact was sufficient to crack the windshield and slightly bend the right rear strut attachment at the float. The pilot did not consider the occurrence unusual. Apart from the float attachment, the pilot noticed no other parts of the aircraft that could have been affected by the water landing.

The pilot indicated that, on take-off from the lake, the aircraft load was 410 pounds. The first take-off attempt was made in a westerly direction with 10 degrees of flap. As the winds appeared to be swirling, he made another attempt toward the east with the flaps extended 20 degrees, but to no avail. The aircraft finally lifted off toward the west with 30 degrees of flap. According to the pilot, the take-off run used up half the lake, or about 2,500 feet.

A weather analysis states that visual flight conditions prevailed in the Croche Lake area. The winds from the north-northwest were estimated to be under 10 knots. Witness statements confirm that the wind was light and changing direction, and produced only a slight swell on the lake surface.

When the right wing lifted, the pilot applied opposite aileron and fully deflected the elevator, but the aircraft nosed down and turned steeply left. The pilot did not use the rudder pedals. The aircraft was not carrying life-jackets as required by regulation. The occupants were using seat-belts with one shoulder strap.

When they swam away from the wreckage, the two occupants were about 200 feet from shore, and the pilot had the impression that the wind was blowing them farther from the shore. He stated that, without a life-jacket and with his clothing weighing him down, he quickly felt his strength diminishing. He felt that a key factor in his survival was the passenger's encouraging words. The passenger, despite his abilities as a swimmer, his appearance of being in control of the situation, and his good physical condition, did not reach the shore. His body was found about 25 feet from shore in five feet of water. The aircraft remained afloat for over six hours.

The owner's manual from the company states that, with wheels fitted, a Rotax 912 engine developing 80 hp, and a weight of 960 lb, the aircraft's stalling speed with flaps (Vso) is 30 mph and the optimum angle of climb (Vx) is achieved with half or full flaps at a speed of 35 mph. The manual also indicates that the best rate of climb (Vy) is obtained with flaps retracted at 40 mph. However, the aircraft performance table indicates that a climb rate of 1,300 feet per minute can be achieved at 48 mph.

An information folder shows the aircraft mounted on amphibious floats and a performance table. With the same engine and weight, the rate of climb increases to 1,400 feet per minute. These discrepancies could not be explained by the company.

The climb report submitted to Transport Canada by the owner indicates that the aircraft on wheels had a rate of climb of 666 feet per minute. An instructor who has flown with several aircraft of this type noted the following performance data: stalling speed 35/38 mph and best rate of climb about 500 feet per minute at 50 mph with no flaps. Tests conducted by him on the same aircraft with full flaps and weights under 960 lb produced rates of climb under 300 feet per minute irrespective of speed. At speeds under 40 mph, the rate of climb was approximately nil and the floatplane became very unstable. The instructor also noted that the elevator on this aircraft lost all effectiveness at speeds below 65 mph and an increase in power was necessary to raise the nose. On water, the float tips were almost submerged, and he preferred to use power to keep them out of the water.

The amateur-built floatplane was equipped with a Teledyne Continental 0-200 engine producing 100 hp and a McCauley metal propeller. The company accepts this type of powerplant, but it has no performance data for the aircraft. This engine/propeller combination was 138 lb heavier than the Rotax engine with a composite propeller. According to the company, the lightest aircraft assembled with this engine and propeller weighed 530 lb. The company also mentioned that the weight of the floats, including rudder and mounting struts, is about 95 lb. Removal of the wheels reduces weight by about 34 lb, for a net increase of 61 lb with floats fitted. The company and Transport Canada had authorized an increase in the maximum aircraft weight from 960 lb to 1,107 lb.

The aircraft weight and balance indicates that, with wheels fitted, the aircraft weighed 521 lb, and 568 lb with 81-lb floats fitted, for an increase of 47 lb after the wheels were removed. With floats fitted, only a weight report is provided, with no indication of a shift in the centre of gravity in this configuration. There is no float-mounting report in the aircraft records, and, although the journey log indicates that the aircraft was operating alternately from a runway or a lake, there was no notation regarding the mounting or removal of the floats. The installation of the floats was not mentioned in the annual airworthiness information reports since the aircraft was built in 1989. The float components had been purchased, pre-cut, from Zenair and assembled by the aircraft builder.

Weighing of the aircraft revealed that the engine with propeller weighed 278 lb and the floats weighed 127.5 lb. The total weight of all available aircraft components was 836 lb. As no moment arm was available, balance could not be calculated.

A cross-wind component during take-off can produce additional lift by increasing the velocity of the air flowing over the upwind wing, but it will not cause the aircraft to nose down. The aircraft has a greater keel surface exposed to cross-winds aft of the centre of gravity than forward. Consequently, it will tend to turn upwind rather than downwind. The lift acting on an aircraft during take-off is increased by ground effect. This effect is eliminated at a height equal to approximately half the wingspan of the aircraft.

Analysis

The pilot was certified for the flight. The take-off technique with full flaps and the speeds used were as indicated in the aircraft flight manual.

According to the builder's weight report, the aircraft weight on take-off was 977 lb. However, as the actual weight of the floatplane was 836 lb, its weight on take-off was 1,266 lb, or 159 lb over the maximum allowable weight, and 306 lb over the weight for which performance data were available from the company.

Although balance could not be calculated, the ineffectiveness of the elevator at twice the stalling speed and the float attitude on the water indicate that the floatplane's centre of gravity exceeded the forward limit. An excessive forward centre of gravity reduces performance. The climb performance of the aircraft, despite 20 hp more power from the engine, was half the published value.

The absence of performance data with a 0-200 engine and the lack of explanations from the company regarding the contradictory data on the best rate of climb invalidate the data for the accident aircraft. The performance values observed by the instructor were used, as they are considered the most plausible; they indicate that the speed of under 45 mph used by the pilot on take-off held the aircraft near the stalling speed. Overloading of the aircraft increased the stalling speed, and the excessive forward centre of gravity diminished elevator effectiveness.

It is plausible that a change in wind speed increased lift on the right wing and caused it to rise; however, weather cocking would have caused the floatplane to turn into the wind and would not have pitched the nose down. The aircraft stalled when it flew out of ground effect. A stall is often followed by a spin when yaw is not counteracted through the rudder pedals. The steep left turn downwind indicates that the aircraft was in the incipient stage of a spin.

The following laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 134/94 - Log Books Restoration.

Findings

  1. The floatplane weight was 269 pounds over the weight reported in the weight and balance report.
  2. The forward centre of gravity limit was exceeded.
  3. No centre of gravity with floats fitted was indicated on the weight and balance report.
  4. The installation of the floats was not recorded in the aircraft log-book and had not been reported to Transport Canada.
  5. The climb performance of the aircraft was half the published value.
  6. There were no life-jackets on board the aircraft.

Causes and Contributing Factors

During the initial climb, overloading and an excessive forward centre of gravity caused the aircraft to stall at a speed higher than that published by the manufacturer.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Zita Brunet and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 27 April 1995.


1. All times are EDT (Coordinated Universal Time [UTC] minus four hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94Q0114

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident aéronautique dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de contrôle au décollage
Zenair CH701 C-FFEW
Lac Croche (Québec)
19 juin 1994

Résumé

Après plusieurs tentatives infructueuses, l'appareil équipé de flotteurs a décollé avec pleins volets du lac Croche (Québec). Après le décollage, le pilote a conservé l'angle de montée initiale en gardant une vitesse entre 40 et 45 milles par heure (mph) pour franchir les montagnes en bordure du lac. Le pilote a mentionné qu'à environ 20 pieds au-dessus du lac, l'aile gauche s'était soulevée sous l'effet d'une bourrasque de vent. L'appareil a piqué vers le lac en tournant à grande inclinaison vers la gauche. Le flotteur gauche a heurté l'eau, et l'avant du flotteur s'est cassé. Les flotteurs se sont logés sous les ailes. L'aéronef est demeuré à l'endroit, avec la cabine à demi-submergée. Le pilote et le passager n'ont pas été blessés et se sont hissés sur un des flotteurs. Pensant que l'appareil allait sombrer rapidement, ils ont décidé de nager vers le rivage. Ni le pilote ni le passager ne portait de gilet de sauvetage. Le pilote a atteint la rive mais le passager a été retrouvé noyé, le lendemain. L'accident s'est produit vers 8 h 45, heure avancée de l'Est (HAE)(1).

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote avait accumulé 32 heures de vol sur appareil équipé de flotteurs et il possédait la licence pour le vol entrepris. Il a cependant souligné son peu d'expérience de vol. Un vidéo amateur, montrant l'arrivée du pilote et du passager au lac Croche deux jours avant l'accident, révèle un contact initial brutal de l'appareil avec la surface de l'eau, suivi d'un rebond d'environ 20 pieds. La surface du lac était en conditions d'eau miroitante. Durant le rebond, l'amplitude du tangage des flotteurs par rapport au fuselage dépassait 15 degrés. Le choc a été suffisant pour fissurer le pare-brise et fausser légèrement l'attache du montant arrière droit au flotteur. Le pilote n'a pas considéré l'événement comme anormal. Outre l'attache du flotteur, le pilote n'a remarqué aucun autre élément de l'appareil qui aurait pu être affecté par l'amerrissage.

Le pilote a indiqué que, lors du décollage du lac, la charge de l'appareil était de 410 livres (lb). La première tentative s'est effectuée vers l'ouest avec 10 degrés de volets. Comme les vents semblaient tournoyer, il a fait une autre tentative infructueuse, cette fois vers l'est avec 20 degrés de volets. L'appareil a finalement décollé vers l'ouest avec 30 degrés de volets. Selon le pilote, la course au décollage a utilisé la moitié du lac, soit environ 2 500 pieds.

Une étude météorologique mentionne que la région du lac Croche était sous des conditions de vol à vue. Les vents, provenant du nord-nord-ouest, étaient estimés à moins de 10 noeuds. Les témoignages recueillis confirment que le vent était faible, de direction changeante et ne produisait que de petites vagues à la surface du lac.

Lorsque l'aile droite s'est soulevée, le pilote a appliqué l'aileron opposé et sollicité à fond la gouverne de profondeur, mais l'appareil a piqué et tourné vers la gauche à grande inclinaison. Le pilote n'a pas utilisé les palonniers. L'appareil ne transportait pas de gilets de sauvetage tel que requis par la réglementation. Les occupants utilisaient des ceintures munies d'un baudrier.

Lorsqu'ils ont quitté l'épave à la nage, les deux occupants se trouvaient à environ 200 pieds de la rive, et le pilote avait l'impression que le vent les éloignait du rivage. Il a souligné que, sans gilet de sauvetage et avec son habillement, il a rapidement senti ses forces diminuer. Il a déclaré que les encouragements que le passager lui a fournis ont été déterminants à sa survie. Le passager, malgré ses aptitudes à la nage, une apparente maîtrise de la situation et une bonne forme physique, n'a pas atteint la rive. Son corps a été retrouvé à environ 25 pieds du rivage, à une profondeur de cinq pieds d'eau. L'hydravion est resté à flot pendant plus de six heures.

Le manuel du propriétaire de la compagnie mentionne que, sur roues, avec un moteur Rotax 912 développant 80 HP, un poids de 960 lb, la vitesse de décrochage avec volets (Vso) est de 30 mph et le meilleur angle de montée (Vx) est obtenu avec demi ou pleins volets à une vitesse de 35 mph. Le manuel mentionne également que le meilleur taux de montée (Vy) est obtenu avec volets rentrés à la vitesse de 40 mph. Cependant, le tableau des performances de l'appareil indique qu'un taux de montée de 1 300 pieds par minute (pi/min) peut être obtenu à une vitesse de 48 mph.

Un dépliant (publicitaire) d'information montre l'avion sur flotteurs amphibies avec un tableau de performances. Avec le même moteur et au même poids, le taux de montée augmente à 1 400 pi/min. Ces différences n'ont pu être expliquées par la compagnie.

Le rapport de montée soumis à Transports Canada par le propriétaire indique que l'avion sur roues avait un taux de montée de 666 pi/min. Un instructeur ayant volé avec plusieurs avions de ce type a observé les performances suivantes : vitesse de décrochage de 35/38 mph, et meilleur taux de montée d'environ 500 pi/min obtenu à 50 mph sans volets. Les essais qu'il a effectués avec pleins volets sur le même appareil, à des poids inférieurs à 960 lb, ont donné des taux de montée inférieurs à 300 pi/min, quelle que soit la vitesse. À moins de 40 mph, le taux de montée était presque annulé et l'hydravion devenait très instable. L'instructeur a aussi noté que la gouverne de profondeur sur cet appareil perdait son efficacité à des vitesses inférieures à 65 mph et un apport de puissance était nécessaire pour relever le nez. Sur l'eau, le nez des flotteurs était presque submergé et il préférait utiliser de la puissance pour le maintenir hors de l'eau. Le constructeur de l'avion n'a pas publié de correctif au manuel du propriétaire pour indiquer ces différences.

L'hydravion de construction amateur était équipé d'un moteur Teledyne Continental 0-200 développant 100 HP et d'une hélice McCauley en métal. Ce type de motorisation est accepté par la compagnie, mais celle-ci ne possède pas de données sur les performances de l'appareil. Cet ensemble moteur/hélice était de 138 lb plus lourd qu'avec le moteur Rotax avec hélice en composite. Selon la compagnie, le plus léger des appareils assemblés avec ce moteur et cette hélice pesait 530 lb. De plus, la compagnie mentionne que le poids des flotteurs, avec gouvernail et montants de fixation, est d'environ 95 lb. L'enlèvement des roues soustrait environ 34 lb, pour une nette augmentation de 61 lb sur flotteurs. La compagnie et Transports Canada avaient autorisé que la masse maximale de l'appareil soit augmentée de 960 lb à 1 107 lb.

Le rapport de poids et centrage de l'appareil indique que, sur roues, l'appareil pesait 521 lb, et 568 lb avec des flotteurs de 81 lb, soit une augmentation de 47 lb après l'enlèvement des roues. Sur flotteurs, seul un rapport de poids est fourni, sans aucune indication de changement sur le centre de gravité pour cette configuration. Aucun rapport d'installation de flotteurs n'apparaît au dossier de l'appareil et, bien que le carnet de route indique que l'appareil était exploité alternativement d'une piste ou d'un lac, aucune indication d'installation ou d'enlèvement des flotteurs n'a été notée. L'installation des flotteurs n'a pas été mentionnée sur les rapports annuels d'information sur la navigabilité depuis la construction de l'appareil en 1989. Les composants des flotteurs avaient été achetés de la compagnie Zenair en pièces précoupées, et ces pièces avaient été assemblées par le constructeur de l'avion.

L'appareil a été pesé, ce qui a permis d'établir que le poids du moteur avec l'hélice était de 278 lb et que les flotteurs pesaient 127,5 lb. L'ensemble des pièces disponibles de l'appareil pesait 836 lb. Aucun bras de levier n'étant disponible, un centrage du poids n'a pu être effectué.

L'apport d'un vent de travers lors d'un décollage peut apporter un supplément de portance en augmentant la vélocité de l'air sur l'aile exposée, mais n'impose aucun mouvement de piqué à l'appareil. Un avion offre plus de surface latérale exposée au vent de travers à l'arrière du centre de gravité qu'à l'avant et est donc porté à tourner vers le vent, plutôt qu'à tourner en direction opposée au vent. La portance d'un avion au décollage est augmentée par l'effet de sol. Cet effet est annulé à une hauteur correspondant à environ la moitié de l'envergure de l'avion.

Analyse

Le pilote possédait la licence pour le vol entrepris. La technique de décollage avec pleins volets et les vitesses utilisées correspondaient aux indications du manuel de vol de l'appareil.

Le poids de l'appareil au décollage, selon le rapport de poids du constructeur, était de 977 lb. Cependant, le poids réel de l'hydravion étant de 836 lb, le poids au décollage était donc de 1 266 lb, soit 159 lb au-dessus de la masse maximale autorisée, et 306 lb au-dessus du poids pour lequel les données de performances étaient disponibles de la compagnie.

Même si un centrage de poids n'a pu être fait, le manque d'efficacité de la gouverne de profondeur à une vitesse deux fois supérieure à la vitesse de décrochage ainsi que l'assiette des flotteurs sur l'eau indiquent que le centrage dépassait la limite avant de l'hydravion. Un centrage avant excessif réduit les performances. Les performances de montée de l'appareil, malgré un moteur de 20 HP plus puissant, étaient la moitié de celles publiées.

L'absence de données de performances avec un moteur 0-200, et le manque d'explications par la compagnie sur les données contradictoires concernant les taux de montée optimum, invalident leur application sur l'appareil accidenté. Les performances que l'instructeur a observées, et qui semblent les plus plausibles, ont été retenues; elles indiquent qu'au décollage, la vitesse inférieure à 45 mph utilisée par le pilote a maintenu l'appareil près de la vitesse de décrochage. L'appareil étant en surcharge, la vitesse de décrochage était augmentée, et le centrage avant excessif réduisait l'efficacité de la gouverne de profondeur.

Il est plausible qu'un changement de la vitesse du vent ait pu augmenter la portance de l'aile droite et la soulever; cependant, l'effet de girouette aurait fait tourner l'hydravion vers le vent et n'aurait pas occasionné un mouvement de piqué. L'avion a décroché lorsqu'il est sorti de l'effet de sol. Il est fréquent qu'un décrochage soit suivi d'une vrille lorsque le mouvement de lacet n'est pas contré avec les palonniers. Le virage serré à gauche, en vent arrière, indique que l'appareil amorçait une vrille.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 134/94 - Log Books Restoration (Restoration des registres de bord).

Faits établis

  1. Le poids de l'hydravion était de 269 livres au-dessus du poids indiqué dans le rapport de poids et centrage.
  2. La limite de centrage avant était dépassée.
  3. Aucun centrage des poids sur flotteurs n'avait été inscrit dans le rapport de poids et centrage.
  4. L'installation des flotteurs n'était pas annotée dans le carnet de l'appareil et n'avait pas été signalée à Transports Canada.
  5. Les performances en montée de l'avion étaient deux fois inférieures à celles publiées par le concepteur pour les avions équipés du moteur Rotax.
  6. Il n'y avait pas de gilets de sauvetage à bord de l'appareil.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Lors de la montée initiale, la surcharge et le centrage avant excessif de l'aéronef ont causé un décrochage à une vitesse supérieure à celle publiée par le concepteur.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 27 avril 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Zita Brunet et Hugh MacNeil.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins quatre heures) sauf indication contraire.