Aviation Investigation Report A94Q0167

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Left Wing Failure in Flight
Tieratorn/Tierra II (Ultralight) C-IFHO
Blouin Lake, Quebec
04 September 1994

Summary

The pilot, accompanied by one passenger, took off from Blouin Lake, Quebec, for a pleasure flight. Shortly after take-off, the left wing of the ultralight folded upward and towards the rear fuselage. The aircraft crashed on the west shore of the lake. The two occupants sustained fatal injuries in the impact. The ultralight was substantially damaged.

The Board determined that the left wing of the ultralight failed in flight as a result of a pre- existing structural weakness which could have been caused when the left wing-tip struck the surface of the water shortly before take-off.

Table of Contents

  1. 1.0 Factual Information
    1. 1.1 History of the Flight
    2. 1.2 Injuries to Persons
    3. 1.3 Damage to Aircraft
    4. 1.4 Other Damage
    5. 1.5 Personnel Information
    6. 1.5.1 Passenger Information
    7. 1.6 Aircraft Information
    8. 1.7 Meteorological Information
    9. 1.8 Aids to Navigation
    10. 1.9 Communications
    11. 1.10 Accident Site
    12. 1.11 Wreckage and Impact Information
    13. 1.12 Medical Information
    14. 1.13 Survival Aspects
    15. 1.14 Tests and Research
    16. 1.15 Additional Information
    17. 1.15.1 Regulations on the Carrying of Passengers in Ultralight Aircraft
  2. 2.0 Analysis
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Findings
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Safety Action
  5. 5.0 Appendices
    1. Appendix A - List of Supporting Reports 11
    2. Appendix B - Glossary 13

1.0 Factual Information

1.1 History of the Flight

Around 1730 eastern daylight saving time (EDT)1, the float-equipped ultralight, registration C- IFHO, took off from Blouin Lake, Quebec, for a pleasure flight in accordance with visual flight rules (VFR)2. Several persons near the accident site witnessed the last moments of the flight and the crash. They watched for about 45 minutes while the aircraft made several attempts to take off before becoming airborne. On one of the take-off attempts, the right float lifted off first, and the ultralight banked until the left wing-tip touched the surface of the water. The pilot then reduced power; he made a 360-degree turn, then re-applied full throttle and flew in a southwesterly direction. The pilot then flew over the south end of the lake before making a right turn towards the northeast. After flying about half the length of the lake, the pilot executed a left turn and followed the west shore of the lake. At a height of about 400 feet, a sharp noise was heard, and the left wing folded upward and towards the rear fuselage. The ultralight started to descend rapidly and rotate until it struck the ground. The pilot and passenger were killed on impact. The ultralight was substantially damaged.

1 All times are EDT (Coordinated Universal Time [UTC] minus four hours) unless otherwise stated.

2 See Glossary for all abbreviations and acronyms.

The accident occurred in daylight around 1740 EDT at latitude 48·09'N and longitude 077·46'W.

1.2 Injuries to Persons

  Crew Passengers Others Total
Fatal 1 1 - 2
Serious - - - -
Minor/None - - - -
Total 1 1 - 2

1.3 Damage to Aircraft

The ultralight was heavily damaged and sustained severe deformation.

1.4 Other Damage

None.

1.5 Personnel Information

Pilot-in-Command
Age - 35
Pilot Licence - PPL - Ultralight
Medical Expiry Date - 01 Nov 1994
Total Flying Hours - 102+
Hours on Type - 90+
Hours Last 90 Days - N/A
Hours on Type Last 90 Days - N/A
Hours on Duty Prior to Occurrence - 0
Hours off Duty Prior to Work Period - 24

The pilot occupied the left seat. He held a valid private ultralight pilot licence issued on 07 April 1993. The pilot's flying habits and his level of proficiency could not be accurately determined. His pilot log-book was incomplete after 19 December 1993. Up to that date, he had logged 102 flying hours; 90 hours were logged on type, and 23 of those were on C-IFHO. The pilot had flown the Tierra II regularly until the day of the accident.

1.5.1 Passenger Information

The passenger occupied the right seat, and had no aviation experience. He was a friend of the pilot.

1.6 Aircraft Information

Manufacturer - Tieratorn
Type and Model - Tierra II
Year of Manufacture - 1984
Serial Number - 3457715
Certificate of Airworthiness (Flight Permit) - Not required
Total Airframe Time approx. - 400 hr
Engine Type (number of) Rotax 583 - (1)
Propeller/Rotor Type (number of) two-blade - (1)
Maximum Allowable Take-off Weight - 195 kg
Recommended Fuel Type(s) - automotive with 2% oil
Fuel Type Used - automotive with 2% oil

The airframe was constructed of aluminum alloy tubing. The wings and tail section were covered with Dacron fabric. The closed cabin contained two seats placed side-by-side. The aircraft was equipped with floats.

The aircraft was imported from the United States in 1984. The pilot had owned the aircraft since September 1993. The ownership transfer certificate was not completed at the time of purchase. Consequently, the previous owner's name appeared on the registration certificate of the ultralight.

Since the date of importation into Canada, the aircraft had sustained accident damage on three occasions, and had had at least ten engine failures requiring an emergency landing. The last in- flight engine failure occurred in the winter of 1994.

The aircraft had accidental damage when the pilot purchased it. The tail of the aircraft had been damaged in an emergency landing following an engine failure. The pilot repaired the airframe and replaced the complete skin of the aircraft. He also replaced the engine with a more powerful unit.

Contrary to the Canadian nationality and registration requirements of the Air Regulations, Series II, No. 1, the aircraft bore no nationality or registration markings.

There were several signs of excessive wear at the structural attachment points. In addition, some assembly anomalies were noted. The assembly manual for the Tierra II states that the main wing spars should be 2.25 inches in diameter. Examination revealed that the left main wing spar had a diameter of 2.00 inches, and the right main wing spar had a diameter of 2.25 inches. Also, the right main spar had a single tube thickness at the root and the left had a double thickness. It was also noted that the right spar tip consisted of three thicknesses of tube while the left had only two thicknesses.

The two left wing attachment points at the fuselage were not modified to fit the smaller spar diameter as prescribed by the manufacturer. The left wing chord was smaller than that of the right wing.

1.7 Meteorological Information

Meteorological conditions were favourable for the visual flight as planned. The regular observation at 1700 EDT by the Atmospheric Environment Service at Val d'Or Airport, Quebec, located about 8 km south of Blouin Lake, reported clear skies, visibility 15 miles, temperature 18 degrees Celsius, and winds from the southwest at three knots.

1.8 Aids to Navigation

The use of aids to navigation was not necessary for this flight.

1.9 Communications

As the aircraft was not equipped with radios, no radio transmissions were made.

1.10 Accident Site

The aircraft crashed on private property about 75 feet from Blouin Lake. The crash occurred in a lightly wooded area.

1.11 Wreckage and Impact Information

The ultralight crashed on its left side. The cockpit partly collapsed at impact. Witnesses and the examinations of the engine and propeller confirmed that the engine was functioning at the time of the crash.

Examination of the aircraft revealed that the left wing and its two spars sustained upward and rearward twisting stresses. The wings remained attached to the airframe.

1.12 Medical Information

The pilot's category III medical licence validation certificate was valid and carried no restrictions.

Toxicological test results for the presence of drugs revealed the presence of cocaine and cocaine metabolites in the urine of the pilot. It could not be determined when the pilot had consumed cocaine.

1.13 Survival Aspects

The occupants were wearing their seat-belts. However, they were not wearing helmets as prescribed in the regulations in force at the time of the accident. Survivable space in the cabin was reduced on ground impact.

1.14 Tests and Research

The wreckage was examined at the accident site and subsequently transported to the TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory in Ottawa, Ontario, for more detailed examination. Examination of the flight control systems revealed no evidence of failure prior to the in-flight failure of the ultralight wing. Examination of the debris revealed that all fractures were caused by instantaneous overload. Damage caused by the crash could not be distinguished from that which may have existed prior to the accident. The observed damage indicates that the left wing failed in flight.

Analysis of the stresses acting on the left wing revealed that the rear spar was possibly deformed when the wing struck the surface of the lake.

Analysis of the aerodynamic forces acting on the wings under normal flight conditions indicates that the left wing must have failed as a result of pre-existing damage.

1.15 Additional Information

1.15.1 Regulations on the Carrying of Passengers in Ultralight Aircraft

The pilot was not licensed to fly with a passenger on board. Air Navigation Order Series V, No. 24, states that carrying a passenger in an ultralight aircraft is prohibited except for the purpose of giving dual flying instruction to that person. The Transport Canada Personnel Licensing Handbook states that flying instruction must be conducted under the direct supervision of a qualified instructor.

2.0 Analysis

The investigation did not reveal when the pilot consumed cocaine. Therefore, it cannot be established whether physiological factors affected the pilot's performance.

Meteorological conditions were favourable for VFR flight. The aircraft was probably not affected by the weather.

The witnesses observed the aircraft in straight and level cruise flight when the left wing suddenly failed. All fractures occurred as a result of instantaneous overload; examination of the ultralight systems revealed no anomalies. Consequently, the wing failure must have been caused by a pre-existing structural weakness.

Although the left wing struck the surface of the water shortly before take-off, the collision did not cause the damage observed on the front spar. However, the rear wing spar could have been sufficiently deformed to cause damage to the wing structure.

The aircraft had undergone repairs on several occasions following accidents. During one repair job, the left wing main spar was replaced by a spar with a diameter smaller than that specified by the manufacturer, which shortened the left wing chord. The way in which the left wing had to be assembled, given the shorter wing chord and the fact that the wing attachment points at the fuselage were not modified, could have created internal stresses in the structure.

These stresses could have caused overload failure in a wing component when the left wing struck the surface of the water just before take-off, and this would have resulted in structural weakening of the left wing, leading to the in-flight failure shortly after.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Findings

  1. The pilot was not licensed to fly with a passenger on board.
  2. During an attempted take-off, the left wing-tip struck the surface of the lake.
  3. The aircraft was in cruise flight when the left wing folded upward and towards the rear.
  4. All fractures occurred as a result of instantaneous overload.
  5. The left wing folded as a result of a pre-existing structural weakness.
  6. The left wing main spar had been replaced by a spar with a diameter smaller than specified by the manufacturer.
  7. The structural weakness could have been caused when the left wing-tip collided with the surface of the lake shortly before take-off.
  8. Toxicological test results revealed the presence of cocaine and cocaine metabolites in the urine of the pilot.
  9. It could not be determined whether physiological factors affected the pilot's performance.

3.2 Causes

The left wing of the ultralight failed in flight as a result of a pre-existing structural weakness which could have been caused when the left wing-tip struck the surface of the water shortly before take-off.

4.0 Safety Action

The Board has no aviation safety recommendations to issue at this time.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson John W. Stants, and members

Zita Brunet and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 10 July 1995.

Appendix A - List of Supporting Reports

The following TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 142/94 - Left Wing Failure Analysis.

This report is available upon request from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada.

Appendix B - Glossary

EDT - eastern daylight saving time
hr - hour(s)
kg - kilogram(s)
km - kilometre(s)
N/A - not available
PPL - private pilot licence
TSB - Transportation Safety Board of Canada
UTC - Coordinated Universal Time
VFR - visual flight rules
' minute(s)

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94Q0167

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Rupture de l'aile gauche en vol
Tieratorn/Tierra II (ultra-léger) C-IFHO
Lac Blouin (Québec)
4 septembre 1994

Résumé

Le pilote accompagné d'un passager a décollé du lac Blouin (Québec) pour effectuer un vol récréatif. Peu de temps après le décollage, l'aile gauche de l'ultra-léger s'est repliée vers le haut et l'arrière du fuselage. L'appareil s'est écrasé sur la rive ouest du lac. Les deux occupants ont subi des blessures mortelles lors de l'impact. L'ultra-léger a été lourdement endommagé.

Le Bureau a déterminé que l'aile gauche de l'ultra-léger a cédé en vol à la suite d'une faiblesse structurale préexistante qui a pu être causée lors d'une collision de l'extrémité de l'aile gauche avec la surface de l'eau peu de temps avant le décollage.

Table des matières

  1. 1.0 Renseignements de base
    1. 1.1 Déroulement du vol
    2. 1.2 Victimes
    3. 1.3 Dommages à l'aéronef
    4. 1.4 Autres dommages
    5. 1.5 Renseignements sur le personnel
    6. 1.5.1 Renseignement sur le passager
    7. 1.6 Renseignements sur l'aéronef
    8. 1.7 Renseignements météorologiques
    9. 1.8 Aides à la navigation
    10. 1.9 Télécommunications
    11. 1.10 Site de l'accident
    12. 1.11 Renseignements sur l'épave et sur l'impact
    13. 1.12 Renseignements médicaux
    14. 1.13 Questions relatives à la survie des occupants
    15. 1.14 Essais et recherches
    16. 1.15 Renseignements supplémentaires
    17. 1.15.1 Réglementation concernant le transport de passagers à bord d'un avion ultra-léger
  2. 2.0 Analyse
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Faits établis
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Mesures de sécurité
  5. 5.0 Annexes
    1. Annexe A - Liste des rapports pertinents
    2. Annexe B - Sigles et abréviations

1.0 Renseignements de base

1.1 Déroulement du vol

Vers 17 h 30, heure avancée de l'Est (HAE)1, l'ultra-léger équipé de flotteurs, immatriculé C-IFHO, a décollé du lac Blouin (Québec) pour effectuer un vol récréatif selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR)2. Plusieurs personnes qui se trouvaient près des lieux de l'accident ont été témoins des derniers instants du vol et de l'écrasement. Ils ont observé, pendant environ 45 minutes, l'appareil effectuer plusieurs décollages interrompus avant de finalement s'envoler. Lors de l'une des tentatives de décollage, le flotteur droit a déjaugé en premier, et l'ultra-léger s'est incliné jusqu'à ce que le bout de l'aile gauche touche la surface de l'eau. Le pilote a alors réduit la puissance; il a complété un virage de 360 degrés, puis il a remis pleins gaz et s'est envolé en direction sud-ouest. Le pilote a ensuite survolé l'extrémité sud du lac avant d'effectuer un virage à droite vers le nord-est. Vers la mi-longueur du lac, le pilote a exécuté un virage à gauche pour suivre la rive ouest du lac. À une hauteur d'environ 400 pieds, il y a eu un bruit sec, puis l'aile gauche s'est repliée vers le haut et l'arrière du fuselage. L'ultra-léger s'est...

1 Les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins quatre heures) sauf indication contraire.

2 Voir l'annexe B pour la signification des sigles et abréviations.

...mis à descendre rapidement en tournoyant sur lui-même jusqu'au sol. Le pilote et le passager ont péri dans l'accident. L'ultra-léger a été lourdement endommagé.

L'accident s'est produit de jour, vers 17 h 40 HAE, par 48· 09' de latitude Nord et 77· 46' de longitude Ouest.

1.2 Victimes

  Équipage Passagers Tiers Total
Tués 1 1 - 2
Blessés graves - - - -
Blessés légers/indemnes - - - -
Total 1 1 - 2

1.3 Dommages à l'aéronef

L'ultra-léger a été lourdement endommagé et a subi d'importantes déformations.

1.4 Autres dommages

Aucun.

1.5 Renseignements sur le personnel

Pilote
Âge - 35 ans
Licence - pilote privé ultra-léger
Date d'expiration du certificat de validation - 1er nov 1994
Nombre d'heures de volplus de - 102
Nombre d'heures de vol sur type en cause - plus de 90
Nombre d'heures de vol dans les 90 derniers jours - N/D
Nombre d'heures de vol sur type en cause dans les 90 derniers jours - N/D
Nombre d'heures de service avant l'accident - 0
Nombre d'heures libres avant la prise de service - 24

Le pilote était assis à gauche. Il était titulaire d'une licence de pilote privé d'avion ultra-léger valide, ayant été délivrée le 7 avril 1993. Il n'a pas été possible d'établir avec exactitude les habitudes de vol du pilote ni son niveau de compétence. Son carnet de vol était incomplet pour la période ultérieure au 19 décembre 1993. À cette date, il totalisait 102 heures de vol; 90 avaient été effectuées sur type, dont 23 sur le C-IFHO. Le pilote avait piloté le Tierra II régulièrement jusqu'au jour de l'accident.

1.5.1 Renseignement sur le passager

Le passager était assis à droite et ne possédait aucune expérience en aviation. C'était un ami du pilote.

1.6 Renseignements sur l'aéronef

Constructeur - Tieratorn
Type et modèle - Tierra II
Année de construction - 1984
Numéro de série - 3457715
Certificat de navigabilité (Permis de vol) - non requis
Nombre d'heures de vol cellule environ - 400
Type de moteur (nombre) - Rotax 583 (1)
Type d'hélice/de rotor (nombre) - bipale (1)
Masse maximale autorisée au décollage - 195 kg
Type(s) de carburant recommandé(s) - essence automobile avec 2 % d'huile
Type de carburant utilisé - essence automobile avec 2 % d'huile

La cellule de l'appareil était en alliage d'aluminium de type tubulaire. Une toile de Dacron recouvrait les ailes et la queue. Le cockpit biplace était fermé et comportait deux sièges côte à côte. L'appareil était équipé de flotteurs.

L'aéronef avait été importé des États-Unis en 1984. Le pilote était propriétaire de l'appareil depuis septembre 1993. Le certificat de changement de propriétaire n'avait pas été rempli au moment de l'achat. Par conséquent, le nom du propriétaire précédent se trouvait sur le certificat d'immatriculation de l'ultra-léger.

Depuis son importation au Canada, l'aéronef avait été accidenté trois fois, et il avait subi au moins 10 arrêts moteur qui avaient nécessité des atterrissages d'urgence. Le dernier arrêt moteur en vol s'était produit au cours de l'hiver 1994.

L'aéronef était accidenté lorsque le pilote l'a acheté. La queue de l'appareil avait été endommagée lors d'un atterrissage d'urgence à la suite d'une panne moteur. Le pilote avait réparé la structure et changé le revêtement de l'appareil au complet. Il avait également remplacé le moteur par un moteur plus puissant.

Contrairement aux spécifications concernant les marques de nationalité et d'immatriculation canadiennes qui se trouvent dans le Règlement de l'Air, Série II, no 1, l'appareil ne portait pas de marques de nationalité et d'immatriculation.

Il y avait plusieurs indices d'usure excessive aux points d'attache à la structure. De plus, certaines anomalies d'assemblage ont été notées. Selon le manuel d'assemblage du Tierra II, le diamètre des longerons principaux des ailes devait être de 2,25 pouces. En fait, l'examen des longerons a révélé que celui de gauche avait un diamètre de 2,0 pouces tandis que celui de droite avait un diamètre de 2,25 pouces. De plus, le longeron principal droit avait une seule épaisseur de tube à son emplanture alors que celui de gauche avait une double épaisseur. De plus, il a été constaté que l'extrémité du longeron droit avait trois épaisseurs de tube tandis que celui de gauche n'avait que deux épaisseurs.

Les deux points d'attache de l'aile gauche au fuselage n'ont pas été modifiés en tenant compte du diamètre moindre du longeron et tel qu'il est spécifié par le constructeur. La corde de l'aile gauche était moindre que celle de l'aile droite.

1.7 Renseignements météorologiques

Les conditions météorologiques étaient favorables au vol à vue projeté. L'observation régulière de 17 h effectuée par le Service de l'environnement atmosphérique de l'aéroport de Val d'Or (Québec), situé à environ 8 km au sud du lac Blouin, faisait état d'un ciel clair, d'une visibilité de 15 milles, d'une température de 18 degrés Celsius et de vents du sud-ouest à trois noeuds.

1.8 Aides à la navigation

Le recours aux aides à la navigation n'était pas nécessaire pour ce vol.

1.9 Télécommunications

L'aéronef n'étant pas équipé de radios, aucune communication radio n'a été effectuée.

1.10 Site de l'accident

L'appareil s'est écrasé sur un terrain privé à environ 75 pieds du lac Blouin. L'accident s'est produit dans une zone boisée peu dense.

1.11 Renseignements sur l'épave et sur l'impact

L'ultra-léger s'est écrasé sur le côté gauche. Le poste de pilotage a été en partie écrasé lors de l'impact. Les témoins ainsi que les examens du moteur et de l'hélice confirment que le moteur fonctionnait au moment de l'écrasement.

L'examen de l'appareil a révélé que l'aile gauche et ses deux longerons ont subi des contraintes en torsion vers le haut et l'arrière. Les ailes sont demeurées attachées à la structure de l'appareil.

1.12 Renseignements médicaux

Le certificat de validation de licence de la catégorie médicale III du pilote était valide et ne présentait aucune restriction.

Les résultats des analyses toxicologiques visant à déceler la présence de drogues ont révélé la présence de cocaïne et de métabolites de cocaïne dans l'urine du pilote. Il n'a pas été possible d'établir quand le pilote avait consommé de la cocaïne.

1.13 Questions relatives à la survie des occupants

Les occupants portaient leur ceinture de sécurité, mais ils ne portaient pas de casque comme l'exigeait la réglementation en vigueur au moment de l'accident. L'espace viable de la cabine a été réduit lors de l'impact avec le sol.

1.14 Essais et recherches

Après avoir été examinée sur les lieux de l'accident, l'épave a été transportée au Laboratoire technique du BST à Ottawa (Ontario) pour un examen plus approfondi. L'examen du système des commandes de vol n'a révélé la présence d'aucun signe de perte d'intégrité avant la rupture en vol de l'aile de l'ultra-léger. L'examen des débris a révélé que toutes les fractures sont attribuables à des surcharges instantanées. Il n'a pas été possible de faire une distinction entre les dommages causés par l'écrasement et les dommages qui auraient pu exister avant l'accident. Les dommages observés indiquent que l'aile gauche a cédé en vol.

Une analyse portant sur les contraintes que subissait l'aile gauche a révélé que le longeron arrière avait possiblement été déformé lorsque l'aile a percuté la surface du lac.

L'analyse des forces aérodynamiques sur les ailes pendant des conditions normales de vol indique que l'aile gauche a dû céder à la suite de dommages préexistants.

1.15 Renseignements supplémentaires

1.15.1 Réglementation concernant le transport de passagers à bord d'un avion ultra-léger

Le pilote ne possédait pas la licence lui permettant de transporter un passager. L'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, Série V, no 24, stipule qu'il est interdit de transporter un passager à bord d'un avion ultra-léger, sauf pour lui donner des leçons de pilotage en double commande. Selon le Manuel de licences du personnel de Transports Canada, l'entraînement en vol doit être effectué sous la direction et la supervision d'un instructeur qualifié.

2.0 Analyse

L'enquête n'a pas révélé quand le pilote avait consommé de la cocaïne. Il n'est donc pas possible d'établir si des facteurs physiologiques ont perturbé ses capacités.

Les conditions météorologiques étaient favorables au vol à vue. L'aéronef n'a sans doute pas été affecté par les conditions météorologiques.

Les témoins ont observé l'appareil en vol de croisière rectiligne lorsque l'aile gauche a cédé soudainement. Toutes les fractures sont survenues à la suite de surcharges instantanées; l'examen des systèmes de l'ultra-léger n'a révélé aucune anomalie. Par conséquent, la rupture de l'aile a dû être causée par une faiblesse structurale préexistante.

Quoique l'aile gauche ait percuté la surface du lac peu de temps avant le décollage, la collision n'a pas causé les dommages observés sur le longeron avant. Par contre, le longeron arrière de l'aile a pu subir des déformations suffisamment importantes pour provoquer des dommages à la structure de l'aile.

L'appareil avait subi plusieurs réparations à la suite de plusieurs accidents. Lors d'une réparation, le longeron principal de l'aile gauche avait été remplacé par un longeron dont le diamètre était inférieur à celui prescrit par le constructeur, ce qui a raccourci la corde de l'aile gauche. Étant donné que les points d'attache de l'aile au fuselage n'ont pas été modifiés, l'assemblage forcé de l'aile gauche en raison de la corde plus courte a pu occasionner des contraintes internes à la structure.

De telle contraintes ont pu causer une fracture en surcharge d'un élément de l'aile lors de la collision de l'aile gauche avec la surface de l'eau peu de temps avant le décollage, ce qui aurait entraîné l'affaiblissement structural de l'aile gauche et provoqué sa rupture en vol peu de temps après.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Faits établis

  1. Le pilote ne possédait pas la licence lui permettant de transporter un passager.
  2. Lors d'une tentative de décollage précédente, le bout de l'aile gauche avait percuté la surface du lac.
  3. L'appareil était en vol de croisière lorsque l'aile gauche s'est repliée vers le haut et vers l'arrière.
  4. Toutes les fractures sont attribuables à des surcharges instantanées.
  5. L'aile gauche s'est repliée à la suite d'une faiblesse structurale préexistante.
  6. Le longeron principal de l'aile gauche avait été remplacé par un longeron dont le diamètre était inférieur à celui prescrit par le constructeur.
  7. La faiblesse structurale peut avoir été causée lors de la collision de l'extrémité de l'aile gauche avec la surface de l'eau peu avant le décollage.
  8. Les résultats des analyses toxicologiques ont révélé la présence de cocaïne et de métabolites de cocaïne dans l'urine du pilote.
  9. Il n'a pas été possible d'établir si des facteurs physiologiques avaient perturbé les capacités du pilote.

3.2 Causes

L'aile gauche de l'ultra-léger a cédé en vol à la suite d'une faiblesse structurale préexistante qui a pu être causée lors d'une collision de l'extrémité de l'aile gauche avec la surface de l'eau peu de temps avant le décollage.

4.0 Mesures de sécurité

Le Bureau n'a, jusqu'ici, recommandé aucune mesure de sécurité.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 10 juillet 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président John W. Stants, et des membres Zita Brunet et Hugh MacNeil.

Annexe A - Liste des rapports pertinents

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 142/94 - Left Wing Failure Analysis (Analyse de la défaillance de l'aile gauche).

On peut obtenir ces rapports en s'adressant au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada.

Annexe B - Sigles et abréviations

BST - Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
h - heure(s)
HAE - heure avancée de l'Est
kg - kilogramme(s)
N/D - non disponible
ONA - Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne
UTC - temps universel coordonné
VFR - règles de vol à vue
· degré(s)
' minute(s)