Aviation Investigation Report A94Q0198

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Stall and Loss of Control During Initial Climb
Champion/7EAC C-GUHX
Sainte-Marie-Salomé, Quebec
15 October 1994

Summary

The passenger and the pilot, who was also the owner of the aircraft and held an instructor rating and night flight endorsement, had planned a pre-dawn local flight. They made a night take-off around 0600 eastern daylight saving time (EDT)(1) from the unmarked runway at Sainte-Marie-Salomé, Quebec. After the take-off, the pilot executed a right turn. The aircraft stalled at low altitude and crashed in a corn field. The two occupants sustained fatal injuries on ground impact.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot was qualified in accordance with existing regulations and had accumulated 937 flying hours, including 253 hours in the Champion aircraft, registration C-GUHX. His most recent night flight in this aircraft was on 14 June 1994, four months before the accident. On 05 June 1994, he had also made a night flight in this aircraft from the Sainte-Marie-Salomé aerodrome. He was very familiar with this aerodrome and the surrounding area.

The Champion was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The take-off weight of the aircraft was calculated at 110 pounds over the maximum allowable, and the centre of gravity was slightly beyond the aft limit. Excessive weight and an aft centre of gravity are conducive to stalling. The on-board instruments met the minimum regulatory requirement for night flying. The aircraft was not equipped with a horizon indicator, nor was one required.

The propeller and spinner exhibited no signs of rotation or corn stains, indicating that the engine was producing little or no power and that the propeller was barely turning on impact. A complete examination of the engine of the Champion revealed no anomalies and no foreign matter in the fuel system. Following the impact, the fuel drained out through the broken fuel lines and no samples could be collected. Water or other contaminants could have caused the engine to stop abruptly. The manufacturer authorizes the use of automotive gasoline (MOGAS) in this aircraft. The pilot had topped up with this type of fuel the day before the accident. This fuel is more volatile than other aviation fuels (AVGAS) and more susceptible to carburettor icing, which would have caused a progressive loss of power.

Examination of the airspeed and turn and bank indicators of the aircraft by the TSB Engineering Laboratory yielded no useable information. However, the tachometer indicated that rpm was close to zero at the time of the crash. Also, analysis of the crushed portions of the exhaust stacks adjacent to the cylinders indicated that they were at normal operating temperature at the time of impact.

At 0600 EDT, there were no clouds; the temperature was minus one degree Celsius, the dew point was minus three degrees Celsius, and the winds were light. Nautical twilight, when the outline of objects on the ground is visible, was at 0605 EDT. It was daylight by 0640 EDT, and sunrise was at 0705 EDT. Conditions were conducive to the formation of frost and ice on surfaces and severe carburettor icing. The temperature fell until sunrise, then rose again, creating more severe frost and icing conditions at sunrise. The frost was light around 0600 EDT, and icing was present on the wings of another aircraft at 0800 EDT.

Runway 21 used for the take-off is a dirt and sand road oriented 030/210 degrees magnetic. The runway measures 3,000 feet long by 15 feet wide and is not marked. There are trees about 50 feet in height along both sides of the runway over a distance of about 2,000 feet. The trees located between 30 and 50 degrees on the right side of the runway are considerably farther away, and pilots who use this runway on a regular basis always execute a right turn after take-off.

The Champion crashed 800 feet to the right of the runway 21 centre line and 800 feet past the departure end. The aircraft exhibited all the signs of a low-altitude stall but no evidence of a spin. The first person to arrive at the accident site, around 0845 EDT, indicated there were none of the noises or cracking sounds normally associated with an engine cooling down, and no evidence of ice on the wings.

There were no witnesses to the accident. However, a schedule of activities of the pilot and passenger established their arrival time at the aerodrome at 0540 EDT. As 15 to 20 minutes would be sufficient to prepare for take-off, the Champion would have taken off around 0600 EDT.

The wreckage was discovered around 0830 EDT by another pilot during a take-off from the same runway. Based on the overflight times of the Search and Rescue satellites (SARSAT), it was established that the accident occurred between 0544 and 0718 EDT. Reading of the Montreal surveillance radar tapes (ASR 5), based on primary information, indicated that no air traffic movements originated and terminated within a five nautical mile (nm) radius of Sainte-Marie-Salomé between 0540 and 0718 EDT.

The take-off from the unmarked runway 21 and the initial climb were executed in a southwesterly direction toward unlit fields which offered little contrast with the sky and made the horizon hard to distinguish at night. Also, when the nose of the aircraft is pitched up to establish a climb attitude, the pilot loses his references with the ground ahead of him.

To orient themselves in flight and determine their position in relation to the ground, pilots use their senses of sight, hearing, and touch, and their kinaesthetic (muscle-bone-joint) sense. In visual flight by day, the information needed to maintain control of the aircraft is provided by visual reference to the ground or horizon. In visual flight by night, pilots must also refer to the horizon, if it is visible, as well as outside lights. They must also refer to a few essential instruments to maintain the aircraft in the correct attitude. These instruments were on board the Champion. Without sufficient visual references, pilots can become disoriented and may not realize the actual position of the aircraft in relation to the ground. Disorientation is defined as the false perception and/or interpretation of aircraft attitude with regard to horizontal and gravitational references.

Analysis

The sequence of events could not be determined. However, the factual information established that there was a stall and loss of control at low altitude, that the engine was producing little or no power, and that the propeller was barely rotating at the time of the crash. In addition, the normal exhaust temperature indicates that power decreased rapidly shortly before impact.

The cause of the rapid power decrease could not be determined. There was no evidence that the decreased power on impact was caused by engine component failure. It is unlikely that the pilot throttled back to idle to reduce impact deceleration forces because, based on the marks and the tachometer reading near zero, the propeller was barely turning. However, the decrease in power could have been the result of a power loss due to fuel system contamination or carburettor icing. Although it could not be determined that the fuel was contaminated, the rapidity of the power decrease suggests that it is more likely that a power loss was caused by fuel contamination than by carburettor icing.

The cause of the stall and loss of control at low altitude could not be determined. Meteorological conditions do not appear to have been conducive to icing on the surfaces before or during the flight, and probably did not contribute to the loss of control. However, the aft centre of gravity and excessive weight of the aircraft were conducive to stalling.

If a power loss occurred during the initial climb, the pilot would have had to react to this emergency while very close to the ground, and with obstacles in his path. Dealing with this problem could have diverted his attention from his primary task of flying the aircraft, or caused spatial disorientation, resulting in a stall and loss of control.

The exact time of the accident could not be determined. However, based on the pilot and passenger's schedule and the 15 to 20 minutes of preparation normally required, the take-off probably occurred in night VFR conditions around 0600 EDT. The location of the crash site, near the airport and along the usual take-off path, indicates that the accident occurred during the initial climb after take-off, which was corroborated by the absence of radar returns in the immediate area during the relevant period. In addition, the absence of the cracking sounds that are associated with engine cool-down indicates that the crash occurred well before the first person arrived at the site.

Outside visual references were probably limited because: 1- the take-off was executed during the hours of darkness from an unmarked runway; 2- the horizon was difficult to see in the dark; 3- poor outside light conditions existed along the take-off path over unlit fields; 4- the pitched-up attitude obscured the view of the ground below and ahead of the aircraft during the initial climb. Lack of external visual references during the initial climb may have resulted in a stall and loss of control following spatial disorientation.

The stall and loss of control occurred at low altitude, and the available external visual references, which were probably limited, did not allow the pilot to effect recovery before the crash.

The following laboratory reports were completed:

  • LP 174/94 - Instrument Analysis; and
  • LP 175/94 - Exhaust Pipe Analysis.

Findings

  1. The engine was developing little or no power and the propeller was barely turning at the time of the crash.
  2. The cause of the rapid decrease in engine power shortly before the crash could not be determined.
  3. It could not be determined whether the rapid decrease in power occurred before or after the aircraft stalled at low altitude.
  4. The aircraft was 110 pounds overweight and its centre of gravity was beyond the aft limit, contributing to the possibility of a stall.
  5. The low altitude and the available external visual references, which were probably limited, did not allow the pilot to effect a recovery after the stall and loss of control.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The cause of the stall and loss of control at low altitude could not be determined. The rapid decrease in engine power, the overloaded state of the aircraft, and the aft centre of gravity were contributing factors in the accident.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson John W. Stants, and members Zita Brunet and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 21 April 1995.


1. All times are EDT (Coordinated Universal Time minus four hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94Q0198

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Décrochage et perte de contrôle durant la montée initiale
Champion/7EAC C-GUHX
Ste-Marie Salome (Québec)
15 octobre 1994

Résumé

Le passager et le pilote, qui était propriétaire de l'appareil et possédait également les qualifications d'instructeur et de vol de nuit, avaient planifié un vol de nuit local avant le lever du jour. Ils ont décollé de nuit vers 6 h, heure avancée de l'Est (HAE)(1) de la piste non-balisée de Sainte-Marie-Salomé (Québec). Après le décollage, le pilote a effectué un virage à droite. A basse altitude, l'appareil a décroché et s'est écrasé dans un champ de maïs. Les deux occupants ont subi des blessures mortelles lors de l'impact avec le sol.

This report is also available in Eglish.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote était qualifié conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et totalisait 937 heures de vol, dont 253 heures sur l'appareil Champion C-GUHX. Son dernier vol de nuit sur cet appareil remontait au 14 juin 1994, soit quatre mois avant l'accident. Le 5 juin 1994, il avait effectué un autre vol de nuit sur cet appareil à partir de l'aérodrome de Sainte-Marie-Salomé. Il était très familier avec cet aérodrome et son environnement.

Le Champion était certifié, équipé et entrenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. Le poids calculé de l'appareil au décollage dépassait de 110 livres le poids maximum autorisé, et la limite arrière du centre de gravité était légèrement dépassée. Une masse excessive et un centrage arrière favorisent le décrochage d'un avion. Les instruments de bord rencontraient le minimum requis par la réglementation pour le vol de nuit. Il n'y avait aucun horizon artificiel à bord de l'appareil et aucun n'était requis.

La casserole d'hélice (spinner) et l'hélice ne présentaient aucune marque de rotation ni de tache provenant du maïs, indiquant que le moteur produisait peu ou pas de puissance et que l'hélice tournait à peine à l'impact. L'examen complet du moteur du Champion n'a révélé aucune anomalie, et aucun corps étranger n'était présent dans le système d'alimentation. Après l'impact, l'essence s'est écoulée par les canalisations brisées et aucun échantillon n'a pu être prélevé. De la contamination, telle que de l'eau, aurait pu provoquer un arrêt soudain du moteur. Le manufacturier autorise l'utilisation de l'essence automobile (MOGAS) pour cet appareil. Le pilote avait fait le plein avec ce type d'essence la veille de l'accident. Ce carburant est plus volatile que les autres essences d'aviation (AVGAS) et plus sujet au givrage du carburateur, ce qui aurait provoqué une perte de puissance graduelle.

Selon l'expertise du Laboratoire d'ingénierie du BST, les indicateurs de vitesse, de virage et d'inclinaison latérale de l'appareil n'ont pu fournir aucune information valable. Cependant, le tachymètre indiquait que les tours/minute étaient près de zéro lors de l'écrasement. Également, l'analyse des portions pliées des tuyaux d'échappement adjacents à la sortie des cylindres indique qu'ils étaient à une température normale d'opération à l'impact.

À 6 h HAE, il n'y avait aucun nuage; la température était de moins un degré Celsius, le point de rosée était de moins trois degrés Celsius, et les vents étaient légers. L'aurore nautique, où le contour des objets au sol est visible, était à 6 h 05 HAE. Le jour commençait à 6 h 40 HAE et le lever du soleil était à 7 h 05 HAE. Les conditions étaient propices à la formation de frimas et de givre sur les surfaces ainsi qu'au givrage intense au carburateur. La température a diminué jusqu'au lever du soleil et a par la suite remonté, donnant des conditions de frimas et de givre plus intenses au lever du soleil. Le frimas était léger vers 6 h HAE, et du givre était présent sur les ailes d'un autre appareil à 8 h HAE.

La piste 21 utilisée pour le décollage est une route de terre et de sable orientée 030/210 degrés magnétique. La piste mesure 3 000 pieds de long par 15 pieds de large et n'est pas balisée. Des arbres s'élèvent à environ 50 pieds sur une distance d'environ 2 000 pieds dans l'axe et de part et d'autre de la piste. Les arbres situés entre 30 et 50 degrés à droite de l'axe de piste sont beaucoup plus éloignés et les pilotes qui utilisent cette piste régulièrement effectuent de rigueur un virage à droite après le décollage.

Le Champion s'est écrasé à 800 pieds à droite de l'axe de piste et 800 pieds passé l'extrémité de la piste 21. L'appareil exhibait tous les signes d'un décrochage à basse altitude, sans aucune évidence de vrille. Selon la première personne arrivée au site de l'accident vers 8 h 45 HAE, il n'y avait aucun bruit ni craquement normalement associé au refroidissement d'un moteur, et aucun signe de givre n'apparaissait sur les ailes.

Il n'y a eu aucun témoin de l'accident. Cependant, une cédule des activités du pilote et du passager établissait l'heure de leur arrivée à l'aérodrome à 5 h 40 HAE. Puisque 15 à 20 minutes de préparation avant le décollage sont adéquates, le Champion aurait décollé vers 6 h HAE.

L'épave a été découverte vers 8 h 30 HAE par un autre pilote lors de son décollage de la même piste. Les passages des satellites de Recherches et sauvetage (SARSAT) ont déterminé que l'accident serait survenu entre 05 h 44 et 07 h 18 HAE. La lecture des bandes enregistrées du radar de surveillance (ASR 5) de Montréal a été effectuée et, selon l'information primaire, aucun mouvement de trafic aérien n'a débuté et terminé dans un rayon de cinq milles nautiques (nm) de Sainte-Marie-Salomé entre 5 h 40 et 7 h 18 HAE.

Le décollage de la piste 21 non-balisée et la montée initiale se sont effectués en direction sud-ouest vers des champs sans lumières, contrastant peu avec le ciel et rendant l'horizon difficilement discernable de nuit. Également, dès que le nez de l'appareil est cabré pour établir l'assiette de montée, le pilote perd ses références au sol devant lui.

Pour s'orienter en vol et déduire sa position par rapport au sol, le pilote se fie à la vision, l'ouie, le toucher, et les sens kinesthésiques. En vol à vue de jour, l'information nécessaire au maintien du contrôle de l'appareil est assurée par la référence visuelle avec le sol ou l'horizon. En vol à vue de nuit, le pilote doit se fier également à l'horizon, si celui-çi est visible, et sur des lumières extérieures. Il doit également se référer à quelques instruments essentiels pour conserver la bonne assiette de l'appareil. Ces instruments étaient à bord du Champion. Sans références visuelles adéquates, le pilote peut devenir désorienté et ne pas réaliser la position réelle de l'appareil par rapport au sol. La désorientation est une fausse perception et/ou interprétation de l'assiette de l'appareil par rapport à des références horizontales et gravitationnelles.

Analyse

La séquence des événements n'a pu être déterminée. Cependant, l'information factuelle permet d'établir, d'une part, qu'il y a eu décrochage et perte de contrôle à basse altitude et, d'autre part, que le moteur développait peu ou pas de puissance et que l'hélice tournait à peine lors de l'écrasement. De plus, la température normale de l'échappement indique qu'une diminution de puissance s'est produite rapidement, peu avant l'impact.

La raison de la diminution rapide de la puissance n'a pu être déterminée. Rien n'indique qu'une défaillance des composants du moteur aie pu être à l'origine de la faible puissance à l'impact. Cependant, il est peu probable que le pilote ait réduit la puissance du moteur au ralenti afin de diminuer les forces de décélération à l'impact puisque, selon les marques et l'indication du tachymètre près de zéro, l'hélice tournait à peine. Par contre, une diminution de la puissance aurait pu avoir comme origine une perte de puissance causée soit par une contamination du système d'alimentation, soit par le givrage du carburateur. Malgré que la présence de contaminants n'a pu être déterminée, la rapidité avec laquelle la puissance a diminué indique qu'il est plus probable qu'une perte de puissance aie été causée par la contamination du système d'alimentation plutôt que par le givrage du carburateur.

La cause du décrochage et de la perte de contrôle à basse altitude n'a pu être déterminée. Les conditions météorologiques ne semblent pas avoir été propices à la formation de givre sur les surfaces, avant ou pendant le vol, et n'ont probablement pas contribué à la perte de contrôle. Par contre, le centre de gravité dépassant la limite arrière et le poids excessif de l'avion favorisaient l'éventualité d'un décrochage.

Dans le cas où une perte de puissance serait survenue durant la montée initiale, le pilote se devait de réagir à cette situation d'urgence alors qu'il était très près du sol et avec des obstacles sur son trajet. Son attention, portée à ce problème, a pu diverger de sa tâche première de voler l'avion ou mener à une désorientation spatiale et donnant lieu au décrochage et à une perte de contrôle.

Le moment exact de l'accident n'a pu être déterminé. Cependant, selon la cédule du pilote et du passager et les 15 à 20 minutes de préparation normalement requises, le décollage a vraisemblablement eu lieu en conditions VFR de nuit vers 06 h 00 HAE. Le lieu de l'écrasement, situé à proximité de l'aéroport et le long de la trajectoire coutumière de décollage, indique que l'accident est survenu durant la montée initiale suivant le décollage, ce qui est corroboré par l'absence de retour radar dans la région immédiate au cours de la période concernée. De plus, l'absence de craquements liés au refroidissement moteur indique que l'écrasement s'est produit bien avant l'arrivée de la première personne sur les lieux.

Les références visuelles externes étaient vraisemblablement limitées en raison : 1- du décollage effectué de nuit à partir d'une piste non-balisée; 2- de l'horizon difficilement discernable de nuit; 3- des conditions de luminosité extérieures précaires le long de la trajectoire de départ survolant des champs non-éclairés; 4- de l'attitude cabrée masquant le sol sous le nez devant l'avion durant la montée initiale. Un manque de références visuelles externes lors de la montée initiale a pu mener au décrochage et à la perte de contrôle suite à une désorientation spatiale.

Le décrochage et la perte de contrôle se sont produits à basse altitude, alors que les références visuelles externes vraisemblablement limitées n'ont pas permis au pilote de récupérer l'appareil avant l'écrasement.

L'enquête a donné lieu aux rapports de laboratoire suivants :

  • LP 174/94 - Instrument Analysis (Analyse d'instruments)
  • LP 175/94 - Exhaust Pipe Analysis (Analyse des tuyaux d'échappement)

Faits établis

  1. Le moteur développait peu ou pas de puissance et l'hélice tournait à peine lors de l'écrasement.
  2. La raison de la diminution rapide de puissance du moteur peu avant l'écrasement n'a pu être déterminée.
  3. Il n'a pu être déterminé si la diminution rapide de la puissance a précédé ou suivi le décrochage à basse altitude de l'avion.
  4. L'appareil était surchargé de 110 livres et son centre de gravité excédait la limite arrière, favorisant l'éventualité d'un décrochage.
  5. La faible altitude et les références visuelles externes vraisemblablement limitées n'ont pas permis au pilote de récupérer l'appareil suite au décrochage et à la perte de contrôle.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

La cause du décrochage et de la perte de contrôle à basse altitude n'a pu être déterminée. La diminution rapide de la puissance du moteur, la surcharge et le centre de gravité excédant la limite arrière ont pu contribuer à l'accident.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 21 avril 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Zita Brunet et Hugh MacNeil.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné moins 4 heures) sauf indication contraire.