Aviation Investigation Report A94Q0225

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Nosewheel Failure on Landing<br /> Régionair Inc.
DHC-6-200 (Twin Otter) C-FJCL
Tête-à-la-Baleine, Quebec
12 December 1994

Summary

The Régionair Inc. Twin Otter was on a visual flight from Chevery, Quebec, to Tête-à-la-Baleine, Quebec. On landing, with the co-pilot flying, the aircraft touched down on the runway and bounced. After the second touchdown, the nosewheel failed and the aircraft veered to the left and came to rest off the runway. The crew and passengers were not injured.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Factual Information

The active runway is oriented 360 degrees magnetic. Its length is 1,320 feet, and its usable width, 65 feet. The even runway surface of hard-packed sandy soil was frozen. There were no holes or irregularities on the runway surface.

Local meteorological conditions were favourable for the flight. The winds in the area surrounding the airport were reported to be from about 300 degrees magnetic and blowing in strong gusts.

The aircraft touched down at about 60 knots with flaps down at 37.5 degrees. After initial contact with the runway, the aircraft bounced about 160 feet.

Examination of the nosewheel indicated no anomalies in its installation. Visual examination of the nosewheel parts indicates that the piston failed in the threaded section where it attaches to the fork.

Examination by the TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory revealed that the nosewheel piston was manufactured in accordance with the manufacturer's specifications. No initiating fatigue was observed. It was established that the piston fracture was due entirely to overloading from the right side, which forced the nosewheel to bend to the left on landing.

Analysis

Meteorological conditions indicate that the wind was gusting from the left side of the runway. On landing, the aircraft touched down hard, undoubtedly with some crab, and bounced a considerable distance before touching down a second time, causing the nosewheel to fail.

The nosewheel failed in overload as a result of lateral forces originating from the right side, and the crew was unable to maintain directional control of the aircraft.

The following laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 07/95 - Nose Landing-Gear Fork Analysis.

Findings

  1. There were strong gusts of wind at the time of the occurrence.
  2. The wind was blowing across the runway at a 60-degree angle.
  3. The aircraft bounced on initial contact with the frozen surface of the short runway.
  4. The nosewheel piston failed in overload from right to left.

Causes and Contributing Factors

On landing, the nosewheel failed in overload as a result of forces applied to the fork from the right side. Strong cross-winds were a contributing factor in this accident.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Zita Brunet and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 05 July 1995.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94Q0225

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Rupture de la roue de nez à l'atterrissage
Régionair Inc.
DHC-6-200 Twin Otter C-FJCL
Tête-à-la-Baleine (Québec)
12 décembre 1994

Résumé

L'aéronef de type Twin Otter de la compagnie Régionair Inc. effectuait un vol à vue de Chevery (Québec) à Tête-à-la-Baleine (Québec). Lors de l'atterrissage, alors que le copilote était aux commandes, l'aéronef a touché la piste et a rebondi. Après le second toucher, la roue de nez s'est rompue, et l'aéronef s'est dirigé vers la gauche avant de s'immobiliser hors de la piste. L'équipage et les passagers n'ont subi aucune blessure.

This report is also available in English.

Renseignements de base

La piste en service est orientée au 360 degrés magnétique. Elle a une longueur de 1 320 pieds et une largeur utilisable de 65 pieds. Sa surface en terre sablonneuse compacte et uniforme était gelée. La surface de la piste ne présentait ni trous ni irrégularités.

Les conditions météorologiques locales étaient favorables au vol. Il a été rapporté que les vents dans le secteur de l'aéroport étaient du 300 degrés magnétique et soufflaient en fortes bourrasques.

L'aéronef s'est posé à environ 60 noeuds, avec volets sortis à 37,5 degrés. Après le contact initial avec la piste, l'aéronef a fait un rebond d'environ 160 pieds.

L'examen de la roue de nez n'a révélé aucune anomalie d'installation. L'examen visuel des pièces de la roue de nez a révélé que le piston s'était rompu dans la partie filetée qui est à la jonction de la fourche.

L'examen effectué par le Laboratoire technique du BST a révélé que le piston de la roue de nez avait été fabriqué selon les normes du constructeur. De plus, aucune fatigue initiale n'a été décelée. Il a été établi que la fracture du piston s'est effectuée entièrement en surcharge provenant de la droite, forçant la roue à se replier vers la gauche lors de l'atterrissage.

Analyse

Les conditions météorologiques indiquent qu'il y avait des bourrasques de vent venant de la gauche de la piste. À l'atterrissage, l'aéronef a touché durement la piste, fort probablement avec un mouvement latéral, et a fait un rebond important avant de toucher le sol une seconde fois, ce qui a provoqué la rupture de la roue de nez.

La roue de nez s'est rompue en surcharge sous l'action des forces latérales exercées de la droite vers la gauche, et l'équipage n'a pas pu garder la maîtrise en direction de l'appareil.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 07/95 - Nose Landing-Gear Fork Analysis (Analyse du train d'atterrissage avant)

Faits établis

  1. Il y avait de fortes bourrasques de vent au moment de l'événement.
  2. Les vents traversiers soufflaient à 60 degrés par rapport à la piste.
  3. L'aéronef a fait un rebond lors du contact initial avec la piste courte dont la surface était gelée.
  4. Le piston de la roue de nez s'est rompu en surcharge de la droite vers la gauche.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Lors de l'atterrissage, la roue de nez s'est rompue en surcharge, sous l'action de contraintes qui se sont exercées sur la fourche, en provenance du côté droit. Les forts vents traversiers ont contribué à l'accident.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 05 juillet 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Zita Brunet et Hugh MacNeil.