Aviation Investigation Report A94W0037

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Engine Failure / Hard Landing
Turbowest Helicopters Limited
Aerospatiale AS350B Astar (Helicopter) C-FHBG
High Prairie, Alberta 62 nm NE
04 April 1994

Summary

The pilot was transporting a patient to a ground vehicle that was waiting to transfer the patient to the High Prairie Hospital. While the helicopter was circling to land, the engine suddenly lost all power, and the pilot carried out an autorotation. The helicopter touched down heavily, collapsed the skid gear, then rolled onto its left side. The helicopter was substantially damaged; however, the three occupants were not injured.

The Board determined that the floor-mounted fuel flow control lever was inadvertently moved to the closed position, resulting in fuel starvation to the engine, a total loss of engine power, and low rotor rpm.

Le présent rapport est également disponible en français.

1.0 Factual information

1.1 History of the flight

On 04 April 1994, the pilot was flying an Aerospatiale AS350B helicopter, C-FHBG, operated by Turbowest Helicopters Limited, and was transporting a patient on a stretcher from a rural seismic site to a ground vehicle so that the patient could be transferred to the High Prairie Hospital. The helicopter engineer was also on board.

The pilot was circling over a road to determine if it was free of vehicular traffic for his landing. While at about 150 feet above ground level (agl),Footnote 1 at an airspeed of about 70 knots, the pilot experienced and corrected for a yaw. At this time the low rotor rpm warning sounded. He determined that the engine (Turbomeca Arriel 1B) had lost all power. An autorotation was carried out into the only available clearing in a wooded area.

Shortly before the low rotor rpm warning sounded, the patient on board was attempting to adjust a knapsack that had been placed under his dislocated right knee to help relieve the pain. The engineer witnessed this, and, realizing the potential danger of the knapsack contacting the fuel flow control lever, he left his seat to assist. It was while he was assisting the patient with the knapsack that the low rotor rpm warning horn sounded and the engine lost all power. The engineer surmised that the fuel flow control lever had inadvertently been moved, and he quickly repositioned it to the full forward (emergency) position. The engine did not regain power. The engineer immediately returned to his seat, but was unable to refasten his seat-belt prior to ground impact.

The helicopter landed heavily, collapsed the skid gear, skidded about 176 feet, rolled onto its left side, and turned about 125 degrees to the right before coming to rest. The occupants were not injured.

The helicopter struck terrain at latitude 55°45′N and longitude 115°48′W, at 1900 mountain standard time (MST)Footnote 2 during the hours of daylight, at an elevation of 2,350 feet above sea level (asl)Footnote 3.

1.2 Injuries to persons

  Crew Passengers Others Total
Fatal - - - -
Serious - - - -
Minor/None 1 2 - 3
Total 1 2 - 3

1.3 Damage to aircraft

The helicopter was substantially damaged.

1.4 Other damage

There was no other damage.

1.5 Personnel information

  Pilot-in-Command
Age 40
Pilot Licence Commercial
Medical Expiry Date 01 Sept 1994
Total Flying Time 1,900 hr
Total on Type 80 hr
Total Last 90 Days 80 hr
Total on Type Last 90 Days 80 hr
Hours on Duty Prior to Occurrence 11.5 hr
Hours off Duty Prior to Work Period 10.5 hr

1.5.1 The pilot

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. The pilot had been recently checked out on, and completed a Pilot Proficiency Check (PPC) on, the AS350B type helicopter. During the check-out, he had carried out several successful "full on" autorotations.

1.6 Aircraft information

Particulars
Manufacturer Aerospatiale
Type AS350B
Year of Manufacture 1981
Serial Number 1440
Certificate of Airworthiness (Flight Permit) valid
Total Airframe Time 3,308.2 hours
Engine Type (number of) Turbomeca Arriel 1B (1)
Propeller/Rotor Type (number of) Semi Articulated Single Rotor (3)
Maximum Allowable Take-off Weight 4,300 pounds
Recommended Fuel Type(s) Jet B
Fuel Type Used Jet B

1.6.1 Additional helicopter information

The helicopter was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.

1.6.2 Helicopter control quadrant

The control quadrant is located on the cockpit/cabin floor, adjacent to the pilot's seat. It consists of a rotor brake control, a fuel flow control lever, a start switch, and a fuel shut-off control lever.

The fuel flow control is a flexible control lever located inside a three-position, two-gate slot. The three positions are: "closed," "flight" (or "open"), and "emergency." The full aft or "closed" position shuts off the fuel to the engine; the centre or "flight" position is utilized for normal engine operation; the full forward or "emergency" position supplies fuel to the engine under emergency conditions.

The fuel flow control lever is biased to the left and drops into one of the two "gates." To change the fuel flow control lever position, the lever must be physically moved to the right, to escape the "gate" position that it is in, before it can be moved in either a fore or aft direction. The effort required to physically move this lever to the right is minimal.

1.7 Meteorological information

The weather conditions as reported by the pilot were as follows: clear skies, with the wind out of the west at 10 knots, a surface temperature of plus 2 degrees Celsius, and visibility of over 15 miles. Daylight conditions prevailed, and the weather was not considered to be a factor in the occurrence.

1.8 The stretcher installation

The stretcher was placed on the left side of the cabin floor, in a fore and aft position, with the patient's head placed towards the rear of the helicopter. The stretcher was secured by the left front seat-belt of the helicopter. The patient was secured to the stretcher by two safety straps provided with the stretcher.

1.9 Wreckage and impact information

The helicopter was descending at a 37-degree angle, in a nose-high attitude, on a magnetic heading of 255 degrees magnetic, when it struck three 30-foot trees. It then travelled another 60 feet before the tail rotor struck the frozen ground. Thirty-six feet farther along, the skid gear struck the ground and was torn off. After bouncing/sliding a further 35 feet, a large section of the tail boom, vertical fin, and tail rotor assembly was torn off. The helicopter continued a further 45 feet, where it came to rest on its left side, on a magnetic heading of 020 degrees. Numerous small pieces of debris were scattered along the wreckage trail. The cargo hook had penetrated the fuel cell, but there was no noticeable fuel leakage.

The only clearing available was of ample size, but surrounded by high trees. The surface of the clearing was rough, undulating, and unsuitable for a "run on" type landing. The pilot was faced with the decision to autorotate and land in the high trees or to make a "run on" autorotation and landing in the clearing.

2.0 Analysis

2.1 Introduction

The helicopter was airworthy prior to impact, and the weather was not considered a factor. The pilot had recently demonstrated that he was competent in autorotations in the AS350B helicopter. Therefore, the analysis will focus on the human and environmental aspects to determine why this accident occurred.

2.2 The inadvertent movement of the fuel flow control lever

When a stretcher patient is carried in the Aerospatiale AS350B helicopter, the patient's right knee is close to the fuel flow control lever. The engineer, realizing the potential hazard of bumping the fuel flow control lever, was assisting the patient with the knapsack when the engine lost all power. It could not be determined who inadvertently moved the fuel flow control lever towards the "closed" position. This action caused fuel starvation to the engine and resulted in a total loss of engine power and a low rotor rpm.

2.3 The autorotation

Although the size of the clearing available was suitable for an autorotation, the uneven surface was not suitable for a "run on" type landing. When the pilot was faced with the decision to land in the high trees, he made the decision to do a "run on" autorotation landing in the only clearing available. The nose-high attitude of the helicopter when it struck the ground and the relatively long wreckage trail suggest that the pilot attempted to reduce the airspeed and possibly regain some rotor rpm prior to levelling the helicopter for the landing. The low rotor rpm, which was not recovered prior to ground impact, resulted in a high rate of descent. The combination of low altitude, low rotor rpm, relatively high groundspeed at impact, and the uneven terrain resulted in an autorotation with damage to the helicopter.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Findings

  1. The fuel flow control lever was accidentally moved out of the "flight" position, resulting in fuel starvation to the engine and a subsequent loss of all power.
  2. The fuel flow lever is not guarded or protected against inadvertent movement.
  3. The fuel flow control lever can be moved out of the "flight" position easily.
  4. The combination of low altitude, low rotor rpm, high groundspeed at impact, and uneven terrain resulted in an autorotation with substantial damage to the helicopter.
  5. The pilot was certified, trained, and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  6. he aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.

3.2 Causes

The floor-mounted fuel flow control lever was inadvertently moved to the closed position, resulting in fuel starvation to the engine, a total loss of engine power, and low rotor rpm.

4.0 Safety action

4.1 Action taken

On 22 September 1994, the TSB forwarded an Aviation Safety Information letter to Transport Canada (TC) regarding the possibility of inadvertent manipulation of the fuel control lever on the AS350B helicopter. TC and industry are investigating the feasibility of installing a control quadrant guard to reduce the likelihood of inadvertent fuel control lever movement.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, the Hon. Wilfred R. DuPont and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 17 February 1995.

Appendices

Appendix A - Glossary

agl
above ground level
asl
above sea level
hr
hour(s)
lb
pound(s)
MST
mountain standard time
nm
nautical miles
PPC
pilot proficiency check
TC
Transport Canada
TSB
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
UTC
Coordinated Universal Time
minute(s)
°
degree(s)
N
north
W
west
NE
northeast

Footnotes

Footnote 1

See Glossary for all abbreviations and acronyms.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

All times are MST (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus seven hours) unless otherwise stated.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Units are consistent with official manuals, documents, reports, and instructions used by or issued to the crew.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94W0037

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident aéronautique dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Panne moteur et atterrissage dur
Turbowest Helicopters Limited
Aerospatiale AS350B Astar, (hélicoptère) C-FHBG
62 nm au nord-est de High Prairie (Alberta)
4 avril 1994

Résumé

Le pilote transportait un blessé vers un véhicule au sol qui l'attendait pour le transférer à l'hôpital de High Prairie (Alberta). Alors que l'hélicoptère faisait une approche indirecte pour se poser, le moteur est brusquement tombé en panne. Le pilote a effectué une autorotation. L'hélicoptère s'est posé durement au sol, le train d'atterrissage à patin s'est affaissé, puis l'appareil a basculé sur le côté gauche. L'hélicoptère a subi des dommages importants; les trois occupants n'ont pas été blessés.

Le Bureau a déterminé que le levier du régulateur de débit de carburant situé sur le plancher avait été déplacé accidentellement en position fermée, ce qui a coupé toute arrivée de carburant au moteur et causé une perte totale de puissance ainsi qu'un faible régime rotor.

1.0 Renseignements de base

1.1 Déroulement du vol

Le 4 avril 1994, le pilote de l'hélicoptère Aerospatiale AS350B immatriculé C-FHBG exploité par la Turbowest Helicopters Limited transportait un blessé sur un brancard, d'un endroit ayant subi des secousses sismiques à un véhicule au sol pour que le blessé puisse être transféré à l'hôpital de High Prairie (Alberta). Le mécanicien de l'hélicoptère se trouvait également à bord.

Le pilote tournait au-dessus d'une route pour s'assurer qu'il n'y avait pas de véhicules avant de se poser. Alors qu'il se trouvait à environ 150 pieds-sol, à une vitesse d'environ 70 noeuds, le pilote a senti un mouvement de lacet qu'il a alors corrigé. À ce moment, l'avertisseur de faible régime rotor s'est fait entendre. Le pilote a déterminé que le moteur (Turbomeca Arriel 1B) avait perdu toute sa puissance. Il a alors effectué une autorotation dans le seul endroit disponible.

Peu avant que l'avertisseur de faible régime rotor se fasse entendre, le blessé avait tenté d'ajuster un havresac qui

avait été placé sous son genou droit disloqué dans l'espoir de soulager la douleur. Le mécanicien a vu le blessé faire et, se rendant compte que le havresac risquait de toucher au levier du régulateur de débit de carburant, il est allé prêter main-forte au blessé. C'est pendant qu'il aidait le blessé avec le havresac que l'avertisseur de faible régime rotor s'est fait entendre et que le moteur a perdu toute sa puissance. Le mécanicien a présumé que quelqu'un avait accidentellement déplacé le levier du régulateur de débit de carburant, et il l'a rapidement remis en position complètement vers l'avant (EMERGENCY). La puissance du moteur ne s'est pas rétablie. Le mécanicien a alors immédiatement regagné sa place, mais n'a pas pu reboucler sa ceinture avant l'impact avec le sol.

L'hélicoptère s'est posé durement, le train d'atterrissage à patin s'est affaissé, il a glissé sur à peu près 176 pieds, a basculé sur le côté gauche et a pivoté d'environ 125 degrés sur la droite avant de s'immobiliser. Les occupants n'ont pas été blessés.

L'hélicoptère a heurté le sol par 55° 45′ de latitude Nord et 115° 48′ de longitude OuestNote de bas de page 1, à 19 h, heure normale des Rocheuses (HNR)Note de bas de page 2, avant le coucher du soleil, à une altitude de 2 350 pieds-mer.

1.2 Victimes

  Équipage Passagers Autres Total
Tués - - - -
Blessés graves - - - -
Blessés légers/Indemnes 1 2 - 3
Total 1 2 - 3

1.3 Dommages à l'aéronef

L'hélicoptère a subi des dommages importants.

1.4 Autres dommages

Il n'y a pas eu d'autres dommages.

1.5 Renseignements sur le personnel

  Pilote
Âge 40
Licence pilote professionnel
Date d'expiration du certificat de validation 1er septembre 1994
Nombre total d'heures de vol 1,900 hr
Nombre total d'heures de vol sur type en cause 80
Nombre total d'heures de vol dans les 90 derniers jours 80
Nombre total d'heures de vol sur type en cause dans les 90 derniers jours 80
Nombre d'heures de service avant l'événement 11,5
Nombre d'heures libres avant la prise de service 10,5

1.5.1 Le pilote

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il avait récemment fait l'objet d'un contrôle et subi une vérification de compétence pilote (PPC)Note de bas de page 3 sur l'hélicoptère AS350B. Pendant le contrôle, il avait réussi plusieurs autorotations complètes.

1.6 Renseignements sur l'aéronef

Généralités
Constructeur Aerospatiale
Type AS350B
Année de construction 1981
Numéro de série 1440
Certificat de navigabilité valid
Nombre total d'heures de vol cellule 3,308.2 hours
Type de moteur (nombre) Turbomeca Arriel 1B (1)
Type de rotor monorotor (nombre de pales) Monorotor semi-articulé (3 pales)
Masse maximale autorisée au décollage 4,300 lb
Type de carburant recommandé Jet B
Type de carburant utilisé Jet B

1.6.1 Renseignements additionnels sur l'hélicoptère

L'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.

1.6.2 Secteur du régulateur de l'hélicoptère

Le secteur du régulateur est situé sur le plancher du poste de pilotage et de la cabine, près du siège du pilote. Il comprend une commande de frein rotor, un levier du régulateur de débit de carburant, un interrupteur de démarrage et un levier coupe-feu de carburant .

Le levier du régulateur de débit de carburant est un levier flexible situé dans un coulisseau à trois positions et à deux crans. Les trois positions sont : CLOSED, FLIGHT (ou OPEN) et EMERGENCY. À la position complètement arrière (CLOSED), toute alimentation en carburant est coupée au moteur; la position centrale (FLIGHT) est utilisée pour le fonctionnement normal du moteur; enfin, la position complètement vers l'avant (EMERGENCY) fournit du carburant au moteur en cas d'urgence.

Le levier du régulateur de débit de carburant s'enclenche à gauche dans un des deux crans. Pour changer le levier de position, il faut le déplacer d'abord vers la droite pour le faire sortir du cran dans lequel il se trouve, puis le déplacer vers l'avant ou l'arrière. L'effort nécessaire pour déplacer le levier vers la droite est minime.

1.7 Renseignements météorologiques

Les conditions météorologiques signalées par le pilote étaient les suivantes : ciel dégagé, vent de l'ouest à 10 noeuds, température en surface de 2 degrés Celsius et visibilité supérieure à 15 milles. Il faisait encore jour. On a jugé que les conditions météorologiques n'avaient pas contribué à l'accident.

1.8 Installation du brancard

Le brancard avait été placé du côté gauche, sur le plancher de la cabine, parallèlement à l'axe longitudinal de l'hélicoptère, la tête du blessé se trouvant vers l'arrière de l'appareil. Le brancard était immobilisé par la ceinture de sécurité avant gauche de l'hélicoptère. Le blessé était retenu au moyen de deux courroies de sécurité faisant partie du brancard.

1.9 Renseignements sur l'épave et sur l'impact

Alors que l'hélicoptère descendait à un angle de 37 degrés, en cabré prononcé, au cap de 255 degrés magnétique, il a heurté trois arbres de 30 pieds de hauteur. Il a poursuivi sa course sur 60 pieds puis le rotor de queue a heurté le sol gelé. Trente-six pieds plus loin, le train d'atterrissage à patin a heurté le sol et a été arraché. Après avoir fait des rebonds, il a glissé sur 35 pieds, puis une grande partie de la poutre-fuselage, de la dérive et du rotor de queue ont été arrachés. L'hélicoptère a poursuivi sa course sur 45 pieds avant de s'immobiliser sur le côté gauche au cap de 020 degrés magnétique. L'hélicoptère a laissé un long sillon composé de nombreux petits débris. Le crochet délesteur de fret a percé le réservoir de carburant, mais il n'y a eu aucune fuite notable de carburant.

Le seul endroit dégagé disponible était de dimensions suffisantes, mais le terrain était entouré de grands arbres. Le terrain de la clairière était cahoteux et valonné, et ne convenait pas à un atterrissage glissé. Le pilote a dû décider soit d'effectuer une autorotation et de se poser dans de grands arbres, soit de faire une autorotation et un atterrissage glissé pour se poser dans la clairière.

2.0 Analyse

2.1 Introduction

L'hélicoptère était en mesure d'effectuer le vol avant l'impact, et on a jugé que les conditions météorologiques n'avaient pas contribué à l'accident. Le pilote avait récemment démontré qu'il était compétent dans les autorotations sur l'hélicoptère AS350B. Par conséquent, l'analyse porte sur les aspects humains et environnementaux afin de déterminer pourquoi l'accident est arrivé.

2.2 Déplacement accidentel du levier du régulateur de débit de carburant

Lorsqu'un blessé est transporté sur un brancard dans l'hélicoptère Aerospatiale AS350B, son genou droit est proche du levier du régulateur de débit de carburant. Le mécanicien était conscient que ce levier risquait d'être heurté et il aidait le blessé à manipuler le havresac lorsque le moteur a perdu toute sa puissance. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer qui avait déplacé accidentellement le levier du régulateur de débit de carburant sur la position CLOSED. Il s'est produit une interruption de l'alimentation en carburant au moteur, ce qui a causé une perte totale de puissance et un faible régime rotor.

2.3 Autorotation

La clairière était suffisamment grande pour accueillir l'hélicoptère en autorotation, mais sa surface cahoteuse ne se prêtait pas à un atterrissage glissé. Lorsque le pilote a dû prendre la décision de se poser dans de grands arbres, il a opté pour un atterrissage glissé dans la seule clairière disponible. L'assiette en cabré prononcé de l'hélicoptère au moment de l'impact avec le sol et le sillon relativement long laissé par l'hélicoptère laissent croire que le pilote a tenté de réduire la vitesse et, peut-être, de regagner du régime rotor avant de mettre l'hélicoptère en palier pour l'atterrissage. Le faible régime rotor, qui n'a pas augmenté avant l'impact avec le sol, s'est traduit par un taux de descente élevé. En raison de la faible altitude, du faible régime rotor, de la vitesse relativement élevée à l'impact et du terrain inégal, l'hélicoptère a été endommagé lors de l'atterrissage glissé.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Faits établis

  1. Le levier du régulateur de débit de carburant a été accidentellement déplacé de la position FLIGHT, ce qui a coupé l'alimentation en carburant au moteur et causé une perte totale de puissance.
  2. Le levier du régulateur de débit de carburant n'est pas muni d'un cache et n'est aucunement protégé contre les déplacements accidentels.
  3. Le levier du régulateur de débit de carburant peut être facilement déplacé de la position FLIGHT.
  4. En raison de la faible altitude, du faible régime rotor, de la vitesse relativement élevée à l'impact et du terrain inégal, l'hélicoptère a été endommagé lors de l'atterrissage glissé.
  5. Le pilote possédait la licence, la formation et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.
  6. L'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.

3.2 Causes

Le levier du régulateur de débit de carburant situé sur le plancher a été déplacé accidentellement en position fermée, ce qui a coupé toute arrivée de carburant au moteur et causé une perte totale de puissance ainsi qu'un faible régime rotor.

4.0 Mesures de sécurité

4.1 Mesures prises

Le 22 septembre 1994, le BST a envoyé une lettre d'information à Transports Canada concernant le fait que le levier du régulateur de débit de carburant de l'hélicoptère AS350B risque d'être déplacé accidentellement. Transports Canada et le milieu des hélicoptères examinent la possibilité d'installer un cache sur le secteur du régulateur, ce qui permettrait de réduire les risques de déplacement accidentel du levier du régulateur de débit de carburant.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 17 février 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, l'hon. Wilfred R. DuPont et Hugh MacNeil.

5.0 Annexes

Annexe A - Sigles et abréviations

BST
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
h
heure(s)
HNR
heure normale des Rocheuses
nm
mille(s) marin(s)
PPC
vérification compétence pilote
UTC
temps universel coordonné
minute(s)
°
degré(s)

Note en bas de page

Note 1

Les unités correspondent à celles des manuels officiels, des documents, des rapports et des instructions utilisés ou reçus par l'équipage.

Retour à la note 1 référent

Note 2

Les heures sont exprimées en HNR (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins sept heures, sauf indication contraire.

Retour à la note 2 référent

Note 3

Voir l'annexe A pour la signification des sigles et abréviations.

Retour à la note 3 référent