Aviation Investigation Report A94W0107

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Wing Failure
Taylorcraft BC12D-85 C-FXWA
Sylvan Lake, Alberta 3 mi SW
27 June 1994

Summary

The pilot made a low pass over a neighbour's farm then pulled the aircraft into a climb. Suddenly the aircraft began rolling to the right, then descended vertically into the ground. Examination of the aircraft revealed that a structural failure of the right rear wooden wing spar had occurred. The pilot was fatally injured.

The Board determined that the wing failure may have been the result of a previous occurrence involving damage to the right wing that was inadequately inspected both at the time of repair and during subsequent annual inspections.

Table of Contents

  1. 1.0 Factual Information
    1. 1.1 History of the Flight
    2. 1.2 Injuries to Persons
    3. 1.3 Damage to Aircraft
    4. 1.4 Other Damage
    5. 1.5 Personnel Information
    6. 1.5.1 Pilot Background
    7. 1.6 Aircraft Information
    8. 1.6.1 Maintenance History
    9. 1.7 Meteorological Information
    10. 1.8 Wreckage and Impact Information
    11. 1.8.1 Accident Site
    12. 1.8.2 Instrument Examination
    13. 1.8.3 Spar Failure
    14. 1.8.4 Engine and Fuel System Examination
    15. 1.8.5 Flight Controls
    16. 1.9 Medical Information
    17. 1.10 Fire
    18. 1.11 Survival Aspects
    19. 1.12 Additional Information
    20. 1.12.1 Regulatory Requirements for Inspection of Wooden Spars
    21. 1.12.2 Inadequate Inspection of Wooden Spars
  2. 2.0 Analysis
    1. 2.1 Spar Failure
    2. 2.2 Inspection
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Findings
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Safety Action
  5. 5.0 Appendices
    1. Appendix A - List of Supporting Reports
    2. Appendix B - Glossary

1.0 Factual Information

1.1 History of the Flight

After working on his farm since early morning, the pilot decided to conduct a local pleasure flight from a nearby farm strip where the aircraft was stored. The pilot refuelled the aircraft and then departed on his flight. As he had done in the past, the pilot made several low passes over a neighbour's farm. The neighbours went into the yard to wave to the pilot. As the pilot pulled the aircraft into a climb, the aircraft suddenly began rolling to the right, then descended vertically into a field of alfalfa. The neighbours called the police, and proceeded to the wreckage site where they found that the pilot had sustained fatal injuries.

The accident occurred at about 2100 mountain daylight time1 (MDT)2, at latitude 52·18'N, longitude 114·02'W, in daylight conditions.

1.2 Injuries to Persons

  Crew Passengers Others Total
Fatal 1 - - 1
Serious - - - -
Minor/None - - - -
Total 1 - - 1
  1. All times are MDT (Coordinated Universal Time [UTC] minus six hours) unless otherwise stated.
  2. See Glossary for all abbreviations and acronyms.

1.3 Damage to Aircraft

The aircraft was destroyed.

1.4 Other Damage

There was minor crop damage.

1.5 Personnel Information

Pilot-in-Command
Age - 47
Pilot Licence - PPL
Medical Expiry Date - 01 Dec 1994
Total Flying Time - 1,000 hr
Total on Type - 200 hr
Total Last 90 Days - 4 hr
Total on Type Last 90 Days - 4 hr
Hours on Duty Prior to Occurrence - 9 hr
Hours off Duty Prior to Work Period - 15 hr

1.5.1 Pilot Background

The pilot had obtained his private pilot licence (PPL) in 1972 and had owned several light aircraft prior to the purchase of the accident aircraft in 1986. The family was unable to locate the pilot's log-book.

1.6 Aircraft Information

Particulars
Manufacturer - Taylorcraft Inc.
Type - BC12D-85
Year of Manufacture - 1948
Serial Number - 12028
Certificate of Airworthiness (Flight Permit) - Valid
Total Airframe Time - 1,668 hr
Engine Type (number of) Continental C-85-8 - (1)
Propeller/Rotor TypeMcCauley (number of) 1B90/CM7146 - (1)
Maximum Allowable Take-off Weight - 1,280 lb
Recommended Fuel Type(s) - 80\87 Avgas
Fuel Type Used - Mogas

1.6.1 Maintenance History

The aircraft had last been certified airworthy during a Certificate of Airworthiness (C of A) Renewal/100-Hour Inspection on 28 December 1993 at 1,652.4 airframe hours. The aircraft had been inactive for some time, and had been ferried to a maintenance facility for servicing.

The aircraft technical logs indicate that in July 1985, at 1,571.2 airframe hours (96.8 hours prior to the accident), the aircraft had been damaged in an unreported occurrence while registered to a previous owner. The airframe log repair entry does not indicate the nature of the occurrence, but describes the replacement of a damaged right main landing gear leg, and repairs to the right wing tip bow and wing tip fabric. The engine log indicates that the crankshaft was inspected for run-out, and the propeller log entry indicates that blade straightening was carried out at an overhaul facility. The maintenance facility involved is no longer in business.

A second technical log entry, in March 1989, at 1,624.3 airframe hours (43.7 hours prior to the accident), describes repairs including straightening the fuselage tail-post, the rudder and vertical stabilizer, and the horizontal stabilizer support. The crankshaft hub was magnaflux inspected and the propeller was repaired. A propeller entry in the Record of Installations and Modifications log indicates "damaged by wind tip over - removed for repair and straightening." The aircraft repair facility indicated the owner had reported that the aircraft had been blown over on its back.

1.7 Meteorological Information

There was no evidence found to indicate that the pilot had obtained a formal weather briefing prior to departure. Local weather conditions were reported as a partially cloudy sky and calm wind conditions. The nearest Environment Canada station at Red Deer, Alberta, reported scattered cloud at 9,000 feet, visibility 15 miles, temperature 16.2 degrees Celsius, dew point 7.3 degrees Celsius, and wind from 060·T at 3 knots at 2100 MDT. Weather was not considered a factor in the occurrence.

1.8 Wreckage and Impact Information

1.8.1 Accident Site

The aircraft struck the ground in a steep, nose-down attitude. The engine and propeller were pushed back and under the forward fuselage. One propeller blade was heavily twisted, and the leading edge was nicked in a manner typical of ground contact at a high power setting. The aft fuselage was buckled downwards just behind the wing trailing edge. Both wing leading edges were heavily impact damaged. Prior to the arrival of TSB investigators, the wreckage had been displaced, and the cabin area steel tubing had been cut apart with a "jaws of life" tool to remove the pilot.

1.8.2 Instrument Examination

The following instruments were found with their pointers indicating the following readings:

Tachometer 2100 rpm

Oil Pressure 26 psi

Oil Temperature 125·F

Cylinder Head Temperature 350·F

3 For additional information see TSB Engineering Branch Report, LP 96/94 - Instrument Analysis.

4 For additional information see TSB Engineering Branch Report LP 95/94 - Wing Failure Analysis.

The airspeed indicator and the vertical speed indicator dials were examined by the TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory to determine their pointer locations at impact, but no information was found3.

1.8.3 Spar Failure

The right rear wooden wing spar was found with a vertical break inboard of the rear lift strut attachment fitting. The break exhibited an unusual, smooth, flat fracture surface over 75 per cent of the spar cross-section, with a splintered appearance on the remainder. The fracture surfaces appeared to have been rubbing against one another. The fracture coincided with the inboard edges of a pair of plywood spar doublers. Examination of these surfaces by the TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory4 and a wood products specialty facility determined that the fracture was a result of compression damage to the wooden wing spar prior to the accident.

Compression damage is characterized by a buckling of the wood fibres, and will appear as streaks on the surface, substantially at right angles to the grain. Compression damage to wood can occur during the felling of trees, if they are roughly handled, or while a wooden component is in service on the aircraft. A typical example of in-service compression damage to wooden wing spars would be an occurrence where the lower surface of a wing tip contacts the ground heavily while the aircraft is in motion.

There was no evidence found to indicate that the right rear spar had been replaced since original manufacture in 1948.

A finite element computer simulation of the effect of this spar failure on the flight characteristics of the aircraft was prepared by the TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory facility. It indicated that the right wing would experience a loss of lift, and that the aircraft would enter an uncommanded roll to the right.

1.8.4 Engine and Fuel System Examination

The engine was examined and found capable of normal operation. Fuel samples indicated that mogas was being used, although no evidence was found of the Supplementary Type Certificate (STC) approval which is required by Transport Canada (TC) regulation for use of this fuel.

1.8.5 Flight Controls

Examination of the flight control systems did not indicate any discontinuities, and all controls were capable of normal operation.

1.9 Medical Information

An autopsy and toxicological examination of the deceased pilot by the Provincial Medical Examiner indicated evidence of atherosclerotic coronary artery disease; however, it was not believed to have been the cause of or a contributing factor in the pilot's death.

1.10 Fire

There was no fire.

1.11 Survival Aspects

The aircraft was not fitted with a shoulder harness; however, the accident was considered non- survivable due to the magnitude of the deceleration forces. The lap-belts found installed in the aircraft were of the obsolete fabric-to-metal type.

The aircraft was not equipped with an emergency locator transmitter (ELT); however, it was operating within a 25-mile radius of its home base, and, therefore, an ELT was not required.

1.12 Additional Information

1.12.1 Regulatory Requirements for Inspection of Wooden Spars

TC has historically recognized the requirement for thorough, repetitive inspections of wooden components to ensure continuing structural soundness. An early TC Wooden Component Airworthiness Directive (AD), AD 63-3, was cancelled by AD CF-63-03R1, which indicated that, with the introduction of Chapter 571 of the Airworthiness Manual (AWM) and Airworthiness Manual Advisory (AMA) 571.101/5, all the necessary requirements were provided for the inspection of wooden components.

A review of these documents indicates that Chapter 571, item G, page 18 in Appendix A of the Inspection Program for Small Aircraft requires inspection for poor condition of all components of the wing at 100-hour intervals. AMA 571.101/5, however, does not provide the Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME) with any inspection criteria for detection of compression failures in wooden spars. The AMA appears devoted to aircraft with wood skin rather than the more common combination of internal wooden structural members with metal ribs and fabric cover.

There was no evidence found to indicate that the owner/pilot had selected and identified an inspection program in the aircraft journey log or provided the maintenance facility with a copy of an Inspection Check List as required by the AWM, Chapter 571. The inspection forms used by the maintenance facility during the last annual/100-hour inspection did not include a specific reference to visual inspection of the wing spar for condition as required by the AWM, Chapter 571.

1.12.2 Inadequate Inspection of Wooden Spars

Although wooden spars are susceptible to deterioration due to age and damage to a far greater degree than other spar materials, the means of actually examining the wooden spars on the average light aircraft are very limited. The accident aircraft had only two inspection panels on the lower surface of each wing, and they were provided for control system access. Inspection of the wooden spar surfaces, especially to try to detect the evidence of compression damage, would be almost impossible without the installation of additional inspection panels.

2.0 Analysis

The analysis will concentrate on the structural failure of the right wing spar. Weather and the pilot's medical condition were not considered to be factors in the occurrence.

2.1 Spar Failure

The compression damage found in the spar could have occurred either before the wood was processed for aircraft use or, later, while the spar was installed on the aircraft. Since the spar appears to have been original equipment on an aircraft manufactured in 1948, and it would be considered unusual for damage prior to fabrication to take 46 years to fail, it appears more probable that the spar failure was the result of the recent damage to the aircraft.

Of the two occurrences involving damage which were documented in the aircraft logs, the event in 1985 had the most potential to cause compression damage to the right rear spar. The repair description indicates a probable loss of control resulting in a ground loop or landing gear collapse. Since the repair facility involved has gone out of business, it was not possible to determine what had occurred.

Normal load reversals on the spar while in service, which would include flight loads, landing loads, and loads experienced while tied down, would result in a progressive failure at the compression damaged area. When the aircraft was on its back during the second occurrence, the spar would have been subjected to unusual bending loads that may have exacerbated the progressive nature of the fracture.

The low pass and pull up conducted by the pilot finally stressed the weakened right rear spar to its limit, and it failed. The sudden loss of lift on the right wing would have resulted in the aircraft entering an uncommanded right roll from which recovery would not likely have been possible.

2.2 Inspection

The aircraft had been inspected for damage following the two occurrences found in the logs and annually during the normal 100-hour inspection, but the compression damage to the spar was not detected. In order to properly inspect the spar, it would be necessary to either install additional wing inspection panels or remove the fabric cover.

TC AMA 571.101/5 is deficient because it does not contain guidance for inspection requirements to detect compression failures in wooden spars.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Findings

  1. The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. The aircraft entered an uncommanded right roll and descended vertically into the ground.
  3. The right rear wooden wing spar failed in flight due to compression damage which may have been the result of previous damage to the aircraft.
  4. The wing spar damage was not detected during initial repair or subsequent annual inspections.
  5. The pilot/owner had not selected or identified an inspection program in the journey log as required by regulation.
  6. The inspection form used by the maintenance facility during the last annual inspection did not include visual inspection of the wing spar for condition as required by AWM, Chapter 571.
  7. The inspection panels installed on the wing would not allow for adequate examination of the spars for damage.
  8. The aircraft was equipped with obsolete fabric-to-metal type seat-belts.
  9. Mogas fuel was being used without the STC approval required by regulation.
  10. The aircraft was not equipped with an ELT.
  11. AMA 571.101/5 does not contain guidelines on how to detect compression damage in wooden spars.

3.2 Causes

The wing failure may have been the result of a previous occurrence involving damage to the right wing that was inadequately inspected both at the time of repair and during subsequent annual inspections.

4.0 Safety Action

The Board has no aviation safety recommendations to issue at this time.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, the

Hon. Wilfred R. DuPont and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 28 March 1995.

Appendix A - List of Supporting Reports

The following TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory Reports were completed:

  • LP 95/94 - Wing Failure Analysis; and
  • LP 96/94 - Instrument Analysis.

These reports are available upon request from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada.

Appendix B - Glossary

AME - aircraft maintenance engineer
AMA - Airworthiness Manual Advisory
AD - Airworthiness Directive
AWM - Airworthiness Manual
C of A - Certificate of Airworthiness
ELT - emergency locator transmitter
hr - hour(s)
lb - pound(s)
MDT - mountain daylight time
mi - mile(s)
N - north
PPL - Private Pilot Licence
psi - pounds per square inch
rpm - revolutions per minute
STC - Supplemental Type Certificate
TC - Transport Canada
TSB - Transportation Safety Board of Canada
UTC - Coordinated Universal Time
W - west
' minute(s)
'' second(s)
· - degree(s)
·F - degrees Fahrenheit
·M - degrees of the magnetic compass
·T - degrees true

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94W0107

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident aéronautique dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Rupture de l'aile
Taylorcraft BC12D-85 C-FXWA
3 mi au sud-ouest de Sylvan Lake (Alberta)
27 juin 1994

Résumé

Le pilote a effectué un passage à basse altitude au-dessus de la ferme d'un voisin, puis il a tiré sur le manche pour remonter. L'avion s'est brusquement incliné à droite avant de descendre verticalement jusqu'au sol. L'examen de l'avion a révélé que le longeron arrière en bois de l'aile droite avait subi une rupture structurale. Le pilote a subi des blessures mortelles.

Le Bureau a déterminé que l'aile droite avait été endommagée au cours d'un accident antérieur et que sa rupture peut être attribuable à une inspection inadéquate au moment des réparations et lors des inspections annuelles ultérieures.

Table des matières

  1. 1.0 Renseignements de base
    1. 1.1 Déroulement du vol
    2. 1.2 Victimes
    3. 1.3 Dommages à l'aéronef
    4. 1.4 Autres dommages
    5. 1.5 Renseignements sur le personnel
    6. 1.5.1 Renseignements sur le pilote
    7. 1.6 Renseignements sur l'aéronef
    8. 1.6.1 Entretien de l'avion
    9. 1.7 Renseignements météorologiques
    10. 1.8 Renseignements sur l'épave et sur l'impact
    11. 1.8.1 Lieux de l'accident
    12. 1.8.2 Examen des instruments
    13. 1.8.3 Rupture d'un longeron
    14. 1.8.4 Examen du moteur et du circuit de carburant
    15. 1.8.5 Commandes de vol
    16. 1.9 Renseignements médicaux
    17. 1.10 Incendie
    18. 1.11 Questions relatives à la survie des occupants
    19. 1.12 Renseignements supplémentaires
    20. 1.12.1 Règlements relatifs à l'inspection des longerons en bois
    21. 1.12.2 Inspection inadéquate des longerons en bois
  2. 2.0 Analyse
    1. 2.1 Rupture du longeron
    2. 2.2 Inspection
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Faits établis
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Mesures de sécurité
  5. 5.0 Annexes
    1. Annexe A - Liste des rapports de laboratoire pertinents
    2. Annexe B - Sigles et abréviations

1.0 Renseignements de base

1.1 Déroulement du vol

Après avoir travaillé dans sa ferme depuis le matin, le pilote a décidé d'effectuer un vol de plaisance à partir de la piste de la ferme où l'avion était stationné. Après avoir fait le plein, le pilote a décollé. Comme il l'avait fait dans le passé, le pilote a effectué plusieurs passages à basse altitude au-dessus de la ferme d'un voisin. Les voisins se sont rendus dans la cour pour saluer le pilote de la main. Lorsque le pilote a tiré sur le manche pour remonter, l'avion s'est brusquement incliné à droite, puis il est descendu verticalement dans un champ de luzerne. Les voisins ont appelé la police, et ils se sont rendus sur les lieux de l'accident, où ils ont constaté que le pilote avait subi des blessures mortelles.

L'accident s'est produit de jour vers 21 h, heure avancée des Rocheuses (HAR)1, par 52· 18' de latitude Nord et 114· 02' de longitude Ouest.

1.2 Victimes

  Équipage Passagers Autres Total
Tués 1 - - 1
Blessés graves - - - -
Blessés légers/indemnes - - - -
Total 1 - - 1

1 Les heures sont exprimées en HAR (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins six heures) sauf indication contraire.

1.3 Dommages à l'aéronef

L'aéronef a été détruit.

1.4 Autres dommages

Le champ a été légèrement endommagé.

1.5 Renseignements sur le personnel

Pilote
Âge - 47 ans
Licence - pilote privé
Date d'expiration du certificat de validation - 1er décembre 1994
Nombre total d'heures de vol - 1 000
Nombre total d'heures de vol sur type en cause - 200
Nombre total d'heures de vol dans les 90 derniers jours - 4
Nombre total d'heures de vol sur type en cause dans les 90 derniers jours - 4
Nombre d'heures de service avant l'accident - 9
Nombre d'heures libres avant la prise de service 15

1.5.1 Renseignements sur le pilote

Le pilote avait obtenu sa licence de pilote privé en 1972, et il avait été propriétaire de plusieurs avions légers avant d'acheter l'avion en question en 1986. Le carnet de vol du pilote n'a pas été retrouvé par sa famille.

1.6 Renseignements sur l'aéronef

Constructeur - Taylorcraft Inc.
Type - BC12D-85
Année de construction - 1948
Numéro de série - 12028
Certificat de navigabilité- valide
Nombre total d'heures de vol cellule - 1 668
Type de moteur (nombre) - Continental C-85-8 (1)
Type d'hélice (nombre) - McCauley 1B90/CM7146 (1)
Masse maximale autorisée au décollage - 1 280 lb
Type de carburant recommandé - essence aviation 80-87
Type de carburant utilisé - essence automobile

1.6.1 Entretien de l'avion

L'avion avait été certifié en état de navigabilité lors d'une inspection des 100 heures et de renouvellement du certificat de navigabilité le 28 décembre 1993 à 1 652,4 heures de vol cellule. L'avion n'avait pas été utilisé pendant quelque temps, puis il avait été convoyé à un atelier pour y subir l'entretien courant.

Les livrets techniques de l'avion indiquent qu'en juillet 1985, à 1 571,2 heures de vol cellule (96,8 heures de vol avant l'accident), l'avion a été endommagé au cours d'un accident non signalé alors qu'il était immatriculé au nom d'un autre propriétaire. L'inscription des réparations dans le livret cellule n'indique pas la nature de l'accident, mais elle décrit le remplacement de la jambe de train d'atterrissage principal droit endommagée, et la réparation de la cambrure de l'extrémité de l'aile droite et de la toile de cette extrémité. Le livret moteur indique que le vilebrequin a été inspecté pour s'assurer qu'il ne présentait pas de faux rond, et l'inscription dans le livret hélice indique que le redressement des pales a été effectué à un atelier de révision. L'atelier d'entretien en cause a cessé ses activités.

Une deuxième inscription dans le livret technique datée de mars 1989 à 1 624,3 heures de vol cellule (43,7 heures de vol avant l'accident), décrit des réparations comprenant le redressement du montant de queue du fuselage, de la gouverne de direction et de la dérive, et du support du stabilisateur. Le plateau du vilebrequin avait subi une inspection par magnétoscopie, et l'hélice avait été réparée. Une inscription concernant l'hélice dans le livret d'installations et de modifications d'aéronef indique «endommagée à cause d'un capotage dû au vent - enlevée pour réparation et redressement». À l'atelier de réparation d'aéronefs, on a indiqué que le propriétaire avait dit que l'avion avait capoté à cause du vent.

1.7 Renseignements météorologiques

Rien n'indique que le pilote ait obtenu un exposé météorologique officiel avant de partir. Selon les conditions météorologiques locales indiquées, le ciel était partiellement nuageux et le vent était nul. La station d'Environnement Canada la plus proche située à Red Deer (Alberta) signalait les conditions suivantes : nuages épars à 9 000 pieds, visibilité de 15 milles, température de 16,2 degrés Celsius, point de rosée de 7,3 degrés Celsius, et vent soufflant du 060 degrés vrai à 3 noeuds à 21 h HAR2. On a jugé que les conditions météorologiques n'avaient pas joué un rôle dans l'accident.

1.8 Renseignements sur l'épave et sur l'impact

1.8.1 Lieux de l'accident

L'avion a heurté le sol en piqué prononcé. Le moteur et l'hélice ont été repoussés vers l'arrière et sous l'avant du fuselage. Une pale d'hélice était fortement tordue, et son bord d'attaque était encoché d'une façon qui correspond à un contact avec le sol à régime élevé. L'arrière du fuselage était déformé vers le bas, juste derrière le bord de fuite de l'aile. Le bord d'attaque des deux ailes ont subi des dommages importants attribuables à l'impact. Avant l'arrivée des enquêteurs du BST, l'épave avait été déplacée, et la carcasse en acier de la cabine avait été sectionnée à l'aide de «mâchoires de survie» pour permettre de dégager le corps du pilote.

1.8.2 Examen des instruments

Tachymètre 2 100 tr/min

Pression d'huile 26 lb/po2

Température de l'huile125 ·F

Température de la culasse350 ·F

2 Voir l'annexe B pour la signification des sigles et abréviations.

3 Consulter le rapport technique LP 96/94 du BST - Instrument Analysis (Analyse des instruments).

4 Consulter le rapport technique LP 95/94 du BST - Wing Failure Analysis (Analyse de la rupture de l'aile).

L'anémomètre et le variomètre ont été examinés au Laboratoire technique du BST, mais ils n'ont fourni aucun renseignement sur leur affichage au moment de l'impact.3

1.8.3 Rupture d'un longeron

On a constaté que le longeron arrière en bois de l'aile droite présentait une rupture verticale du côté intérieur du raccord de fixation arrière. La rupture présentait une surface de fracture plate, régulière, inhabituelle, sur 75 % de la section transversale du longeron, et un aspect de bois fendu en éclats sur le reste. Les surfaces de la fracture semblaient avoir frotté l'une contre l'autre. La fracture coïncidait avec les bords intérieurs d'une paire de renforts de longeron en contre-plaqué. L'examen de ces surfaces par le Laboratoire technique du BST4 et une entreprise spécialisée en produits du bois a déterminé que la fracture était attribuable à des dommages par compression du longeron d'aile en bois subis avant l'accident qui fait l'objet de ce rapport. Les dommages par compression sont caractérisés par un flambage des fibres du bois et ont l'air de raies sur la surface, en grande partie à angle droit par rapport aux fibres du bois. Les dommages par compression du bois peuvent se produire pendant l'abattage des arbres, si les arbres sont manipulés brusquement, ou pendant qu'un composant en bois est en service dans un avion. Un exemple typique d'endommagement par compression en service des longerons d'aile en bois est le cas où la surface inférieure d'une extrémité d'aile râcle le sol avec force pendant que l'avion se déplace.

Rien n'indique que le longeron arrière droit ait été remplacé depuis la construction de l'avion en 1948.

Le Laboratoire technique du BST a fait une simulation par ordinateur à élément fini de l'effet de cette rupture de longeron sur les caractéristiques de vol de l'avion. La simulation a montré que l'aile droite subirait une perte de portance et que l'avion amorcerait une inclinaison non sollicitée à droite.

1.8.4 Examen du moteur et du circuit de carburant

L'examen du moteur a révélé qu'il pouvait fonctionner normalement. L'analyse des échantillons de carburant a montré qu'il s'agissait d'essence automobile, bien qu'on n'ait découvert aucun indice de l'existence du certificat de type supplémentaire (CTS) exigé par la réglementation de Transports Canada pour l'utilisation de cette essence.

1.8.5 Commandes de vol

L'examen du circuit de commandes de vol a révélé que toutes les commandes pouvaient fonctionner normalement.

1.9 Renseignements médicaux

L'autopsie pratiquée sur le corps du pilote par le médecin légiste provincial ainsi que les résultats des analyses toxicologiques ont révélé des indices de coronaropathie athéroscléreuse. Toutefois, on ne croit pas que cette maladie ait causé la mort du pilote ni qu'elle y ait contribué.

1.10 Incendie

Il n'y a pas eu d'incendie.

1.11 Questions relatives à la survie des occupants

L'avion n'était pas équipé de bretelles de sécurité. On a jugé que l'accident n'offrait aucune chance de survie à cause de l'importance des forces de décélération. Les ceintures de sécurité dont était équipé l'avion étaient du type désuet toile-métal.

L'avion n'était pas équipé d'une radiobalise de détresse (ELT), mais comme il évoluait dans un rayon de 25 milles de sa base, la présence à bord d'une radiobalise n'était pas obligatoire.

1.12 Renseignements supplémentaires

1.12.1 Règlements relatifs à l'inspection des longerons en bois

Transports Canada reconnaît depuis longtemps qu'il faut faire une inspection périodique minutieuse des composants en bois pour assurer une bonne solidité structurale permanente. L'ancienne consigne de navigabilité (CN) 63-3 de Transports Canada portant sur les éléments en bois a été annulée par la CN CF-63-03R1, laquelle indique que la mise en vigueur du chapitre 571 du Manuel de navigabilité et de la Circulaire consultative au Manuel de navigabilité (AMA) 571.101/5 a permis d'énoncer toutes les exigences nécessaires concernant l'inspection des éléments en bois.

L'examen de ces documents a révélé que l'article G, page 18, Annexe A, Programme d'inspection générale des petits aéronefs, du chapitre 571, demande de vérifier l'état de tous les éléments de l'aile aux 100 heures. Toutefois, l'AMA 571.101/5 ne donne au technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA) aucun critère d'inspection concernant la découverte de ruptures par compression dans les longerons en bois. L'AMA semble être consacrée aux avions ayant un revêtement en bois plutôt qu'à ceux présentant la combinaison plus courante de membres structuraux internes en bois avec nervures en métal et revêtement en toile.

Rien n'indique que le pilote ait choisi un programme d'inspection et l'ait indiqué dans le carnet de bord de l'avion, ni qu'il ait fourni à l'atelier d'entretien un exemplaire d'une liste de vérifications, selon les exigences du chapitre 571 du Manuel de navigabilité. Les formulaires d'inspection utilisés par l'atelier d'entretien au cours de la dernière inspection annuelle des 100 heures ne comprenaient aucune indication spécifique de vérification visuelle de l'état du longeron d'aile comme l'exige le chapitre 571 du Manuel de navigabilité.

1.12.2 Inspection inadéquate des longerons en bois

Les longerons en bois sont beaucoup plus susceptibles de se détériorer à cause du vieillissement et des dommages que les longerons en d'autres matériaux, mais les moyens d'examiner correctement les longerons en bois d'un avion léger moyen sont très limités. L'avion accidenté n'avait que deux panneaux d'inspection sur l'intrados de chaque aile, et ils servaient de porte de visite du circuit des commandes. L'inspection des surfaces de longeron en bois, particulièrement pour essayer de découvrir des indices de dommages par compression, est presque impossible sans le montage de panneaux d'inspection supplémentaires.

2.0 Analyse

L'analyse porte sur la rupture structurale du longeron de l'aile droite. On a jugé que les conditions météorologiques et l'état de santé du pilote n'avaient joué aucun rôle dans l'accident.

2.1 Rupture du longeron

Les dommages par compression décelés dans le longeron peuvent s'être produits avant que le bois n'ait été traité pour utilisation dans un avion, ou plus tard pendant que le longeron était monté sur l'avion. Puisqu'il semble qu'il s'agisse du longeron d'origine d'un avion construit en 1948, et qu'il serait inhabituel que des dommages antérieurs à la construction produisent une rupture 46 ans plus tard, il semble plus probable que la rupture du longeron soit attribuable à des dommages récents.

Deux accidents ont causé les dommages inscrits dans les livrets de l'avion, mais l'accident de 1985 est le plus susceptible d'avoir endommagé le longeron arrière droit par compression. La description des réparations indique une perte de maîtrise probable se traduisant par une giration au sol, ou un affaissement du train d'atterrissage. Puisque l'atelier de réparations en cause a cessé ses activités, il n'a pas été possible de déterminer ce qui a pu se produire.

Des inversions normales de charge sur le longeron en service, comprenant des charges de vol, des charges à l'atterrissage et des charges subies pendant que l'avion était arrimé se seraient traduites par une rupture progressive dans la zone endommagée par compression. Lorsque l'avion était sur le dos lors du deuxième accident, le longeron aurait été soumis à des charges de flexion inhabituelles qui peuvent avoir aggravé la nature de la fracture.

Lors du passage à basse altitude et du cabré effectués par le pilote, des contraintes se sont exercées sur le longeron arrière droit déjà affaibli, et le longeron a atteint son point limite d'endurance et s'est rompu. La perte soudaine de portance de l'aile droite aurait provoqué une inclinaison à droite non sollicitée dont il n'était probablement pas possible de sortir.

2.2 Inspection

L'avion avait subi une inspection visant à déceler des dommages après les deux accidents inscrits dans les livrets, et annuellement au cours de l'inspection normale des 100 heures, mais les dommages dus à la compression sur le longeron n'ont pas été décelés. Afin d'inspecter correctement le longeron, il aurait fallu enlever le revêtement en toile ou qu'il y ait des panneaux d'inspection d'aile supplémentaires.

L'AMA 571.101/5 de Transports Canada n'est pas complet parce qu'il ne contient pas d'indications relatives aux exigences d'inspection visant à déceler les ruptures par compression dans les longerons en bois.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Faits établis

  1. Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. L'avion a amorcé une inclinaison à droite non sollicitée et est descendu verticalement jusqu'au sol.
  3. Le longeron arrière en bois de l'aile droite s'est rompu en vol à cause de dommages par compression qui peuvent être attribuables à des dommages que l'avion auraient subis antérieurement.
  4. Les dommages au longeron d'aile n'avaient pas été décelés pendant les réparations initiales ni pendant les inspections annuelles ultérieures.
  5. Le pilote propriétaire n'avait pas choisi ni indiqué de programme d'inspection dans le carnet de bord comme l'exige la réglementation.
  6. Le formulaire d'inspection utilisé par l'atelier d'entretien au cours de la dernière inspection annuelle ne comprenait pas de vérification visuelle de l'état du longeron d'aile comme l'exige le chapitre 571 du Manuel de navigabilité.
  7. Les panneaux d'inspection montés sur l'aile ne permettaient pas de vérifier adéquatement si les longerons étaient endommagés.
  8. L'avion était équipé de ceintures de sécurité désuètes du type toile-métal.
  9. De l'essence automobile était utilisée sans l'approbation que procure le CTS exigé par la réglementation.
  10. L'avion n'était pas équipé d'une radiobalise de détresse.
  11. L'AMA 571.101/5 ne contient pas de lignes directrices concernant la façon de déceler des dommages par compression dans les longerons en bois.

3.2 Causes

L'aile droite avait été endommagée au cours d'un accident antérieur et sa rupture peut être attribuable à une inspection inadéquate au moment des réparations et lors des inspections annuelles ultérieures.

4.0 Mesures de sécurité

Le Bureau n'a, jusqu'ici, recommandé aucune mesure de sécurité.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 28 mars 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Gerald E. Bennett, Zita Brunet, l'hon. Wilfred R. DuPont et Hugh MacNeil.

Annexe A - Liste des rapports de laboratoire pertinents

L'enquête a donné lieu aux rapports de laboratoire suivants :

  • LP 95/94 - Wing Failure Analysis (Analyse de la rupture de l'aile);
  • LP 96/94 - Instrument Analysis (Analyse des instruments).

On peut obtenir ces rapports en s'adressant au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada.

Annexe B - Sigles et abréviations

AMA - Circulaire consultative au Manuel de navigabilité
BST - Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
CN - consigne de navigabilité
CTS - certificat de type supplémentaire
ELT - radiobalise de détresse
h - heure(s)
HAR - heure avancée des Rocheuses
lb - livre(s)
lb/po2 - livre(s) par pouce carré
TEA - technicien d'entretien d'aéronef
tr/min - tour(s) par minute
UTC - temps universel coordonné
· - degré(s)
·F - degré(s) Fahrenheit
' - minute(s)
% - pour cent