Aviation Investigation Report A94W0108

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Directional Control Following Tail Rotor Strike During Autorotative Landing
Okotoks Flight Centre Inc.
Hughes 269C (Helicopter) C-FQCN
Okotoks Air Park, Okotoks, Alberta
27 June 1994

Summary

An instructor and a student in a Hughes 269C helicopter were on a training flight carrying out full-on practice autorotations to touchdown when, during the flare, the helicopter's tail rotor blades struck the ground about 300 feet short of the intended landing area. The helicopter then climbed rapidly to about 50 feet above ground level, where it started rotating in the opposite direction of the main rotor blades. It then pitched nose down and crashed into the ground. The instructor and student sustained minor injuries. The helicopter was substantially damaged.

The Board determined that the student pilot misjudged the altitude and distance from the intended landing area during the practice autorotation, and the instructor did not take the necessary corrective action in time to avoid the tail rotor strike and subsequent loss of control of the helicopter.

Table of contents

  1. 1.0 Factual Information
    1. 1.1 History of the Flight
    2. 1.2 Injuries to Persons
    3. 1.3 Damage to Aircraft
    4. 1.4 Other Damage
    5. 1.5 Personnel Information
    6. 1.5.1 The Instructor
    7. 1.5.2 The Student
    8. 1.6 Aircraft Information
    9. 1.6.1 General
    10. 1.6.2 Additional Information
    11. 1.7 Meteorological Information
    12. 1.8 Aerodrome Information
    13. 1.9 Wreckage and Impact Information
    14. 1.10 Survival Aspects
    15. 1.11 Complacency and Vigilance
    16. 1.12 Instructor Technique
  2. 2.0 Analysis
    1. 2.1 Introduction
    2. 2.2 Actions of Instructor and Student
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Findings
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Safety Action
  5. 5.0 Appendices
    1. Appendix A - Glossary

1.0 Factual Information

1.1 History of the Flight

The instructor and student were in a Hughes 269C helicopter on a local training flight at the Okotoks Air Park near Okotoks, Alberta. They were preparing for the student's upcoming Transport Canada (TC)1 flight test for issue of a commercial rotary wing licence. During the over one-hour-long flight, the student had successfully completed five full-on autorotations to touchdown.

During a 180-degree-turning autorotation, the student's approach was short of the intended landing area. The instructor expected the student to continue the autorotation although there was no verbal communication to that effect. The student initiated the flare and did not level the helicopter prior to touchdown. The instructor tried to push the cyclic forward to level the helicopter but the tail rotor blades struck the ground while the helicopter was still in a flared attitude. The helicopter then climbed rapidly to about 50 feet above ground level (agl), and rotated to the right. The instructor tried to recover, but the helicopter pitched nose down, crashed into the ground, and came...

  1. See Glossary for all abbreviations and acronyms.
  2. All times are MDT (Coordinated Universal Time [UTC] minus six hours) unless otherwise stated.
  3. Units are consistent with official manuals, documents, reports, and instructions used by or issued to the crew.

...to a stop. The instructor and the student sustained minor injuries and were sprayed with avgas from a punctured fuel tank, but were able to exit the helicopter on their own. The helicopter was substantially damaged.

The accident occurred at latitude 50·44'N and longitude 113·56'W, at 1345 mountain daylight time (MDT)2 during the hours of daylight, at a ground elevation of 3,601 feet above sea level (asl)3.

1.2 Injuries to Persons

  Crew Passengers Others Total
Fatal - - - -
Serious - - - -
Minor/None 2 - - 2
Total 2 - - 2

1.3 Damage to Aircraft

The helicopter was substantially damaged.

1.4 Other Damage

Pieces of wreckage and debris were scattered for several hundred feet over the ramp and taxiway, in front of the hangar and parked aircraft. None of these aircraft was damaged.

1.5 Personnel Information

  Instructor Student
Age 57 59
Pilot Licence CPL CPL
Medical Expiry Date 01 Nov 94 01 Jul 94
Total Flying Hours 18,000 8,000
Hours on Type 4,000 36
Hours Last 90 Days 100 36
Hours on Type Last 90 Days 95 36
Hours on Duty Prior to Occurrence 06 06
Hours off Duty Prior to Work Period 36 N/A

1.5.1 The Instructor

The instructor has several years of instructing experience at the Okotoks Flight Centre. He has about 18,000 hours total time, with over 14,000 hours on helicopters, and about 8,000 hours instructing. Most of his over 4,000 hours on the Hughes 269C helicopter were spent as an instructor. The instructor could not offer an explanation as to why the helicopter touched down so far short of the intended landing area.

1.5.2 The Student

The student held a commercial fixed-wing licence and had a reported 8,000 hours of bush flying on single-engine fixed-wing aircraft on wheels, skis, and floats in northern British Columbia. Desiring a rotary wing endorsement, he enroled in a helicopter training school at Abbotsford, British Columbia, to complete a 60-flying-hour conversion course. This flight training commenced in January 1994; after over 75 flight-hours of training, the flight training was terminated by mutual agreement. The student was advised that he would probably require additional flight instruction to meet the required standard.

On 17 May 1994, the student, wanting to complete the conversion course, started flight training on a Hughes 269C helicopter at the Okotoks Flight Centre. After the student had completed over 30 hours of flight training with him, the instructor felt that the student was ready for a TC flight test. The instructor recommended the student and booked a TC Air Carrier Inspector to perform the check ride on the following Thursday, three days later. The occurrence flight was to be the last training flight prior to the flight test. The student could not offer an explanation as to why the helicopter touched down so far short of the intended landing area.

1.6 Aircraft Information

1.6.1 General

Manufacturer - Hughes Helicopters
Type - 269C
Year of Manufacture - 1981
Serial Number - 211029
Certificate of Airworthiness (Flight Permit) - Valid
Total Airframe Time - 5,595.2 hr
Engine Type Avco Lycoming (number of) HIO-360-D1A - (1)
Propeller/Rotor Type (number of) Schweizer - (1)
Maximum Allowable Take-off Weight - 2,050 lb
Recommended Fuel Type(s) - 100/130 or 100 LL Avgas
Fuel Type - Used 100 LL

1.6.2 Additional Information

The helicopter was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The helicopter's weight was within limits, and the centre of gravity (C of G) was within the normal range. The helicopter was equipped with fully functional dual flight controls.

The emergency locator transmitter (ELT) on board was a Narco ELT 10. This unit became detached from its mounting bracket on the doorframe during the egress. It was found switched to the OFF position, but was functionally tested and found to be serviceable.

The Hughes 269C, and most other light helicopters, descend rapidly during autorotations.

1.7 Meteorological Information

The weather was not a factor in the occurrence. The wind was light and variable. The temperature was 20 degrees Celsius.

1.8 Aerodrome Information

The Okotoks Air Park, at an elevation of 3,601 feet asl, was suitable for the intended training. There is a single runway oriented on 160/340·M (degrees magnetic). A taxiway, oriented on 070/250·M, connects the runway to the refuelling and parking area in front of the hangar. Depending on the wind direction, the taxiway is normally used for helicopter training and autorotations.

1.9 Wreckage and Impact Information

The helicopter, travelling on a magnetic heading of 060 degrees in a nose-high flare, descended until the tail rotor blades struck a paved access road about 50 feet from the edge of the ramp/taxiway, and 300 feet short of the intended landing area on the taxiway. Although this area and its immediate vicinity is clear of obstacles, the surface is not suitable for run-on landings across the access road to the ramp.

The tail rotor blades were destroyed by the impact. The tail rotor drive shaft was twisted and uncoupled from the transmission. After impact, the helicopter travelled a further 84 feet onto the ramp, where it came to a stop. Pieces of the tail rotor and tail boom were found 180 feet farther along the wreckage trail.

1.10 Survival Aspects

The cockpit retained its original size and shape, and the occupants were able to exit the wreckage on their own. Both pilots had been sprayed with avgas. Several witnesses, with fire extinguishers and first aid kits, were on the scene within seconds to administer first aid. The instructor and the student were taken to separate hospitals for observation. The student was examined and released later that day; the instructor was not released until the following day.

1.11 Complacency and Vigilance

Complacency is a state of reduced conscious attention or awareness caused by a sense of security and self confidence. Characteristics of complacency include over-confidence and boredom, both of which can significantly degrade effective performance.

Vigilance is the maintenance of the appropriate level of conscious attention for the assigned task. Lapses in attention may occur after a person has been at a monitoring task for a period of time.

It cannot be determined whether complacency and/or lack of vigilance contributed to this accident, although the facts revealed are consistent with both or either of such factors.

1.12 Instructor Technique

An instructor must assess the benefits of allowing the student to make mistakes, then waiting a suitable time to see whether the student recognizes the mistake and is correcting for it, versus taking control and taking the necessary corrective action. Often this assessment must take place within seconds, with only a fine line separating the options.

During a full-on autorotation to touchdown, the helicopter's inherent high rate of descent and proximity to the ground require the instructor to be vigilant as there may be little time to take the necessary corrective action. When the approach path is misjudged or less than optimal, the instructor should not delay taking the appropriate corrective action, such as either initiating a power recovery or taking control and continuing flight to touchdown at a suitable point.

2.0 Analysis

2.1 Introduction

During the investigation, neither the instructor nor the student could offer an explanation as to why the helicopter's tail rotor struck the ground so far short of the intended landing area. Adequate corrective action was not taken during the descent. The analysis will concentrate on the instructor's and the student's actions.

2.2 Actions of Instructor and Student

Although the student had initially experienced some difficulty converting to rotary-wing flying, the instructor had flown more than 30 hours with him, and was satisfied that his performance met the required standards for a TC endorsement.

The facts revealed on investigation are consistent with complacency and/or lack of vigilance throughout the final autorotation. Although the instructor was aware that the student had misjudged his altitude and distance and had allowed the helicopter to descend below the optimum approach path for the intended landing area, the instructor allowed the student to continue the autorotation to touchdown. The instructor did not take the appropriate corrective action in time to prevent the tail rotor from striking the access road, likely because the student had successfully performed the five previous full-on autorotations. The damage to the tail rotor blades and drive shaft resulted in a loss of

directional control of the helicopter when a recovery was attempted, and the helicopter crashed.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Findings

  1. The student misjudged the altitude and distance from the intended landing area, initiated a steep flare, and did not level the helicopter prior to touchdown.
  2. The instructor allowed the student to continue the autorotation to touchdown and did not take the necessary corrective action in time to prevent a tail rotor strike.
  3. The tail rotor strike resulted in damage to the tail rotor blades and drive shaft, and loss of directional control.
  4. The helicopter was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.
  5. The instructor and student were certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.

3.2 Causes

The student pilot misjudged the altitude and distance from the intended landing area during the practice autorotation, and the instructor did not take the necessary corrective action in time to avoid the tail rotor strike and subsequent loss of control of the helicopter.

4.0 Safety Action

The Board has no aviation safety recommendations to issue at this time.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson John W. Stants, and members

Zita Brunet and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 12 April 1995.

Appendix A - Glossary

agl - above ground level
asl - above sea level
C of G - centre of gravity
CPL - commercial pilot licence
ELT - emergency locator transmitter
hr - hour(s)
lb - pound(s)
LL - low lead
MDT - mountain daylight time
N - north
N/A - not available
TC - Transport Canada
TSB - Transportation Safety Board
UTC - Coordinated Universal Time
W - west
· - degree(s)
·M degrees of the magnetic compass
' minute(s)

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A94W0108

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident aéronautique dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Impact du rotor de queue et perte de maîtrise en direction lors d'un atterrissage en autorotation
Okotoks Flight Centre Inc.
Hughes 269C (hélicoptère) C-FQCN
Aéroparc Okotoks, Okotoks (Alberta)
27 juin 1994

Résumé

L'instructeur et l'élève-pilote effectuaient des exercices d'autorotation jusqu'au toucher. Au cours d'un exercice, les pales du rotor de queue ont heurté le sol à environ 300 pieds avant l'aire d'atterrissage prévue. L'hélicoptère est ensuite monté rapidement jusqu'à une cinquantaine de pieds du sol où il s'est mis à tourner dans le sens inverse des pales du rotor principal. Il a ensuite piqué et s'est écrasé au sol. L'instructeur et l'élève-pilote ont subi des blessures légères. L'hélicoptère a subi des dommages importants.

Le Bureau a déterminé que l'élève-pilote a mal évalué l'altitude et la distance par rapport à l'aire d'atterrissage prévue pendant l'exercice d'autorotation et que l'instructeur a tardé à prendre les mesures qui auraient permis d'éviter que le rotor de queue heurte le sol et qu'il se produise une perte de maîtrise.

Table des matières

  1. 1.0 Renseignements de base
    1. 1.1 Déroulement du vol
    2. 1.2 Victimes
    3. 1.3 Dommages à l'aéronef
    4. 1.4 Autres dommages
    5. 1.5 Renseignements sur le personnel
    6. 1.5.1 L'instructeur
    7. 1.5.2 L'élève-pilote
    8. 1.6 Renseignements sur l'aéronef
    9. 1.6.1 Généralités
    10. 1.6.2 Renseignements supplémentaires
    11. 1.7 Renseignements météorologiques
    12. 1.8 Renseignements sur l'aérodrome
    13. 1.9 Renseignements sur l'épave et sur l'impact
    14. 1.10 Questions relatives à la survie des occupants
    15. 1.11 Confiance excessive et vigilance
    16. 1.12 Technique de l'instructeur
  2. 2.0 Analyse
    1. 2.1 Introduction
    2. 2.2 Actes de l'instructeur et de l'élève-pilote
    3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Faits établis
    2. 3.2 Causes
  1. 4.0 Mesures de sécurité
  2. 5.0 Annexe
    1. Annexe A - Sigles et abréviations

1.0 Renseignements de base

1.1 Déroulement du vol

L'instructeur et l'élève-pilote effectuaient un vol d'entraînement local à l'aéroparc Okotoks, situé près d'Okotoks (Alberta). L'élève faisait des exercices car il devait passer sous peu l'épreuve en vol de Transports Canada en vue de l'obtention de la licence de pilote professionnel d'hélicoptère. Pendant le vol qui a duré plus d'une heure, l'élève a effectué cinq autorotations complètes jusqu'au toucher.

Pendant une autorotation en virage de 180 ·1, l'élève a effectué l'approche avant l'aire d'atterrissage prévue. L'instructeur ne l'avait pas dit à l'élève mais il s'attendait à ce que l'élève continue l'autorotation. L'élève a amorcé l'arrondi, mais n'a pas remis l'hélicoptère à l'horizontale avant le toucher. L'instructeur a essayé de pousser sur le manche de pas cyclique pour remettre l'hélicoptère à l'horizontale, mais les pales du rotor de queue ont heurté le sol alors que l'appareil était toujours en cabré. L'hélicoptère est ensuite monté rapidement...

  1. Voir l'annexe A pour la signification des sigles et abréviations.
  2. Les heures sont exprimées en HAR (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins six heures) sauf indication contraire.
  3. Les unités correspondent à celles des manuels officiels, des documents, des rapports et des instructions utilisés ou reçus par l'équipage.

...jusqu'à une cinquantaine de pieds du sol et il a tourné à droite. L'instructeur a essayé de redresser, mais l'hélicoptère a piqué et s'est écrasé. L'instructeur et l'élève ont subi des blessures légères et ont été éclaboussés d'essence aviation provenant d'un réservoir éventré. Ils ont toutefois pu quitter l'hélicoptère sans aide. L'appareil a subi des dommages importants.

L'accident s'est produit de jour par 50· 44' de latitude Nord et 113· 56' de longitude Ouest à 13 h 45, heure avancée des Rocheuses (HAR)2, à une altitude de 3 601 pieds-mer3.

1.2 Victimes

  Équipage Passagers Autres Total
Tués - - - -
Blessés graves - - - -
Blessés légers/indemnes 2 - - 2
Total 2 - - 2

1.3 Dommages à l'aéronef

L'hélicoptère a été lourdement endommagé.

1.4 Autres dommages

L'hélicoptère a laissé des débris sur plusieurs centaines de pieds sur l'aire de trafic et la voie de circulation, devant le hangar et les aéronefs en stationnement. Aucun de ces aéronefs n'a été endommagé.

1.5 Renseignements sur le personnel

  Instructeur Élève-pilote
Âge 57 ans 59 ans
Licence pilote professionnel pilote professionnel
Date d'expiration du certificat de validation 1 er novembre 1994 1 er julliet 1994
Nombre total d'heurs de vol 18,000 8,000
Nombre total d'heures de vol sur type en cause 4,000 36
Nombre total d'heures de vol dan le 90 derniers jours 100 36
Nombre total d'heures de vol sur type en cause dans les 90 derniers jours 95 36
Nombre d'heures de service avant l'événement 6 6
Nombre d'heures libres avant la prise de service 36 N/D

1.5.1 L'instructeur

L'instructeur possédait plusieurs années d'expérience comme instructeur à l'Okotoks Flight Centre. Il totalisait environ 18 000 heures de vol, dont plus de 14 000 sur hélicoptères, et environ 8 000 comme instructeur. La majeure partie de ses 4 000 heures de vol sur Hughes 269C ont été effectuées comme instructeur. Pendant l'enquête, il n'a pu expliquer pourquoi l'hélicoptère avait touché le sol autant avant l'aire d'atterrissage prévue.

1.5.2 L'élève-pilote

L'élève était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel d'avions. Il a indiqué qu'il totalisait 8 000 heures de vol sur des avions monomoteurs équipés de roues, de skis et de flotteurs dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique. Désirant obtenir l'annotation de pilote d'hélicoptère, il s'était inscrit à une école de pilotage d'hélicoptère à Abbotsford (Colombie-Britannique) afin de suivre un cours de conversion qui comprenait 60 heures de vol. Cet entraînement avait commencé en janvier 1994. Après plus de 75 heures, l'entraînement avait été interrompu d'un commun accord. L'élève avait été avisé qu'il aurait probablement besoin d'un entraînement supplémentaire pour satisfaire aux normes.

Le 17 mai 1994, l'élève, qui désirait terminer le cours de conversion, avait commencé l'entraînement sur un hélicoptère Hughes 269C à l'Okotoks Flight Centre. Après plus de 30 heures d'entraînement en double commande, l'instructeur a jugé que l'élève était prêt à passer l'épreuve en vol de Transports Canada. L'instructeur a recommandé que l'élève passe l'épreuve et a demandé qu'un inspecteur du groupe transporteurs aériens de Transports Canada effectue la vérification en vol le jeudi suivant, soit trois jours plus tard. Le vol au cours duquel l'accident s'est produit devait être le dernier vol d'entraînement avant l'épreuve en vol. Pendant l'enquête, l'élève n'a pu expliquer pourquoi l'hélicoptère avait touché le sol autant avant l'aire d'atterrissage prévue.

1.6 Renseignements sur l'aéronef

1.6.1 Généralités

Constructeur - Hughes Helicopters
Type - 269C
Année de construction - 1981
Numéro de série - 211029
Certificat de navigabilité- valide
Nombre total d'heures de vol cellule< - 5 595,2
Type de moteur (nombre) - Avco Lycoming HIO-360-DIA (1)
Type d'hélice (nombre) - Schweizer (1)
Masse maximale autorisée2 050 lb
au décollage
Types de carburant recommandés - essence aviation 100 LL essence aviation 100-130,
Type de carburant utilisé - essence aviation 100 LL

1.6.2 Renseignements supplémentaires

L'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. La masse et le centrage de l'hélicoptère étaient dans les limites prescrites. L'hélicoptère était équipé d'une double commande entièrement utilisable.

La radiobalise de détresse (ELT) était une Narco ELT 10. Pendant l'évacuation, elle s'est détachée de son support de montage fixé à un encadrement de porte. Après l'accident, son commutateur était sur OFF, mais un essai de fonctionnement a révélé qu'elle était en bon état de service.

Le Hughes 269C et la plupart des autres hélicoptères légers descendent rapidement pendant les autorotations.

1.7 Renseignements météorologiques

Les conditions météorologiques n'ont joué aucun rôle dans l'accident. Le vent était faible et variable. La température était de 20 ·C.

1.8 Renseignements sur l'aérodrome

L'aéroparc Okotoks est situé à une altitude de 3 601 pieds-mer et convenait à l'entraînement en question. La seule piste est orientée au 160/340 ·M. Une voie de circulation, orientée au 070/250 ·M, relie la piste à l'aire de ravitaillement et de stationnement située devant le hangar. Selon la direction du vent, la voie de circulation est normalement utilisée pour l'entraînement sur hélicoptère et les autorotations.

1.9 Renseignements sur l'épave et sur l'impact

L'hélicoptère volait au cap de 060 ·M. Il était en cabré pendant l'arrondi et est descendu jusqu'à ce que les pales du rotor de queue heurtent un chemin d'accès en asphalte à environ 50 pieds du bord de l'aire de trafic et de la voie de circulation, et à 300 pieds avant l'aire d'atterrissage prévue sur la voie de circulation. Bien que cette zone et son voisinage immédiat soient exempts d'obstacles, la surface ne convient pas à des atterrissages glissés à travers le chemin d'accès à l'aire de trafic.

Les pales du rotor de queue ont été détruites par l'impact. L'arbre d'entraînement du rotor de queue a été déformé et s'est désaccouplé de la boîte de transmission. Après l'impact, l'hélicoptère a parcouru 84 pieds sur l'aire de trafic avant de s'y immobiliser. Des morceaux de rotor de queue et de poutre de queue ont été trouvés 180 pieds plus loin le long du sillon laissé par l'hélicoptère.

1.10 Questions relatives à la survie des occupants

Le poste de pilotage a gardé sa forme, et les occupants ont pu évacuer l'hélicoptère sans aide. Les deux pilotes avaient été éclaboussés d'essence aviation. Plusieurs témoins munis d'extincteurs et de trousses de premiers soins sont arrivés sur les lieux quelques secondes plus tard pour donner les premiers soins. L'instructeur et l'élève ont été transportés à des hôpitaux distincts pour observation. L'élève a obtenu son congé de l'hôpital le jour même de l'accident. L'instructeur n'a obtenu son congé que le lendemain.

1.11 Confiance excessive et vigilance

La confiance excessive est un état de conscience ou de vigilance réduites attribuable à un faux sentiment de sécurité et à la confiance en soi. Deux des caractéristiques de la confiance excessive sont la présomption et l'ennui, lesquels peuvent grandement diminuer le rendement.

La vigilance consiste à conserver le niveau d'attention nécessaire pour effectuer une tâche. Après avoir effectué des tâches de surveillance pendant un certain temps, on peut avoir des moments d'inattention.

On ne peut pas déterminer si une confiance excessive ou un manque de vigilance, ou les deux, ont contribué à l'accident en question, bien que les faits établis par l'enquête donnent à penser que ces deux facteurs, ou l'un ou l'autre, sont en cause.

1.12 Technique de l'instructeur

Un instructeur doit évaluer les avantages qu'il y a à laisser l'élève faire des erreurs, puis il doit attendre pendant un certain temps pour voir si l'élève se rend compte de l'erreur et la corrige, au lieu de prendre immédiatement les commandes, puis les mesures correctives qui s'imposent. Souvent l'instructeur n'a que quelques secondes pour faire cette évaluation, et très peu de temps pour prendre une décision.

Pendant une autorotation complète jusqu'au toucher, l'instructeur doit être vigilant à cause de la vitesse descensionnelle élevée de l'hélicoptère et de la proximité du sol car il a peu de temps pour prendre des mesures correctives. Lorsque la trajectoire d'approche est mal évaluée ou non optimale, l'instructeur ne doit pas tarder à prendre des mesures correctives, comme amorcer un redressement au moteur ou prendre les commandes et continuer le vol jusqu'au toucher à un endroit convenable.

2.0 Analyse

2.1 Introduction

Pendant l'enquête, ni l'instructeur ni l'élève n'ont pu expliquer pourquoi le rotor de queue avait heurté le sol autant avant l'aire d'atterrissage prévue. Des mesures correctives adéquates n'ont pas été prises pendant la descente. L'analyse porte sur les actes de l'instructeur et de l'élève.

2.2 Actes de l'instructeur et de l'élève-pilote

L'élève avait eu du mal à passer au vol sur hélicoptère, mais l'instructeur avait effectué plus de 30 heures de vol avec lui, et il était persuadé que le rendement de l'élève satisfaisait aux normes voulues pour l'obtention d'une annotation de Transports Canada.

Les faits établis par l'enquête correspondent à une confiance excessive ou à un manque de vigilance, ou aux deux, pendant toute l'autorotation finale. L'instructeur était conscient que l'élève avait mal évalué l'altitude et la distance et qu'il avait laissé l'hélicoptère descendre au- dessous de la trajectoire d'approche optimale vers l'aire d'atterrissage prévue, mais il l'a laissé continuer l'autorotation jusqu'au toucher. L'instructeur a tardé à prendre les mesures qui auraient permis d'éviter que le rotor de queue heurte le sol, probablement parce que l'élève avait réussi à faire les cinq autorotations précédentes. Les pales du rotor de queue et l'arbre d'entraînement étant alors endommagés, il s'est produit une perte de maîtrise en direction lorsque le redressement a été tenté, et l'appareil s'est écrasé.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Faits établis

  1. L'élève-pilote a mal évalué l'altitude et la distance par rapport à l'aire d'atterrissage prévue; il a amorcé un arrondi prononcé et n'a pas remis l'hélicoptère à l'horizontale avant le toucher.
  2. L'instructeur a laissé l'élève-pilote continuer l'autorotation jusqu'au toucher, et il a tardé à prendre les mesures qui auraient permis d'éviter que le rotor de queue heurte le sol.
  3. Le rotor de queue a heurté le sol, ce qui a causé des dommages aux pales du rotor de queue et à l'arbre d'entraînement, puis une perte de maîtrise en direction.
  4. L'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.
  5. L'instructeur et l'élève-pilote possédaient les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.

3.2 Causes

L'élève-pilote a mal évalué l'altitude et la distance par rapport à l'aire d'atterrissage prévue pendant l'exercice d'autorotation, et l'instructeur a tardé à prendre les mesures qui auraient permis d'éviter que le rotor de queue heurte le sol et qu'il se produise une perte de maîtrise.

4.0 Mesures de sécurité

Le Bureau n'a, jusqu'ici, recommandé aucune mesure de sécurité.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 12 avril 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Zita Brunet et Hugh MacNeil.

Annexe A - Sigles et abréviations

BST - Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
C - Celsius
ELT - radiobalise de détresse
h - heure
HAR - heure avancée des Rocheuses
lb - livre(s)
LL - à basse teneur en plomb
M - magnétique
N/D - non disponible
UTC - temps universel coordonné
· degré(s)
' minute(s)