Aviation Investigation Report A95C0149

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Engine power loss / mechanical malfunction
Skyteck Aviation Ltd.
BELL 206B JETRANGER
(HELICOPTER) C-GXNM
Drydec, Ontario 4 mi NW
07 July 1995

Summary

The pilot and sole occupant of a Bell 206B helicopter, C-GXNM (serial number 1111), was conducting a visual flight rules (VFR) flight from Dryden to Red Lake, Ontario. This was the first leg of a journey that would transport the pilot and equipment to a contract in the Northwest Territories. The start-up and climb-out were normal, and the pilot had established the helicopter on course at 2,500 feet above dense trees and a river. There was a loud but muffled bang near the rear of the helicopter. The aircraft lurched, and the engine-out warning sounded. The pilot commenced an autorotation to a clearing approximately one-half mile to his left. As he approached the clearing, he realized that the rate and angle of descent would result in the helicopter landing in a flooded area, unsuitable for landing, so he extended the glide to reach the field. The helicopter touched down with a forward speed of 10 to 12 miles per hour and pitched tail-up as it slid to a stop in an upright attitude on the high skid gear. The tail boom and tail rotor assembly were severed from the helicopter by the main rotor blades. The pilot was not injured.

Other Factual Information

The engine failure occurred approximately seven minutes into the first flight after the completion of the 300-hour inspection. The engine had exhibited normal temperatures and pressures during the initial phases of the flight, and there were no warning indications prior to the engine failure. When the engine failed, the helicopter yawed and the engine-out warning sounded.

The engine was removed from the helicopter, and a preliminary teardown determined that the effects of oil starvation of the number 6 and 7 bearings resulted in heat damage to adjacent components and a decoupling of the turbine and compressor sections of the engine. The power turbine scavenge sump was dry, and no ferrous material had transferred to the chip detectors to warn of the impending engine failure. The partially disassembled turbine and oil samples from the engine were forwarded to the TSB Engineering Branch for detailed analysis.

Raccord en té

The oil samples were analyzed by the TSB and by the engine manufacturer. The oil was determined to be the correct type and did not appear to have been contaminated; however, there was evidence that the oil had been exposed to high temperatures. It was not possible to determine if anti-foaming additives were present.

A connector assembly (part number 6848194C), commonly referred to as the tee-fitting, supplies pressure oil to the number 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle and to the pressure oil supply line for the number 8 bearing. The inlet to the tee-fitting is protected by a filter screen. At installation, the upper portion of the 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle is inserted into the base of the tee-fitting, producing a standpipe inside the tee-fitting. As a result, a recess is formed between the standpipe and the inner walls of the fitting. (See Figure 1.)

The TSB Engineering Branch determined that the 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle was blocked by a particle of hard carbon. A piece of hard carbon was also found in the oil supply line for the number 8 bearing. Both carbon particles were too large to have passed through the inlet screen of the tee-fitting. Inspection of the tee-fitting revealed a build-up of hard carbon in the area between the standpipe and the inner wall at the base of the tee-fitting. The degree of carbon build-up was excessive for the time-in-service since the DIL 155 inspection. Using the electron scanning microscope (SEM), a sample of the carbon taken from the base of the tee-fitting was compared with the carbon particles. It could not be conclusively determined that the two particles had come from the base of the tee fitting; however, the carbon particle from the pressure nozzle displayed a uniform curvature with a radius that matched the radius of curvature of the interior passageway of the base of the tee-fitting. Energy dispersive X-ray analysis of the three carbon particles showed that they were probably derived from the same combusted material and/or combustion reaction. The carbon particle that blocked the 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle most probably originated in the base of the tee-fitting.

Allison Gas Turbine/General Motors Corporation publishes the procedures by which the engine is to be maintained and overhauled. The 100-hour inspection specified in the

C20 Operations & Maintenance Manual requires accomplishment of a scavenge flow check from the external sump. If the oil flow from the external sump does not meet 90cc minimum flow, the 6 and 7 bearing pressure oil nozzle, the tee-fitting and filter screen, the scavenge oil strut, and the external scavenge sump must all be cleaned. Additionally, these components must be cleaned at each 300-hour inspection. The procedure for cleaning the pressure oil tee-fitting (O&M Manual, Para 3-184 d.) requires insertion of a number 12, 0.189-inch drill bit into the pressure oil outflow port at the base of the tee-fitting.

The Allison 250-C20 Overhaul Manual calls for the pressure oil nozzle and tee-fitting to be cleaned in an alkaline bath at each overhaul. In distributor information letter (DIL 155) revision 7, dated 28 February 1990, Allison Gas Turbine Division provides the prescribed procedures for accomplishment of a recommended 1,750-hour scheduled turbine heavy maintenance inspection. One of the items of this procedure requires the inspection of all oil nozzle passages and bearing sumps for excessive carbon formation and/or obstructions. The overhauler is directed to clean as necessary.

Essential Turbines Ltd. completed a 1,750-hour heavy maintenance inspection of a turbine (part number 6898735, serial number 33272), in accordance with the DIL 155 procedures. As part of that inspection process, the inlet screens and the pressure tee-fittings for the number 6, 7, and 8 bearings were cleaned using prescribed procedures. The turbine had been received from, and was returned to, Skytech Aviation Ltd., without an external sump installed. The turbine was then installed in the Allison 250-C20B engine (serial number 37173) on Skytech's Bell 206B helicopter, C-GXNM, at an airframe time of 8,585.8 hours. A used but serviceable sump can was inspected, cleaned, and installed by the operator. At 12.8 flight hours after the turbine installation, the engine exhibited smoke from the exhaust.

At the request of the operator, the overhaul agent completed an in-the-field change of the number 5 carbon seal. When the turbine section was removed and inspected, the power turbine support scavenge strut was almost completely blocked with carbon, and carbon had also accumulated in the sump can. The engine oil reportedly was dark but did not smell burned. The overhaul agent changed the number 5 carbon seal and cleaned out the external sump can, and the operator's apprentice engineer cleaned out the scavenge strut. The overhauler visually inspected the scavenge strut to confirm it was clean, and re-installed the turbine. The engine oil filter was cleaned, and the engine oil system was replenished with new oil. The 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle and tee-fitting assembly was not removed during the scavenge strut cleaning. The engine was motored over to ensure a positive oil flow. During an extended ground run, the engine started normally, did not smoke or leak, and spooled down normally. The next day the operator flew the helicopter to Dryden, a flight duration of 0.9 hours.

At Dryden, while conducting a 300-hour inspection, the operator found evidence of an oil leak in the engine compartment. While assessing the leak source, he pulled and re-installed the turbine, and conducted several extended ground runs. The leak was eventually rectified by replacement of a free-wheeling unit. The helicopter had flown less than 14 hours since the turbine inspection, and approximately one hour since the scavenge strut had been cleaned and the engine oil replaced. Therefore, the operator did not conduct a scavenge flow test and did not accomplish the 300-hour inspection items involving the cleaning of the 6/7 bearing pressure-oil and scavenge-oil components.

A review of the inspection and cleaning procedures for the tee-fitting indicated that existing published procedures for inspection and overhaul may not ensure adequate cleaning of carbon build-up in the area of the recess inside the base of the pressure oil tee-fitting. Immersion in an alkaline bath during overhaul and reaming the outflow passage with a drill bit during field cleaning may not ensure that all carbon is removed. Carbon build-up in the base of the tee-fitting is difficult to inspect because it faces away from the inspection access -- the outflow port at the bottom of the tee fitting -- and current inspection procedures do not outline how to access the hidden area to confirm that the area is clear of carbon.

The engine manufacturer indicates that, even if coke/carbon does form in the tee-fitting passage, the design of the standpipe, with its laterally drilled inlet holes, and the proper accomplishment of the inspection procedures as outlined in the maintenance and overhaul manuals should prevent carbon build-up and subsequent inlet blockage. The manufacturer states that a review of the failure history for the 250-C20 series engines does not indicate an inherent design problem. The manufacturer attributes no failures to clogged inlet holes of the pressure oil nozzle on the existing 14,400 engines that have accumulated a total flight time of 60,200,000 hours. The manufacturer estimates that an engine would fail within five minutes or less if its 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle became blocked.

TSB investigators inspected a sample of four turbines in "as-received" condition at an independent overhaul facility. In three of the four turbines, carbon build-up was confirmed inside the base of the tee-fittings. The three turbines that displayed carbon build-up in the tee-fitting had been in service for 1,000 hours or more since their last overhaul. The fourth turbine had been in service less than 500 hours since overhaul. The 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzles in all four sampled turbines were clear of obstruction.

Analysis

There was substantial heat damage in the engine that indicated there was no oil flow beyond the 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle. The bearings had run dry, and there was slight carbon residue in the scavenge strut and sump; however, no ferrous material had been transported downstream to the magnetic chip detectors. This indicates that the engine failure occurred as a result of restricted oil flow from a complete blockage, rather than a partial blockage of the 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle.

The design of the tee-fitting and standpipe assembly is conducive to the formation of carbon between the inner wall of the tee-fitting and the standpipe of the 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle, where oil becomes trapped. A hard carbon deposit had built up in this area of the tee-fitting. The carbon build-up was considered excessive for the hours of operation since the completion of the heavy maintenance inspection.

The carbon particle which blocked the 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle displayed characteristics similar to the composition of the carbon that had formed inside the base of the tee-fitting, and the particle had a uniform curved surface that compared with the inside diameter of the tee-fitting wall. Therefore, it is likely that the carbon originated in the tee-fitting, then broke loose and moved to block the nozzle. Although the manufacturer's data indicate that build-up of carbon in this area has not previously resulted in engine failure, it is concluded that it likely did in this case.

An inspection of pressure oil connector tee-fittings from four independent turbines revealed that carbon deposits had formed in the base of three of the four tee-fittings. The three tee-fittings had been in service for 1,000 hours or more; therefore, they would have been subjected to the drill-cleaning procedures outlined in the manufacturer's 300-hour inspection three or more times.

The current inspection and cleaning instructions may not ensure complete removal of carbon from the recessed area inside the base of the tee-fitting. Solvents may not dissolve all carbon, and reaming of the outflow port with a hand-held drill bit will not reach the area that needs to be cleaned. Considering the degree of carbon build-up in the base of the tee-fitting and the short operating time since accomplishment of the DIL 155 inspection, it is probable that the carbon was not fully removed during the overhaul process.

The following Engineering Branch reports were completed:

  • LP 103/95 - Engine Examination; and
  • LP 106/95 - Oil Sample Analysis.

Findings

1. The engine began making smoke 12.8 flight hours after the overhauler completed a turbine heavy maintenance (DIL 155) inspection/overhaul.

2. The overhauler and the operator's apprentice replaced the number 5 carbon seal, removed carbon from the scavenge strut and from the scavenge sump, and motored the engine to ensure that adequate oil flow was provided to the sump, but did not remove and clean the 6/7 oil pressure nozzle and tee-fitting as specified in the manufacturer's Operating and Maintenance Manual.

3. The turbine had been overhauled less than 14 flight-hours earlier, and the scavenge strut had been cleaned within the last flight-hour. The operator did not complete a power turbine scavenge flow test and did not remove and clean the pressure oil and scavenge components, as outlined in the 300-hour inspection procedures.

4. A build-up of hard carbon in the tee-fitting of this engine was considered excessive for the hours of operation since the completion of the heavy maintenance inspection. It is probable that the carbon was not fully removed during the overhaul process.

5. A particle of carbon blocked the 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle, and the engine failed as a result of the lack of lubrication and the excessive heat damage in the vicinity of the number 6 and number 7 bearings.

6. It is likely that the hard carbon that blocked the oil flow originated in the tee-fitting.

7. The design of the tee-fitting and standpipe assembly is conducive to the formation of carbon in an area between the inner wall of the tee-fitting and the 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle.

8. The manufacturer's procedures do not specifically identify the area within the base of the tee-fitting in which carbon builds, nor do the procedures identify how to inspect this area that is hidden from view.

9. Tee-fittings from three of four independent turbines that were inspected had developed carbon deposits in the base of the tee-fittings, although they would have been subject to cleaning three or more times during 300-hour inspections.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The engine failed in flight because of a lack of lubrication to the number 6 and 7 bearings when a carbon particle blocked the 6/7 bearing pressure oil nozzle. Contributing to the presence of the carbon build-up were the following: a tee-fitting and standpipe design that is conducive to carbon accumulation; a manufacturer's cleaning procedure that does not completely describe the carbon inspection and removal process; inadequate cleaning of the tee fitting during component overhaul; and incomplete cleaning during two subsequent field inspections.

Safety Action

An Aviation Safety Information letter was sent to TC outlining the particulars of the carbon build-up inside the base of the pressure oil tee-fitting as identified during this investigation.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 27 August 1996.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A95C0149

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de puissance / Problème mécanique
Skytech Aviation Ltd.
Bell 206B Jetranger
(hélicoptère) C-GXNM
4 mi au nord-ouest de Dryden (Ontario)
7 juillet 1995

Résumé

Le pilote et seul occupant de l'hélicoptère Bell 206B, immatriculé C-GXNM (numéro de série 1111), effectue un vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) entre Dryden et Red Lake (Ontario). C'est la première étape d'un voyage qui doit amener le pilote et son matériel dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest dans le cadre d'un contrat. Le démarrage et la montée initiale se déroulent normalement, et le pilote établit l'hélicoptère sur sa route à 2 500 pieds au-dessus d'une forêt dense et d'une rivière. Un grand bruit sourd se fait entendre à l'arrière de l'hélicoptère. L'appareil vacille, et l'avertisseur moteur en panne se fait entendre. Le pilote amorce une autorotation vers une clairière située à environ un demi-mille à sa gauche. En approchant de la clairière, il se rend compte que le taux et l'angle de descente vont amener l'hélicoptère à se poser dans une zone inondée ne convenant pas à l'atterrissage; il prolonge alors le plané pour atteindre le terrain. L'hélicoptère se pose avec une vitesse avant de 10 à 12 mi/h et pique du nez pendant qu'il glisse. Il termine sa course à l'horizontale sur le train d'atterrissage surélevé. La poutre de queue et le rotor de queue sont sectionnés par les pales du rotor principal. Le pilote s'en sort indemne.

Autres renseignements de base

La panne moteur est survenue environ sept minutes après le début du premier vol suivant l'inspection des 300 heures. Le moteur affichait les températures et les pressions normales au cours des phases initiales du vol. Il n'y a eu aucune indication d'avertissement avant la panne moteur. Lorsque le moteur est tombé en panne, l'hélicoptère a fait un mouvement de lacet, et l'avertisseur moteur en panne s'est fait entendre.

Le moteur a été enlevé de l'hélicoptère, et un démontage préliminaire a permis de déterminer qu'un manque de lubrification des paliers numéros 6 et 7 avait causé des dommages thermiques aux composants voisins et un désaccouplement des sections compresseur et turbine du moteur. Le carter de récupération de la turbine de travail était à sec. Aucune particule ferreuse n'a atteint les détecteurs de particules, ce qui aurait permis de prévenir le pilote de l'imminence de la défaillance du moteur. La turbine partiellement démontée et des échantillons d'huile ont été expédiés pour analyse détaillée au Laboratoire technique du BST.

Raccord en Té

Les échantillons d'huile ont été analysés par le BST et le motoriste. L'huile était du bon type et ne semblait pas avoir été contaminée; par contre, il y avait des signes que l'huile avait été exposée à des températures élevées. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer si des additifs anti-moussants étaient présents.

Un raccord (réf. n 6848194C), couramment appelé raccord en té, fournit de l'huile sous pression au gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7 et à la conduite d'alimentation en huile sous pression du palier numéro 8. L'entrée du raccord en té est protégée par un filtre. Au montage, la partie supérieure du gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7 est introduite à la base du raccord en té pour constituer un tube à l'intérieur du raccord en té. On obtient alors une cavité entre le tube et les parois internes du raccord (voir la figure 1).

Le Laboratoire technique du BST a déterminé que le gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7 avait été bloqué par une particule de carbone dur. Un morceau de carbone dur a aussi été retrouvé dans la conduite d'alimentation en huile du palier numéro 8. Les deux particules de carbone étaient trop grosses pour être passées dans le filtre du raccord en té. L'inspection de ce raccord a révélé une accumulation de carbone dur dans la zone située entre le tube et la paroi interne de la base du raccord en té. L'accumulation de carbone était excessive compte tenu de la durée en service depuis l'inspection relative à la lettre d'information du distributeur (DIL) 155. Au moyen d'un microscope électronique à balayage (MEB), on a comparé un échantillon de carbone prélevé à la base du raccord en té aux particules de carbone. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer avec certitude si les deux particules provenaient de la base du raccord en té; toutefois, la particule de carbone provenant du gicleur sous pression présentait une courbe uniforme dont le rayon correspondait à la courbe du passage intérieur de la base du raccord en té. Une analyse radiographique aux rayons X diffusés a montré que les trois particules de carbone provenaient probablement du même matériau brûlé ou d'une réaction de combustion, ou les deux. La particule de carbone qui a bloqué le gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7 provenait fort probablement de la base du raccord en té.

Allison Gas Turbine/General Motors Corporation publie les procédures d'entretien et de révision du moteur. L'inspection des 100 heures précisée dans le manuel d'utilisation et de maintenance du moteur 250-C20 exige l'exécution d'une vérification du débit de récupération du carter externe. Si le débit d'huile du carter externe n'est pas d'au moins 90 cm3, il faut alors nettoyer le gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7, le raccord en té et son filtre, le montant d'huile de récupération et le carter de récupération externe. De plus, ces composants doivent être nettoyés à toutes les inspections des 300 heures. La procédure de nettoyage du raccord en té d'huile sous pression (manuel d'utilisation et de maintenance, par. 3-184 d.) exige l'insertion d'un foret numéro 12 de 0,189 pouce dans l'orifice de sortie d'huile sous pression, situé à la base du raccord en té.

Le manuel de révision du moteur 250-C20 d'Allison prescrit le nettoyage du gicleur d'huile sous pression et du raccord en té dans un bain alcalin à chaque révision. Dans la lettre d'information du distributeur (DIL) 155, révision 7, du 28 février 1990, la division des turbines à gaz d'Allison fourni les procédures prescrites pour effectuer une inspection de la turbine lors de la révision majeure prévue à 1 750 heures. Un des points de cette procédure exige l'inspection de tous les passages des gicleurs d'huile et des carters de paliers pour éviter toute accumulation excessive de carbone ou colmatage. L'entrepreneur en révision a pour instruction de nettoyer au besoin.

Essential Turbines Ltd. a effectué une inspection de turbine dans le cadre d'une révision majeure aux 1 750 heures de la turbine (réf. 6898735, numéro de série 33272), conformément aux procédures de la DIL 155. Lors de cette inspection, les filtres d'entrée et les raccords en té sous pression des paliers numéros 6, 7 et 8 ont été nettoyés conformément aux procédures prescrites. La turbine avait été reçue de Skytech Aviation Ltd. et retournée à ce dernier sans que le carter externe y soit monté. La turbine a alors été montée sur le moteur Allison 250-C20 (numéro de série 37173) de l'hélicoptère Bell 206B, immatriculé C-GXNM, de Skytech à 8 585,8 heures cellule. Un carter usagé mais en bon état avait été inspecté, nettoyé et monté par l'exploitant. On a observé de la fumée s'échapper du conduit d'échappement du moteur, 12,8 heures de vol après le montage de la turbine.

À la demande de l'exploitant, l'agent de révision a remplacé sur le terrain le joint carbone numéro 5. Lorsque la turbine a été déposée et inspectée, le montant de support de la turbine de travail servant à la récupération était presque complètement bouché par du carbone, et du carbone s'était aussi accumulé dans le carter. Selon les témoignages, l'huile du moteur était foncée mais elle ne sentait pas le brûlé. L'agent de révision a remplacé le joint carbone numéro 5 et a nettoyé le carter externe, et l'apprenti technicien de l'exploitant a nettoyé le montant de récupération. L'entrepreneur en révision a inspecté visuellement le montant de récupération pour confirmer qu'il était propre, puis il a reposé la turbine. Le filtre d'huile du moteur a été nettoyé, et on a refait le plein du circuit de lubrification du moteur avec de l'huile propre. L'ensemble gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7 et raccord en té n'a pas été déposé lors du nettoyage du montant de récupération. On a fait tourner le moteur pour s'assurer que l'huile circulait bien. Au cours d'un point fixe prolongé, le moteur a démarré normalement, n'a dégagé aucune fumée, n'a présenté aucune fuite et a décéléré normalement. Le lendemain, l'exploitant a utilisé l'hélicoptère (0,9 heure de vol) pour se rendre à Dryden.

À Dryden, l'hélicoptère a fait l'objet d'une inspection des 300 heures qui a révélé des signes de fuite d'huile dans le compartiment moteur. Pour essayer de trouver la source de la fuite d'huile, l'exploitant a enlevé la turbine, l'a remis en place, puis il a fait plusieurs points fixes prolongés. On a finalement remédié à la fuite en remplaçant le dispositif de roue libre. L'hélicoptère avait effectué moins de 14 heures de vol depuis l'inspection de la turbine, et environ une heure depuis le nettoyage du montant de récupération et la vidange d'huile du moteur. Par conséquent, l'exploitant n'a pas effectué un essai du débit de récupération et n'a pas vérifié les points de l'inspection aux 300 heures relatifs au nettoyage des composants d'alimentation en huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7 et de récupération d'huile.

Un examen des procédures d'inspection et de nettoyage du raccord en té a révélé qu'il est possible que les procédures publiées qui étaient en vigueur pour l'inspection et la révision puissent ne pas permettre d'assurer le nettoyage adéquat de toute accumulation de carbone dans la cavité située à la base du raccord en té sous pression. Il est possible que l'immersion dans un bain alcalin pendant la révision et que l'alésage de l'orifice de sortie au moyen d'un foret pendant le nettoyage sur le terrain puissent ne pas permettre d'assurer que toute accumulation de carbone a été éliminée. L'accumulation de carbone à la base du raccord en té est difficile à inspecter parce qu'elle se trouve de l'autre côté de l'ouverture d'accès pour l'inspection, soit l'orifice de sortie situé au bas du raccord en té. Les procédures d'inspection courantes n'indiquent pas comment accéder à cette zone cachée pour confirmer qu'elle est exempte de carbone.

Le motoriste indique que, même si de la calamine ou du carbone se déposent dans le passage du raccord en té, la conception du tube, avec ses trous d'admission percés latéralement, ainsi que la bonne exécution des procédures d'inspection indiquées dans les manuels d'utilisation et de maintenance devraient empêcher toute accumulation de carbone et tout colmatage de l'entrée. Le motoriste précise qu'une revue des antécédents de défaillance des moteurs de la série 250-C20 ne révèle aucun problème de conception inhérent. Le motoriste indique qu'il n'y a aucun cas de défaillance causée par des trous d'entrée colmatés sur le gicleur d'huile sous pression sur les 14 400 moteurs existants qui totalisent au moins 60 200 000 heures de fonctionnement. Le motoriste estime que le moteur tomberait en panne en moins de cinq minutes si son gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7 se bouchait.

Les enquêteurs du BST ont inspecté quatre turbines dans l'état qu'elles sont arrivées à un atelier de révision indépendant. Trois des quatre turbines présentaient une accumulation de carbone à l'intérieur de la base du raccord en té. Les trois turbines qui présentaient une accumulation de carbone à la base du raccord en té totalisaient au moins 1 000 heures de fonctionnement depuis la dernière révision. La quatrième turbine totalisait moins de 500 heures depuis la révision. Les gicleurs d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7 des quatre turbines analysées ne présentaient aucune obstruction.

Analyse

Les dommages thermiques importants dans le moteur révèlent qu'il n'y a eu aucun écoulement d'huile au-delà du gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7. Les paliers avaient tourné à sec, et il y avait un léger résidu de carbone dans le montant de récupération et dans le carter; par contre, aucun matériau ferreux n'avait été transporté en aval, vers les détecteurs magnétiques de particules, ce qui indique que la défaillance du moteur s'est produite à la suite d'une restriction de l'écoulement de l'huile causée par un colmatage complet plutôt que par un colmatage partiel du gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7.

La conception de l'ensemble raccord en té et tube favorise la formation de carbone entre la paroi interne du raccord en té et le tube du gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7, où l'huile s'accumule. Un dépôt de carbone dur s'est formé à cet endroit du raccord en té. L'accumulation de carbone a été jugée excessive compte tenu des heures de service depuis la fin de l'inspection de la révision majeure.

La particule de carbone qui a bouché le gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7 présentait des caractéristiques semblables à celle de la particule de carbone qui s'était déposée à l'intérieur de la base du raccord en té, et la particule avait une surface courbe uniforme comparable au diamètre intérieur de la paroi du raccord en té. Par conséquent, il est probable que la particule de carbone provenait du raccord en té, puis qu'elle s'est détachée et s'est déplacée pour boucher le gicleur. Les données du motoriste révèlent qu'une accumulation de carbone à cet endroit n'a jamais causé de défaillance de moteur, mais le BST en est venu à la conclusion que c'est ce qui s'est produit dans ce cas-ci.

Une inspection des raccords en té d'huile sous pression de quatre turbines indépendantes a révélé que des dépôts de carbone s'étaient formés à la base de trois des quatre raccords en té. Les trois raccords en té totalisaient au moins 1 000 heures de service; par conséquent, ils auraient été soumis à trois ou quatre reprises à la procédure de nettoyage au foret que stipule l'inspection des 300 heures du motoriste.

Il est possible que les instructions d'inspection et de nettoyage actuelles ne permettent pas d'assurer l'élimination complète des particules de carbone de la cavité située à la base du raccord en té. Il est possible que des solvants puissent ne pas venir à bout de tous les dépôts de carbone, et l'alésage manuel de l'orifice de sortie avec un foret ne permettra pas d'atteindre la zone qui doit être nettoyée. Compte tenu de l'importance de l'accumulation de carbone à la base du raccord en té et de la courte durée en service depuis l'inspection de la DIL 155, il est probable que le carbone n'a pas été entièrement éliminé lors de la révision.

L'enquête a donné lieu aux rapports de laboratoire suivants :

  • LP 103/95 - Engine Examination (Examen du moteur);
  • LP 106/95 - Oil Sample Analysis (Analyse d'un échantillon d'huile).

Faits établis

  1. De la fumée s'est échappée du moteur 12,8 heures après que l'entrepreneur en révision a effectué une inspection de révision majeure (DIL 155) de la turbine.
  2. L'entrepreneur en révision et l'apprenti technicien de l'exploitant ont remplacé le joint carbone numéro 5, ont enlevé le carbone qui se trouvait dans le montant de récupération et du carter de récupération et ont fait tourner le moteur pour s'assurer que l'huile s'écoulait en quantité suffisante vers le carter, mais ils n'ont pas retiré ni nettoyé le gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7 ni le raccord en té, comme le précisait le manuel d'utilisation et de maintenance du motoriste.
  3. La turbine avait été révisée moins de 14 heures de service avant l'événement, et le montant de récupération avait été nettoyé lors de la dernière heure de vol. L'exploitant n'a pas effectué un essai de débit de récupération de la turbine de travail et n'a pas enlevé ni nettoyé les composants de récupération et d'alimentation en huile sous pression et de récupération, comme le précisaient les procédures de l'inspection des 300 heures.
  4. Une accumulation de carbone dans le raccord en té de ce moteur a été jugée excessive compte tenu des heures de service depuis la révision majeure. Il est probable que le carbone n'a pas été entièrement éliminé au cours de la révision.
  5. Une particule de carbone a bouché le gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7, et le moteur est tombé en panne faute de lubrification et en raison de dommages thermiques excessifs dans le voisinage des paliers numéros 6 et 7.
  6. Il est probable que le carbone dur qui a bouché l'écoulement d'huile provenait du raccord en té.
  7. La conception de l'ensemble raccord en té et tube favorise la formation de carbone dans la zone située entre la paroi intérieure du raccord en té et le gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7.
  8. Les procédures du motoriste ne précisaient pas la zone de la base du raccord en té où s'accumule le carbone, ni n'indiquaient comment inspecter cette zone cachée.
  9. Quatre autres turbines ont été inspectées, et les raccords en té de trois d'entre elles présentaient des dépôts de carbone à leur base, même si ces raccords avaient dû subir au moins trois nettoyages lors d'inspections des 300 heures.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le moteur est tombé en panne en vol à cause d'un manque de lubrification des paliers numéros 6 et 7 parce qu'une particule de carbone a bouché le gicleur d'huile sous pression des paliers 6 et 7. Les facteurs suivants ont contribué à l'accumulation de carbone : conception du raccord en té et du tube qui favorisait une accumulation de carbone, procédure de nettoyage du motoriste qui ne décrivait pas complètement les procédés d'inspection et d'élimination du carbone, nettoyage insuffisant du raccord en té pendant la révision des composants, et nettoyage incomplet lors de deux inspections subséquentes sur le terrain.

Mesures de sécurité

Mesures prises

Une lettre d'information sur la sécurité aérienne a été envoyée à Transports Canada donnant des détails sur l'accumulation de carbone à l'intérieur de la base du raccord en té d'huile sous pression.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet événement. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 27 août 1996 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail et W.A. Tadros.