Aviation Investigation Report A95P0268

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety.It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Aviation occurrence Report

Collision with Trees
Navair Charter Inc.
Piper PA-31 (NAVAJO) C-GKNB
Kamloops, British Columbia 7 nm ESE
22 November 1995

Summary

The Navair Charter Piper PA-31, flight FCV705, a mail courier with a crew of two, was on a night, instrument flight rules (IFR) flight plan from Williams Lake, British Columbia, to Kamloops. While the crew was conducting an instrument procedure to the Kamloops airport, they flew into an area that was clear of cloud. The captain cancelled his IFR flight plan and descended for a visual flight rules (VFR) approach to the airport. At 1902 PST(1), the aircraft collided with trees at an elevation of 2,400 feet above sea level (asl), seven nautical miles (nm) east-southeast of the Kamloops airport. The captain was fatally injured on impact, and the first officer was seriously injured; the aircraft was destroyed during the crash and post-crash fire.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The flight had originated as Navair flight FCV704, which departed Vancouver at 0633 PST for a courier flight to Williams Lake. It arrived at Williams Lake at 0838; after securing the aircraft, the crew retired to their lodgings to rest until the late afternoon departure. The crew returned to the airport at 1730, and, while the first officer prepared the aircraft for departure, the captain obtained a weather briefing for the return flight.

The mail delivery vehicle arrived at the Williams Lake airport 10 minutes later than scheduled, and 210 pounds of freight was loaded onto the aircraft. The flight, now designated FCV705, departed Williams Lake at 1815 for the return trip to Kamloops, and then Vancouver. As they approached Kamloops at 11,000 feet asl, the crew made radio contact with company flight FCV719, an MU-2 aircraft which had arrived in Kamloops at 1846. Its crew reported finding a break in the cloud cover on the instrument approach localizer, about 8 nm from the airport, and they had cancelled their IFR flight plan and had flown a visual approach to the airport. The crew of FCV705 then discussed the conditions under which they too might cancel IFR. The first officer, who was flying the aircraft from the left seat, expressed concern about the prospect of a visual descent over dark terrain and briefed the captain on the full IFR procedure approach.

At 1852, the crew commenced an instrument approach procedure to the Kamloops airport. The Navajo is a category B aircraft, and the lowest minimum descent altitude (MDA) for a category B aircraft at Kamloops is 3,200 feet asl. The Kamloops airport elevation is 1,133 feet asl, which means that the lowest the aircraft could descend during an IFR approach, without the crew seeing the runway environment, would be 2,067 feet above ground level (agl).

The 0200Z Kamloops weather was reported as 800 feet agl scattered, measured ceiling of 1,900 feet agl overcast, with a light wind, and a visibility of 10 miles. This weather sequence, although more than one hour old, was the last one the crew had requested and the one they were using. At the time of the accident, the Kamloops weather was reported as 800 feet agl scattered, measured ceiling of 1,600 feet agl overcast, with a light wind, and a visibility of 10 miles. It was a dark night, and the sky condition consisted of a 1/10 opacity of stratus fractus and 9/10 opacity of stratus type clouds. Both the forecast and the reported ceiling indicated that the weather was below the minimum required to successfully complete the approach.

As the aircraft began its approach, the captain contacted Kamloops Flight Service Station (FSS) and advised the FSS specialist that he anticipated cancelling the IFR flight plan as soon as possible. The FSS specialist acknowledged the call and provided the airport advisory information, including information that a DHC-8 and a company aircraft were awaiting departure from runway 08 on IFR flight plans. To minimize conflict between arriving and departing IFR traffic, regulations require that aircraft departing on an IFR flight plan not be allowed to take off until the arriving aircraft has either landed, or has cancelled IFR. Some flight crews cancel their IFR flight plans during an approach to facilitate or expedite the departure of other IFR traffic.

During the outbound leg of the approach procedure, the crew established visual contact with lights and other ground references through a break in the cloud layer. The break in the clouds was centred on the localizer, was about 10 nm wide, and extended from the Kamloops non-directional beacon eastward for about 15 nm. The captain cancelled his IFR flight plan at 1855, took over control of the aircraft, and began a circling descent, perpendicular to the localizer, in what appears to have been a figure-eight pattern. At 1858, the crew advised the FSS specialist that they were in descent at 10 nm; 40 seconds later they reported through 5,000 feet and still in the descent.

At 1901, ATS released a DHC-8 for take-off and departure from runway 08. The published IFR departure from that runway placed the DHC-8 on an opposing track with FCV705. The crew of FCV705 was well aware of the departing DHC-8 and of the potential traffic conflict with it. At 1901:26, the FSS specialist called the Navajo for an updated position report, to which the pilot replied that they were 8nm DME out and descending through 2,500 feet. There was no further communication from the aircraft. At 1905, the Kamloops RCMP informed the FSS specialist that an aircraft accident might have occurred in the Juniper Ridge area.

Although risks are always present during night visual flight operations, the risks are even higher in mountainous regions because of the high terrain that surrounds many airports. The published night circuit procedure for the Kamloops airport recommends that only pilots familiar with the local area use the airport during darkness, that all six hazard beacons which identify the circuit area be operational, and that all turns be completed within the perimeter of the hazard beacons. The hazard beacons were operating normally at the time of the accident.

The instrument approach procedure to runway 26 at Kamloops uses a non-directional beacon and a localizer that is aligned, in part, with the valley of the South Thompson River. Although the valley floor is at an elevation of about 1,200 feet asl, the terrain on both sides of the valley rises to at least 3,000 feet. The accident occurred on high ground, outside the area that is normally used for night VFR circuits.

VFR flight relies on the availability of adequate visual cues to allow a pilot to navigate using ground references, and to maintain safe clearance between the aircraft and any local obstacles. Air Navigation Order (ANO) Series VII, No. 3, details specific minimum weather requirements for VFR flight. However, in addition to adverse weather conditions, darkness and sparsely lit terrain often combine to reduce available visual cues, thus degrading a pilot's ability to judge his position and altitude by visual means. This accident occurred in a sparsely lit mountain valley.

The crew was appropriately licensed and qualified for the flight. The captain, employed by Navair for the previous three years, was familiar with the area surrounding the Kamloops airport since he had flown the same flights two to four times per week. The first officer, employed by Navair for the previous three and a half months, was not so familiar with the Kamloops airport, since he had flown this route about 14 times, and only once in IFR conditions at night.

The Piper PA-31 aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. Because of the destruction of the aircraft by the impact and post-crash fire, investigators could not determine if any pre-impact failure or system malfunction contributed to this accident; however, none was identified.

The first officer was wearing a shoulder harness at the time of the accident, and he believes it saved his life. The captain was not wearing a shoulder harness, although one was available.

A Transport Canada audit, conducted on 21 November 1995 in accordance with standard Transport Canada audit procedures, reported that the company was maintaining a satisfactory standard in accordance with appropriate sections of the Air Regulations.

Analysis

The crew began a full instrument approach procedure to runway 26 at Kamloops. The reported weather at the time of the approach was below the minima required to complete an approach to category B limits. Therefore, there was a possibility that the crew might miss the approach and divert to their alternate.

During the approach, the captain established visual contact with lights and other ground references, then cancelled his IFR flight plan. His decision to cancel was likely influenced by his knowledge of the weather, and by the fact that a previous company flight had successfully carried out a visual approach to Kamloops about 15 minutes earlier. It is also possible that the captain's action was intended to help expedite the departure of other aircraft waiting to take off from Kamloops on IFR flight plans. In practical terms, however, this delay would probably have been insignificant to the departing aircraft.

After the captain cancelled his IFR flight plan, ATS released a DHC-8 for take-off on runway 08. The published instrument departure procedure for that runway placed the DHC-8 on a conflicting track with the accident aircraft. It is possible that this traffic conflict influenced the pilot to descend lower than normal in order to ensure separation with the approaching aircraft.

A VFR descent procedure does not provide the benefit of guaranteed terrain clearance and, in the absence of adequate visual references, may place the aircraft at a dangerously low altitude without the knowledge of the crew. Although the prevailing weather conditions were suitable for VFR flight, as detailed by the ANOs, the dark, overcast night, coupled with the sparsely lit, featureless terrain below, would have reduced available visual cues for the pilots to judge their actual height above the ground, or their position relative to local obstacles. As a result, the overall conditions would have impeded the ability of the pilots to continue the flight with visual reference to the ground.

Findings

  1. The crew was licensed and qualified for the flight.
  2. The aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.
  3. A Transport Canada audit reported that the company had maintained a satisfactory standard in accordance with appropriate sections of the regulations.
  4. The Kamloops airport is surrounded by mountainous terrain on all sides, and cautions have been published about use of the airport for VFR flight at night.
  5. All instrument radio approach aids and all hazard beacons for the visual night circuit procedure were operating normally.
  6. The weather conditions at Kamloops were suitable for VFR flight, as detailed by the ANOs; however, the overall conditions, brought on by darkness and sparsely lit terrain, would have reduced the available visual cues, and would have impeded the pilots' ability to navigate and maintain separation from the ground by visual means.
  7. The captain cancelled his IFR flight plan while conducting an instrument procedure to the Kamloops airport and descended through a break in the cloud layer.
  8. During the descent, the crew had insufficient visual cues to continue the flight safely with visual reference to the ground.
  9. The aircraft collided with trees, in mountainous terrain, approximately seven nautical miles east-southeast of the airport and slightly south of the localizer track.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The aircraft collided with trees during a night, VFR descent over mountainous terrain because the crew had inadequate visual cues to accurately determine their height above the ground. Contributing to this accident were the captain's decision to cancel his IFR flight plan and attempt a visual approach from well outside the published VFR circuit area, the inherent risks of VFR flight in mountainous regions, and a requirement by the crew to remain clear of departing IFR traffic from the Kamloops airport.

Safety Action

Action Taken

Since the accident, Navair Charter has hired an outside agency to provide all company flight crew members with cockpit/crew resource management (CRM) training. All crews have received this CRM training, except for the recently hired pilots, who should receive it within a few months of their hiring.

At a company flight safety meeting held shortly after the accident, Navair reviewed company policy on cancelling IFR flight plans at night, and the night circuit procedures. Navair emphasized that cancelling IFR flight plans to accommodate other aircraft is not recommended.

Navair is presently developing a company Standard Operating Procedure manual which will comply with the new Canadian Aviation Regulations and will address the night IFR and night circuit procedures.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 23 October 1997.

Appendix A

Kamloops Airport Area and Crash Site


1. All times are PST (Coordinated Universal Time minus 8 hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A95P0268

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec des arbres
Navair Charter Inc.
Piper PA-31 Navajo C-GKNB
7 nm à l'est-sud-est de Kamloops
(Colombie-Britannique)
22 novembre 1995

Résumé

Le Piper PA-31 du vol FCV705 de Navair Charter, un avion postal à deux membres d'équipage, effectuait un vol de nuit selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR), de Williams Lake (Colombie-Britannique) à Kamloops. Alors que l'équipage effectuait une procédure aux instruments à l'aéroport de Kamloops, il s'est retrouvé dans une zone sans nuages. Le commandant de bord a annulé son plan de vol IFR et est descendu pour effectuer une approche selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) sur l'aéroport. À 19 h 2, heure normale des Rocheuses (HNP)(1), l'avion a heurté des arbres à une altitude de 2 400 pieds-mer, à sept milles marins à l'est-sud-est de l'aéroport de Kamloops. Le commandant de bord a été tué sur le coup, et le copilote a été grièvement blessé; l'appareil a été détruit par le choc et par l'incendie qui s'est déclaré après l'impact.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

À l'origine, le vol portait l'indicatif Navair FCV704. Il était parti de Vancouver à 6 h 33 HNP pour transporter du courrier à Williams Lake. Il est arrivé à Williams Lake à 8 h 38. Après avoir fermé l'avion, l'équipage s'est retiré dans ses quartiers pour se reposer jusqu'au moment du départ, en fin d'après-midi. L'équipage est revenu à l'aéroport à 17 h 30 et, alors que le copilote préparait l'avion pour le départ, le commandant de bord a obtenu un exposé météorologique pour le vol de retour.

Le camion de la poste est arrivé à l'aéroport de Williams Lake avec 10 minutes de retard, et 210 livres de fret ont alors été chargées à bord de l'appareil. Le vol, maintenant désigné sous l'indicatif FCV705, est parti de Williams Lake à 18 h 15 pour le vol de retour à Kamloops, puis à Vancouver. Alors qu'il approchait de Kamloops à 11 000 pieds-mer, l'équipage a établi le contact radio avec le vol FCV719 de la compagnie, un appareil MU-2 qui était arrivé à Kamloops à 18 h 46. Son équipage a signalé qu'il avait trouvé une trouée dans la couverture nuageuse au-dessus du radiophare d'alignement d'approche, situé à environ 8 milles marins de l'aéroport et qu'il avait annulé son plan de vol IFR pour effectuer une approche à vue sur l'aéroport. L'équipage du FCV705 a alors discuté des conditions selon lesquelles il pourrait lui aussi annuler son plan de vol IFR. Le copilote, qui pilotait l'avion en place gauche, a exprimé son inquiétude à la perspective d'avoir à effectuer une descente à vue au-dessus du relief sombre et a donné des indications au commandant de bord sur toute l'approche selon la procédure IFR.

À 18 h 52, l'équipage a entrepris une procédure d'approche aux instruments sur l'aéroport de Kamloops. Le Navajo est un aéronef de catégorie B, et l'altitude minimale de descente pour un aéronef de catégorie B à Kamloops est de 3 200 pieds-mer. L'aéroport de Kamloops est situé à une altitude de 1 133 pieds-mer, ce qui signifie que le plus bas que l'équipage pouvait descendre pendant l'approche IFR sans avoir établi le contact visuel avec les abords de la piste était 2 067 pieds-sol.

Les conditions météorologiques de 0200Z à Kamloops étaient les suivantes : nuages épars à 800 pieds-sol, plafond mesuré à 1 900 pieds avec ciel couvert, vents légers et visibilité de 10 milles. Ce message météorologique, bien qu'il signalait les conditions en vigueur une heure plus tôt, était le dernier que l'équipage avait demandé et celui qu'il utilisait. Au moment de l'accident, les conditions météorologiques à Kamloops étaient les suivantes : nuages épars à 800 pieds-sol, plafond mesuré à 1 600 pieds avec ciel couvert, vents légers et visibilité de 10 milles. Il faisait nuit noire; 1/10 du ciel était couvert avec des stratus fractus, et 9/10 du ciel était couvert avec des stratus. Tant la prévision météorologique que le plafond signalé indiquaient que les conditions météorologiques étaient inférieures au minimum permettant d'exécuter l'approche avec succès.

Au début de l'approche, le commandant de bord a contacté la station d'information de vol (FSS) de Kamloops et a signalé qu'il prévoyait annuler son plan de vol IFR le plus tôt possible. Le spécialiste FSS a accusé réception de l'appel et a fourni les renseigements habituels sur l'aéroport, indiquant qu'un DHC-8 et un avion de la compagnie attendaient de décoller de la piste 08 selon des plans de vol IFR. En vue de réduire au minimum tout conflit entre les avions IFR au départ et à l'arrivée, la réglementation exige qu'un appareil au départ selon un plan de vol IFR ne soit pas autorisé à décoller tant que l'appareil à l'arrivée n'a pas atterri ou annulé son plan de vol IFR. Certains équipages annulent leur plan de vol IFR pendant l'approche pour faciliter ou accélérer le départ des autres appareils en IFR.

Au cours de l'étape en éloignement de la procédure d'approche, l'équipage a établi le contact visuel avec les feux et les autres références au sol grâce à une trouée dans la couche nuageuse. La trouée était centrée au-dessus du radiophare d'alignement de piste (LOC); elle avait une largeur d'environ 10 milles marins et se prolongeait vers l'est sur environ 15 milles marins à partir du radiophare non directionnel (NDB) de Kamloops. Le commandant de bord a annulé son plan de vol IFR à 18 h 55, a pris les commandes et a entamé une descente indirecte perpendiculaire au LOC en ce qui semble avoir été un circuit en huit. À 18 h 58, l'équipage a avisé la FSS qu'il se trouvait en descente à 10 milles marins; 40 secondes plus tard, il a signalé qu'il était à 5 000 pieds en descente.

À 19 h 1, l'ATS a autorisé un DHC-8 à décoller de la piste 08. La procédure de départ IFR publiée pour cette piste plaçait le DHC-8 sur une trajectoire inverse de celle du vol FCV705. L'équipage du vol FCV705 savait très bien que le DHC-8 avait été autorisé à décoller et qu'il risquait d'entrer en conflit avec lui. À 19 h 1 h 26, le spécialiste FSS a demandé un rapport de position à jour à l'équipage du Navajo, et le pilote a répondu qu'il venait de franchir 2 500 pieds en descente à 8 milles marins DME (équipement de mesure de distance). Il n'y a eu aucune autre communication de la part de cet avion. À 19 h 5, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) de Kamloops a informé le spécialiste FSS qu'un aéronef s'était peut-être écrasé sur la crête Juniper.

Bien que les vols à vue de nuit présentent toujours des risques, ces derniers sont encore plus grands en région montagneuse à cause du relief élevé qui entoure bien des aéroports. La procédure de circuit de piste de nuit publiée pour l'aéroport de Kamloops stipule que seuls les pilotes connaissant bien les environs devraient utiliser l'aéroport s'il fait noir; de plus, les six balises lumineuses délimitant la zone du circuit doivent fonctionner et tous les virages doivent être effectués dans les limites du périmètre des balises lumineuses. L'enquête a révélé que les balises lumineuses fonctionnaient normalement au moment de l'accident.

La procédure d'approche aux instruments sur la piste 26 à Kamloops fait appel à un NDB et à un LOC qui est aligné, en partie, sur la vallée de la rivière Thompson sud. Bien que le plancher de la vallée se trouve à une altitude de 1 200 pieds-mer, le relief des deux côtés de celle-ci s'élève à au moins 3 000 pieds. L'avion s'est écrasé sur un terrain élevé, à l'extérieur de la zone normalement utilisée pour les circuits VFR de nuit.

Le vol VFR repose sur la disponibilité de repères visuels permettant à un pilote de naviguer au moyen de références au sol et qui assurent un dégagement en toute sécurité entre l'avion et tout obstacle de l'endroit. L'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne (ONA), série VII, n 3, précise en détail les exigences météorologiques minimales propres au vol VFR. Toutefois, outre de mauvaises conditions météorologiques, la nuit et un terrain peu éclairé contribuent souvent à réduire le nombre de répères visuels, ce qui empêche le pilote de bien évaluer sa position et son altitude. L'accident s'est produit dans une vallée montagneuse peu éclairée.

Les deux pilotes possédaient les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol. Le commandant de bord, au service de Navair depuis trois ans, connaissait la région aux environs de l'aéroport de Kamloops puisqu'il avait déjà effectué les mêmes vols deux à quatre fois par semaine. Le copilote, au service de Navair depuis trois mois et demi, ne connaissait pas aussi bien l'aéroport de Kamloops puisqu'il avait effectué ce vol environ 14 fois, mais seulement une fois en IFR de nuit.

L'avion Piper PA-31 était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. À cause de la destruction de l'appareil à l'impact et de l'incendie qui a suivi, les enquêteurs n'ont pu déterminer si une défaillance ou une défectuosité d'un système avant l'impact avait pu contribuer à l'accident; cependant, rien de tel n'a été constaté.

Le copilote portait son harnais de sécurité au moment de l'accident, et il croit que c'est ce qui lui a sauvé la vie. Le commandant de bord ne portait pas son harnais de sécurité, même si son siège était équipé de ce dispositif.

Une vérification de Transports Canada, menée le 21 novembre 1995 conformément aux procédures de vérification normalisées de Transports Canada, a révélé que le dossier de la compagnie etait satisfaisant, conformément aux articles appropriés du Règlement de l'Air.

Analyse

L'équipage a entrepris une procédure d'approche complète aux instruments vers la piste 26 à Kamloops. Les conditions météorologiques signalées au moment de l'approche étaient inférieures aux minima nécessaires pour effectuer une approche selon les limites de la catégorie B. Par conséquent, il y avait une possibilité que l'équipage manque son approche et se déroute vers son aéroport de dégagement.

Au cours de l'approche, le commandant de bord a établi le contact visuel avec des feux et d'autres références au sol, puis il a annulé son plan de vol IFR. La décision du commandant de bord d'annuler son plan de vol a probablement été influencée par le fait qu'il connaissait les conditions météorologiques et par le fait qu'un avion de la compagnie avait réussi à effectuer une approche à vue à Kamloops 15 minutes plus tôt. Il se peut aussi que la décision du commandant de bord ait été prise pour aider à accélérer le départ d'autres appareils qui attendaient de décoller de Kamloops en vertu de plans de vol IFR. En pratique, par contre, ce délai aurait probablement été négligeable pour les appareils au départ.

Après que le commandant de bord a annulé son plan de vol IFR, l'ATS a autorisé un DHC-8 à rouler pour décoller de la piste 08. La procédure de départ aux instruments publiée pour cette piste plaçait le DHC-8 sur une trajectoire conflictuelle avec l'avion qui a subi l'accident. Il est possible que ce conflit ait influencé le pilote qui serait alors descendu plus bas qu'en temps normal afin d'assurer l'espacement avec l'avion qui approchait.

Une procédure de descente en VFR n'offre pas l'avantage d'un franchissement garanti du relief et, en l'absence de références visuelles suffisantes, peut placer l'avion sur une altitude dangereusement basse à l'insu de l'équipage. Même si les conditions météorologiques du moment convenaient à un vol VFR, selon ce que stipulent les ONA, la nuit noire sous une couverture nuageuse, jumelée à un relief peu éclairé et sans caractéristiques, aurait réduit le nombre de repères visuels permettant aux pilotes de juger de leur hauteur réelle au-dessus du sol ou de leur position par rapport aux obstacles environnants. Les conditions générales auraient donc gêné les pilotes qui essayaient de poursuivre le vol par référence visuelle avec le sol.

Faits établis

  1. Les pilotes possédaient les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol.
  2. L'aéronef était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.
  3. Une vérification de Transports Canada a révelé que la compagnie avait un dossier satisfaisant, relativement aux articles appropriés du Règlement de l'Air.
  4. L'aéroport de Kamloops est entouré d'un relief montagneux sur tous les côtés, et des mises en garde avaient été publiées au sujet de l'utilisation de l'aéroport en vol VFR la nuit.
  5. Toutes les aides radio pour une approche aux instruments et toutes les balises lumineuses fonctionnaient normalement pour une procédure de circuit de piste à vue la nuit.
  6. Les conditionms météorologiques à Kamloops convenaient au vol VFR, comme le stipulent les ONA; par contre, les conditions générales, causées par la nuit noire et un terrain peu éclairé, ont pu réduire le nombre de repères visuels et compromettre la capacité des pilotes à naviguer et à assurer l'espacement par rapport au sol au moyen de repères visuels.
  7. Le commandant de bord a annulé son plan de vol IFR pendant qu'il effectuait une procédure aux instruments à l'aéroport de Kamloops et il est descendu dans une trouée de la couche nuageuse.
  8. Pendant la descente, l'équipage n'avait pas suffisamment de repères visuels pour poursuivre le vol en toute sécurité par référence avec le sol.
  9. L'avion a heurté des arbres, en terrain montagneux, à environ sept milles marins à l'est-sud-est de l'aéroport et légèrement au sud de la trajectoire du radiophare d'alignement de piste.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'avion a heurté des arbres au cours d'une descente VFR de nuit au-dessus d'un terrain montagneux parce que l'équipage n'avait pas suffisamment de repères visuels lui permettant de déterminer sa hauteur au-dessus du sol. Facteurs contributifs : la décision du commandant de bord d'annuler son plan de vol IFR et de tenter une approche à vue à partir d'un point situé bien à l'extérieur de la zone de circuit VFR publiée, les risques inhérents à tout vol VFR effectué en région montagneuse et la demande de l'équipage de se tenir à bonne distance des avions qui décollaient en IFR de l'aéroport de Kamloops.

Mesures de sécurité

Mesures prises

Depuis l'accident, Navair Charter a embauché une agence de l'extérieur pour offrir à tous les membres d'équipage une formation en gestion des ressources de l'équipage (CRM). Tous les équipages ont reçu cette formation, sauf les pilotes récemment embauchés, qui devraient la recevoir dans les quelques mois suivant leur embauche.

Lors d'une réunion sur la sécurité des vols de la compagnie tenue peu de temps après l'accident, Navair a examiné sa politique sur l'annulation des plans de vol IFR la nuit ainsi que les procédures de circuit de piste la nuit. Navair a souligné le fait qu'annuler un plan de vol IFR pour rendre service à d'autres appareils n'est pas recommandé.

Navair est en train de rédiger un manuel de procédures d'exploitation normalisées qui sera conforme au nouveau Règlement de l'aviation canadien et qui traitera des vols IFR de nuit et des procédures de circuit de piste la nuit.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 23 octobre 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.

Annexe A

Annexe A


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HNP (temps universel coordonné moins 8 heures) à moins d'indication contraire.