Aviation Investigation Report A95P0272

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Canadian Airlines International
-200 C-GCPS
Vancouver, British Columbia 60 nm E
05 December 1995

Summary

The Canadian Airlines Boeing 737 (CDN 688) departed Vancouver, British Columbia, at 2036 Pacific standard time and was climbing through flight level 310 when the crew felt a severe airframe vibration. There were no other abnormal indications. The crew decided to return to Vancouver, and, as the aircraft slowed down in the descent, the vibration stopped. Moderate vibration was again experienced during the approach, with flaps extended, but an uneventful, normal landing was carried out with the emergency response services on standby. An examination of the aircraft revealed that a two-foot section of the right elevator trim tab (part number 65-73799-14) was missing.

Other Factual Information

The elevator trim tab was 90 inches long and had 4 hinge points, approximately 27 inches apart, with the control horn at the inboard end of the tab, inboard of the first hinge. It was the section between the first and second hinge points that broke off and was not found. The remaining small inboard section of the tab, with the control horn, broke free from the first hinge and was held to the elevator only by the attachment to the control rod. The outboard section was still attached by the remaining three hinges. Marks on the hinges indicated that this section was probably oscillating rapidly through its full range of movement.

The technician who removed the remaining portions of the trim tab noted that a fluid had flowed from the trim tab after he had removed it. Based on the fluid's appearance and odour, he assessed that it was de-icing fluid. The aircraft had been de-iced in Winnipeg about 24 hours before the occurrence flight, and since then, had flown 9 flights and accumulated 11.2 flight hours.

The small inboard section of the trim tab that had remained attached to the aircraft was examined by the TSB Engineering Branch. The examination revealed that the fractures all had occurred in composite material; however, it was not possible to determine their origin. The orientation of the cracks suggested that the final break had progressed from the leading edge towards the trailing edge. The outer layers of the composite surface material had debonded from the honeycomb core. Examination of the debonded material revealed no evidence of weathering or deposits of airborne contaminants, indicating that the debonding had occurred recently. The longer, outboard section of the trim tab showed no evidence of debonding.

The trim tab had a total flight time of 40,254 hours and 26,754 hours since it was last overhauled. It had been last repaired in July 1993 and had flown 6,564 hours since that time. There were, however, some irregularities in the records of the last repair. The initial defect report indicated that the leading edge was cracked and corroded, and that there were several loose rivets on the inboard end. The loose fasteners were replaced in the repair, but the description of the remainder of the repair was unclear. The description indicated that the leading edge was repaired "...per structural repair manual (SRM) 51-40-3, Fig. 1", but this section gives general information on the repair of any formed section and does not supply information that is specific to the trim tab leading edge. It was not possible to determine from the records the nature of the repair, nor the areas of the tab which had been affected. The technician who had performed the repair was a sheet metal repairman. He was unable to recall the nature of the repair, but since he had not repaired composite structures before, it was assumed that the metal leading edge had been replaced, and that no repair had been performed on the composite structure.

The inboard portion of the trim tab was sent to the Boeing Aircraft Company for an examination to determine if there was evidence of an improper repair. Their examination concluded that "...the materials are per drawing requirements and we see no indication of prior damage or repairs on the sample we examined." In addition, the Boeing report offered the opinion that the damage pattern was consistent with damage that occurred while the aircraft was on the ground, and that the damage reduced the trim tab's stiffness and would have allowed it to flutter to failure while the aircraft was in flight.

Transport Canada's service difficulty reporting (SDR) database recorded a number of incidents involving airframe vibration that resulted from worn elevator trim tab bearings. The occurrence trim tab bearings were measured for wear and were found to be within serviceable limits. The database did not record any instances of elevator trim tabs suffering structural failure. In addition, Boeing indicated that the elevator trim tab did not have a history of this kind of failure.

There were two trim tabs for the elevator; one on the left elevator and one on the right. The failure of the right trim tab did not endanger the aircraft from the standpoint of a loss of control; control surface flutter, however, can lead to further aircraft structural damage. The outboard section of the tab was attached to the elevator without any restriction to its movement, and it oscillated uncontrollably. This in turn caused the elevator to oscillate, which resulted in the airframe vibration felt by the crew.

During the course of this investigation, persons frequently expressed concern about the frequency with which aircraft were damaged by ramp vehicles. People operating ramp vehicles near aircraft are not always trained in the field of aviation, and consequently may not appreciate the critical nature of any damage to a flight control surface. The world's airlines estimate that the global cost of ramp accidents and incidents is about US$2 billion per year, and the International Airline Transportation Association (IATA) has established a committee to examine this problem. Individual airlines, such as Canadian Airlines International, are also researching the problem and attempting to reduce ramp damage through employee education programs. Transport Canada sponsors an annual symposium dealing with maintenance and ground crew errors.

Analysis

Although the records for the 1993 repair to the trim tab were insufficiently detailed to determine the exact nature of the repair work carried out, there was no evidence that the repair work was incomplete or improper. There was no history of trim tab fatigue failure; the typical cause for flutter was worn bearings, and this possibility was ruled out in this occurrence.

The trim tab structural failure was a direct result of the in-flight aerodynamic loads exceeding the structural strength of the trim tab, which had been weakened by either recent or existing damage, spontaneous composite debonding and/or fatigue, or a combination of both.

The presence of de-icing fluid inside the trim tab indicated that the damage to the composite structure had likely occurred before the aircraft was last de-iced. The trim tab may have been originally damaged as a result of a collision with a ground vehicle or an airport structure, but such a collision could neither be substantiated nor ruled out. Given the nature of the mode of failure and the lack of other plausible explanations, however, such a collision being the initiating event for the trim tab failure is considered most likely.

The following Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 191/95 - Elevator Trim Tab Examination.

Findings

  1. A 24-inch section of the right elevator trim tab separated from the aircraft in flight.
  2. The records for the July 1993 trim tab repairs were incomplete, but there was no evidence that the repair was improper.
  3. Ground handling damage to aircraft is recognized as an aviation industry problem, and it is possible that the failure of the elevator trim tab was initiated by such damage.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The cause of the trim tab failure was not determined; however, the tab was most likely originally damaged in a collision while the aircraft was on the ground.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 27 August 1996.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A95P0272

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Défaillance du tab
Compensateur de la profondeur
Lignes Aériennes Canadien International
Boeing 737-200 C-GCPS
60 nm à l'est de Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
5 décembre 1995

Résumé

Autres renseignements de base

Le tab compensateur de la gouverne de profondeur mesurait 90 pouces de longueur et avait quatre points d'articulation, espacés d'environ 27 pouces. Le guignol de commande était placé à l'extrémité intérieure du tab, du côté intérieur du premier point d'articulation. C'est le segment situé entre les premier et deuxième points qui s'est rompu et qui n'a pas été retrouvé. Le peu qui restait du côté intérieur du tab, attaché au guignol de commande, s'est libéré du premier point d'articulation et n'était retenu à la gouverne de profondeur que par la fixation de la tringle de commande. Le segment extérieur était encore retenu par les trois autres points d'articulation. D'après les marques laissées sur l'articulation, le segment en question a sans doute oscillé rapidement d'une butée à l'autre.

Le technicien qui a enlevé ce qui restait du tab compensateur a remarqué qu'un liquide s'était écoulé du tab après l'avoir enlevé. D'après l'apparence et l'odeur du liquide, il en a déduit que c'était du liquide de dégivrage. L'avion avait été dégivré à Winnipeg 24 heures environ avant le vol de l'incident, et depuis le dégivrage, il avait effectué neuf vols en 11,2 heures de vol.

Le petit segment intérieur du tab qui est resté fixé à l'avion a été examiné au Laboratoire technique du BST. L'examen a révélé que les fractures étaient limitées au matériau composite, mais il a été impossible d'en déterminer l'origine. L'orientation des criques laisse croire que la rupture finale s'est propagée du bord d'attaque vers le bord de fuite. Les couches supérieures de la surface du matériau composite n'étaient plus liées à l'âme alvéolaire. L'examen de ces couches n'a révélé aucun signe de dégradation due aux intempéries ni de dépôts de polluants atmosphériques, signe que les couches se sont décollées récemment. Il n'y avait aucun signe de décollage des couches du plus long segment extérieur du tab.

Le tab compensateur totalisait 40 254 heures de vol et 26 754 heures depuis sa dernière révision. Ses dernières réparations remontaient à juillet 1993, et il avait effectué 6 564 heures de vol depuis. Les dernières réparations consignées présentaient toutefois certaines irrégularités. Le premier rapport d'anomalie indique que le bord d'attaque était criqué et corrodé et qu'il y avait plusieurs rivets desserrés à l'extrémité intérieure. Les rivets en question ont été remplacés, mais la description du reste des réparations n'était pas claire. Il était indiqué que le bord d'attaque avait été réparé conformément à l'alinéa 51-40-3, figure 1, du manuel de réparations structurales. Cependant, cet alinéa donne des renseignements généraux sur la réparation de n'importe quelle section profilée, mais aucun à propos de la réparation du bord d'attaque d'un tab compensateur. L'examen des dossiers n'a pas permis de déterminer la nature des réparations, ni les parties du tab qui avaient été touchées. Le technicien qui a effectué les réparations était spécialisé en réparation de la tôlerie. Il ne se souvenait plus des réparations effectuées. Cependant, puisqu'il n'avait jamais réparé de structures en matériau composite auparavant, on a présumé que le bord d'attaque en métal avait été remplacé et que la structure composite n'avait pas été réparée.

La partie intérieure du tab compensateur a été envoyée à la société Boeing pour examen afin de déterminer si elle avait été mal réparée. L'examen a conclu que les matériaux étaient conformes aux spécifications et que rien n'indiquait que l'échantillon examiné avait été endommagé ou réparé. De plus, le rapport de Boeing indiquait que les dommages étaient caractéristiques de dommages survenus au sol et que ces dommages avaient réduit la rigidité du tab lui permettant ainsi d'osciller jusqu'à ce qu'il se rompe en vol.

La base de données RDS (Rapports de difficultés en service) de Transports Canada contient un certain nombre de rapports de vibrations de la cellule occasionnées par des roulements de tab compensateur de profondeur usés. L'usure des roulements en cause a été mesurée, et elle était dans les limites de service. La base de données ne contient aucun cas de rupture structurale de tabs compensateurs de profondeur. En outre, Boeing a déclaré que ces tabs compensateurs n'avaient aucun antécédent de ruptures similaires.

Les deux gouvernes de profondeur ont chacune un tab compensateur. La rupture du tab droit n'a pas menacé la sécurité de l'avion en ce sens qu'elle n'aurait pas pu provoquer une perte de maîtrise de l'avion. Toutefois, le battement d'une gouverne peut entraîner d'autres dommages structuraux. La partie extérieure du tab était fixée à la gouverne de profondeur sans restriction de mouvement de sorte qu'elle pouvait osciller librement. Par la suite, la gouverne de profondeur s'est aussi mise à osciller, de même que la cellule. Ce sont ces dernières vibrations que l'équipage a ressenties.

Pendant l'enquête, de nombreuses personnes ont exprimé leurs inquiétudes à propos de la fréquence des dommages causés aux avions par des véhicules sur l'aire de stationnement. Les conducteurs de véhicules qui circulent près des avions ne possèdent pas tous une formation en aviation et il est possible qu'ils ne sachent pas ce qui peut arriver si la gouverne d'un aéronef est endommagée. À l'échelle mondiale, les compagnies aériennes évaluent à environ deux milliards de dollars américains le coût annuel des dommages causés par les accidents et les incidents qui se produisent sur les aires de stationnement. L'Association du transport aérien international (ATAI) a d'ailleurs formé un comité qui se penchera sur ce problème. À leurs niveaux également, les compagnies comme les Lignes aériennes Canadien International se penchent sur le problème et essaient de réduire les dommages qui surviennent sur les aires de stationnement au moyen de programmes de sensibilisation pour leurs employés. Transports Canada commandite un colloque annuel sur les erreurs des équipes de maintenance et de piste.

Analyse

Les dossiers de réparation du tab compensateur en 1993 sont trop peu détaillés pour permettre de déterminer la nature exacte des réparations effectuées; toutefois, rien n'indique que ces réparations aient été mal faites ou faites à moitié. Il n'existe aucun antécédent de rupture de tabs compensateurs due à la fatigue. La cause principale des battements est l'usure des roulements, mais cette hypothèse a été écartée dans le cas qui nous occupe.

La rupture structurale du tab compensateur résulte directement de charges aérodynamiques en vol qui ont dépassé la résistance structurale du tab. Ce dernier avait été affaibli par des dommages récents ou existants, par le décollage soudain des couches de matériau composite ou par de la fatigue, ou par une combinaison de tous ces facteurs.

La présence de liquide de dégivrage à l'intérieur du tab indique que les dommages à la structure composite avaient sans doute eu lieu avant le dernier dégivrage de l'avion. Le tab a pu être endommagé au sol lors d'une collision avec un véhicule ou avec une structure de l'aéroport, mais cette hypothèse n'a pu être ni prouvée ni écartée. Compte tenu de la nature du mode de rupture et de l'absence d'autres explications plausibles, il est fort probable que la rupture du tab compensateur ait été amorcée par une collision au sol.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 191/95 - Elevator Trim Tab Examination (Examen du tab compensateur de la gouverne de profondeur).

Faits établis

  1. Un segment de 24 pouces du tab compensateur de la gouverne de profondeur droite s'est détaché de l'avion en vol.
  2. Les dossiers de la réparation du tab compensateur effectuée en 1993 sont incomplets, mais rien n'indique que la réparation ait été mal faite.
  3. Les dommages causés aux aéronefs au sol sont un problème courant dans l'aviation, et il est possible que la rupture du tab compensateur de profondeur ait été amorcée par de tels dommages.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer la cause de la rupture du tab compensateur, mais le tab avait sans doute été endommagé auparavant au cours d'une collision au sol.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet événement. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 27 août 1996 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail et W.A. Tadros.