Aviation Investigation Report A95Q0086

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

In-flight Separation
Aérotech Aviation
Beaver RX650 C-IDFL
Saint-Mathias, Quebec
9 May 1995

Summary

Shortly after take-off from Richelieu Airport, Quebec, when the ultralight was about 500 feet above ground level (agl) over the Chambly basin, the left wing of the aircraft separated. The ultralight and its two occupants crashed in the Richelieu River. The instructor and student pilot were fatally injured, and the ultralight was substantially damaged.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Meteorological conditions were favourable for the flight. The sky was clear and visibility was over 10 miles. Winds were light and from the west.

The instructor and student pilot were qualified under existing regulations. It could not be determined who was flying the aircraft.

The aircraft had been purchased new, unassembled, by Aérotech Aviation in October 1990. It was sold to the builder shortly thereafter. The aircraft was issued a registration certificate in 1991.

The builder had no difficulty assembling the ultralight. During the first flights, the aircraft had a tendency to turn left in flight. To counteract this tendency, the builder modified the attachment of the left wing to the drag bar. He installed brackets that enabled the rear attachment of the wing to be moved one inch. As a result, the wing leading edge was moved forward a considerable distance. The modification was not in accordance with the drawings submitted by the aircraft designer. After subsequent test flights, the builder concluded that this modification did not correct the left drift problem, but he left the modification in place.

The brackets added during the modification were made of stainless steel. The wing was held in place by a 5/32-inch aircraft-quality retaining pin. The pin was secured by a lock ring.

The builder had to transport the aircraft on a trailer every time he went flying, and he had to reinstall the wings, then fold them back again, before loading the aircraft on the trailer. The lock ring and retaining pin therefore had to be installed and removed at each flight. No wear was noticed on any of the pins. The builder logged about 150 flight hours on the aircraft before selling it to Aérotech Aviation in November 1994.

The ultralight had accumulated about 100 flight hours since it was purchased by Aérotech Aviation. The aircraft was used for pilot training. As it was stored in a hangar, there had been no need to assemble and disassemble the wings since the aircraft's purchase. The owner had been informed of the modification to the left wing attachment.

The left wing was not heavily damaged in the accident, and evidence indicated that the wing had not sustained stress at the rear attachment when it separated. Examination of the rear attachment revealed no particular evidence of wear. The retaining pin was not found, and there were no indications that it had failed. Markings on the attachment show that the retaining pin disengaged itself over the course of several flights. The other attachments showed deformation and evidence of failure in overload.

Analysis

The left wing of the aircraft separated in flight. Evidence on the left wing rear attachment indicates that the retaining pin disengaged in flight and that it was not secured by a lock ring. This evidence indicates that the pin could move freely and that it disengaged gradually, probably over the course of several flights. The other wing attachment points showed evidence that they had failed in overload following excessive movement of the wing.

Because the aircraft owner did not have to assemble the wings before each flight as the previous owner had, the condition of the attachments was not checked before each flight. It is clear that a pre-flight inspection of the left wing attachment was not performed.

The modification to this attachment did not conform to the drawings submitted by the designer of the aircraft. Although the modification was not suitable for the wing attachment, it does not seem to have contributed to the wing separation.

Findings

  1. The left wing attachment had been modified by the builder and was not in accordance with the design drawings.
  2. The retaining pin was not secured by a lock ring.
  3. The retaining pin disengaged and allowed the left wing to twist, causing the other wing attachments to fail in overload.
  4. The left wing separated in flight.
  5. The left wing attachment was not visually inspected prior to the flight.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The retaining pin was not secured by a lock ring and it disengaged in flight. A pre-flight inspection was not performed.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A95Q0086

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Séparation en vol
Aérotech Aviation
Beaver RX650 C-IDFL
Saint-Mathias (Québec)
9 mai 1995

Résumé

Peu de temps après le décollage de l'aéroport de Richelieu (Québec) et, alors que l'ultra-léger survolait le bassin Chambly à environ 500 pieds-sol, l'aile gauche s'est détachée. L'ultra-léger et ses deux occupants se sont écrasés dans la rivière Richelieu. L'instructeur et l'étudiant-pilote ont été blessés mortellement, tandis que l'ultra-léger a subi des dommages substantiels.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Les conditions météorologiques étaient propices au vol entrepris. Le ciel était clair avec une visibilité excédant 10 milles. Les vents étaient légers de l'ouest.

L'instructeur et l'élève-pilote étaient qualifiés selon la réglementation en vigueur. Il n'a pu être déterminé qui était aux contrôles de l'appareil.

L'aéronef a été acheté neuf et non-assemblé par Aérotech Aviation en octobre 1990. Il a été vendu dans la même période à son constructeur. L'aéronef a reçu son certificat d'immatriculation en 1991.

Le constructeur n'a eu aucune difficulté à assembler l'ultra-léger. Au début des vols, l'appareil avait une tendance à tourner vers la gauche. Dans le but d'atténuer cette tendance, le constructeur a modifié l'attachement de l'aile gauche à la barre de traînée. À cet effet, il a installé des supports qui ont permis d'écarter l'attachement arrière de l'aile d'une distance de un pouce. Cette modification avait pour conséquence d'avancer considérablement le bord d'attaque de l'aile. Cette modification n'était pas conforme aux dessins soumis par le concepteur de l'appareil. Les essais en vol effectués par la suite lui ont permis de conclure que cette modification ne corrigeait pas le problème de traînée vers la gauche. Le constructeur a laissé la modification en place.

Les supports ajoutés dans la modification étaient d'acier inoxydable. L'aile était retenue par une goupille de retenue de 5/32 pouce de qualité aéronautique. Cette goupille était sécurisée par un anneau de blocage.

Puisque le constructeur devait transporter l'aéronef sur une remorque à chaque fois qu'il allait voler, il devait remettre les ailes en place et les replier pour placer l'appareil sur sa remorque. L'anneau de sécurité et la goupille devaient être mis en place et enlevés lors de chacun de ces vols. Aucune usure n'avait été remarquée sur aucune des goupilles. Le constructeur a effectué environ 150 heures de vol avec cet aéronef avant de le vendre à Aérotech Aviation en novembre 1994.

L'ultra-léger avait cumulé environ 100 heures de vol depuis son achat par Aérotech Aviation. L'aéronef était utilisé pour l'entraînement de pilotes. Il était entreposé dans un hangar et les ailes n'avaient donc pas à être assemblées et désassemblées depuis que la compagnie en avait fait l'acquisition. Ce propriétaire avait été informé de la modification à l'attachement de l'aile gauche.

Suite à l'accident, l'aile gauche était peu endommagée et montrait les évidences qu'elle n'avait pas subi de contraintes à l'attachement arrière lors de sa séparation. L'examen de l'attachement arrière n'indique aucune marque d'usure particulière. La goupille de retenue n'a pas été retrouvée et rien n'indique qu'elle se soit rupturée. Des marques dans l'attachement montrent que la goupille de retenue est sortie d'elle-même sur une période de plusieurs vols. Les autres attachements indiquaient des déformations et des évidences de rupture en surcharge.

Analyse

L'aile gauche de l'aéronef s'est séparée en vol. Les évidences sur l'attachement arrière de l'aile gauche indiquent que la goupille de retenue s'est enlevée au cours du vol et qu'elle n'était pas sécurisée par un anneau de sécurité. Ces évidences indiquent que la goupille était libre de bouger et qu'elle est sortie graduellement, probablement sur une période de plusieurs vols. Suite au déplacement excessif de l'aile, les autres points d'attachement de l'aile montraient des évidences de rupture en surcharge.

Comme le propriétaire de l'appareil n'avait pas à assembler les ailes avant chaque vol comme le propriétaire précédent, ceci ne permettait pas d'évaluer la condition des attachements avant chaque vol. Il est evident qu'une inspection pré-vol de l'attachement de l'aile gauche n'a pas été effectuée.

La modification faite à cet attachement n'était pas conforme aux dessins soumis par le concepteur de l'appareil. L'effet de cette déviation n'est pas favorable à l'attachement de l'aile mais ne semble pas avoir contribué à la séparation de l'aile.

Faits établis

  1. L'attachement de l'aile gauche n'était pas conforme aux dessins de conception et a été modifié par le constructeur.
  2. La goupille de retenue n'était pas sécurisée par un anneau de sécurité.
  3. La goupille de retenue s'est détachée et a permis à l'aile gauche de se tordre et de rompre en surcharge les autres attachements de l'aile.
  4. L'aile gauche s'est détachée en vol.
  5. L'inspection visuelle de l'attachement de l'aile gauche n'a été effectuée avant le vol.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

La goupille de retenue n'était pas sécurisée par un anneau de sécurité et s'est enlevée en vol. Une inspection pré-vol n'a pas été effectuée.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 7 août 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Zita Brunet et Hugh MacNeil.