Aviation Investigation Report A95Q0090

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision with Terrain
Cessna U206F C-GJGM
Baie-Saint-Paul, Quebec 10 mi SW
13 May 1995

Summary

The pilot and sole occupant departed Sept-Îles Airport, Quebec, at 0742 eastern daylight saving time (EDT)(1) on a visual flight rules (VFR) flight to Jean Lesage International Airport, Quebec. At 1005, search and rescue (SAR) services at Trenton, Ontario, received an emergency locator transmitter (ELT) signal, and a search aircraft was dispatched immediately.

The aircraft was located at 1203. It had struck some trees and crashed on the side of a mountain about 42 nautical miles north-east of its destination. The pilot had sustained fatal injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He was experienced and had over 2 200 flying hours. He was very familiar with the route, having flown it over 200 times. He did not hold a Canadian instrument flight rating.

The pilot filed a flight notification prior to the flight, but he did not request a weather briefing from the Sept-Îles Flight Service Station (FSS). While taxiing, he informed the tower controller that his planned en route altitude was 4 500 feet above sea level (asl).

The pilot's most recent civil aviation medical examination was a few weeks before the occurrence. He was required to have his vision examined every year. His last examination, which he passed, was on 02 February 1995. The medical investigation revealed no sign that incapacitation or physiological factors affected the pilot's performance. The autopsy revealed that the aircraft struck the ground at high speed.

The accident occurred at an altitude of 2 650 feet asl on the north-west side of Liguori Mountain, Quebec, elevation 2 725 feet asl. The aircraft was proceeding south-west, which is roughly the correct heading for its route, when it struck some trees over 100 feet in height, on a horizontal trajectory. Several trees were severed or broken. The aircraft left a swath about 400 feet long on a heading of 236 degrees magnetic. There was severe propeller damage to the trees. Both wings separated from the fuselage and the other sections of the aircraft were heavily damaged in the impact with the trees and ground.

Examination of the aircraft at the accident site revealed no pre-impact failure or malfunction that could have degraded the performance of the aircraft. The flaps were up and the altimeter setting was correct. The weight and centre of gravity of the aircraft were within the prescribed limits, and the aircraft carried sufficient fuel to complete the flight. The aircraft was equipped for instrument flight.

The direct route from Sept-Îles to Québec requires the pilot to proceed in a south-westerly direction on the west side of the St. Lawrence River. The minimum obstruction clearance altitude (MOCA) for instrument flights in the portion of the air route between Charlevoix and Québec is 5 300 feet asl. An altitude of 4 300 feet, referred to as the obstruction clearance altitude, is published on the VFR navigation chart for the sector where the accident occurred. This altitude, indicated in the quadrangle bounded by the lines of latitude and longitude, is in thousands and hundreds of feet above sea level, and represents the highest terrain altitude plus 328 feet (100 metres) or the altitude of the highest known obstruction, whichever is higher.

An analysis by Environment Canada indicates that the forecast for the area where the flight was to take place reported an upper-level trough extending from 60 miles north-west of Sept-Îles to Montréal. This upper-level trough was expected to drift slowly east at a speed of 5 to 10 knots. The flight route ran along the front of this upper-level trough in an area where low broken clouds were forecast between 1 500 and 2 500 feet asl with a solid layer of altocumulus above them. Stratus ceilings of 200 to 1 000 feet above ground level (agl) in places and reduced visibility of two to five miles in rain, drizzle and/or fog were also forecast. The forecast for Sept-Îles indicated that VFR conditions would continue; however, the forecast for Baie-Comeau

called for overall conditions until noon of ceiling 200 feet and visibility one mile in rain, drizzle and fog. For Québec, the main condition forecast was a ceiling of 600 feet with no restriction on visibility.

Two automatic stations, at Île Rouge at the mouth of the Saguenay River and at Rivière-du-Loup, although providing no ceiling information, reported reduced visibility in fog. The satellite photograph shows the extent of the clouds along the planned route.

Meteorological conditions on take-off from Sept-Îles were 6 000 feet scattered, ceiling 8 000 feet overcast and visibility 30 miles. At 0820, while over the Godbout area, the pilot requested and received the latest sequences for Mont-Joli, Baie-Comeau, and Québec from the Mont-Joli FSS, as well as the forecast for the next two hours for Québec. The data indicated ceilings of 2 000 feet at Mont-Joli, 200 feet at Baie-Comeau, and 600 feet at Québec, with visibilities of five miles, two miles, and five miles, respectively, in rain, mist and fog.

The analysis also indicates that at the accident site the cloud base was very probably below 1 000 feet, and possibly much lower than that level, with reduced visibility. One witness observed an aircraft flying at low altitude below the clouds a few seconds before the occurrence. Other witnesses, who were at the base of the mountain and near the site, indicated that until about 1300 visibility was near zero in thick fog and the mountain was obscured by fog. Even road conditions were affected by the thick fog. However, no one heard any unusual sounds.

Analysis

Since there was no evidence of any pre-impact failure or malfunction that could have degraded aircraft performance, the analysis focuses on the meteorological conditions, flight preparation, and pilot decision making.

The weather forecasts and observations indicate that the weather along the planned route was not favourable for the flight. Low stratus accompanied by precipitation, drizzle and fog, as indicated in the forecasts, were present on the route and in the mountainous area. Even if the pilot did not request a weather briefing from the FSS before the flight and the conditions at the departure aerodrome were favourable for VFR flight, it was clear from his radio messages en route that he was aware of the adverse weather along the planned route. The pilot nevertheless continued the flight, having flown this route many times in the past.

Given the weather conditions at the time of the accident, all indications are that the pilot descended the aircraft in mountainous terrain below the safe altitude for instrument flight and the obstruction clearance altitude specified on the VFR navigation chart, in the hope that he could continue the flight. The observed damage to the aircraft indicates that it struck the trees at high speed in a horizontal attitude. It is highly probable that the pilot did not realize his situation when the Cessna struck the mountain.

In 1990, a TSB safety study on VFR flight in adverse weather conditions stated that this type of accident represents about 23 per cent of all fatal accidents. The study also indicated that experienced pilots tend to be involved in accidents related to decision making rather than a lack of flying skill.

Findings

  1. The pilot did not ask the FSS for a weather briefing for the flight.
  2. The weather conditions on the planned route were unfavourable for VFR flight.
  3. The pilot encountered adverse weather conditions en route and continued the flight.
  4. The mountain on which the aircraft crashed was obscured by fog all morning.
  5. The aircraft showed no evidence of pre-impact failure.
  6. The aircraft struck the trees at high speed.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The pilot continued visual flight in adverse weather conditions. Contributing to the accident was the fact that he did not request weather information for the planned route prior to departure.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairman John W. Stants and member Zita Brunet, authorized the release of this report on 02 October 1995.


1. All times are EDT (coordinated universal time [UTC] minus four hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A95Q0090

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec le relief
Cessna U206F C-GJGM
10 mi au sud-ouest de Baie-Saint-Paul (Québec)
13 mai 1995

Résumé

Le pilote, seul à bord, était parti de l'aéroport de Sept-Iles (Québec) à 7 h 42 HAE(1) pour un vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) à destination de l'aéroport international Jean Lesage (Québec). Le Service de recherches et sauvetage (SAR) de Trenton (Ontario) a capté un signal d'une radiobalise de détresse (ELT) à 10 h 05 HAE et un aéronef de recherche a immédiatement été dépêché.

L'avion a été localisé à 12 h 03 HAE. Il avait heurté des arbres et s'était écrasé sur le flanc d'une montagne à environ 42 milles nautiques au nord-est de sa destination. Le pilote avait subi des blessures mortelles.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol entrepris et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il était expérimenté et possédait plus de 2 200 heures de vol. Celui-ci était très familier avec le trajet, l'ayant effectué à plus de 200 reprises. Il n'était pas titulaire d'une qualification canadienne de vol aux instruments.

Le pilote avait soumis un avis de vol avant d'entreprendre le vol, mais n'avait pas demandé d'exposé météo à la station d'information de vol (FSS) de Sept-Iles. Lors du roulement au sol, il a mentionné au contrôleur de la tour une altitude prévue en route de 4 500 pieds-mer.

Le pilote avait subi son dernier examen médical de l'aviation civile quelques semaines auparavant. Il devait subir un examen de la vue chaque année. Le dernier examen a été passé avec succès le 2 février 1995. L'enquête médicale n'a révélé aucun indice permettant de croire qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques aient pu perturber le comportement du pilote. L'autopsie a montré que l'avion a heurté le sol à grande vitesse.

L'accident a eu lieu à une altitude de 2 650 pieds-mer, sur le côté nord-ouest de la Montagne à Liguori (Québec) culminant à 2 725 pieds-mer. L'avion se dirigeait vers le sud-ouest, soit le cap approximatif de sa route, lorsqu'il a heurté horizontalement des arbres de plus de 100 pieds de hauteur. Plusieurs arbres ont été sectionnés et cassés. L'avion a laissé une trace d'environ 400 pieds de longueur, trace orientée au 236 degrés magnétique. Il y avait des marques d'hélices importantes sur les arbres. Les deux ailes s'étaient détachées du fuselage et les autres parties ont été lourdement endommagées par l'impact avec les arbres et le sol.

L'examen de l'avion effectué sur les lieux de l'accident n'a révélé aucune défaillance ni mauvais fonctionnement antérieurs à l'impact qui auraient pu réduire les performances de l'appareil. Les volets étaient rentrés et le calage altimétrique correspondait au calage en vigueur. La masse et le centrage de l'avion étaient dans les limites prescrites et l'avion emportait suffisamment de carburant pour effectuer le vol. L'appareil était doté de l'instrumentation nécessaire pour le vol aux instruments.

La route directe de Sept-Iles à Québec amène le pilote à voler dans la direction sud-ouest, du côté ouest du fleuve Saint-Laurent. L'altitude minimale de franchissement d'obstacle (MOCA) qui s'applique pour les vols aux instruments pour la portion de la voie aérienne entre Charlevoix et Québec est de 5 300 pieds-mer. Une altitude de 4 300 pieds, appelée altitude de franchissement d'obstacle, est publiée sur la carte de navigation VFR pour le secteur où l'accident est survenu. Cette altitude indiquée dans le quadrilatère délimité par les lignes de latitude et de longitude est en milliers et centaines de pieds au-dessus du niveau moyen de la mer et représente la plus haute altitude du terrain plus 328 pieds (100 mètres), soit la plus haute altitude d'un obstacle connu, suivant l'altitude la plus élevée des deux.

Une analyse par Environnement Canada mentionne que les prévisions couvrant la région où devait se dérouler le vol faisaient état d'un creux en altitude qui s'étendait de 60 milles au nord-ouest de Sept-Iles jusqu'à Montréal. On prévoyait que ce creux dériverait lentement vers l'est de cinq à dix noeuds. Le vol s'est déroulé à l'avant de ce creux en altitude où l'on prévoyait des nuages bas fragmentés entre 1 500 et 2 500 pieds-mer avec une couche solide d'altocumulus au-dessus. Des plafonds de stratus de 200 à 1 000 pieds-sol par endroits, ainsi que des visibilités réduites de deux à cinq milles dans la pluie, la bruine et/ou le brouillard étaient également prévues. Les prévisions pour Sept-Iles mentionnaient que les conditions VFR continueraient; cependant, celles pour Baie-Comeau donnaient, comme conditions générales jusqu'à midi, un plafond à 200 pieds et une visibilité d'un mille dans la pluie, la bruine et le brouillard. Pour Québec, la condition principale prévue était un plafond à 600 pieds, sans restriction à la visibilité.

Deux stations automatiques, soit celle de l'Ile Rouge à l'embouchure du Saguenay et celle de Rivière-du-Loup, bien qu'elles n'ont aucune information sur les plafonds, ont rapporté des visibilités réduites dans le brouillard. La photographie prise par satellite montre l'étendue de nuages le long de la route prévue.

Au décollage, les conditions météorologiques à Sept-Iles étaient les suivantes: 6 000 pieds épars, plafond à 8 000 pieds couvert et une visibilité de 30 milles. À 08 h 20 HAE, en survolant la région de Godbout, le pilote a demandé et reçu du FSS de Mont-Joli les dernières séquences pour Mont-Joli, Baie-Comeau et Québec, ainsi que les prévisions pour les prochaines deux heures à Québec. Les données faisaient état de plafonds à 2 000 pieds à Mont-Joli, 200 pieds à Baie-Comeau et 600 pieds à Québec, avec des visibilités respectives de cinq milles, deux milles et cinq milles dans la pluie, la brume et le brouillard.

L'analyse mentionne également que, sur les lieux de l'accident, le plafond nuageux était fort probablement inférieur à 1 000 pieds et, possiblement très inférieur à ce seuil, avec une visibilité réduite. Un témoin a observé un appareil hors des nuages et survolant a faible altitude, quelques instants avant l'événement. D'autres témoins, qui se trouvaient en bas de la montagne et dans les alentours du site, ont indiqué que jusqu'à environ 13 h, un épais brouillard rendait la visibilité presque nulle et que la montagne était obscurcie par le brouillard. Même les conditions routières étaient affectées par l'épais brouillard. Cependant, personne n'a entendu de bruits inhabituels.

Analyse

Puisqu'il n'y a pas d'évidence de défaillance ni de mauvais fonctionnement ayant pu réduire les performances de l'appareil antérieurement à l'impact, l'analyse porte sur les conditions météorologiques, la préparation du vol et la décision du pilote.

Les prévisions du temps et les observations indiquent que la météo sur la route prévue n'était pas favorable pour le vol entrepris. Des stratus bas accompagnés de précipitation, de bruine et de brouillard, tels que mentionnés dans les prévisions, prévalaient sur la route et en région montagneuse. Même si le pilote n'a pas demandé d'exposé météo au FSS avant son vol et que les conditions à l'aérodrome de départ étaient favorables au vol à vue, il était évident dans ses communications radio en route que le pilote était conscient que des conditions météorologiques défavorables se trouvaient sur la route de vol prévue. Le pilote, ayant déjà effectué le trajet à maintes reprises, a néanmoins continué sa route.

Étant donné les conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient au moment de l'accident, tout indique que le pilote a fait descendre l'appareil en région montagneuse, à une altitude inférieure à l'altitude sécuritaire pour les vols aux instruments et l'altitude de franchissement d'obstacle publiée sur la carte de navigation VFR, dans l'espoir de continuer sa route. Comme les dommages observés sur l'avion indiquent que sa vitesse était élevée et que l'appareil a heurté les arbres dans une attitude horizontale, le Cessna a fort probablement percuté la montagne sans que le pilote ne se rende compte de la situation.

Une étude de sécurité, effectuée par le BST et produite en 1990, sur le vol VFR dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables, mentionne que ce genre d'accident représente environ 23 pour cent de tous les accidents mortels. De plus, elle ajoute que les pilotes expérimentés ont tendance à être victimes d'accidents ayant trait à la prise de décision plutôt qu'à un manque d'habileté.

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote n'a pas demandé d'exposé météo du FSS pour le vol entrepris.
  2. Les conditions météorologiques sur la route prévue étaient défavorables pour le vol à vue.
  3. En route, le pilote a rencontré des conditions météorologiques défavorables et a poursuivi son vol.
  4. La montagne où l'avion s'est écrasé était obscurcie par le brouillard durant toute la matinée.
  5. L'appareil ne présentait aucun signe de défaillance antérieure à l'impact.
  6. L'avion volait à grande vitesse quand il a heurté les arbres.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le pilote a poursuivi le vol à vue dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables. Contributif à l'accident est le fait qu'il n'a pas demandé les renseignements météorologiques pour la route prévue avant son départ.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 2 octobre 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et du membre Zita Brunet.