Aviation Investigation Report A95Q0098

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Risk of Collision
Between Air Transat
Lockheed L-1011 C-FTNC
and Inter-Canadien
Aérospatiale ATR 42 C-GXCP
Quebec VOR 19 nm SW
6 June 1995

Summary

Air Transat flight TSC 234 took off from the Mirabel Airport around 00:01:00 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) for a flight to Charles de Gaulle Airport, France. The initial route included a climb to flight level (FL) 280 on air route V316 to the Quebec VHF omni-directional range (VOR), then directly to the MIILS way-point, located 195 nautical miles (nm) east of the Quebec VOR. Inter-Canadien flight ICN 1647 from Bagotville, Quebec, was approaching the Quebec VOR in cruise flight on FL 200 to intercept air route V98 and proceed to Montreal.

At 42 nm from the Quebec VOR, TSC 234 was cleared to FL 290 and to proceed directly to MIILS. On FL 200 and 19 nm southwest of the Quebec VOR, TSC 234 executed an avoidance manoeuvre following a resolution advisory (RA) from the Traffic Alert and Collision Avoidance System (TCAS). At the same time, ICN 1647, which was about 19 nm southwest of the Quebec VOR, also received an RA from the TCAS and executed an avoidance manoeuvre.

Separation between the two aircraft was 300 feet vertically and 2.25 miles horizontally. Required separation was 1,000 feet vertically or 3 miles horizontally. The two crews visually observed one another during their avoidance manoeuvres.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

TCAS is an independent system designed to support the air traffic control system and complement the "see and avoid" concept. TCAS continuously scans the airspace around an aircraft and seeks a response from the transponders of nearby aircraft. TCAS monitors flight paths based on the responses from the transponders. The system generates a traffic advisory (TA) or resolution advisory (RA) when any flight path is going to enter the collision zone around the aircraft.

A TA is displayed 35 to 48 seconds from the time it is predicted that an aircraft will enter the collision zone. Traffic information includes the distance, bearing, and altitude of the other aircraft. The flight crew must use this information as an aid in visually locating the other aircraft to avoid conflict.

An RA normally consists of a vertical manoeuvre that must be executed to increase or maintain separation from the other aircraft. The RA is generated visually and audibly. It consists of a suggested correction to change the aircraft vertical speed or a suggested preventive measure to limit changes in vertical speed.

For control purposes, airspace is divided into different sectors. At the time of the occurrence, the Air Transat aircraft was to transit the Rawdon, Quebec, and Lévis sectors.

The Rawdon sector extends east of the Mirabel Airport to about 18 nm from the Quebec VOR. The sector also extends to the north and south of air route V316; flights are controlled up to FL 280.

The Quebec sector is bounded on the west by the Rawdon sector. It includes all of the Quebec Airport and extends further north, south, and east. In the Quebec sector, flights are controlled up to FL 280.

In the Lévis sector, flights are controlled at FL 290 and higher. This sector extends above the Rawdon and Quebec sectors and beyond.

On departing from Mirabel, TSC 234 contacted the Rawdon sector at 00:04:31(1). The aircraft was radar identified and cleared to FL 280. At 00:12:58, the Rawdon controller plotted the radar target with the Quebec controller, who accepted it. This procedure meant that the aircraft might enter the Quebec sector, but that radio communication was not transferred to the Quebec controller, although the Quebec controller was still responsible for ensuring proper separation. Meanwhile, at 00:13:48, ICN 1647 reported arriving at the Quebec VOR.

Flight TSC 234 was handed off to the Lévis controller when the aircraft was 43 nm west of the Quebec VOR at an altitude of 17,000 feet. In accordance with procedures, the Lévis controller was using a 5,000 feet altitude filter, which allowed him to observe aircraft only at FL 240 and higher; therefore, the Lévis controller was unable to see either TSC 234 or ICN 1647. At 00:13:32, the Lévis controller cleared TSC 234 to FL 290 and directly to MIILS, which requires a 12-degree right turn, in accordance with established procedures. The Lévis controller contacted the Quebec controller, who replied that he was verifying TSC 234. From that moment on, the two aircraft were on collision paths, and this triggered their TCAS around 00:16:37, according to radar data.

The Quebec controller stated that he did not think the aircraft could be in conflict. Believing that TSC 234 would continue as anticipated to the VOR, he had calculated that, given the closing speed of the aircraft and an assumed rate of climb of 1,000 feet per minute for TSC 234, vertical separation of the aircraft could not be less than 1,500 feet. He had also calculated that, when TSC 234 flew over the VOR, ICN 1647 would have already cleared it. The climb rate of TSC 234 was lower than the Quebec controller had anticipated because of high aircraft weight and high external temperature.

The Quebec controller was alone in the radio and data position while his co-worker was on break. He stated that, shortly before the occurrence, he performed an important coordination task with the Quebec tower due to the arrival of a medical evacuation flight on runway 06 while runway 24 was active. The controller's attention was focused to the east of the Quebec VOR, while the risk of collision was occurring southwest of the Quebec VOR. His workload was moderate with moderate to high complexity.

The Quebec controller was working his third shift since requalifying. He had spent the previous six months at the Montreal terminal. He was returning to his former position, but, during his absence, the upper limit of the Quebec sector had been raised from 17,000 feet to FL 280. The controller stated that, at the time of the occurrence, he was not familiar with overflights; he had not had specific classroom training on this subject but had received on-the-job training. The controller also said that he had previously managed overflights, although at lower speeds, when the Quebec sector airspace was limited to 17,000 feet.

Analysis

The air traffic controllers were qualified for the positions they occupied.

The Quebec controller had just requalified in his position and was familiar with all his duties. He acknowledged having previously managed, albeit at lower speeds, overflights at altitudes below 17,000 feet; however, he said he was not familiar with overflights because his airspace had been modified during his absence and it now extended up to FL 280.

The Quebec controller was alone when the workload suddenly increased. During the period prior to the risk of collision, the increased attention that the controller directed to coordinating the arrival of a medical evacuation flight at the Quebec Airport precluded his perceiving the risk of collision that existed between the two aircraft. In addition, although he was responsible for providing proper separation between the two aircraft, the controller accepted the hand-off of communications to the Lévis sector. Thus, the two aircraft had to execute avoidance manoeuvres 19 miles southwest of the Quebec VOR following a TCAS resolution advisory.

Findings

  1. Minimum separation between the two aircraft was not ensured by air traffic control.
  2. The crews executed an avoidance manoeuvre following a TCAS resolution advisory.
  3. The air traffic controllers were qualified.
  4. At the time of the occurrence, the Quebec controller's attention was directed to coordinating the arrival of a medical evacuation flight at the Quebec Airport.
  5. The Quebec controller was alone in the radio and data position while his co-worker was on break.
  6. The Quebec controller was responsible for providing proper separation for TSC 234, but he was not in communication with the aircraft.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The Quebec sector controller did not ensure that minimum separation was maintained between the two aircraft. Factors contributing to the occurrence were the absence of direct communication, the sudden increase in workload due to the arrival of a medical evacuation flight, and the lack of a second controller at the position.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 27 August 1996.

Appendix A

ALT


1. All times are UTC unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A95Q0098

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Risque de collision entre
le Lockheed L-1011 C-FTNC d'Air Transat et
l'Aérospatiale ATR 42 C-GXCP
d'Inter-Canadien
19 nm au sud-ouest du VOR de Québec
6 juin 1995

Résumé

Le vol TSC 234 de la compagnie Air Transat a décollé de l'aéroport de Mirabel (Québec) vers 00 h 01 min 00 s, temps universel coordonné (UTC) en direction de l'aéroport de Charles- de-Gaulle (France). La route initiale prévoyait une montée au niveau de vol 280 sur la voie aérienne V316 jusqu'au radiophare omnidirectionnel VHF (VOR) de Québec (Québec) puis directement vers le point MIILS, situé à 195 milles nautiques (nm) à l'est du VOR de Québec. Le vol ICN 1647 de la compagnie Inter-Canadien en provenance de Bagotville (Québec) approchait du VOR de Québec en croisière au niveau de vol 200 pour joindre la voie aérienne V98 et se diriger vers Montréal.

À 42 nm du VOR de Québec, TSC 234 a été autorisé au niveau de vol 290 et à se rendre directement vers MIILS. Au niveau de vol 200 et à 19 nm au sud-ouest du VOR de Québec, TSC 234 a effectué une manoeuvre d'évitement à la suite d'un avis de résolution (RA) du Système d'avertissement de trafic et d'évitement d'abordages (TCAS/ACAS). Au même moment, ICN 1647 qui était à environ 19 nm au sud-ouest du VOR de Québec a également reçu un RA du TCAS/ACAS et effectué une manoeuvre d'évitement.

L'espacement entre les deux appareils a été de 300 pieds sur le plan vertical et de 2,25 milles sur le plan horizontal. L'espacement obligatoire était de 1 000 pieds verticalement ou 3 milles horizontalement. Les deux équipages se sont observés visuellement lors de leurs manoeuvres d'évitement.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le TCAS/ACAS est un système autonome conçu pour servir d'appui au système de contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) et de complément au concept «voir et éviter». Le TCAS/ACAS balaie en permanence l'espace aérien autour de l'aéronef et cherche à obtenir des réponses d'autres aéronefs dans le voisinage au moyen de leur transpondeur. Les trajectoires de vol, basées sur les réponses des transpondeurs, sont suivies par le TCAS/ACAS. Le système affiche un avis de circulation (TA) ou un avis de résolution (RA) lorsque des trajectoires de vol vont pénétrer la zone de collision autour de l'appareil.

Un TA est affiché 35 à 48 secondes à partir du moment où il est prévu que l'aéronef conflictuel pénétrera dans la zone de collision. Les renseignements sur le trafic comprennent la distance, le relèvement et l'altitude de l'aéronef. L'équipage de conduite doit utiliser cette information comme aide au repérage visuel de l'autre aéronef afin d'éviter un conflit.

Un RA consiste généralement en une manoeuvre verticale qui doit être effectuée afin d'accroître ou de maintenir l'espacement par rapport à l'aéronef conflictuel. Le RA est fourni de façon visuelle et sonore. Il consiste en un avis correctif invitant à changer la vitesse verticale de l'aéronef ou un avis préventif destiné à limiter les changements de vitesse verticale.

L'espace aérien est divisé, pour fins de contrôle, en différents secteurs. Au moment de l'événement, l'appareil d'Air Transat devait traverser, entre autres, les secteurs de Rawdon, Québec et Lévis (Québec).

Le secteur de Rawdon s'étend à l'est de l'aéroport de Mirabel jusqu'à approximativement 18 nm du VOR de Québec. Le secteur s'étend aussi au nord et au sud de la voie aérienne V316, et les vols sont contrôlés jusqu'au niveau de vol 280.

Le secteur de Québec est bordé, entre autres, à l'ouest par le secteur de Rawdon. Il couvre tout le secteur de l'aéroport de Québec et même plus dans les directions nord, sud et est. Dans le secteur de Québec, les vols sont contrôlés jusqu'au niveau de vol 280.

Dans le secteur de Lévis, les vols sont contrôlés à partir du niveau de vol 290 et plus haut. Ce secteur s'étend au-dessus des secteurs de Rawdon, Québec et même plus.

En quittant Mirabel, TSC 234 a contacté le secteur de Rawdon à 00 h 04 min 31 sec(1). Il a été identifié au radar et autorisé au niveau de vol 280. À 00 h 12 min 58 s, le contrôleur de Rawdon a effectué un relevé de position de la cible radar avec le contrôleur de Québec, qui l'a accepté. Cette procédure implique que l'appareil risque de pénétrer dans le secteur de Québec, mais que les communications radio ne seront pas transférées au contrôleur de Québec sans pour autant le dégager de sa responsabilitéé de maintenir un espacement adéquat. Pendant ce temps, à 00 h 13 min 48 s, ICN 1647 annonçait qu'il arrivait au VOR de Québec.

Le vol TSC 234 a été transféré au contrôleur de Lévis alors que l'avion était à 43 nm à l'ouest du VOR de Québec et à une altitude de 17 000 pieds. Le contrôleur de Lévis, conformément aux procédures, utilisait un filtre d'altitude de 5 000 pieds, ce qui ne lui permettait d'observer les avions qu'à partir du niveau de vol 240; le contrôleur de Lévis ne pouvait donc pas observer TSC 234 ni ICN 1647. À 00 h 13 min 32 s, le contrôleur de Lévis a autorisé TSC 234 au niveau de vol 290 et à se diriger directement vers MIILS, ce qui occasionne un virage à droite de 12 degrés, conformément aux procédures établies. Le contrôleur de Lévis a communiqué avec le contrôleur de Québec qui a répondu qu'il vérifiait TSC 234. À partir de ce moment, les deux appareils se sont trouvés sur des trajectoires de collision, ce qui a provoqué le déclenchement de leur système TCAS/ACAS vers 00 h 16 min 37 s, selon les données radar.

Le contrôleur de Québec a mentionné qu'il ne pensait pas que les appareils pouvaient être en conflit. Croyant que TSC 234 continuerait comme prévu jusqu'au VOR, le contrôleur avait calculé que, compte tenu de la vitesse de rapprochement des appareils et d'un taux de montée présumé de 1 000 pieds par minute de la part de TSC 234, l'espacement vertical entre les deux appareils ne pouvait pas être inférieur à 1 500 pieds. De plus, il avait calculé que, lorsque TSC 234 passerait à la verticale du VOR, ICN 1647 l'aurait franchi depuis un certain temps. Le taux de montée de TSC 234 a été inférieur au taux présumé par le contrôleur à cause de la masse de l'avion et de la température extérieure élevées.

Le contrôleur de Québec occupait seul le poste de radio et données pendant que son collègue était en pause. Il a mentionné que, peu avant l'événement, il effectuait une coordination importante avec la tour de Québec en raison de l'arrivée sur la piste 06 d'un appareil qui effectuait une évacuation médicale alors que la piste 24 était en service. L'attention du contrôleur a été canalisée à l'est du VOR de Québec, alors que le risque de collision se produisait au sud-ouest du VOR de Québec. Sa charge de travail était modérée avec une complexité de modérée à élevée.

Le contrôleur de Québec en était à son troisième quart de travail depuis qu'il s'était requalifié. En effet, il avait passé les six derniers mois au terminal de Montréal. Il revenait à son ancien poste mais, durant son absence, la limite supérieure du secteur de Québec avait été augmentée de 17 000 pieds au niveau de vol 280. Le contrôleur a mentionné que, au moment de l'événement, il n'était pas familier avec les survols; il n'avait pas reçu de formation en classe à ce sujet mais il avait reçu une formation en cours d'emploi. Le contrôleur a aussi déclaré avoir déjà géré, bien qu'à des vitesses plus faibles, des survols lorsque l'espace du secteur de Québec était limité à 17 000 pieds.

Analyse

Les contrôleurs aériens étaient qualifiés pour les postes qu'ils occupaient.

Le contrôleur de Québec venait de se requalifier en poste, et il connaissait l'ensemble des tâches à accomplir. Il admet avoir déjà géré, bien qu'à des vitesses plus faibles, des survols à des altitudes inférieures à 17 000 pieds; cependant, il a mentionné qu'il n'était pas familier avec les survols puisque son espace aérien avait été modifié durant son absence et s'étendait maintenant jusqu'au niveau de vol 280.

Le contrôleur de Québec s'est retrouvé seul à un moment où la charge de travail a augmenté soudainement. Durant la période précédant le risque de collision, l'attention accrue que le contrôleur portait à la coordination de l'arrivée d'un vol d'évacuation médicale à l'aéroport de Québec ne lui a pas permis de percevoir le risque de collision qui existait entre les deux avions. De plus, bien qu'il ait été responsable de maintenir un espacement adéquat entre les deux appareils, le contrôleur avait accepté que les communications soient transférées au secteur de Lévis. Ainsi, les deux appareils ont dû effectuer des manoeuvres d'évitement à 19 milles au sud-ouest du VOR de Québec à la suite d'un avis de résolution du TCAS/ACAS.

Faits établis

  1. L'espacement minimal entre les deux appareils n'a pas été respecté par le contrôle de la circulation aérienne.
  2. Les équipages ont effectué une manoeuvre d'évitement à la suite d'un avis de résolution du TCAS/ACAS.
  3. Les contrôleurs aériens étaient qualifiés.
  4. Au moment de l'événement, l'attention du contrôleur de Québec était portée vers la coordination de l'arrivée d'un vol d'évacuation médicale à l'aéroport de Québec.
  5. Le contrôleur de Québec occupait seul le poste de radio et données alors que son collègue était en pause.
  6. Le contrôleur de Québec avait la responsabilitéé de maintenir un espacement adéquat pour TSC 234, mais il n'était pas en communication avec lui.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le contrôleur du secteur de Québec ne s'est pas assuré de maintenir l'espacement minimal entre les deux appareils. Les facteurs qui ont contribué à l'événement sont l'absence de communication directe, l'augmentation soudaine de la charge de travail causée par l'arrivée d'un vol d'évacuation médicale ainsi que l'absence d'un deuxième contrôleur au poste.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet incident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 27 août 1996 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail et W.A. Tadros.

Annexe A

Annexe A


1. Les heures sont exprimées en temps universel coordonné (UTC), sauf indication contraire.