Aviation Investigation Report A95Q0104

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Flight into Adverse Weather
Ground Impact
Transportair
Cessna 182RG C-GBXO
Bégin, Quebec 3.5 nm N
17 June 1995

Summary

The Cessna 182RG, with the pilot as the sole occupant, took off from Roberval Airport, Quebec, at 1031 eastern daylight time (EDT)(1) for a local forest fire surveillance patrol in visual flight rules (VFR).

About 10 minutes after take-off, an eyewitness saw the aircraft flying northwards at very low altitude. According to the witness, the aircraft was heading towards a mountain covered in a cloud layer. A few moments later, the witness heard a noise and heard the aircraft's engine stop. He immediately reported the incident to the police. The Flight Service Station (FSS) at Roberval picked up the signal of an emergency locator transmitter (ELT) and reported the matter to the police authorities. The local civil air search and rescue services (SERABEC) were advised, and a search was undertaken.

The aircraft was located at 1212 EDT. It had struck some trees and crashed on the south side of a mountain about 3.5 nautical miles north of Bégin, Quebec. The pilot had sustained fatal injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight according to existing regulations. He had accumulated a total of 342 flying hours. He held an instrument (IFR) rating and had a total of 50 hours dual-control instrument flight.

The pilot had been hired by the company to make surveillance flights for the Société de protection des forêts contre le feu and had completed ground and flight training on the Cessna 182RG for that purpose. The Society had given its pilots a briefing to familiarize them with surveillance flights, the global positioning system (GPS), and the procedures to be followed. It was suggested to the pilots that they make all surveillance flights in VFR conditions with a minimum ceiling of 2,000 feet above ground level (agl). They were also asked to avoid any dangerous manoeuvres, including low-level flying.

After the initial training, six pilots and their aircraft were based at Roberval Airport. For most of them, this was their first job as a professional pilot. Every day, a patrol was assigned to the pilots, and they took off at their discretion. There was no chief pilot or flight supervisor at the Roberval base. The pilots operated on their own and made their decisions without consultation or approval.

The patrol area lay north of the base in a mountainous area. Two aeroplanes and a helicopter had taken off that morning to fly over the same area, but had turned back after encountering adverse weather.

The accident occurred at an altitude of 750 feet above sea level (asl) on the south side of a mountain near Bégin, Quebec. A few moments prior to the accident, witnesses located at the foot of the mountain and in the surrounding area had observed the aircraft flying northwards at an altitude about 100 feet above the trees. It was found that the aircraft had hit trees over 100 feet tall while making a steep turn to the right. Several trees were severed and uprooted. There were large propeller marks on the trees. Both wings had come away from the fuselage, and other parts of the aircraft were heavily damaged by the impact with the trees and the ground. The aircraft left a trail approximately 400 feet long running southwards, that is, in the direction opposite to the intended track.

The pilot had passed his last civil aviation medical examination on 10 April 1995. The medical investigation did not reveal any evidence to suggest that incapacitation or physiological factors might have affected the pilot's behaviour. The investigation revealed that the aircraft hit the ground at high speed.

The examination of the aircraft carried out at the scene of the accident did not reveal any failure or malfunction prior to impact that might have reduced the aircraft's performance. The flaps were retracted. The aircraft's weight and centre of gravity were within prescribed limits, and the aircraft was carrying sufficient fuel to make the flight. The aircraft was equipped with the necessary instrumentation for IFR flight and was also equipped with GPS.

The pilot had told other pilots that he had had intermittent problems with the aircraft's attitude and course indicators, but he had not mentioned the problem to the company's aircraft maintenance personnel. The aircraft technical log was recovered and checked, and no defect of this kind was recorded. A check of the aircraft's vacuum pump determined that it was in working order at the time of the accident.

The pilot had not requested a weather briefing from the Roberval FSS specialist. The weather conditions on take-off at Roberval were as follows: scattered clouds at 6,000 feet; ceiling 8,000 feet overcast; and visibility 30 miles. An analysis of the weather conditions by Environment Canada indicated that the forecast for the area of the flight reported a front moving through the area. There were cloud layers and fog over the accident site. The search and rescue pilot, who took off from the airport at Saint-Honoré, Quebec, at 1137 EDT, was unable to fly over the accident site because the mountain was covered in a thick layer of fog. He was compelled to wait until about 1212 EDT before he could fly over the area where he found the wreckage. According to him, the front reported in the forecasts moved slower than estimated, and it took some time for the cloud layers at low altitude to dissipate.

Analysis

As no failure or malfunction prior to impact could have reduced the aircraft's performance, the analysis deals with the weather conditions, the flight planning, and the pilot's decision-making.

The weather forecasts, observations, and the morning flights in the area indicate that the weather conditions over the intended track were not favourable for the flight. Low stratus accompanied by drizzle and fog, as reported by the search and rescue pilot, prevailed over the route and in the mountainous area.

The pilot did not request a pre-flight weather briefing from the FSS specialist, and, although conditions at the departure aerodrome were favourable for VFR, the evidence indicates that the pilot encountered adverse weather. As there was no supervision at the base, the flight planning was not checked prior to departure.

The pilot encountered adverse weather in flight. Probably not fully trusting the aircraft instruments, the pilot may have tried to maintain visual contact with the ground. Although the pilot was qualified for IFR, the evidence indicates that he first tried to keep visual contact with the ground by decreasing the flight altitude. Later, at low altitude, he may have made a steep turn to turn back. The damage to the aircraft indicates that it hit the trees at a banked attitude and high speed. The Cessna quite likely hit the mountain in the turn without the pilot's being aware of the situation.

In 1990, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada published a safety study on VFR flight under adverse weather conditions. Among other things, this study says that lack of planning and decision-making are recurring contributing factors, regardless of the pilots' level of experience.

Findings

  1. There was no chief pilot and no supervision of operations at the base.
  2. The pilot did not request a weather briefing for the flight undertaken.
  3. The weather conditions on the intended track were unfavourable for VFR flight.
  4. The pilot encountered adverse weather en route and tried to turn back.
  5. The pilot probably did not fully trust the aircraft's instruments and tried to maintain visual contact with the ground.
  6. The accident site was obscured by fog throughout the morning.
  7. The aircraft was flying at high speed when it hit the trees.
  8. The aircraft did not show any evidence of failure prior to impact.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The pilot continued VFR flight under adverse weather conditions. Contributing factors to the occurrence were the fact that the pilot probably did not trust the instruments and the fact that he did not request weather information for the intended track prior to departure.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson John W. Stants, and members Zita Brunet and Maurice Harquail, authorized the release of this report on 18 March 1996.


1. All times are EDT (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus four hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A95Q0104

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Vol dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables / Impact avec le sol
Transportair
Cessna 182RG C-GBXO
3,5 nm au nord de Bégin (Québec)
17 juin 1995

Résumé

Le Cessna182 RG est parti à 10 h 31, heure avancée de l'Est (HAE)(1) de l'aéroport de Roberval (Québec) avec le pilote comme seul occupant. Il effectuait une patrouille locale de surveillance des feux de forêt selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR).

Environ 10 minutes après le décollage, un témoin oculaire a aperçu l'aéronef volant en direction nord à très basse altitude. Selon le témoin, l'appareil se dirigeait vers une montagne qui était recouverte d'une couche nuageuse. Quelques instants plus tard, le témoin a entendu un bruit et le moteur de l'aéronef s'arrêter. Il a aussitôt signalé l'événement aux policiers. La station d'information de vol (FSS) de Roberval (Québec) a capté le signal d'une radiobalise de détresse (ELT) et a signalé l'événement aux autorités policières. Les Services de recherches et sauvetage civils (SERABEC) locaux ont été avisés, et des recherches ont été entreprises.

L'avion a été localisé à 12 h 12 HAE. Il avait heurté des arbres et s'était écrasé sur le flanc sud d'une montagne, à environ 3,5 milles marins (nm) au nord de Bégin (Québec). Le pilote avait subi des blessures mortelles.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il totalisait 342 heures de vol. Il était titulaire de la qualification de vol aux instruments et totalisait 50 heures de vol aux instruments en double commande.

Le pilote avait été engagé par la compagnie pour effectuer des vols de surveillance pour la Société de protection des forêts contre le feu. À cet effet, le pilote avait complété un entraînement au sol et en vol sur le Cessna 182RG. La société avait donné une séance d'information aux pilotes pour les familiariser avec le vol de surveillance, le système de positionnement mondial (GPS) et les procédures à suivre. On leur avait également suggéré d'effectuer tous les vols de surveillance dans des conditions VFR et avec un plafond d'au moins 2 000 pieds-sol. De plus, on leur avait demandé d'éviter toute manoeuvre dangereuse, dont le vol à basse altitude.

Après l'entraînement initial, six pilotes et leurs appareils ont été basés à l'aéroport de Roberval (Québec). Pour la majorité d'entre eux, il s'agissait d'un premier emploi en tant que pilote professionnel. Chaque jour, une patrouille était assignée aux pilotes et ils décollaient à leur discrétion. Il n'y avait pas de chef pilote ni de superviseur de vol à la base de Roberval. Les pilotes agissaient de leur propre chef et prenaient leurs propres décisions, sans consultation ni approbation.

La région à patrouiller se situait au nord de la base et en région montagneuse. Le matin même, deux appareils et un hélicoptère ont décollé pour survoler la même région, mais ils ont rebroussé chemin après avoir rencontré des conditions météorologiques défavorables.

L'accident est survenu à une altitude de 750 pieds-mer, sur le côté sud d'une montagne près de Bégin (Québec). Quelques instants auparavant, des témoins, qui se trouvaient en bas de la montagne et aux environs du site, avaient vu l'aéronef se diriger vers le nord, à une altitude d'environ 100 pieds au-dessus des arbres. L'enquête a révélé que, lors d'un virage à grande inclinaison vers la droite, l'appareil a heurté des arbres de plus de 100 pieds de hauteur. Plusieurs arbres ont été sectionnés et déracinés. Il y avait des marques importantes d'hélice sur les arbres. Les deux ailes se sont détachées du fuselage et les autres parties de l'aéronef ont été lourdement endommagées par l'impact avec les arbres et le sol. L'avion a laissé un sillon d'environ 400 pieds de longueur, orienté vers le sud, soit à l'opposé de la route prévue.

Le pilote avait subi son dernier examen médical de l'aviation civile avec succès le 10 avril 1995. L'enquête médicale n'a révélé aucun indice permettant de croire qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques aient pu perturber le comportement du pilote. L'enquête a révélé que l'avion a heurté le sol à grande vitesse.

L'examen de l'avion effectué sur les lieux de l'accident n'a révélé aucune défaillance ou mauvais fonctionnement antérieur à l'impact et qui aurait pu réduire les performances de l'appareil. Les volets étaient rentrés. La masse et le centrage de l'avion étaient dans les limites prescrites, et l'avion transportait suffisamment de carburant pour effectuer le vol. L'appareil était équipé de l'instrumentation nécessaire pour le vol aux instruments et était muni d'un GPS.

Le pilote avait déjà mentionné à d'autres pilotes qu'il avait eu des problèmes intermittents avec l'indicateur d'assiette et le conservateur de cap de cet appareil. Le pilote n'avait pas mentionné ce problème au personnel de maintenance des appareils de la compagnie. Le livret technique de l'appareil a été récupéré et vérifié. Aucune défectuosité de ce genre n'y était inscrite. Une vérification a déterminé que la pompe à vide de l'aéronef était en état de fonctionnement au moment de l'accident.

Le pilote n'avait pas demandé d'exposé météo au FSS de Roberval. Au décollage, les conditions météorologiques à Roberval étaient les suivantes : nuages épars à 6 000 pieds, ciel couvert à 8 000 pieds et visibilité de 30 milles. Une analyse des conditions météorologiques effectuée par Environnement Canada mentionne que les prévisions couvrant la région où devait se dérouler le vol faisaient état du passage d'un front. Il y avait des couches nuageuses et du brouillard au-dessus des lieux de l'accident. Le pilote de Recherches et sauvetage, qui a décollé de l'aéroport de Saint-Honoré (Québec) à 11 h 37 HAE n'a pu survoler les lieux de l'accident car la montagne était recouverte d'une couche épaisse de brouillard. Il a été contraint d'attendre jusque vers 12 h 12 HAE avant de pouvoir survoler les lieux et repérer l'épave. Selon lui, le passage du front annoncé dans les prévisions a été plus lent que prévu et les couches nuageuses à basse altitude ont mis un certain temps à se dissiper.

Analyse

Puisqu'aucune défaillance ni mauvais fonctionnement antérieur à l'impact n'a pu réduire les performances de l'appareil, l'analyse porte sur les conditions météorologiques, la préparation du vol et la prise de décision du pilote.

Les prévisions du temps, les observations ainsi que les vols du matin dans cette région indiquent que les conditions météorologiques sur la route prévue n'étaient pas favorables pour le vol entrepris. Des stratus bas accompagnés de bruine et de brouillard, tel qu'il a été mentionné par le pilote de Recherches et sauvetage, prévalaient sur la route et en région montagneuse.

Le pilote n'a pas demandé d'exposé météo à la FSS avant d'entreprendre le vol et, même si les conditions à l'aérodrome de départ étaient favorables au vol à vue, tout indique que le pilote a rencontré des conditions météorologiques défavorables. Étant donné qu'il n'existait aucune supervision à la base, la préparation du vol n'a pas été vérifiée avant le départ.

En vol, le pilote a rencontré des conditions météorologiques défavorables. Ne faisant probablement pas entièrement confiance aux instruments de bord de l'avion, le pilote aurait tenté de maintenir le contact visuel avec le sol. Même si le pilote était qualifié pour le vol aux instruments, tout indique qu'il a d'abord tenté de maintenir le contact visuel avec le sol en diminuant l'altitude de vol. Plus tard, et à faible altitude, il aurait effectué un virage à grande inclinaison pour rebrousser chemin. Les dommages observés sur l'avion indiquent que l'appareil a heurté les arbres dans une assiette inclinée et à grande vitesse. Le Cessna a fort probablement percuté la montagne dans le virage, sans que le pilote ne se rende compte de la situation.

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada a publié en 1990 une étude de sécurité sur le vol VFR dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables. Cette étude mentionne, entre autres, que le manque de planification et la prise de décision sont des facteurs contributifs qui se répètent, peu importe le niveau d'expérience des pilotes.

Faits établis

  1. Il n'y avait aucun chef pilote ni de supervision des opérations à la base.
  2. Le pilote n'a pas demandé d'exposé météo pour le vol entrepris.
  3. Les conditions météorologiques sur la route prévue étaient défavorables pour le vol à vue.
  4. En route, le pilote a rencontré des conditions météorologiques défavorables et a tenté de rebrousser chemin.
  5. Le pilote ne faisait probablement pas entièrement confiance aux instruments de bord de l'avion et a tenté de maintenir le contact visuel avec le sol.
  6. L'endroit où l'avion s'est écrasé était obscurci par le brouillard durant toute la matinée.
  7. L'avion volait à grande vitesse quand il a heurté les arbres.
  8. L'appareil ne présentait aucun signe de défaillance antérieure à l'impact.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le pilote a poursuivi le vol à vue dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables. La probabilité que le pilote ne faisait pas confiance aux instruments et le fait qu'il n'a pas demandé les renseignements météorologiques pour la route prévue avant son départ sont des facteurs contributifs à l'événement.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 18 mars 1996 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président John W. Stants et des membres Zita Brunet et Maurice Harquail.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins quatre heures) sauf indication contraire.