Aviation Investigation Report A95Q0142

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Power loss in left engine
ditching confortair
PIPER NAVAJO PA31-350 C-GVWM
Sept-Îles, Québec 24 mi S
27 July 1995

Summary

The aircraft, with seven persons on board, was making a charter flight from Lourdes-de-Blanc-Sablon, Quebec, to Mont-Joli Airport, Quebec, in accordance with instrument flight rules (IFR). In flight, at a cruising altitude of 6,000 feet above sea level (asl) and about 50 nautical miles (nm) west of Port-Meunier, Quebec, the left engine lost power. The pilot applied full power on both engines, reported the power loss to the air traffic controller, and continued on his route. He tried to maintain the best rate-of-climb speed on one engine, but the aircraft continued to descend at a rate of about 400 to 500 feet per minute.

Two minutes later, at an altitude of about 4,800 feet asl, the pilot diverted the aircraft to Sept-Îles Airport, Quebec. About 25 nm south of Sept-Îles, the pilot requested assistance, declared an emergency, and said he was going to ditch the aircraft in the St. Lawrence River. At about 1,000 feet asl, the pilot feathered the left engine propeller. He carried out the safety checks for a water landing and advised the passengers of the measures to be taken. After the ditching, the seven occupants evacuated the aircraft via the aft main door. A few seconds later, the aircraft sank. The pilot and passengers treaded water, without life jackets, for about forty minutes before being rescued by a civilian helicopter. No one was injured. The accident occurred in daylight, in meteorological conditions favourable for visual flight.

Other Factual Information

The aircraft was certified and maintained in accordance with existing regulations. On take-off, the weight of the aircraft was at the maximum allowable and the centre of gravity was within the prescribed limits. The carrier was authorized to operate this type of aircraft without a co-pilot.

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He was flying the aircraft from the left seat. He had a total of about 530 flying hours, including 230 hours on this aircraft type. He had joined the company two months before and had completed the company training on the Piper Navajo. The pilot had passed an in-flight test on type two months earlier. He was familiar with the route.

A commercial pilot with multi-engine and instrument ratings was in the right seat. He was undergoing training and was familiarizing himself with company operations. He had begun flying as an observer in the right seat about one week previously.

The engine (Lycoming 540-J2BD) had been installed one week previously and had accumulated 12 hours in-flight service since then. This engine is fitted with a turbocharger driven by exhaust gases. When the turbocharger is not functioning, about 75 per cent of engine power is still available. Examination of the technical log-books revealed no deficiencies. A fuel sample taken at the last refuelling airport revealed no evidence of water or contamination.

When the left engine lost power in flight, the pilot felt a yaw and speed decreased. The autopilot disengaged and the aircraft began to lose altitude. A passenger told the pilots that white smoke was coming from the left engine. The pilot initiated the emergency procedures, applying full power on both engines and trying to maintain the single engine best rate-of-climb speed of 109 knots. He observed that the intake pressure gauge indicated 23 inches. According to the pilot, this reading meant that the turbocharger was not functioning and the engine was still developing significant power. He left the engine running and did not consider it necessary to continue the checks and emergency procedures for an engine failure. These procedures include feathering the propeller.

According to the operating manual of the aircraft, with the engine failure checks completed and at the estimated weight, it is possible to obtain a rate of climb on one engine of about 230 feet per minute (fpm) at the indicated airspeed (IAS) of 109 knots. When the propeller is not feathered, drag increases and the aircraft is unable to maintain altitude.

Over a large part of its route, the aircraft was flying over the St. Lawrence River. When the power loss occurred, the aircraft was over water about 55 nm from Sept-Îles, where the company is based, and 15 miles from Sainte-Anne-des-Monts, Quebec, where there is a runway. The pilot felt that the meteorological conditions at that location were unfavourable for using that runway.

The pilot set a course for Sept-Îles and did not consider the situation sufficiently critical to declare an emergency. He thought he could reach his new destination. When the pilot realized that he could not reach the airport or the coast, and that he would have to ditch, he requested Coast Guard assistance. About five minutes later, the pilot declared an emergency. The controller, however, on his own initiative, dispatched a civilian helicopter to the site.

Shortly after the ditching of the aircraft and the evacuation of the occupants, the aircraft sank in about 850 feet of water. Consequently, it was not possible to recover the wreckage and examine the engine involved. Two aircraft flying over the area guided the helicopter, which arrived at the site about 30 minutes after the aircraft ditched. The accident pilot and passengers, who were treading water, boarded a raft that was dropped on the water and were hoisted aboard the helicopter a few minutes later. A second helicopter joined the rescue operation and all those who had been on board the ditched aircraft were transported to Sept-Îles Airport.

The aircraft was not equipped with life jackets. In accordance with Transport Canada Air Navigation Orders, a multi-engined aircraft that is able to maintain flight with the critical engine inoperative, and that is not operating more than 50 nm from shore, is not required to carry a life jacket for each person or life rafts with sufficient capacity for all persons on board. After this occurrence, all company aircraft were equipped with life jackets.

An analysis of the flight path was conducted by the TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory using radar data. It was determined that the rate of descent of the aircraft was approximately 500 fpm down to about 1,000 feet asl, where it decreased to about 100 fpm. This analysis showed that, in ideal conditions, with the left engine feathered immediately after the power loss, and speed maintained at 109 knots, the aircraft could have travelled an additional distance of about 130 miles, and would have arrived over Sept-Îles Airport at an altitude of about 2,500 feet asl.

Analysis

As the wreckage has not been recovered, the cause of the engine power loss could not be conclusively determined. However, the yaw, the loss of intake pressure, and the loss of altitude indicate a power loss more substantial than a turbocharger failure alone.

Due to his limited experience, the pilot interpreted the initial indications as a partial power loss and, after reporting it, he decided to continue on his route. According to a study by the University of Illinois, decision-making ability degrades during emergencies and highly stressful situations, and the pilot appears to have simplified his decision making by concentrating exclusively on some of the information available to him. In this case, the pilot did not verify all information: that is, whether the engine power loss was complete or only partial. Then, after interpreting the pressure gauge reading, he concluded that the engine was developing enough power to reach his diversion base. As a result, he applied full power on both engines and did not carry out the safety checks for a complete engine failure, which include feathering the propeller. As the propeller was not feathered immediately, drag increased considerably and, to maintain speed, the pilot was forced to descend the aircraft. During this time, the fact that he was the only authorized pilot on board did not make the situation any easier.

When the pilot realized that he could not reach his destination, he requested assistance and declared an emergency. However, it is highly probable that the vigilance of the air traffic controller and those participating in the rescue prevented a disaster and, possibly, loss of life.

The following laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 125/95 - Radar Data Analysis.

Findings

  1. The cause of the power loss in the left engine could not be determined.
  2. The pilot interpreted the indications of the power loss as a partial power loss.
  3. The pilot did not feather the left engine propeller before 1,000 feet asl.
  4. The pilot did not carry out all the safety checks for a complete engine failure.
  5. The aircraft was unable to reach Sept-Îles and the pilot ditched the aircraft in the river.
  6. The aircraft was not carrying life jackets, nor was it required to do so.

Causes and Contributing Factors

A complete power loss in the left engine occurred for an undetermined reason. The fact that the left engine propeller was feathered only at 1,000 feet asl contributed to the inability of the aircraft to reach its destination.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson John W. Stants, and members Zita Brunet and Maurice Harquail, authorized the release of this report on 24 April 1996.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A95Q0142

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de puissance du moteur gauche
Amerrissage forcé
Confortair Piper Navajo PA31-350 C-GVWM
24 mi au sud de Sept-Îles (Québec)
27 juillet 1995

Résumé

L'appareil, avec sept personnes à bord, effectuait un vol nolisé de Lourdes-de-Blanc-Sablon (Québec) à destination de l'aéroport de Mont-Joli (Québec), selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR). En vol, à une altitude de croisière de 6 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl), et à environ 50 milles marins (nm) à l'ouest de Port-Meunier (Québec), le moteur gauche de l'appareil a perdu de la puissance. Le pilote a appliqué pleine puissance sur les deux moteurs, signalé la perte au contrôleur aérien, et a poursuivi sa route. Il a tenté de maintenir la vitesse pour le meilleur taux de montée sur un moteur; cependant, l'aéronef a continué à descendre à un taux d'environ 400 à 500 pieds par minute (pi/min).

Deux minutes plus tard, à une altitude d'environ 4 800 pieds asl, le pilote a dérouté l'appareil vers l'aéroport de Sept-Îles (Québec). À environ 25 nm au sud de Sept-Îles, le pilote a demandé de l'assistance, déclaré une situation d'urgence et mentionné qu'il allait poser l'appareil sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. À environ 1 000 pieds asl, le pilote a mis l'hélice du moteur gauche en drapeau. Il a effectué les vérifications de sécurité pour un amerrissage et avisé les passagers des mesures à prendre. Après l'amerrissage, les sept occupants ont évacué l'appareil par la porte principale arrière. Quelques instants plus tard, l'aéronef a coulé. Les occupants ont nagé sur place, sans gilet de sauvetage, pendant environ quarante minutes avant d'être secourus par un hélicoptère civil. Personne n'a été blessé. L'accident s'est produit de jour, dans des conditions météorologiques favorables au vol à vue.

Autres renseignements de base

L'aéronef était certifié et maintenu selon la réglementation en vigueur. Au décollage, le poids de l'aéronef était au maximum autorisé et le centre de gravité se trouvait dans les limites prescrites. Le transporteur était autorisé à exploiter ce type d'appareil sans copilote.

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il occupait le siège gauche et était aux commandes de l'appareil. Il totalisait environ 530 heures de vol, dont 230 heures sur ce type d'appareil. Il s'était joint à la compagnie deux mois auparavant et avait complété l'entraînement de la compagnie sur le Piper Navajo. Le pilote avait passé un test en vol sur type deux mois plus tôt. Il connaissait bien le trajet.

Un pilote professionnel qualifié sur multimoteurs et au vol aux instruments occupait le siège droit. Il effectuait un stage de formation et se familiarisait avec les opérations de la compagnie. Il avait commencé à voler comme observateur dans le siège droit une semaine avant l'événement.

Le moteur (Lycoming 540-J2BD) avait été installé une semaine avant l'événement et avait effectué 12 heures de vol depuis. Il s'agit d'un moteur suralimenté par un turbocompresseur mû par les gaz d'échappement. Lorsqu'il y a une perte de turbocompresseur, environ 75 % de la puissance du moteur est encore disponible. L'examen des livrets techniques n'a révélé aucune anomalie. Un examen de l'échantillon de carburant pris à l'aéroport du dernier ravitaillement n'a révélé aucune trace d'eau ni de contamination.

En vol, lorsque le moteur gauche a perdu de la puissance, le pilote a ressenti un mouvement de lacet et la vitesse a diminué. Le pilote automatique s'est déclenché et l'appareil a commencé à perdre de l'altitude. Un passager a alors signalé aux pilotes que de la fumée blanche s'échappait du moteur gauche. Le pilote a débuté les mesures d'urgence en appliquant pleine puissance sur les deux moteurs et en tentant de maintenir la vitesse du meilleur taux de montée sur un moteur, soit 109 noeuds. Il a observé le manomètre de pression d'admission qui indiquait 23 pouces. Selon le pilote, cette indication signifiait la perte du turbocompresseur et le moteur développait encore une puissance non négligeable. Il a laissé le moteur fonctionner et n'a pas jugé nécessaire de continuer les vérifications et procédures d'urgence en cas de panne de moteur. Ces procédures comprennent la mise en drapeau de l'hélice.

Selon le manuel d'utilisation de l'appareil, avec les vérifications de panne de moteur complétées et à la masse estimée, il est possible d'obtenir un taux de montée de l'appareil sur un seul moteur d'environ 230 pi/min, à la vitesse indiquée de 109 noeuds (IAS). Lorsque l'hélice n'est pas en drapeau, la traînée augmente et l'appareil est incapable de maintenir l'altitude.

Pour une grande partie du trajet, l'appareil a survolé le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Lorsque la perte de puissance s'est produite, l'appareil se trouvait au-dessus de l'eau, à environ 55 nm de Sept-Îles où se trouve la base de la compagnie, et à 15 milles de Sainte-Anne-des-Monts (Québec) où se trouve une piste d'atterrissage. Le pilote a jugé que les conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient à cet endroit n'étaient pas favorables pour se poser.

Le pilote a dirigé l'appareil vers Sept-Îles et n'a pas jugé que la situation était assez critique pour déclarer une urgence. Il croyait pouvoir atteindre sa nouvelle destination. Lorsque le pilote a réalisé qu'il ne pouvait rejoindre ni l'aéroport ni la côte, et qu'il devait effectuer un amerrissage forcé, il a demandé l'aide de la Garde côtière. Environ cinq minutes plus tard, le pilote a déclaré une situation d'urgence. Cependant, de sa propre initiative, le contrôleur a dépêché un hélicoptère civil en direction des lieux.

Peu après l'amerrissage et l'évacuation des occupants, l'appareil a coulé dans approximativement 850 pieds d'eau. Il a donc été impossible de récupérer l'épave et d'examiner le moteur en cause. Deux aéronefs survolant les lieux ont guidé l'hélicoptère qui est arrivé à l'endroit environ 30 minutes après l'amerrissage de l'avion. Les occupants, après avoir nagé sur place, sont montés à bord d'un radeau jeté à l'eau et ont été hissés à bord de l'hélicoptère quelques minutes plus tard. Un deuxième hélicoptère s'est joint à l'opération de sauvetage et tous les occupants ont été transportés à l'aéroport de Sept-Îles.

L'appareil n'était pas équipé de gilets de sauvetage. Selon les Ordonnances sur la navigation aérienne de Transports Canada, un avion multimoteur étant capable de maintenir le vol en cas de panne du moteur critique, qui n'évolue pas à plus de 50 milles marins du rivage, n'est pas tenu d'avoir à son bord un gilet de sauvetage pour chaque personne ou de radeaux de sauvetage en nombre suffisant pour recevoir toutes les personnes à bord. À la suite de l'événement, tous les appareils de la compagnie ont été équipés de gilets de sauvetage.

Une analyse de la trajectoire de vol a été effectuée par le Laboratoire technique du BST en utilisant les données radar. Il a été déterminé que le taux de descente de l'appareil avait été d'environ 500 pi/min jusqu'à environ 1 000 pieds asl, alors qu'il a été réduit à environ 100 pi/min. Cette analyse a démontré que, dans des conditions idéales, avec la mise en drapeau du moteur gauche immédiatement après la perte de puissance, et le maintien d'une vitesse de 109 noeuds, l'aéronef aurait pu parcourir une distance additionnelle d'environ 130 milles, et serait parvenu à la verticale de l'aéroport de Sept-Îles à une altitude d'environ 2 500 pieds asl.

Analyse

Puisque l'épave n'a pas été récupérée, il a été impossible de déterminer avec exactitude la cause de la perte de puissance du moteur. Cependant, le mouvement de lacet, la perte de pression d'admission et la perte d'altitude indiquent une perte de puissance plus considérable qu'une simple perte du turbocompresseur.

Étant donné son expérience limitée, le pilote a interprété les indications initiales comme une perte de puissance partielle et, après l'avoir signalé, a jugé bon de continuer sa route. Selon une étude de l'Université de l'Illinois, la capacité de prendre des décisions se détériore durant les situations d'urgence ou de stress intense, et le pilote a semblé simplifier la prise de décision en se concentrant uniquement sur quelques éléments de l'information à sa disposition. Dans le cas qui nous occupe, le pilote n'a pas vérifié toutes les données, à savoir si le moteur avait subi une perte de puissance totale ou partielle. À la suite de l'interprétation de la lecture du manomètre de pression, il a jugé que le moteur développait assez de puissance pour atteindre sa base de déroutement. Il a alors appliqué pleine puissance sur les deux moteurs et n'a pas effectué les vérifications de sécurité pour une panne de moteur totale, qui comprend la mise en drapeau de l'hélice. En ne mettant pas l'hélice en drapeau immédiatement, la traînée a augmenté considérablement et, pour maintenir la vitesse, le pilote a été contraint de faire descendre l'appareil. Le fait qu'il était le seul pilote autorisé à bord n'a pas simplifié la situation.

Lorsque le pilote a réalisé qu'il ne pouvait atteindre sa destination, il a demandé de l'aide et déclaré une situation d'urgence. Cependant, la vigilance du contrôleur aérien ainsi que les participants au sauvetage ont fort probablement permis d'éviter une catastrophe et, possiblement, des pertes de vie.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 125/95 - Analyse des données radar.

Faits établis

  1. Il a été impossible de déterminer la cause de la perte de puissance du moteur gauche.
  2. Le pilote a interprété les indications de la perte de puissance comme une perte de puissance partielle.
  3. Le pilote n'a pas mis l'hélice du moteur gauche en drapeau avant 1 000 pieds asl.
  4. Le pilote n'a pas complété les vérifications de sécurité pour une panne de moteur totale.
  5. L'appareil a été incapable d'atteindre Sept-Îles, et le pilote a posé l'appareil sur le fleuve.
  6. L'appareil ne transportait pas de gilets de sauvetage, mais ce n'était pas obligatoire.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le moteur gauche a subi une perte de puissance totale pour une raison indéterminée. Le fait que l'hélice du moteur gauche a été mise en drapeau à seulement 1 000 pieds asl a contribué au fait que l'appareil n'a pu atteindre sa destination.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 24 avril 1996 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président John W. Stants et des membres Zita Brunet et Maurice Harquail.