Aviation Investigation Report A95Q0218

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision with Terrain
Niagara Helicopters Ltd.
Bell 206L-3 Long Ranger III (Helicopter) C-FLYO
Montreal International (Mirabel) Airport,
Quebec 20 mi SW
02 November 1995

Summary

Two helicopters departed from Niagara Falls, Ontario, on a flight to the Bell Helicopter Textron factory at Mirabel, Quebec. At the start of the trip, the aircraft flew in formation in visual meteorological conditions. Helicopter C-FLYO, with the pilot and one passenger on board, followed the aircraft flown by the formation leader. En route, the weather deteriorated; the distance between the helicopters was reduced to 200 feet and the flight continued at low altitude and at a reduced speed. While in hovering flight above an electrical transmission line running across a highway, the C-FLYO pilot made a sudden manoeuvre to avoid a wire, then attempted to land. The helicopter touched down sideways and rolled over onto its right side. The pilot sustained minor injuries; the passenger was uninjured.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

By arrangement between the pilots, the two skid-equipped Bell 206L-3 helicopters departed Niagara Falls in formation flight. The formation leader, flying the lead helicopter, was in charge of radio communications and navigation. The helicopters stopped at Toronto, Ontario, where one passenger boarded each aircraft, and again at Kingston, Ontario, in order to refuel. The two helicopters took off from Kingston around 1321 eastern standard time for a flight to Bell Helicopter Textron in Mirabel.

The C-FLYO pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He had been flying for the company for eight years. Previously, he had flown helicopters for the Philippine armed forces, where he gained his experience in formation flying. The pilot was responsible for the safety of the aircraft and the passengers on board. Accordingly, he had ultimate authority with respect to the operation of the aircraft during the flight. He reported to the chief pilot.

The formation leader was the company owner, who was also chief of operations and chief pilot. The chief of operations is responsible for ensuring that flights are conducted safely, in accordance with government laws and regulations, and in accordance with the standards, practices, procedures, and specifications prescribed in the company operations manual.

The two pilots obtained the meteorological information available on actual and forecast conditions along the route prior to the flight. The aerodrome forecast for the Mirabel and Dorval airports indicated a partially obscured sky condition with a ceiling of 300 feet above ground level (agl) and visibility of one mile in rain and haze. At the time of the accident, Mirabel reported a partially obscured sky condition with a ceiling of 300 feet agl, and visibility of one and one-half miles in light rain, light drizzle, and haze.

Along the way from Kingston to Mirabel, the meteorological conditions deteriorated. The flight continued at low altitude to about two thirds of the way where, with poor visibility in rain, the C-FLYO pilot landed in a field after losing sight of the formation leader. About 25 minutes later, the pilot of the lead helicopter located the second helicopter and landed beside it. The pilots discussed flight procedures for the remainder of the journey and agreed on the route to be followed to destination. They followed a railway, then a highway, in a northwesterly direction at altitudes between 700 and 100 feet agl.

A short time later, the helicopters, at 100 feet agl, crossed a lake 20 miles southwest of Bell Helicopter Textron. The radars stopped receiving the altitude of the lead helicopter when the formation leader switched off his transponder. The aircraft followed a highway to a point about two kilometres east of Saint-Eustache, Quebec, where three electrical transmission lines intersected the flight path. The first two lines were close together at a height of 120 feet; the third line, at a height of 270 feet, was 100 metres further east and was obscured by low cloud. To continue the flight, the formation leader flew over the towers of the first two lines, then hovered to the left and descended before flying under the cables of the third line.

Wanting to maintain separation between the two helicopters, the C-FLYO pilot hovered above the first set of cables and watched as the lead helicopter manoeuvred between the power lines about 50 metres ahead of him. At that time, the passenger noticed that the aircraft was moving left and losing altitude. He promptly told the pilot that they were in danger of colliding with the wires. The pilot immediately backed up the helicopter, entered a right-hand turn, and descended for a landing. The aircraft touched down while it was moving sideways to the right. The helicopter bounced twice on the right skid, the main rotor blades sliced through a metal road sign, and the aircraft rolled over on its right side at the edge of the highway congested with rush-hour traffic. The accident occurred in uncontrolled airspace between the Mirabel and Dorval control zones.

A helicopter can fly in uncontrolled airspace when the visibility exceeds one-half mile, provided that it flies at a sufficiently reduced speed to allow the pilot to see obstacles in time to avoid them. When the weather is adverse and the pilot must fly at low altitude, he is required to comply with the Air Regulations. Section 534 provides that no person shall fly an aircraft over any open air assembly of persons at an altitude less than 1,000 feet above the highest obstacle within a radius of 2,000 feet from the aircraft or elsewhere than over the built-up area of any city, town, or other settlement or over any open air assembly of persons at an altitude of less than 500 feet above the highest obstacle within a radius of 500 feet from the aircraft.

Analysis

The pilots departed when the meteorological forecast gave reason to believe that, in order to reach their destination, the helicopters would have to fly in adverse weather conditions, at low altitude, and over an urban area traversed by electrical transmission lines. As it is difficult to read a chart and identify obstacles and reference points when flying at low altitude, the formation led by the company owner had to follow a highway congested with rush-hour traffic. The fact that the formation leader was the company owner may have influenced the decision of the C-FLYO pilot to continue the flight in adverse weather conditions and to contravene the regulations.

Company management was responsible for controlling the operation of its aircraft and for ensuring that the pilots abided by existing regulations. However, for undetermined reasons, the lead pilot chose to guide the formation in adverse weather conditions at an altitude that compromised the safety of the aircraft and its occupants, and persons and property on the ground.

While in hovering flight above the first set of cables, the C-FLYO pilot was using the lead helicopter as a visual reference to determine his position in relation to the ground. It was difficult to perceive changes in aircraft attitude because he was hovering high above ground, his field of view was reduced, and the visual reference was moving. The pilot appears to have inadvertently caused the helicopter to drift slightly and lose altitude. When the pilot realized that the aircraft was moving toward the wires, he made a sudden avoidance manoeuvre which culminated in the aircraft landing sideways and rolling over.

Findings

  1. The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. The flight was initiated when the meteorological forecast indicated that, to arrive at their destination, the helicopters would have to fly in adverse weather.
  3. The formation leader was the owner of the company, chief of operations, and chief pilot.>
  4. The formation followed a highway at low altitude, over an urban area.
  5. The flight was conducted partially at an altitude lower than that prescribed by regulation.
  6. The pilot hovered above an electrical transmission line, at a height where it was difficult to perceive changes in aircraft attitude.
  7. The pilot lost control of the aircraft after making a sudden manoeuvre to avoid a wire.

Causes and Contributing Factors

While in hovering flight high above the ground, the pilot lost control of the aircraft after executing a manoeuvre to avoid colliding with a wire. Contributing to the accident were the pilot's decision to continue the flight in adverse weather conditions and the pilot's inadequate visual references while he was hovering above the electrical transmission line.

Safety Action Taken

Transport Canada is developing guidance material for the interpretation of Canadian Aviation Regulations 702 and 703 (Aerial Work and Air Taxi) which will include the suggestion that operators appoint dedicated Operations Managers and Chief Pilots, separate from the corporate or financial arm of the company.

Transport Canada will be reviewing the issue of formation flying through the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC) with a view to establishing further regulatory parameters for this activity. Additionally, hazards associated with formation flying will be the focus of a feature article in the Aviation Safety Newsletter Vortex.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 23 January 1997.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A95Q0218

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec le terrain
Niagara Helicopters Ltd.
Bell 206L-3 Long Ranger III (hélicoptère) C-FLYO
20 mi au sud-ouest de l'aéroport
international de Montréal / Mirabel (Québec)
2 novembre 1995

Résumé

Deux hélicoptères sont partis de Niagara Falls (Ontario) à destination de l'usine de Bell Helicopter Textron située à Mirabel (Québec). Au départ, les appareils volaient en formation dans des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue. L'hélicoptère immatriculé C-FLYO, à bord duquel se trouvait le pilote et un passager, suivait l'appareil piloté par le chef de la formation. Les conditions météorologiques se sont détériorées en route; la distance entre les hélicoptères a été réduite à 200 pieds, et le vol s'est poursuivi à basse altitude et à vitesse réduite. Pendant qu'il était en stationnaire au-dessus d'une ligne de transport d'électricité qui traversait une autoroute, le pilote du C-FLYO a effectué une manoeuvre brusque pour éviter un fil et a ensuite tenté d'atterrir. L'hélicoptère s'est posé en glissant de côté puis a basculé sur le côté droit. Le pilote a subi des blessures légères; le passager n'a pas été blessé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

À la suite d'un arrangement entre les pilotes, deux hélicoptères Bell 206L-3 munis de patins sont partis de Niagara Falls (Ontario) en vol en formation. Le chef de la formation qui pilotait l'hélicoptère de tête effectuait les communications radio et la navigation. Les hélicoptères ont fait escale à Toronto (Ontario) où chaque hélicoptère a pris un passager. Ils ont ensuite fait escale à Kingston (Ontario) pour se ravitailler en carburant d'où ils ont décollé vers 13 h 21, heure normale de l'Est (HNE) à destination de Bell Helicopter Textron.

Le pilote du C-FLYO possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il pilotait pour la compagnie depuis huit ans. Auparavant, il pilotait des hélicoptères pour les Forces armées des Philippines où il avait acquis son expérience de vol en formation. Le pilote était responsable de la sécurité de l'appareil et des passagers à bord. À cette fin, il détenait l'autorité ultime concernant l'exploitation de l'appareil en vol. Il relevait du chef pilote.

Au moment des faits, le chef de la formation était le propriétaire de la compagnie; il occupait également le poste de chef des opérations et le poste de chef pilote de la compagnie. Le chef des opérations doit s'assurer que les vols sont effectués en toute sécurité, conformément aux lois et règlements de l'État et selon les normes, les pratiques, les procédures et les spécifications stipulées dans le manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie.

Les deux pilotes avaient pris connaissance des informations disponibles sur les conditions météorologiques observées et prévues le long de la route avant le vol. Les prévisions d'aérodrome pour les aéroports de Mirabel et de Dorval (Québec) étaient les suivantes : ciel partiellement obscurci, plafond à 300 pieds et visibilité de un mille dans la pluie et la brume sèche. Au moment de l'accident, à Mirabel on signalait les conditions suivantes : ciel partiellement obscurci, plafond à 300 pieds et visibilité d'un mille et demi dans la pluie faible, la bruine faible et la brume sèche.

Entre Kingston et Mirabel, les conditions météorologiques se sont détériorées. Le vol s'est poursuivi à basse altitude jusqu'aux deux tiers du chemin environ où, par faible visibilité dans la pluie, le pilote du C-FLYO a atterri dans un champ après avoir perdu de vue le chef de la formation. Environ 25 minutes plus tard, le pilote de l'hélicoptère de tête a repéré le deuxième hélicoptère et s'est posé à ses côtés. Les pilotes ont discuté des procédures de vol pour le reste du voyage et se sont mis d'accord sur la route à suivre jusqu'à destination. Ils ont suivi un chemin de fer puis une autoroute en direction nord-ouest à des altitudes comprises entre 700 et 100 pieds-sol.

Peu de temps après, les hélicoptères ont survolé, à 100 pieds-sol, un lac situé à 20 milles au sud-ouest de Bell Helicopter Textron. Les radars ont cessé de recevoir l'altitude de l'hélicoptère de tête lorsque le chef de la formation a fermé son transpondeur. Les appareils ont suivi une autoroute jusqu'à environ deux kilomètres à l'est de Saint-Eustache (Québec), où trois lignes de transport d'électricité coupaient leur trajectoire de vol. Les deux premières lignes étaient rapprochées et se trouvaient à 120 pieds du sol; la troisième ligne, qui était à 270 pieds du sol, se trouvait 100 mètres plus à l'est et était masquée par des nuages bas. Pour poursuivre le vol, le chef de la formation a survolé les pylônes des deux premières lignes, puis s'est mis en stationnaire à gauche et est descendu avant de passer au-dessous des câbles de la troisième ligne.

Comme il voulait maintenir l'espacement entre les deux hélicoptères, le pilote du C-FLYO s'est mis en stationnaire au-dessus de la première série de câbles; il observait l'hélicoptère de tête manoeuvrer entre les lignes électriques à environ 50 mètres devant lui. Le passager a alors remarqué que l'appareil se déplaçait vers la gauche en perdant de l'altitude. Il a aussitôt prévenu le pilote que l'hélicoptère risquait de heurter les fils. Le pilote a immédiatement cabré l'appareil tout en effectuant un virage à droite et une descente en vue d'atterrir. L'appareil s'est posé en glissant du côté droit. L'hélicoptère a rebondi deux fois sur le patin droit, les pales du rotor principal ont tranché un panneau routier en métal, puis l'hélicoptère s'est couché sur le côté droit en bordure de l'autoroute qui était congestionnée par le trafic de l'heure de pointe. L'accident s'est produit dans l'espace aérien non contrôlé, entre la zone de contrôle de Mirabel et celle de Dorval.

Un hélicoptère peut voler dans l'espace aérien non contrôlé si la visibilité est supérieure à un demi-mille, pourvu qu'il vole à une vitesse suffisamment réduite pour que le pilote puisse voir à temps les obstacles afin de les éviter. Si la météo est défavorable et que le pilote doit voler à basse altitude, il doit respecter le Règlement de l'Air. L'article 534 interdit à quiconque de voler au-dessus de rassemblements de personnes en plein air à une altitude inférieure à 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé dans un rayon de 2 000 pieds de l'aéronef; il interdit également à quiconque de voler au-dessus des agglomération urbaines, villageoises ou autres ou de rassemblements de personnes en plein air à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé dans un rayon de 500 pieds de l'aéronef.

Analyse

Les pilotes sont partis alors que les informations météo laissaient présager que, pour se rendre à destination, les hélicoptères devraient voler dans des conditions défavorables, à basse altitude et au-dessus d'une zone urbaine sillonnée de lignes de transport d'électricité. Étant donné qu'il est difficile de lire une carte et d'identifier les obstacles et les repères lorsqu'on vole à basse altitude, la formation dirigée par le propriétaire de la compagnie a dû suivre une autoroute congestionnée par le trafic de l'heure de pointe. Le fait que le chef de la formation était le propriétaire de la compagnie a sûrement influé sur la décision du pilote du C-FLYO de poursuivre le vol dans des conditions défavorables et d'enfreindre la réglementation.

La direction de la compagnie a la responsabilitéé de contrôler l'exploitation de ses appareils et doit s'assurer que les pilotes respectent la réglementation en vigueur. Toutefois, pour des raisons qui n'ont pas été déterminées, le pilote de l'hélicoptère de tête a décidé de guider la formation dans de mauvaises conditions météorologiques à une altitude qui menaçait la sécurité de l'aéronef et de ses occupants, des personnes et des biens au sol.

Pendant qu'il était en stationnaire au-dessus de la première série de câbles, le pilote du C-FLYO a utilisé l'hélicoptère de tête comme référence visuelle pour déterminer sa position par rapport au sol. Il était difficile de reconnaître les changements d'assiette de l'appareil parce que l'appareil en vol stationnaire était haut, que le champ de vision du pilote était réduit et que la référence visuelle était mobile. Il semble que le pilote a, par inadvertance, provoqué une dérive de l'hélicoptère et une perte d'altitude. Lorsque le pilote a réalisé que l'appareil se dirigeait vers les fils, il a effectué une manoeuvre d'évitement brusque qui s'est soldée par un atterrissage glissé sur le côté et qui a fait basculer l'appareil.

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. Le vol a été entrepris alors que la météo indiquait que, pour se rendre à destination, les hélicoptères devraient voler dans des conditions défavorables.
  3. Au moment des faits, le chef de la formation était le propriétaire de la compagnie; il occupait également le poste de chef des opérations et le poste de chef pilote de la compagnie.
  4. La formation a suivi une autoroute à basse altitude, au-dessus d'une zone urbaine.
  5. Le vol a été effectué en partie à une altitude inférieure à celle stipulée dans la réglementation.
  6. Le pilote s'est mis en vol stationnaire au-dessus d'une ligne de transport d'électricité, à une hauteur où il était difficile de reconnaître les changements d'assiette de l'appareil.
  7. Le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'appareil après avoir effectué une manoeuvre brusque pour éviter un fil.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Lors d'un vol stationnaire à une hauteur élevée, le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'hélicoptère après avoir effectué une manoeuvre pour éviter un fil. Les facteurs suivants ont contribué à l'accident : la décision du pilote de poursuivre le vol par mauvais temps et le fait que le pilote avait des références visuelles inadéquates alors qu'il se trouvait en vol stationnaire au-dessus d'une ligne de transport d'électricité.

Mesures de sécurité

Mesures prises

Transports Canada prépare du matériel d'orientation relatif à l'interprétation des articles 702 et 703 (travail aérien et taxi aérien) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) qui comprendra une note suggérant aux exploitants de nommer des chefs des opérations et des chefs pilotes spécifiques, qui ne cumulent pas de fonctions d'ordre administratif ou financier au sein de l'entreprise.

Transports Canada examinera la question du vol en formation dans le cadre du Conseil consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne (CCRAC) en vue d'établir d'autres paramètres de réglementation pour ce type de vol. De plus, les dangers associés au vol en formation feront l'objet d'un article qui paraîtra dans le bulletin intitulé Sécurité aérienne - Vortex.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 23 janvier 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.