Aviation Investigation Report A95W0166

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Airframe Failure Wing
MAGAL CUBY II (ULTRALIGHT)
C-IEXR LEGAL, Alberta 4 NM W
09 September 1995

Report Number A95W0166

Summary

The instructor and student departed the St. Albert Airport, Alberta, at about 1800 mountain daylight saving time (MDT)(1), in the student's Magal Cuby II ultralight aircraft. The purpose of the flight was to conduct commercial ultralight student training exercises. At about 1830, witnesses near Legal heard a loud report emanating from an aircraft flying overhead. The aircraft was in level flight and heading in a northeast direction. They also observed pieces falling from the aircraft, which was about 500 feet above ground level (agl), and noticed that the outer section of the left wing was missing. Seconds later the aircraft entered a steep descent, and was destroyed when it struck the ground. Both pilots were fatally injured.

Other Factual Information

Witnesses at the accident site reported that, at the time of the accident, the sky was clear and there were light winds from the southwest.

The pilots were certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with the Transport Canada (TC) Ultralight Aeroplane Policy. The right seat position was occupied by the qualified ultralight instructor. The left seat position was occupied by the commercial ultralight student, who was also the owner. A witness reported that he was in attendance during the pre-flight briefing and that he overheard the pilots discussing their intention of practicing unusual attitudes and spins during the upcoming flight. The aircraft is not approved for spins.

Occurance Aircraft

Designer's Sketch

The aircraft was manufactured in 1985, and the owner purchased it, ready to fly, in May 1995. No maintenance history of the aircraft was found; however, a sales receipt and TC registration form indicate that the aircraft was recently re-equipped from a 50 hp (Rotax model 502 GU) to a 65 hp (Rotax model 582) engine.

The Cuby II aircraft is a two-place, side-by-side, high-wing, conventional-gear monoplane. The designer's sketch specifies the cross-sectional dimensions of the spar caps as follows: the top main wing spar caps are to be constructed of 1¼ inch high by ¾ inch wide Sitka spruce; the lower spar caps are to be 1 inch high by ¾ inch wide, and also of Sitka spruce. The main spar caps are to be joined by ¼ inch wide Douglas fir shear webbing.

The wreckage examination revealed that the outer section of the left wing was missing from the main wreckage, and was located in a field about 279 feet to the northeast. Other pieces of fabric and aluminum ribs from the left wing were strewn in a northeast direction up to a maximum distance of about 1,740 feet from the main point of impact. The left wing wooden front and rear spars were found with a vertical break near the lift strut attachment fittings. Examination of these surfaces by the TSB Engineering Branch determined that the fractures were a result of compression damage. There was no evidence to indicate that the left wing spars had been replaced since original manufacture in 1985.

Examination of the aircraft's failed left wing spars indicated that they were not constructed in accordance with the designer's sketch. The wood grain orientation of the failed spar caps was found to be at 90 degrees to the direction recommended and was unsatisfactory for straightness. The spar caps and webs were under-dimensioned; 3/16 inch mahogany had been substituted for the ¼ inch fir plywood shear web called for in the sketch. In addition, the spar cap wood material was fir and not sitka spruce, as specified. Further examination reveals that the structural stability of the aircraft's wing design was questionable. Any sort of aerobatic manoeuvre, particularly ones requiring positive high angles of attack for entry, would be hazardous. There was also evidence of previous damage to the left wing in the form of a left wing tip spar and fabric repair. There were no wing inspection ports to allow for adequate periodic inspections of the internal wing structure.

The effect of the spar failure on the flight characteristics of the aircraft would be such that the left wing would experience a loss of lift, and that the aircraft would enter an uncommanded roll to the left.

Ultralight aeroplanes are exempt from airworthiness certification requirements, and neither a Certificate of Airworthiness (C of A) nor a Flight Permit is required. At the time this aircraft was built, there were no TC-regulated design, construction, or assembly standards established for ultralight aircraft. There are now TC design standards for advanced ultralight aircraft. The current Cuby II is designated as an advanced ultralight and must meet these design standards.

The engine was examined, and no evidence of any pre-existing malfunction was found. The lack of propeller blade damage was consistent with reduced power being produced at the time of impact. An examination of the flight control system did not indicate any discontinuities, and all controls were capable of normal operation. Gap seals were not installed between the trailing edge of the wing and the leading edge of the ailerons. The manufacturer advises that tape gap seals reduce turbulence around the ailerons and improve the lateral stability of an aircraft. The magnetos and key were found in the OFF position. There were two fuel tanks installed: one in the right wing and one behind the front seats. In addition, a plastic five-Imperial-gallon fuel container was located in the baggage compartment. All were ruptured and contained residual fuel. The ground, at the point of main impact, was saturated with fuel.

The centre of gravity (C of G) and wing loading could not be calculated because of the undetermined amount of fuel on board. However, considering the weight of both pilots, the additional weight of the newly installed engine, and the fuel-saturated ground, it is possible that the aircraft was at the maximum allowable weight and wing loading.

An autopsy of the deceased pilots by the Provincial Medical Examiner revealed that the cause of death has been attributed to multiple blunt injuries. The accident was not survivable because of the high deceleration forces and the destruction of the front of the cockpit. Postmortem toxicology of the instructor revealed the presence of tetrahydrocannabinol (Cannabis-containing substance) within the blood. During the field investigation, a marijuana cigarette was found in a cigarette package located in the cockpit.

Analysis

The analysis will focus on the structural failure of the left wing spars. The weather was not considered to be a factor in the occurrence.

The left wing structural failure may have been the result of a previous occurrence where the left wing tip had been damaged then inadequately inspected at the time of the repair. Given the leverage that existed during the wing tip strike, damage may have been done to the spar further inboard. Since ultralight aircraft are exempt from the requirement for a licensed engineer to reference a repair in an aircraft log-book, it was not possible to determine what had occurred. Normal load reversals on the spar while in service would include flight loads, landing loads, and the loads experienced while tied down. The questionable design and construction of the wing would typically result in a reduction in bending strength. Although wooden spars are susceptible to deterioration because of age and damage to a far greater degree than other spar materials, the means of actually examining these spars on the aircraft was very limited. Inspection of the wooden spar surfaces would be almost impossible without the installation of additional inspection ports.

A witness reported that, during the pre-flight briefing, the pilots had discussed practising unusual attitudes and spins. Manoeuvres such as these would place higher-than-normal aerodynamic flight loads on the aircraft. The combination of factors such as previous damage, orientation of the wood grain, wing loading, and the flight profile may have exceeded the strength of the already weakened and inadequately assembled wing spars. A sudden loss of lift following the left wing spar failure would have resulted in the aircraft entering an uncommanded left roll. Recovery would not have been possible. Examination of these surfaces determined that the fracture was a result of compression damage, since the spars appeared to have been original to the aircraft, which was manufactured in 1985.

The postmortem toxicology report revealed the presence of a cannabis-containing substance within the blood of the instructor; however, it could not be determined what effect the amount specified would have had on his flight performance.

The following Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 137-95 - Wing Analysis.

Findings

  1. The pilots were certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with the TC Ultralight Aeroplane Policy.
  2. The pilot lost control of the aircraft when the left wing spars failed in flight, and the aircraft entered an uncommanded left roll followed by a vertical descent into the ground.
  3. The left wing spars were not constructed in accordance with the designer's specifications.
  4. The aircraft's wing, as designed and constructed, had a questionable margin of safety in bending strength.
  5. There was evidence of previous damage to the left wing tip, which had been inadequately inspected and repaired.
  6. There were no wing inspection ports to allow for adequate periodic inspections of the internal wing structure.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The in-flight structural failure of the left wing was likely caused by pre-existing damage, and by questionable design, construction, and inadequate inspection procedures. Contributing to the occurrence may have been the aircraft's gross weight and the aerodynamic flight loads placed on the wing during the training flight.

Safety Action Taken

Wing Construction

Examination of the wreckage revealed that the aircraft had not been constructed in accordance with the manufacturer's suggestions. An article in issue 2/95 of Transport Canada's Aviation Safety Ultralight and Balloon discussed this aspect of the accident and indicated that the manufacturer was sending a related Air Safety Advisory to all known Cuby I and Cuby II owners.

Wing Design

In light of the identified wing design deficiencies, and the number of Magal Cuby II ultralights on the Canadian Civil Aircraft Register, a TSB Aviation Safety Advisory was sent to Transport Canada on the need to inform the ultralight community of the design shortcomings with at least some Cuby II aircraft.

Ultralight Placarding

The accident aircraft was not required to meet any design standards, nor was it required to be so placarded. It is not known if the student pilot was aware that the aircraft did not need to meet design standards.

The draft Canadian Aviation Regulations (expected to be promulgated in 1996), include a requirement for ultralights to have a placard affixed to a surface in plain view of any occupant seated at the flight controls that states, "THIS AIRCRAFT IS NOT REQUIRED TO MEET ANY AIRWORTHINESS STANDARDS/CET AÉRONEF N'EST PAS ASSUJETTI AUX NORMES DE NAVIGABILITÉ." This action should better enable occupants to manage their own risk.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Zita Brunet and Maurice Harquail, authorized the release of this report on 16 April 1996.


1. All times are MDT (Coordinated Universal Time minus six hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A95W0166

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Rupture de l'aile en vol MAGAL CUBY 11
(ultra-léger) C-IEXR
4 nm à l'ouest de Legal (Alberta)
9 septembre 1995

Résumé

L'instructeur et l'élève-pilote sont partis de l'aéroport de St-Albert (Alberta) vers 18 h, heure avancée des Rocheuses (HAR)(1), à bord de l'ultra-léger Magal Cuby II de l'élève. Le vol devait servir à faire des exercices de formation de pilote professionnel d'ultra-léger. Vers 18 h 30, des témoins se trouvant près de Legal ont entendu une forte détonation en provenance d'un aéronef qui volait au-dessus d'eux. L'ultra-léger volait en palier et se dirigeait vers le nord-est. Ils ont également remarqué que des morceaux tombaient de l'ultra-léger, qui se trouvait à une altitude d'environ 500 pieds-sol, et que la section extérieure de l'aile gauche manquait. Quelques secondes plus tard, l'ultra-léger a amorcé une descente abrupte avant de s'écraser. L'appareil a été détruit; les deux pilotes ont subi des blessures mortelles.

Autres renseignements de base

Les témoins qui se trouvaient sur place ont déclaré qu'au moment de l'accident le ciel était clair avec des vents légers soufflant du sud-ouest.

Les pilotes possédaient les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la politique de Transports Canada relative aux ultra-légers. La place droite était occupée par l'instructeur de vol dûment qualifié. La place gauche était occupée par l'élève-pilote professionnel d'ultra-léger à qui appartenait l'appareil. Un témoin a déclaré qu'il avait assisté à l'exposé prévol et qu'il avait entendu les pilotes parler de leur intention de voler à des assiettes inhabituelles et d'effectuer des vrilles au cours du prochain vol. L'ultra-léger n'était pas homologué pour les vrilles.

L'ultra-léger avait été construit en 1985, et le propriétaire l'avait acheté, prêt pour le vol, en mai 1995. On n'a découvert aucun document d'entretien relatif à l'ultra-léger; toutefois, un reçu d'achat et un formulaire d'immatriculation de Transports Canada indiquent que le moteur de 50 hp (Rotax 502 GU) de l'ultra-léger avait récemment été remplacé par un moteur de 65 hp (Rotax 582).

Plan du concepteur

Le Cuby II est un monoplan biplace côte à côte à aile haute et à train classique. Le plan du concepteur indique que les semelles de longeron doivent avoir les dimensions transversales suivantes : les semelles supérieures du longeron principal de l'aile, qui doivent être en épinette de Sitka, doivent avoir 1 1/4 pouce de hauteur et 3/4 pouce de largeur; les semelles

inférieures de longeron doivent avoir un pouce de hauteur et pouce de largeur, et elles doivent également être en épinette de Sitka. Les semelles de longeron principal doivent être reliées entre elles par une âme travaillante en Douglas taxifolié de 1/4 pouce de largeur.

L'examen de la partie principale de l'épave a révélé que la section extérieure de l'aile gauche manquait; on l'a localisée dans un champ à 279 pieds environ au nord-est. D'autres morceaux de toile et de nervures en aluminium de l'aile gauche étaient éparpillés vers le nord-est jusqu'à une distance maximale de 1 740 pieds environ du point d'impact principal. On a découvert que les longerons en bois avant et arrière de l'aile gauche s'étaient rompus verticalement près des raccords de fixation des mâts porteurs. L'examen de ces surfaces effectué par le Laboratoire technique du BST a permis d'établir que les fractures étaient dues à des dommages par compression. Rien n'indique que les longerons de l'aile gauche aient été remplacés depuis la construction de l'ultra-léger en 1985.

Ultra-léger accidenté

Un examen a révélé que les longerons rompus de l'aile gauche n'avaient pas été fabriqués conformément au plan du concepteur. On a découvert que l'orientation du grain du bois des semelles des longerons cassés était perpendiculaire au sens recommandé et que sa rectitude était insatisfaisante. Les dimensions des semelles de longeron et des âmes étaient inférieures aux exigences; une âme en acajou de 3/16 de pouce avait été mise à la place de l'âme travaillante en contreplaqué de sapin de 1/4 de pouce indiquée sur le plan. En outre, les semelles de longeron étaient en sapin et non en épinette de Sitka comme l'indiquait le plan. Un examen plus approfondi de la conception de l'aile de l'ultra-léger a révélé que la stabilité structurale de cette dernière était discutable. Toutes les figures de voltige, particulièrement celles qui nécessitent des angles d'attaque positifs élevés pour les amorces, étaient dangereuses. L'extrémité de l'aile gauche présentait également des signes d'endommagement antérieur sous forme de réparation des longerons et de la toile. L'aile ne comportait pas d'orifices de visite permettant d'effectuer de bonnes inspections périodiques de sa structure interne.

Au niveau des caractéristiques de vol de l'ultra-léger, la rupture des longerons de l'aile gauche se serait traduite par une perte de portance, et l'ultra-léger aurait alors amorcé un mouvement de roulis intempestif à gauche.

Les avions ultra-légers ne sont pas soumis aux exigences propres à la certification de navigabilité, et ni un certificat de navigabilité (C de N) ni un permis de vol ne sont nécessaires. Au moment où l'ultra-léger en question a été construit, Transports Canada n'avait pas encore établi de normes de conception, de construction ou de montage pour les ultra-légers. Depuis, Transports Canada a élaboré des normes de conception applicables aux avions ultra-légers de type évolué. Le Cuby II actuel est considéré comme un avion ultra-léger de type évolué et doit donc satisfaire à ces normes de conception.

L'examen du moteur n'a permis de découvrir aucun indice de mauvais fonctionnement antérieur à l'accident. L'absence de dommages sur les pales de l'hélice indique que le moteur produisait une puissance réduite au moment de l'impact. Un examen du circuit de commandes de vol n'a révélé aucune discontinuité, et toutes les commandes pouvaient fonctionner normalement. Il n'y avait pas de joints d'interstice entre le bord de fuite de l'aile et le bord d'attaque des ailerons. D'après le constructeur, des joints d'interstice en ruban diminuent la turbulence autour des ailerons et améliorent la stabilité latérale de l'appareil. On a découvert que les magnétos et la clé étaient sur OFF. Deux réservoirs d'essence étaient montés sur l'ultra-léger : un dans l'aile droite, et l'autre derrière les sièges avant. En outre, un contenant d'essence en plastique d'une capacité de cinq gallons impériaux était monté dans le compartiment à bagages. Tous les réservoirs s'étaient rompus et contenaient une quantité résiduelle d'essence. Le sol était imprégné d'essence à l'endroit de l'impact principal.

Il a été impossible de calculer le centre de gravité et la charge alaire à cause de la quantité indéterminée d'essence à bord. Toutefois, si on tient compte du poids des deux pilotes, du poids supplémentaire du moteur nouvellement monté et du fait que le sol était imprégné d'essence, il est permis de penser que la masse et la charge alaire de l'ultra-léger atteignaient les valeurs maximales autorisées.

Les autopsies effectuées par le médecin légiste de la province a révélé que la mort des pilotes était attribuable à des traumatismes contondants. L'accident n'offrait aucune chance de survie en raison des forces de décélération élevées et parce que la partie avant du poste de pilotage a été détruite. Les analyses toxicologiques visant à deceler des drogues courantes ont révélé la présence de tétrahydrocannabinol (substance contenant du cannabis) dans le sang de l'instructeur. Pendant l'enquête sur les lieux de l'accident, on a découvert une cigarette de marijuana dans un paquet de cigarettes qui se trouvait dans le poste de pilotage.

Analyse

L'analyse portera sur la rupture structurale des longerons de l'aile gauche. On a jugé que les conditions météorologiques n'avaient joué aucun rôle dans l'accident.

Il se peut que la rupture structurale de l'aile gauche ait été la conséquence d'un accident antérieur au cours duquel l'extrémité de cette aile aurait été endommagée, puis qu'elle aurait été mal inspectée au moment des réparations. À cause de l'effet de levier qui s'est produit au moment de l'impact de l'extrémité de l'aile, le longeron peut avoir subi des dommages plus loin vers l'intérieur. Puisqu'il n'est pas obligatoire qu'une réparation d'ultra-léger soit inscrite dans un carnet de bord par un technicien dûment licencié, il n'a pas été possible d'établir ce qui s'était passé. Les inversions normales de charge sur le longeron lorsque l'appareil est utilisé comprennent les charges en vol, les charges à l'atterrissage et les charges subies pendant que l'appareil est arrimé. La qualité discutable de la conception et de la construction de l'aile devrait normalement se traduire par une diminution de la résistance à la flexion. Bien que par rapport aux longerons fabriqués avec d'autres matériaux les longerons en bois soient beaucoup plus sujets à une détérioration due au vieillissement et aux dommages, les moyens de bien examiner les longerons de l'ultra-léger étaient très limités. L'inspection des surfaces des longerons en bois est pour ainsi dire impossible à moins d'ajouter des orifices de visite.

Un témoin a déclaré que pendant l'exposé prévol les pilotes avaient parlé d'effectuer des exercices à des assiettes inhabituelles et des vrilles. De telles manoeuvres auraient eu pour effet d'exercer sur l'ultra-léger des charges aérodynamiques en vol plus importantes que la normale. La combinaison de facteurs comme les dommages antérieurs, l'orientation du grain du bois, la charge alaire et le profil de vol, peut s'être traduite par un dépassement de la résistance des longerons d'aile déjà affaiblis et mal montés. Après la rupture des longerons de l'aile gauche, une perte soudaine de portance aurait donné naissance à un mouvement de roulis intempestif à gauche, et il n'aurait pas été possible de redresser l'appareil. L'examen des surfaces en question a permis d'établir que la fracture était due à des dommages par compression, puisque les longerons semblaient être ceux montés au moment de la construction originale de l'appareil, en 1985.

L'analyse toxicologique a révélé la présence d'une substance contenant du cannabis dans le sang de l'instructeur; toutefois, on n'a pu déterminer quel effet la quantité décelée aurait eu sur les performances de pilotage de l'instructeur.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 137/95 - Wing Analysis (Analyse de l'aile).

Faits établis

  1. Les pilotes possédaient les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la politique de Transports Canada relative aux ultra-légers.
  2. Le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'ultra-léger lorsque les longerons de l'aile gauche se sont rompus en vol, puis l'appareil a amorcé un mouvement de roulis intempestif à gauche suivi d'une descente verticale jusqu'au sol.
  3. Les longerons de l'aile gauche n'avaient pas été fabriqués conformément aux spécifications du concepteur.
  4. L'aile de l'ultra-léger, de par sa conception et sa construction, présentait une marge de sécurité discutable quant à sa résistance à la flexion.
  5. L'extrémité de l'aile gauche présentait des signes de dommages antérieurs, et elle avait été mal inspectée et réparée.
  6. L'aile ne comportait pas d'orifices de visite permettant d'effectuer de bonnes inspections périodiques de sa structure interne.

Causes et facteurs contributif

La rupture structurale en vol de l'aile gauche est probablement attribuable à des dommages subis antérieurement, à une conception et une construction discutables, et à des procédures d'inspection inadéquates. La masse maximale de l'ultra-léger et les charges aérodynamiques exercées sur l'aile pendant le vol d'entraînement ont peut-être contribué à l'accident.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Construction de l'aile

L'examen de l'épave a révélé que l'ultra-léger n'avait pas été construit conformément aux conseils du constructeur. Un article a été publié dans le numéro 2/95 de Sécurité aérienne, Ultra-léger et Ballon sur cet accident; l'article précisait que le constructeur allait faire parvenir un avis de sécurité aérienne à ce sujet à tous les propriétaires connus de Cuby I et de Cuby II.

Conception de l'aile

Compte tenu des lacunes décelées au niveau de la conception de l'aile et du nombre d'ultra-légers Magal Cuby II inscrits dans le Registre d'immatriculation des aéronefs civils canadiens, le BST a fait parvenir un avis de sécurité aérienne à Transports Canada indiquant la nécessité d'informer le milieu des ultra-légers des faiblesses de conception que présentent certains Cuby II.

Pose d'affichettes dans les ultra-légers

L'ultra-léger accidenté n'était pas tenu de satisfaire à des normes de conception, et il n'était pas obligatoire que des affichettes soient apposées dans l'aéronef pour signaler ce fait. On ne sait pas si l'élève-pilote était au courant que l'ultra-léger n'était pas tenu de satisfaire à des normes de conception.

Le Règlement de l'aviation canadien (qui doit entrer en vigueur en 1996) stipule qu'il faut apposer, sur une surface bien en vue de tout occupant assis aux commandes d'un ultra-léger, l'affichette suivante : «THIS AIRCRAFT IS NOT REQUIRED TO MEET ANY AIRWORTHINESS STANDARDS/CET AÉRONEF N'EST PAS ASSUJETTI AUX NORMES DE NAVIGABILITÉ». Cette mesure devrait permettre aux occupants de mieux gérer leurs propres risques.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 16 avril 1996 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président John W. Stants et des membres Zita Brunet et Maurice Harquail.


1. 1 Les heures sont exprimées en HAR (temps universel coordonné moins six heures), sauf indication contraire.