Aviation Investigation Report A95W0194

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Fuel Exhaustion
Canadian Helicopters Ltd.
Aerospatiale AS 350B ECUREUIL
(Helicopter) C- GVMS
Canmore, Alberta 25 nm SW
19 October 1995

Summary

The Aerospatiale AS 350B Ecureuil helicopter had been chartered to sling equipment and materials from the Haig Glacier, Alberta, to the nearby Haig camp, and from the camp to the Ranger Creek staging area located on the Smith Dorian Highway. During the third trip from the glacier to the camp, the pilot observed the fuel low-level warning light illuminate. The fuel quantity gauge indicated there was 18 per cent fuel remaining. The pilot dropped the load at the camp, returned to the glacier, and transported another load to the camp. The fuel quantity gauge was now indicating 11 per cent. At that point he was asked to relocate one sling load at the camp. He moved the load, picked up a net containing 900 pounds of empty propane bottles, and proceeded to the staging area to refuel. About five minutes later and approximately one and one-half miles from the staging area, the pilot noticed that the fuel pressure was fluctuating and that the fuel quantity gauge indication had dropped to three per cent. Immediately thereafter, at an altitude of approximately 300 feet above ground and an indicated airspeed (IAS) of 55 miles per hour (mph), the engine (Turbomeca Arriel 1B) flamed out. The pilot instantly lowered the collective and released the sling load. He attempted to increase airspeed to the recommended autorotative speed of 70 mph and selected a landing area on the highway. When it became evident that he would not reach the highway, the pilot flared the helicopter to land in a creek. The helicopter struck the creek bank at a high rate of descent and slow forward speed. The pilot was seriously injured, and the helicopter was substantially damaged. The emergency locator transmitter (ELT) did not function, and it took about seven hours to effect the pilot's rescue.

Other Factual Information

The pilot departed Canmore at 1444 mountain daylight time (MDT)(1) and arrived at the Haig camp approximately 15 minutes later, with the fuel quantity gauge indicating 30 per cent fuel remaining. The camp was located at approximately 9,000 feet above sea level (asl). Because of the high altitude, the pilot intended to sling lighter loads from the glacier to the camp until he had the minimum fuel necessary to transport the net load from the camp to the staging area. The staging area was located approximately six miles from the camp, at about 6,000 feet asl. When he arrived at the camp, he shut down the helicopter, removed and stowed the right side doors, and attached the longline. He commenced slinging at about 1600, and the accident occurred at 1700.

The right side of the helicopter and the main rotor blades struck the near vertical creek bank. The impact buckled the cabin floor, severed the tail boom, and fragmented the canopy. The pilot sustained two broken legs, seven fractured ribs, and several upper body lacerations as a result of the accident. Because of his injuries, he was unable to extricate himself from the cockpit, and remained in his seat until he was found. Approximately seven hours after the occurrence, a ground searcher located the accident site, in darkness, when he walked to the edge of the road above the wreckage.

Good visual flight rules weather conditions existed at the time of the occurrence. The temperature was approximately minus six degrees Celsius.

The pilot had 6,600 hours of flight experience, with approximately 5,000 hours on Bell 206B helicopters, and about 220 hours on the Aerospatiale AS 350B. The Bell 206B fuel quantity indication system utilizes a fuel quantity gauge only. The AS 350B fuel quantity indication system utilizes a fuel quantity gauge that is supplemented with a fuel low-level warning light.

The helicopter fuel tank remained intact during the accident. Following the recovery of the wreckage, the fuel tank was drained and found to contain 11 litres of fuel. The flight manual stated that 11 litres of fuel was unusable.

The helicopter was fitted with a float-operated resistor-type fuel quantity transmitter that also activated the amber, low-level fuel warning light. Post-crash testing of the fuel quantity indication system determined that 61 to 70 litres of fuel remained in the tank when the low-level fuel light illuminated, and that the fuel quantity gauge indicated 18 per cent at that time. The fuel quantity transmitter was removed for further examination. Testing determined that there was some friction resistance in the transmitter float assembly, which resulted in indication errors of up to six per cent. The maintenance manual states that when the low-level fuel warning light illuminates, the fuel quantity indicator pointer should be above 10 per cent, and that there must be more than 60 litres of fuel remaining in the tank. The fuel quantity transmitter cannot be adjusted in the field. It is common knowledge among flight crews that resistor-type fuel quantity indicating systems cannot be relied upon to indicate the exact amount of fuel in the tank, especially at a low fuel state.

Aerospatiale Service Letter (SL) No. 867-28-88 advises operators that, although the resistor-type fuel indication system provides an accurate reading of fuel remaining in the fuel tank, it is not a defect-free measurement system. Eurocopter SL No. 1190-28-93 states that there have been a number of reports from operators of incorrect operation of the fuel gauging system. Eurocopter AS 350 Service Bulletin (SB) No. 28.12 R1 identifies that a capacitor-type fuel gauging system is available to increase the reliability of fuel quantity measurement, and to render the low-level warning independent of the measurement. The SB also states that this modification is of particular interest for all operators required to work with low fuel levels, as in slinging, by providing perfect information redundancy. AS 350 SB No. 28.02 provides for a new fuel tank installation that reduces the unusable fuel from 11 litres to 1.25 litres. The helicopter had not been modified in accordance with either SB.

Eurocopter SL 1215-28-94 advises flight crew to check that the fuel gauge reading corresponds to the quantity of fuel added at each refuelling. The pilot reported that he verified the fuel quantity gauge indication once a day, after the first refuelling, by observing the fuel level in the translucent tank relative to quantity markings on the side of the tank.

The AS 350B Flight Manual states that when the low-level fuel warning light illuminates, the remaining usable fuel allows approximately 25 minutes of flight. The light may illuminate with only 50 litres of usable fuel in the tank. At a typical fuel consumption of 160 litres per hour, this would provide less than 20 minutes of flight time. The view among pilots was that there was 20 minutes of fuel remaining when the light flickered, and the normal procedure was to land as soon as possible after the light began to flicker.

Canmore is located near Banff National Park in the Canadian Rockies. Canmore-based helicopter pilots are frequently assigned to 20-minute tourist sightseeing flights, and the pilot had flown numerous local tourist flights in the past. The AS 350 tourist flights normally departed with as little as 25 per cent fuel in order to keep the helicopter within the gross weight and density altitude limitations.

On C-GVMS, the low-level fuel warning light illuminated when the fuel quantity gauge was indicating 18 per cent, whereas on the other AS 350B helicopter based at Canmore, the light illuminated at 12 per cent. The pilot had noted this in the past, and had discussed the condition with maintenance personnel. He was advised that the fuel quantity indication system on C-GVMS had recently been checked, and that the indications were accurate.

The fuel quantity indication check had been accomplished in June of 1995 when the helicopter had been refuelled from the empty state. An attending company aircraft maintenance engineer had requested that fuel be added in 53-litre, or 10-per cent increments, in order to verify that the fuel quantity gauge indications corresponded to the amount of fuel in the tank. He reported that the fuel low-level warning light illuminated at 18 per cent, and that the tank contained 96 litres or 18 per cent fuel at that time.

Although not considered a factor in the accident, it was determined during the investigation that the current AS 350B Canadian Type Approval, the current Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) AS 350B Type Certificate Data Sheet, and the AS 350B flight manual were not in agreement regarding the helicopter's total fuel capacity.

Existing regulations state that the amount of fuel carried on board a helicopter at the commencement of any VFR flight must be sufficient to fly to the place of intended landing and thereafter for 20 minutes at normal cruising speed.

The helicopter was fitted with a NARCO 10 ELT. Several ELT signals were picked up by the Search and Rescue Satellite (SARSAT) following the accident; however, the signals were of very short duration, and the system was unable to pinpoint the accident site. A company helicopter flew over the wreckage about two hours after the accident. The pilot did not hear an ELT transmission and, because of lighting conditions, did not see the downed helicopter. The injured pilot saw the search helicopter but was unable to signal his location. Examination determined that the ELT did not function properly because of a faulty transistor.

Analysis

The pilot commenced slinging with a reported fuel quantity indication of 30 per cent, which would normally provide approximately one hour of flight time. When the low-level fuel warning light illuminated, the pilot believed, based on the fuel quantity gauge reading, that there was still 18 per cent, or about 35 minutes of fuel remaining. He considered this sufficient to move two more sling loads at the camp and to transport one net load six miles to the staging area. Post-crash testing determined that there could have been as little as 50 litres of usable fuel in the tank when the warning light illuminated. The fuel quantity gauge should have indicated this amount as 10 per cent, which would normally have provided less than 20 minutes of flight time during slinging. An in-flight check of fuel gauge indications against fuel consumption and flight time might have alerted the pilot to the fuel gauge discrepancy.

The pilot was accustomed to flying the helicopter at a low fuel state as he frequently conducted short tourist flights. Five thousand hours of flying experience on the Bell 206B, which does not have a low-level fuel warning light, may have conditioned him to consider the fuel quantity gauge more accurate than the warning light. This would have been reinforced by his understanding that the fuel quantity indications had recently been checked by a company maintenance engineer and found to be accurate.

It would appear, from the amount of safety information published by the manufacturer, that problems with the resistor-type fuel quantity indication system on the AS 350B helicopter were well recognized. As helicopters are frequently operated at a low fuel state, manufacturers should endeavour to ensure that the installed fuel indicating systems are the most accurate available.

The AS 350 flight manual states that if the amber, low-level fuel warning light illuminates, the remaining usable fuel allows approximately 25 minutes of flight, when in fact less than 20 minutes of flight time may be available.

The flame-out occurred at low altitude and low airspeed. The pilot immediately released the load, initially selected the nearby road as a forced landing site, and attempted to increase the airspeed to that recommended for autorotation. The ensuing rapid loss of altitude precluded successful autorotation to the road, and resulted in the helicopter striking the creek bank at high vertical speed.

The malfunctioning ELT resulted in a long delay in the rescue.

The following Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 158/95 - Emergency Locator Transmitter Examination.

Findings

  1. The engine flamed out due to fuel exhaustion.
  2. The pilot continued to operate the helicopter for some time after the fuel low-level warning light illuminated.
  3. The fuel quantity gauge was reading up to six per cent high.
  4. The low-level warning light illuminated at 18 per cent on this helicopter, whereas it illuminated at 12 per cent on the other AS 350B based at Canmore.
  5. The pilot was comfortable operating the helicopter at a low fuel state because he frequently conducted short tourist flights.
  6. The pilot was slinging at low altitude and 15 miles per hour below the best autorotational airspeed when the flame-out occurred, which precluded a successful autorotation.
  7. The ELT did not function properly because of a faulty transistor, and as a result, the rescue took about seven hours.
  8. Less than 20 minutes of usable fuel may be available following illumination of the amber, low-level fuel warning light; however, the AS 350B flight manual states that approximately 25 minutes of usable fuel is available.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The engine flamed out because of fuel exhaustion. Contributing to the occurrence were the pilot's decisions to rely on the fuel quantity indication at a low fuel state and to continue to operate the helicopter with the fuel low-level warning light illuminated.

Safety Action

Immediately following this occurrence, Canadian Helicopters maintenance personnel checked the fuel quantity indication systems on the remaining 21 company-operated Aerospatiale AS 350 helicopters. As a result of this inspection, two fuel quantity transmitters were found to be unserviceable and were replaced.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Zita Brunet and Maurice Harquail, authorized the release of this report on 19 June 1996.


1. All times are MDT (Coordinated Universal Time minus six hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A95W0194

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Panne Sèche
Canadian Helicopters Ltd.
Aérospatiale AS 350B Écureuil
(hélicoptère) C-GVMS
25 nm au sud-ouest de Canmore (Alberta)
19 octobre 1995

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Aérospatiale AS 350B Écureuil transportait à l'élingue de l'équipement et des matériaux entre le glacier Haig (Alberta) et le camp Haig situé non loin de là, puis entre le camp et la zone de ravitaillement du ruisseau Ranger situé près de la route Smith Dorian. Lors du troisième voyage entre le glacier et le camp, le pilote voit s'allumer le voyant bas niveau de carburant. La jauge de carburant indique qu'il reste 18 % de carburant. Le pilote largue la charge au camp, retourne au glacier où il prend une autre charge et la transporte au camp. La jauge de carburant n'affiche plus que 11 %. On demande alors au pilote de déplacer une charge qui se trouve au camp. Il déplace la charge, ramasse un filet contenant 900 livres de bouteilles de propane vides et se dirige vers l'aire de ravitaillement pour faire le plein. Environ cinq minutes plus tard et à environ un mille et demi de la zone de ravitaillement, le pilote remarque que la pression de carburant fluctue et que la jauge de carburant n'indique plus que 3 %. Immédiatement après, à une hauteur d'environ 300 pieds du sol et à une vitesse indiquée de 55 mi/h, le moteur (un Turbomeca Arriel 1B) s'éteint en vol. Le pilote abaisse aussitôt le levier de pas collectif et largue la charge. Il tente d'augmenter la vitesse pour atteindre la vitesse d'autorotation recommandée de 70 mi/h et choisit un endroit sur la route pour se poser. Quand il se rend compte que l'hélicoptère ne pourra pas atteindre la route, il fait un arrondi pour se poser dans un ruisseau, mais l'hélicoptère heurte le bord du ruisseau à un taux de descente élevé et à une faible vitesse avant. Le pilote est grièvement blessé; l'hélicoptère est lourdement endommagé. Le pilote est secouru environ sept heures plus tard parce que la radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) n'a pas bien fonctionné.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote était parti de Canmore à 14 h 44, heure avancée des Rocheuses (HAR)(1), et était arrivé au camp de Haig environ 15 minutes plus tard; la jauge de carburant indiquait alors qu'il restait 30 % de carburant. Le camp était situé à environ 9 000 pieds-mer. En raison de l'altitude élevée, le pilote avait l'intention de transporter des élinguées plus légères du glacier au camp jusqu'à ce qu'il ne lui reste plus que le carburant minimum nécessaire pour transporter la charge dans le filet, du camp jusqu'à la zone de ravitaillement. Cette zone se trouvait à environ six milles du camp, à une altitude d'environ 6 000 pieds-mer. En arrivant au camp, le pilote a coupé le moteur, a enlevé les portes du côté droit de l'hélicoptère, et, après les avoir rangées, il a fixé l'élingue à l'hélicoptère. Il a commencé l'élingage vers 16 h. L'accident s'est produit à 17 h.

Le côté droit de l'hélicoptère et les pales du rotor principal ont heurté le bord du ruisseau. Le plancher de la cabine a été déformé, la poutre-fuselage a été sectionnée et la verrière a été fracassée. Le pilote a eu les deux jambes brisées, sept côtes fracturées et plusieurs lacérations au torse. Il n'a pas pu sortir de l'hélicoptère à cause de ses blessures, et il est resté dans son siège jusqu'à l'arrivée des secours. Le lieu de l'accident a été localisé environ sept heures après l'accident par un secouriste de l'équipe au sol qui s'est rendu à pied au bord de la route surplombant l'épave. Il faisait nuit.

De bonnes conditions météorologiques de vol à vue (VFR) prévalaient au moment de l'accident. La température était d'environ moins six degrés Celsius.

Le pilote totalisait 6 600 heures de vol, dont environ 5 000 sur des hélicoptères Bell 206B et environ 220 sur l'Aérospatiale AS 350B. Le Bell 206B est équipé uniquement d'une jauge de carburant pour indiquer la quantité de carburant. L'AS 350B est équipé d'une jauge et d'un voyant d'avertissement de bas niveau de carburant.

Le réservoir de carburant de l'hélicoptère n'a pas été endommagé dans l'accident. Après avoir récupéré l'épave, on a vidé le réservoir de carburant, ce qui a permis de constater qu'il contenait 11 litres de carburant. Le manuel de vol indique que le réservoir contient 11 litres de carburant inutilisable.

L'hélicoptère était équipé d'un transmetteur de quantité de carburant de type à résistance électrique commandé par un flotteur qui actionne aussi un voyant jaune d'avertissement de bas niveau de carburant. Des essais après l'accident du système d'indication de quantité de carburant ont permis de déterminer qu'il restait de 61 à 70 litres de carburant dans le réservoir lorsque le voyant de bas niveau s'est allumé. À ce moment-là, la jauge de carburant indiquait 18 %. On a retiré le transmetteur de quantité de carburant pour lui faire subir un examen plus poussé. Les essais ont révélé qu'il y avait un certain frottement dans l'ensemble transmetteur à flotteur; ce frottement a donné lieu à des erreurs d'affichage d'environ 6 %. Le manuel de maintenance indique que lorsque le voyant de bas niveau de carburant s'allume, l'aiguille de la jauge devrait se situer au-dessus de la marque des 10 % et qu'il devrait rester plus de 60 litres de carburant dans le réservoir. Il n'est pas possible de régler le transmetteur de quantité de carburant sur le terrain. Dans l'aviation, c'est un fait reconnu qu'on ne peut se fier aux indications des systèmes d'indication de quantité de carburant de type à résistance électrique, surtout si le niveau de carburant de l'appareil est bas.

La lettre n 867-28-88 de l'Aérospatiale signale aux exploitants que même si le système d'indication de quantité de carburant à résistance électrique donne une lecture précise du carburant qui reste dans le réservoir, ce système n'est pas infaillible. La lettre de service n 1190-28-93 d'Eurocopter indique que des exploitants ont signalé un certain nombre de cas de mauvais fonctionnement du système d'indication de quantité de carburant. Le bulletin de service n 28.12 R1 relatif à l'AS 350 d'Eurocopter précise qu'il existe un système d'indication de quantité de carburant à condensateur qui donne des mesures plus fiables et dont l'avertissement de bas niveau de carburant est indépendant de la mesure. Le bulletin ajoute que cette modification est particulièrement intéressante pour les exploitants qui doivent effectuer des vols avec de faibles niveaux de carburant, comme c'est le cas pour le transport à l'élingue, car ce système d'indication est tout à fait redondant. Le bulletin n 28.12 R1 de l'AS 350 prévoit le montage d'un nouveau réservoir de carburant qui ramène la quantité de carburant inutilisable de 11 litres à 1,25 litre. L'hélicoptère accidenté n'avait pas fait l'objet des modifications indiquées dans ces bulletins de service.

La lettre n 1215-28-94 d'Eurocopter conseille aux équipages de conduite de vérifier si les indications de quantité de carburant correspondent à la quantité de carburant versée dans le réservoir lors de chaque ravitaillement. Le pilote a indiqué qu'il avait vérifié la lecture de la jauge une fois par jour, après le premier ravitaillement, en observant le niveau de carburant dans le réservoir translucide par rapport aux marques de quantité sur le côté du réservoir.

Le manuel de vol de l'AS 350B précise que si le voyant de bas niveau de carburant s'allume, le carburant utilisable qui reste permet environ 25 minutes de vol. Le voyant peut s'allumer s'il ne reste plus que 50 litres de carburant utilisable dans le réservoir. Selon une consommation typique de 160 litres à l'heure, il resterait alors moins de 20 minutes de vol. Les pilotes s'entendent pour dire que si le voyant se met à clignoter, c'est qu'il reste du carburant pour environ 20 minutes de vol. La procédure normale consiste à se poser le plus tôt possible après que le voyant a commencé à clignoter.

Canmore est situé près du Parc national de Banff, dans les Rocheuses canadiennes. Les pilotes d'hélicoptère basés à Canmore effectuent fréquemment des vols de 20 minutes avec des touristes, et le pilote de l'hélicoptère accidenté avait déjà effectué de nombreux vols de ce genre dans les environs. Les vols de tourisme à bord de l'AS 350 se faisaient au départ avec à peine 25 % de la quantité de carburant afin de garder l'hélicoptère dans les limites de la masse brute et de l'altitude-densité.

L'hélicoptère accidenté (C-GVMS) était équipé d'un voyant d'avertissement de bas niveau de carburant qui s'allumait lorsque la jauge indiquait 18 %; le voyant de l'autre hélicoptère AS 350B basé à Canmore s'allumait à 12 %. Le pilote avait remarqué cet écart et en avait discuté avec le personnel de maintenance. On lui avait répondu que le système d'indication de quantité de carburant du C-GVMS avait été vérifié récemment et qu'il avait donné des lectures précises.

Cette vérification avait été faite en juin 1995, au moment du ravitaillement de l'hélicoptère, et alors qu'il était vide. Un technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA) de la compagnie qui était là avait demandé que le carburant soit ajouté à raison de 53 litres à la fois, ce qui correspond à des paliers de 10 %, pour qu'on puisse vérifier si les indications que donnait la jauge correspondaient bien à la quantité de carburant dans le réservoir. Il a signalé que le voyant d'avertissement de bas niveau de carburant s'était allumé à 18 % et que le réservoir contenait alors 96 litres, soit 18 % de la quantité de carburant à ce moment-là.

L'enquête a révélé que la capacité totale en carburant indiquée dans l'homologation de type canadienne de l'AS 350B en vigueur, sur la fiche technique du certificat de type de la Federal Aviation Administration pour l'AS 350B, et la capacité totale indiquée dans le manuel de vol de l'AS 350B ne concordait pas. Toutefois, cela n'a pas été considéré comme un facteur contributif.

La réglementation en vigueur stipule que tout hélicoptère qui entreprend un vol VFR doit emporter suffisamment de carburant pour se rendre au lieu d'atterrissage prévu, et pouvoir ensuite voler pendant 20 minutes à la vitesse normale de croisière.

L'hélicoptère était équipé d'une radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) NARCO 10. Plusieurs signaux de radiobalise ont été captés par le satellite de recherche et sauvetage (SARSAT) après l'accident; toutefois, les signaux étaient très brefs et n'ont pas permis de localiser le lieu de l'accident. Un hélicoptère de la compagnie a survolé l'épave environ deux heures après l'accident. Le pilote de cet hélicoptère n'a entendu aucun signal de radiobalise et n'a pas vu l'hélicoptère accidenté à cause des conditions de luminosité. Le pilote blessé a aperçu l'hélicoptère de recherche, mais a été incapable de signaler sa position. Un examen a permis de déterminer que la radiobalise de l'hélicoptère accidenté n'avait pas fonctionné correctement à cause d'un transistor défectueux.

Analyse

Le pilote a déclaré qu'il avait commencé l'élingage avec une quantité de carburant équivalant à 30 %, ce qui permet normalement une heure de vol. Lorsque le voyant d'avertissement de bas niveau de carburant s'est allumé, le pilote a cru, après avoir consulté la jauge de carburant, qu'il lui restait 18 % de carburant, soit pour environ 35 minutes de vol. Il a jugé que c'était suffisant pour déplacer une ou deux autres élinguées au camp et transporter une charge dans un filet sur une distance de six milles, jusqu'à la zone de ravitaillement. Des essais après l'accident ont permis de déterminer qu'il y aurait eu en fait à peine 50 litres de carburant utilisable dans le réservoir lorsque le voyant de bas niveau s'est allumé. La jauge aurait dû indiquer cette quantité en donnant une lecture de 10 %, ce qui aurait normalement assuré moins de 20 minutes de vol pendant l'élingage. Si le pilote avait fait une vérification en vol des lectures de la jauge par rapport à la consommation et au temps de vol, il aurait pu se rendre compte qu'il y avait un écart dans les quantités.

Le pilote était habitué de piloter l'hélicoptère avec peu de carburant, car il effectuait souvent de courts vols en compagnie de touristes. Le fait que le pilote totalisait 5 000 heures de vol sur le Bell 206B, qui n'est pas équipé d'un voyant de bas niveau de carburant, l'a peut-être conditionné à considérer la jauge de carburant plus fiable que le voyant d'avertissement. Ce conditionnement aurait été renforcé par le fait que la jauge avait été vérifiée récemment par un TEA de la compagnie qui avait déclaré que la jauge était précise.

Compte tenu de la quantité d'information sur la sécurité publiée par le constructeur, il semblerait que les problèmes relatifs au système d'indication de quantité de carburant de type à résistance électrique de l'hélicoptère AS 350B étaient bien connus. Comme les hélicoptères sont souvent utilisés avec peu de carburant, les constructeurs devraient s'efforcer de s'assurer que les hélicoptères sont équipés des systèmes d'indication de quantité de carburant les plus précis possibles.

Le manuel de vol de l'AS 350 indique que si le voyant jaune de bas niveau de carburant s'allume, le carburant utilisable qui reste dans le réservoir permet environ 25 minutes de vol, alors qu'en fait il en reste pour moins de 20 minutes de vol.

Le moteur s'est éteint à basse altitude et à faible vitesse. Le pilote a aussitôt largué la charge, a d'abord choisi la route voisine comme lieu d'atterrissage forcé et a tenté d'augmenter la vitesse à la vitesse recommandée pour une autorotation. La perte rapide d'altitude qui a suivi a exclu toute possibilité d'autorotation sur la route, et l'hélicoptère s'est écrasé sur le bord du ruisseau à une vitesse verticale élevée.

Les secours ont tardé à arriver parce que la radiobalise était défectueuse.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 158/95 - Emergency Locator Transmitter Examination (Examen de la radiobalise de repérage d'urgence).

Faits établis

  1. Le moteur s'est éteint faute de carburant.
  2. Le pilote a continué à piloter l'hélicoptère après que le voyant d'avertissement de bas niveau de carburant s'est allumé.
  3. La jauge de carburant donnait une indication jusqu'à 6 % plus élevée.
  4. Le voyant d'avertissement de bas niveau de carburant de l'hélicoptère accidenté s'est allumé à 18 %, alors qu'il s'allumait à 12 % sur l'autre hélicoptère AS 350B basé à Canmore.
  5. Le pilote était habitué à piloter l'hélicoptère avec un bas niveau de carburant parce qu'il effectuait souvent de courts vols de tourisme.
  6. Le pilote transportait une charge à l'élingue à basse altitude et à une vitesse de 15 mi/h inférieure à la meilleure vitesse d'autorotation lorsque le moteur s'est éteint, ce qui a exclu toute possibilité d'autorotation.
  7. Les secours sont arrivés sur les lieux environ sept heures après l'accident parce que la radiobalise de repérage d'urgence n'a pas bien fonctionné à cause d'un transistor défectueux.
  8. Quand le voyant jaune d'avertissement de bas niveau de carburant s'allume, il est possible qu'il reste moins de 20 minutes de vol selon la quantité de carburant utilisable; toutefois, le manuel de vol de l'AS 350B indique qu'il reste du carburant pour environ 25 minutes de vol dans ce cas.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le moteur s'est éteint faute de carburant.

Facteurs contributifs : le pilote a décidé de se fier à la jauge de carburant même si le niveau de carburant était bas et a poursuivi le vol avec le voyant d'avertissement de bas niveau de carburant allumé.

Mesures de sécurité

Mesures prises

Immédiatement après l'accident, le personnel de maintenance de Canadian Helicopters a vérifié les systèmes d'indication de quantité de carburant des 21 autres hélicoptères Aérospatiale

AS 350 de la compagnie. L'inspection a permis de découvrir deux transmetteurs de quantité de carburant défectueux qui ont été remplacés depuis.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet événement. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 19 juin 1996 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail et W.A. Tadros.


1. 1 Les heures sont exprimées en HAR (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins six heures), sauf indication contraire.