Aviation Investigation Report A96A0057

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault ordetermine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Aviation Occurrence Report Loss of Separation
Between
Newfoundland Government Air Services
Beechcraft King Air A-100 C-FGNL
and Provincial Airlines Limited
Fairchild SA227AC C-FIPW
St. John's, Newfoundland
18 April 1996

Report Number A96A0057

Summary

C-FGNL, a medical evacuation (MEDEVAC) flight, was inbound on an instrument flight rules (IFR) flight plan to St. John's, Newfoundland, for a landing on runway 16. C-FIPW, also on an IFR flight plan and operating as Speedair (SPR) 904, was approximately 12 miles behind C-FGNL and also planning to land on runway 16. Approximately 33 miles from the St. John's airport, the pilot of C-FGNL requested and received radar vectors for an approach to runway 11.

A loss of separation occurred when Speedair 904 landed on runway 16 at the same time that C-FGNL was on short final for landing on runway 11. The distance between the two aircraft was 1.4 nautical miles (nm) when the required radar separation was 3 nm.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The 2200 Newfoundland daylight saving time (NDT) surface actual weather for St. John's was as follows: indefinite obscured ceiling at 100 feet, visibility three-eighths of a mile in light drizzle and fog, temperature and dew point 3°C, wind 160° magnetic at 15 knots. The runway visual range (RVR) for runway 16 was 2,000 feet with the light setting on strength 5, and 2,200 feet on runway 11 with the light setting on strength 5.

Initially, both aircraft were being controlled by a Gander Centre controller who had been licensed as a low domestic controller(1) for two years. In his planning, the controller anticipated that C-FGNL would land on runway 16 ahead of SPR 904. C-FGNL was cleared for an approach for runway 16 upon interception of the localizer; however, the pilot, after receiving the RVR for runways 16 and 11, requested a clearance for an approach on runway 11. The controller then cancelled C-FGNL's approach clearance for runway 16 and issued radar vectors to C-FGNL for an approach for runway 11.

Flight Paths

Figure 1 - Flight Paths

At that time, the controller determined that the extra distance required for C-FGNL to reach the final approach for runway 11 would allow SPR 904 to land ahead of, but not delay, C-FGNL. SPR 904 was advised to keep the speed up. SPR 904 was then cleared for the instrument landing system (ILS) approach to runway 16 and instructed to contact St. John's tower.

The controller was then relieved by a second (relief) controller who had 25 years experience as a low domestic controller. The relief controller was briefed by the first controller about the possible traffic conflict developing between SPR 904 and C-FGNL.

The pilot of SPR 904 reduced airspeed upon interception of the localizer. The relief controller issued the following to C-FGNL: "GNL reduce to approach speed please. There's a speedair ..ah..8 miles final for runway 16". C-FGNL was about one mile from intercepting the localizer final for runway 11 when the relief controller issued the speed reduction and was six miles on final approach when cleared for the straight-in ILS approach on runway 11 and instructed to contact St. John's tower (YT-TWR).

COMMUNICATION TRANSCRIPT SHORT FINAL
Time Agency Communication
19:54:42 C-FGNL And ah..GNL confirm we are cleared to land.
19:54:44 YT-TWR Golf November Lima, Tower. Negative. Merlin traffic about 2 miles back on approach for runway 16.
19:54:50 C-FGNL GNL.
19:55:18 YT-TWR Golf November Lima, Tower. That Merlin traffic is a mile final for runway 16. Expect landing clearance on short final.
19:55:27 C-FGNL GNL Medevac; understood.
19:55:30 YT-TWR Speedair 904 advise when you are through the intersection runway 11.
19:55:32 SPR 904 904.
19:55:56 C-FGNL GNL is at minimums. What are we going to do. Over.
19:55:58 SPR 904 Through the intersection for 904.
19:55:59 YT-TWR Golf November Lima, cleared to land runway 11.
19:56:00 C-FGNL GNL's landing.

The Aeronautical Information Publication (A.I.P. Canada), RAC section 3.15.10 (b), addresses the use of the flight plan prefix "MEDEVAC." This section states that the term MEDEVAC is to be inserted in the flight plan when the operation is a medical evacuation flight responding to a medical emergency for the transport of patients, organ donors, organs, or other urgently needed life-saving medical material. Air Traffic Services will give priority to flights so designated. Note (1) states that discretion must be practised in the use of the term "MEDEVAC" as it is intended only for that portion of a flight requiring a priority as dictated by the medical requirement.

All flights undertaken by C-FGNL for the purpose of medical evacuation are classified by the operator as a MEDEVAC and the term "MEDEVAC" is used on all flight plans. However, it was determined during the investigation that some of these flights are responding to a non-critical patient transfer rather than medical emergencies.

The purpose of the occurrence flight was to pick up an infant, who was diagnosed with apnea episodes, in St. Anthony and transport her, a medical escort, and one other person to St. John's. The first leg of this flight, from St. John's to St. Anthony, was delayed leaving St. John's for about two hours because the aircraft was waiting for two non-priority passengers. However, the flight plan indicated that this portion of the flight was a "MEDEVAC".

Separation 1.4 nm

Figure 2 - Separation 1.4 nm

The Air Traffic Control Manual of Operations (MANOPS), section 532.1 (B), states that three miles separation between aircraft is required provided:

  1. terminal control services are being provided;
  2. a maximum range of 60 miles is displayed on the radar display; and,
    1. altitude readouts for both aircraft are displayed; or
    2. both aircraft are at or below 15,000 feet asl.

All of the above requirements were being met in this instance.

Both of the controllers indicated that a high degree of priority is placed on an aircraft utilizing the MEDEVAC status. The option was available to the relief controller to issue an alternative clearance to either aircraft to maintain required separation; however, this was not done. He stated that he was willing to accept the loss of separation and the consequences it would bring rather than delay the MEDEVAC flight by having it conduct a missed approach. The controller was monitoring the flights on radar, and he was confident that there would be no risk of collision.

Analysis

The first controller was aware of the developing conflict between the two aircraft. He requested that SPR 904 keep his speed up, and he assumed that this increase in speed, along with the extra distance that C-FGNL had to fly to get to the approach for runway 11, would provide adequate, yet minimum, separation. He did not anticipate that SPR 904 would reduce his airspeed upon interception of the localizer, thereby reducing the separation between the two aircraft. The relief controller took over the position prior to SPR 904 reducing speed. He saw a loss of separation developing, but did not take action to prevent it.

The term MEDEVAC on a flight plan has a significant impact on the air traffic control system in that air traffic controllers give priority handling to these aircraft and do everything possible to avoid delays. In this occurrence, both controllers were aware that C-FGNL was a MEDEVAC, and they assumed that priority handling was required. Based on the assumption that the MEDEVAC was a priority, the relief controller was willing to accept the loss of separation that resulted, rather than issue an alternative clearance to either aircraft.

Findings

  1. C-FGNL's flight plan indicated that the flight was a MEDEVAC, even though priority handling was not required.
  2. The relief controller allowed the separation between the two aircraft to be reduced to 1.4 nm when 3 nm was required.
  3. The relief controller consciously allowed a loss of separation rather than issue an alternative clearance to either aircraft.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The developing conflict and subsequent loss of separation between the two aircraft was detected but not resolved by the relief controller. Contributing to the occurrence was the willingness of the controllers to accept the loss of separation in order to give priority handling to a MEDEVAC.

Safety Action Taken

Information regarding the use of the term "MEDEVAC" on flight plans when it is clear that the flight does not require high priority was sent in July 1996 to Transport Canada and others involved with this occurrence.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 13 November 1996.


1. ATC controller working aircraft in domestic airspace below 27,000 feet.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96A0057

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte d'espacement
entre le Beechcraft King Air A-100 C-FGNL
du Newfoundland Government Air Services
(Service aérien du gouvernement de Terre-Neuve)
et le Fairchild SA227AC C-FIPW
de Provincial Airlines Limited
St. John's (Terre-Neuve)
18 avril 1996

Résumé

Le C-FGNL, qui effectuait un vol d'évacuation médicale (MEDEVAC), était en rapprochement en vertu d'un plan de vol aux instruments (IFR) pour se poser sur la piste 16 à St. John's (Terre-Neuve). Le C-FIPW, volant aussi en vertu d'un plan de vol IFR et sous la désignation Speedair (SPR) 904, se trouvait à environ 12 milles derrière le C-FGNL et prévoyait aussi se poser sur la piste 16. À environ 33 milles de l'aéroport de St. John's, le pilote du C-FGNL a obtenu des vecteurs radar pour une approche sur la piste 11.

L'équipage du vol Speedair 904 s'est posé sur la piste au moment même où le C-FGNL se trouvait en courte finale pour se poser sur la piste 11. La distance entre les deux appareils était de 1,4 mille marin. L'espacement radar obligatoire était de 3 milles marins.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Les conditions météorologiques réelles en surface pour St. John's à 22 h, heure avancée de Terre-Neuve (HAT), étaient les suivantes : plafond obscurci non défini à 100 pieds, visibilité de trois huitièmes de mille dans une bruine légère et du brouillard, température et point de rosée à 3C, vent soufflant du 160 magnétique à 15 noeuds. La portée visuelle de piste (RVR) pour la piste 16 était de 2 000 pieds, et les feux étaient réglés à l'intensité 5. La RVR pour la piste 11 était de 2 200 pieds, et les feux étaient aussi réglés à l'intensité 5.

Trajectoires de vol

Figure 1 - Trajectoires de vol

À l'origine, les deux avions étaient contrôlés par le contrôleur du Centre de Gander, lequel était titulaire d'une licence de contrôleur d'espace aérien intérieur de basse altitude(1) depuis deux ans. Le contrôleur avait prévu que le C-FGNL se poserait sur la piste 16, devant l'avion du vol SPR 904. Le C-FGNL a été autorisé à effectuer une approche sur la piste 16 dès qu'il intercepterait le radiophare d'alignement de piste; toutefois, le pilote, après avoir reçu les RVR pour les pistes 16 et 11, a demandé une autorisation d'approche pour la piste 11. Le contrôleur a alors annulé l'autorisation d'approche du C-FGNL pour la piste 16 et a donné à l'équipage du C-FGNL des vecteurs radar pour une approche sur la piste 11.

À ce moment, le contrôleur avait déterminé que la distance supplémentaire nécessaire pour que le C-FGNL atteigne l'approche finale sur la piste 11 permettrait à l'avion du vol SPR 904 de se poser devant le C-FGNL, mais sans le retarder.L'équipage du vol SPR 904 a été avisé de maintenir sa vitesse. Il a ensuite été autorisé à effectuer une approche au système d'atterrissage aux instruments (ILS) sur la piste 16 et prié de contacter la tour de St. John's.

Le contrôleur a alors été relevé par un autre contrôleur qui avait 25 ans d'expérience comme ----contrôleur de l'espace aérien intérieur à basse altitude. Le contrôleur de relève a été mis au courant par le premier contrôleur du risque de conflit entre l'avion du vol SPR 904 et le C-FGNL.

Le pilote du vol SPR 904 a réduit sa vitesse au moment d'intercepter le radiophare d'alignement de piste. Le contrôleur de relève a transmis le message suivant à l'équipage du C-FGNL : «GNL, réduisez à la vitesse d'approche, s'il vous plaît. Il y a un Speedair... euh... à 8 milles en finale pour la piste 16». Le C-FGNL se trouvait à environ un mille avant d'intercepter le radiophare d'alignement de piste en finale de la piste 11 lorsque le contrôleur de relève a demandé de réduire la vitesse et il se trouvait à six milles en approche finale lorsqu'il a été autorisé à effectuer une approche ILS directe sur la piste 11 et prié de contacter la tour de St. John's (YT-TWR).

TRANSCRIPTION DES COMMUNICATIONS EN COURTE FINALE
Heure Interloc. Communication
19:54:42 C-FGNL Et euh... GNL confirme que nous sommes autorisés à atterrir.
19:54:44 YT-TWR Golf November Lima, ici la Tour. Négatif. Merlin à environ 2 milles derrière vous en approche pour la piste 16.
19:54:50 C-FGNL GNL.
19:55:18 YT-TWR Golf November Lima, ici la Tour. Ce Merlin se trouve à un mille en finale pour la piste 16. Attendez-vous à une autorisation d'atterrissage en courte finale.
19:55:27 C-FGNL GNL MEDEVAC. Compris.
19:55:30 YT-TWR Speedair 904, indiquez quand vous aurez franchi l'intersection avec la piste 11.
19:55:32 SPR 904 904.
19:55:56 C-FGNL GNL est aux minima. Qu'est-ce que nous allons faire ? Terminé.
19:55:58 SPR 904 Intersection franchie par 904.
19:55:59 YT-TWR Golf November Lima, autorisé à atterrir sur la piste 11.
19:56:00 C-FGNL GNL est en train de se poser.

La Publication d'information aéronautique (A.I.P. Canada), à l'alinéa RAC 3.15.10 (b), traite de l'utilisation du préfixe de plan de vol «MEDEVAC». Cet alinéa stipule que le terme MEDEVAC doit être inséré dans le plan de vol lorsque le vol est un vol d'évacuation médicale correspondant à une urgence médicale destinée au transport de patients, de donneurs d'organes, d'organes ou d'autre matériel médical de survie dont le besoin est urgent. Les Services de la circulation aérienne accorderont la priorité aux vols ainsi désignés. Le Nota (1) indique qu'il faut faire preuve de jugement dans l'utilisation du terme «MEDEVAC», car il ne sert qu'à cette partie du vol nécessitant une priorité, selon les exigences médicales.

Tous les vols effectués par le C-FGNL aux fins d'une évacuation médicale sont classés MEDEVAC par l'exploitant, et le terme MEDEVAC est utilisé dans tous les plans de vol. Toutefois, l'enquête a permis d'établir que certains de ces vols correspondaient à un transfert non critique de patients plutôt qu'à une urgence médicale.

Espacement de 1,4 nm

Figure 2 - Espacement de 1,4 nm

Le vol en question avait pour objet de prendre une enfant, pour laquelle on avait diagnostiqué des épisodes d'apnée, à St. Anthony et de la transporter à St. John's en compagnie d'une personne faisant partie du corps médical et d'une autre personne. La première étape de ce vol, de St. John's à St. Anthony, avait été retardée pendant environ deux heures à partir de St. John's parce que l'avion avait attendu deux passagers non prioritaires. Néanmoins, le plan de vol indiquait que cette partie du vol était qualifiée de MEDEVAC.

Le Manuel des opérations du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (MANOPS) stipule à article 532.1 (B) qu'un espacement de trois milles entre les aéronefs est nécessaire pourvu que :

  1. des services de contrôle terminal soient offerts;
  2. une portée maximale de 60 milles soit affichée à l'écran radar; et
    1. les affichages de l'altitude pour les deux appareils soient affichés à l'écran radar;ou
    2. les deux aéronefs soient à 15 000 pieds-mer ou moins.

Toutes les exigences précédentes avaient été respectées dans le cas qui nous occupe.

Les deux contrôleurs ont indiqué que la plus haute priorité ést accordée à un aéronef utilisant le statut MEDEVAC. Le contrôleur de relève avait la possibilité de délivrer une autre autorisation à l'un ou l'autre des appareils pour assurer l'espacement nécessaire, mais il ne l'a pas fait. Il a déclaré qu'il était prêt à assumer la responsabilitéé d'une perte d'espacement et ses conséquences plutôt que de retarder un vol MEDEVAC en lui demandant d'interrompre son approche. Le contrôleur surveillait les vols au radar, et il était confiant qu'il n'y aurait pas de risque de collision.

Analyse

Le premier contrôleur était conscient qu'un conflit était sur le point de se produire entre les deux appareils. Il a demandé à l'équipage du vol SPR 904 de maintenir sa vitesse et il a supposé que cette augmentation de vitesse, jumelée à la distance supplémentaire que devait parcourir le C-FGNL pour atteindre l'approche pour la piste 11 permettrait d'assurer un espacement suffisant, mais minimal. Il n'avait pas prévu que l'équipage du vol SPR 904 réduirait sa vitesse dès l'interception du radiophare d'alignement de piste, ce qui a réduit l'espacement entre les deux appareils. Le contrôleur de relève a pris son service à ce poste avant que l'équipage du vol SPR 904 réduise sa vitesse. Il a vu qu'un conflit était sur le point de se produire, mais il n'a pris aucune mesure pour régler le problème.

Le terme MEDEVAC dans un plan de vol a un impact important sur le contrôle de la circulation aérienne, en ce que les contrôleurs aériens accordent la priorité aux appareils ainsi désignés et font tout ce qui est possible pour éviter de les retarder. Dans le cas qui nous occupe, les deux contrôleurs savaient que le C-FGNL effectuait un vol MEDEVAC, et ils ont supposé qu'il fallait le traiter en priorité. Compte tenu de la priorité exigée par la désignation MEDEVAC, le contrôleur de relève était prêt à accepter la perte d'espacement qui s'est produite plutôt que de délivrer une autre autorisation à l'un des deux appareils.

Faits établis

  1. Le plan de vol du C-FGNL indiquait qu'il s'agissait d'un vol MEDEVAC, même si un traitement prioritaire n'était pas nécessaire.
  2. Le contrôleur de relève a accepté que l'espacement entre les deux appareils soit réduit à 1,4 mille marin alors qu'un espacement de 3 milles marins était nécessaire.
  3. Le contrôleur de relève a laissé une perte d'espacement se produire au lieu de délivrer une autre autorisation à l'un des deux appareils.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le controleur de relève a décelé le conflit et la perte d'espacement entre les deux appareils, mais il n'a pas pris de mesure pour remédier à la situation. Facteur contributif : la volonté des contrôleurs d'accepter une perte d'espacement afin d'accorder un traitement prioritaire à un vol MEDEVAC.

Mesures de sécurité

Mesures prises

Des renseignements relatifs à l'utilisation du terme «MEDEVAC» dans les plans de vol, quand il est évident que le vol n'exige pas d'être traité en priorité, ont été envoyés en juillet 1996 à Transports Canada et aux autres parties en cause dans cet incident.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 13 novembre 1996 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail et W.A. Tadros.


1. Contrôleur de la circulation aérienne qui contrôle les aéronefs dans l'espace aérien intérieur qui est situé sous 27 000 pieds.